TotalChoice Hosting

Visit TotalChoice Hosting Visit TotalChoice Hosting   Write your own TotalChoice Hosting review. Write your own TotalChoice Hosting review.
4 out of 10 (or 40% of) people recommend TotalChoice Hosting.
 › Rating Averages ››
Uptime & Reliability Server & Connection Speed Price Value for Money
7.16 / 10.0 7.35 / 10.0 4.92 / 10.0
Technical Support & Knowledge Customer Service & Billing
4.78 / 10.0 4.30 / 10.0
TotalChoice Hosting
› Overall Rating ››    48.90% 
How are ratings calculated? 
  • Analyze this Page for Me
Showing 1 to 10 out of 10 reviews.   Filter Reviews
Page Relevancy
Review Quality 100%
What's
this?

TotalChoice Hosting reviews

uptime & reliability
10.0
server & connection speed
5.00
technical support & knowledge
5.00
customer service & billing
0.00
price value for money
5.00
* ratings are out of 10

The Truth about TCH

I hosted a site with them for a customer and they were just fine in the beginning. I transferred the domain to my customer, following TCH's instructions, so the customer would be the owner and responsible party. I was just the tech contact. I even referred my relatives to them. I didn't need a lot of support and TCH had good up time. Everything was going smoothly. Then...

After a year my customer deliberately let my hosting package expire, or so I thought. When they didn't renew, TCH renewed the site and billed my credit card, which they had on file. When I complained that it wasn't my site and I wasn't responsible, they just said I had to give them 30 days notice of cancellation and I should read the Terms of Service. After I started leaving bad reviews on their forums and other review sites, they finally refunded my money. It was a real chore and probably not worth the time I had to put into it.

One thing I found out is that TCH has great testimonials on their own forums because they delete all the bad ones. Don't trust TCH's forums, read the reviews here for the truth. I'm glad I didn't my own domains with them before I figured this out.

Host with HostGator or Bluehost for the best deal in town. For a reasonable price you get unlimited everything. Unlimited space, bandwidth, databases, subdomains, emails, and unlimited add on domains at no additional cost. The only extra cost is to register the add on domain. So for one price you can have all the web sites you want, just pay to register the domain at the registrar of your choice.

Biggest Pro: price
Biggest Con: customer service

TotalChoice Hosting is NOT recommended by paul. This person does NOT recommend TotalChoice Hosting.
› Overall Rating ››    10.00% 
Reviewed on May 3rd, 2013 at 22:19 EST by paul
Customer for duration of 1 - 2 years
IP Address: 50.134.131.128
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: http://www.amyscrittersitter.com/   Email: paul@mouseranch.com
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #1 out of 10 TotalChoice Hosting reviews
uptime & reliability
0.10
server & connection speed
0.10
technical support & knowledge
0.10
customer service & billing
0.00
price value for money
0.00
* ratings are out of 10

Screwed out of my longtime domain name by TCH

Weeks after I made my annual payment, TCH allowed my domain name to lapse, whereupon it was bought by someone else. Years and years of work to get this to the top of google, down the drain.

Thanks for nothing, TCH.

Biggest Con: Utterly incompetent in every way.

TotalChoice Hosting is NOT recommended by Keith Pickering. This person does NOT recommend TotalChoice Hosting.
› Overall Rating ››    0.00% 
Reviewed on May 25th, 2012 at 02:52 EST by Keith Pickering
Customer for duration of More than 5 years
IP Address: 74.33.103.68
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: keith.pickering@yahoo.com
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #2 out of 10 TotalChoice Hosting reviews
uptime & reliability
7.50
server & connection speed
8.00
technical support & knowledge
0.00
customer service & billing
0.00
price value for money
0.00
* ratings are out of 10

Terrible Customer Service - Was good service provider at one time

The problem that seems to be stemming from the cutbacks revolving around trying to save money is affecting the tech support that is supposed to work 24/7. The problem is that if we cannot even access our own accounts to submit trouble tickets, or our cpanels, how can we even resolve our own issues without bother the techs? This has gone downhill since around 2007 when I switched over to TCH. Now, I've started the transition away from these people because they refuse to help fix the problems.

Biggest Pro: Nothing any more
Biggest Con: Tech support is terrible and their falsely advertising 24/7 support!!!

