SiteGround

Visit SiteGround Visit SiteGround   Write your own SiteGround review. Write your own SiteGround review.
15 out of 51 (or 29% of) people recommend SiteGround.
 › Rating Averages ››
Uptime & Reliability Server & Connection Speed Price Value for Money
7.48 / 10.0 6.76 / 10.0 4.36 / 10.0
Technical Support & Knowledge Customer Service & Billing
4.95 / 10.0 3.45 / 10.0
SiteGround
› Overall Rating ››    42.02% 
How are ratings calculated? 
  • Analyze this Page for Me
Showing 31 to 40 out of 51 reviews.   Filter Reviews
Page Relevancy
Review Quality 100%
What's
this?

SiteGround reviews

uptime & reliability
0.50
server & connection speed
0.40
technical support & knowledge
0.00
customer service & billing
0.00
price value for money
0.00
* ratings are out of 10

It was all going fine, until.....

I'll make it short and sweet.

I've been with siteground about 8 months, never had a problem really. Decent data transfer, reliable enough uptime.

Then I try to login to my cPanel one day and get this message:

Not Found

The server was not able to find the document (./frontend/sg/index.html) you requested.

Please check the url and try again. You might also want to report this error to your web hosting provider.

I followed their procedures for informing them if my cPanel is down.

I've heard not a word.

Thusly, I can't recommend this host to anyone.

Biggest Pro: Good, until your site is accessible...discluding yourself
Biggest Con: absolutely zero customer service

SiteGround is NOT recommended by Ronyn Saje. This person does NOT recommend SiteGround.
› Overall Rating ››    10.00% 
Reviewed on May 10th, 2009 at 12:02 EST by Ronyn Saje
Customer for duration of 6 - 11 months
IP Address: 61.227.84.45
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: http://www.epochsy.com/   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #31 out of 51 SiteGround reviews
uptime & reliability
9.80
server & connection speed
9.80
technical support & knowledge
1.00
customer service & billing
0.00
price value for money
1.00
* ratings are out of 10

Questionable Integrity

I hosted my site with SG for a year, then moved because I wanted to host more than one site for a better yearly rate. My domain name was registered with Siteground for 2 years, though so I didn't transfer it