TotalChoice Hosting is NOT recommended by ejc. This person does NOT recommend TotalChoice Hosting.
› Overall Rating ››    30.00% 
Reviewed on April 26th, 2012 at 15:54 EST by ejc
Customer for duration of More than 5 years
IP Address: 98.243.122.170
Type of Plan: Reseller   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #3 out of 10 TotalChoice Hosting reviews
uptime & reliability
1.00
server & connection speed
6.60
technical support & knowledge
0.00
customer service & billing
0.00
price value for money
0.00
* ratings are out of 10

the sold my Domain

I have had my Domain for the last 10years and because you have to have like 3 different accounts to pay for all your Stuff one bore domain name , one for hosting Name and They say they will send you an email when it is time to renew no such luck now my Biz is down and I am losing money every day because i have lot all the money I had put in to my Domain name and advertising now i'm in a fight to see if I can buy back my Domain from someone that picked it up they are costing me so much money because they really don't care about there Clients just as long as they get paid don't think they will go the extra mile to help you out. I will be leaving as soon as I can

Biggest Pro: Dropping then and Going to a real Company
Biggest Con: They SUCK at customer service

TotalChoice Hosting is NOT recommended by Steve. This person does NOT recommend TotalChoice Hosting.
› Overall Rating ››    20.00% 
Reviewed on March 1st, 2011 at 17:28 EST by Steve
Customer for duration of More than 5 years
IP Address: 205.201.197.148
Type of Plan: Virtual Private Servers   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
18 out of 18 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #4 out of 10 TotalChoice Hosting reviews
uptime & reliability
7.00
server & connection speed
7.00
technical support & knowledge
1.00
customer service & billing
1.00
price value for money
5.00
* ratings are out of 10

So glad to not be using Total Choice Hosting anymore.

I'm so glad to be done with Total Choice Hosting. Their tech. support was so bad! Not very easy to access, and once I did, they were generally arrogant and often not very helpful.
Using HostGator now - very pleased.

Biggest Con: tech. support

TotalChoice Hosting is NOT recommended by Leon Werdinger. This person does NOT recommend TotalChoice Hosting.
› Overall Rating ››    40.00% 
Reviewed on December 21st, 2010 at 12:57 EST by Leon Werdinger
Customer for duration of 3 - 5 years
IP Address: 72.35.194.86
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
18 out of 18 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #5 out of 10 TotalChoice Hosting reviews
uptime & reliability
6.20
server & connection speed
9.00
technical support & knowledge
2.00
customer service & billing
2.00
price value for money
2.00
* ratings are out of 10

Aweful aweful AWEFUL!!!!!

I used TCH for about 8 years, they used to be a good company and then last year started having lots of downtime, plus their customer service started to sink like a rock. Apparently staffing was cut and trying to get ahold of anyone when you had issues was impossible. I had probably the worst experience with them that I have ever had with any company. Personal letters/emails and phone calls to the owner were never returned. Apparently they didn't care about the 50 plus accounts I had with them plus all the people I had recommended use them after many years.

Biggest Con: their customer service is the worst I've ever seen

TotalChoice Hosting is NOT recommended by H. Turner. This person does NOT recommend TotalChoice Hosting.
› Overall Rating ››    0.00% 
Reviewed on August 9th, 2010 at 07:13 EST by H. Turner
Customer for duration of More than 5 years
IP Address: 75.40.136.66
Type of Plan: Reseller   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
15 out of 15 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #6 out of 10 TotalChoice Hosting reviews
uptime & reliability
10.0
server & connection speed
10.0
technical support & knowledge
10.0
customer service & billing
10.0
price value for money
10.0
* ratings are out of 10

BY FAR the BEST hosting company out there

I have bounced from host to host for many years, until 5 years ago when I found TCH. I have since been with TCH and will remain a customer for life. These guys are simply the best. I can't believe there would be ANY negative reviews about these guys when they obviously go above and beyond all the time to please every customer.

Just remember this when reading reviews about TCH. 99.99% of the time when there is a "problem with a host", it is a USER error and has NOTHING to do w/ the host.

I would highly recommend using these guys, as they are by far the best host I have ever worked with.

Biggest Pro: Customer support via chat, AIM, phone, e-mail, and ticketing system.
Biggest Con: I have never had a problem with TCH

TotalChoice Hosting is recommended by Mike. This person recommends TotalChoice Hosting.
› Overall Rating ››    100.0% 
Reviewed on January 27th, 2010 at 18:43 EST by Mike
Customer for duration of More than 5 years
IP Address: 69.124.41.196
Type of Plan: Dedicated   Platform: Unix   Domain: http://www.newyorkmustangs.com/   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
16 out of 16 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #7 out of 10 TotalChoice Hosting reviews
uptime & reliability
9.90
server & connection speed
9.80
technical support & knowledge
10.0
customer service & billing
10.0
price value for money
10.0
* ratings are out of 10

Over all good service

I have been with TCH since 2002 and have had odd issues over the years, nothing too major compare with the hell that featureprice.com gave me and it's customers, when I was with them for 4 months.

I had to bail out and dicoverered TCH then, and am still there after 7 years! Their tech support gets to the root of an issue and resolves it.

As mentioned by another post-er. I have had some FTP issues too , but very minor. I would be on and it would drop connection. I would just have to reconnect. When are computers perfect, anyway...

Over all, TCH is a good place to settle down with. They have good tech support. Rarely do I need there help. It's usually only because I want them to do something out of the ordinary and not due to a server problem. It's good when you don't need to use their Techies. It means they are on top of their service and care about their customers and not just to rake in profits.

TCH provides a lot for the dollar value of their smaller packages they provide.

I would recommend anyone to select TCH. Like I said, no one is perfect, but TCH is worth the time to be a part of. They are there for you.

Biggest Pro: Tech support within minutes by email.
Biggest Con: minor FTP issues, but not worth worrying about.

TotalChoice Hosting is recommended by Paul. This person recommends TotalChoice Hosting.
› Overall Rating ››    99.00% 
Reviewed on April 15th, 2009 at 11:40 EST by Paul
Customer for duration of More than 5 years
IP Address: 24.150.212.233
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Unix   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
17 out of 17 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #8 out of 10 TotalChoice Hosting reviews
uptime & reliability
10.0
server & connection speed
10.0
technical support & knowledge
10.0
customer service & billing
10.0
price value for money
10.0
* ratings are out of 10

It's like The Dog Whisperer.

If you look at that TV show you will notice that in reality the problem nearly always lies with the dog owner and not with the dog. Likewise...nearly all problems that people have with their host (all hosts) are caused by their own mistakes and misunderstandings about what is going on. Then if there is any delay in successful resolution or any miscommunication between the service person and the customer...the customer perceives it as bad service.

I have been with TCH for years and have only good things to say about them. BUT...I am the type of person who searches the "family forums" for an answer to my problem before I post a service request. This serves both to maybe find me my answer (very rarely does anyone actually have a "new/original" problem) and to educate me as to the correct terms to use in my service request. If I cannot accurately describe what I need then how can they accurately give it to me?

Of course these statements would apply to any host.

90% of complaints come from 10% of the customers. Typically the newest 10%.

Do yourself a favor and use the web to help yourself. In the end you will save time and be a part of the solution instead of a part of the problem.

Good luck.
MP

TotalChoice Hosting is recommended by Mike Porter. This person recommends TotalChoice Hosting.
› Overall Rating ››    100.0% 
Reviewed on November 24th, 2008 at 11:36 EST by Mike Porter
Customer for duration of 3 - 5 years
IP Address: 69.234.43.1
Type of Plan: Dedicated   Platform: Linux   Domain: http://www.snacksafe.com/   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
18 out of 18 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #9 out of 10 TotalChoice Hosting reviews
uptime & reliability
9.90
server & connection speed
8.00
technical support & knowledge
9.70
customer service & billing
10.0
price value for money
7.20
* ratings are out of 10

Good customer service and a great forum for help

I've been with Totalchoice Hosting for over 5 years, and overall I'm happy. They are very affordable and even if they might not be as competitive as other hosting providers, speaking in term of web space/bandwidth, they have a great customer support and what they call a family forum, they provide live help and in the event of any problem somebody is ready to help you. So far no significant downtime in the service, just some hardware upgrades once in a while but nothing to shut you down for more than a few minutes, and it's always good to know that your server is under control and up to date. My only criticism is about some FTP issues I had in the past few months, dropped connection, time outs and problems reconnecting, all issues that end up being solved in chat with their tech support guys. Again, Iím quite happy with them.

Biggest Pro: Good customer care
Biggest Con: FTP connection issues

TotalChoice Hosting is recommended by Francesco. This person recommends TotalChoice Hosting.
› Overall Rating ››    90.00% 
Reviewed on December 16th, 2007 at 20:02 EST by Francesco
Customer for duration of More than 5 years
IP Address: 79.6.61.39
Type of Plan: Reseller   Platform: Linux   Domain: http://www.francescolanza.com/   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
22 out of 22 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #10 out of 10 TotalChoice Hosting reviews
link to this page   |   tell a friend about this web host
Host Gator - Host Unlimited Web Sites
Reseller Hosting - 50% Off
Host Unlimited Sites
Free Dedicated IP & Backups
90 Day Money Back Guarantee
Try it out for just $13.99/mo.
InMotion Hosting

Read what users say about InMotion Hosting!


For Users
Web Hosting Reviews
Submit Review
Advanced Search
All Web Hosts
Top Rated

Our Difference
Contact


Free Newsletter
For Hosts
Host Log-in
Create Account
Generate Links
Get More Exposure


New Reviews
Go Daddy
000webhost
Just Host
WebHostingPad
EasyCGI
BlueFur
SkyNet Hosting
Arvixe
HostSo
VPSDepot
ADDR
Lunarpages
Quick2Host
WebIntellects
KVC Hosting
SiteGround
A Small Orange
ServerSea
StoresOnline
HostPapa


Other
Website Thumbnails
This site is powered by Host Gator.
Copyright © 1999-2016 WebHostingReviews.com. All Rights Reserved.
All reviews, content, graphics, logos, design, and scripts, are the sole property of WebHostingReviews.com, and
may not be used without prior written consent from us. All violations will be prosecuted to the maximum extent possible under the law.
Last Update: June 20th, 2016 at 15:01 EST / This site has a total of 3,441 web hosting reviews, based on 529 different web hosting companies.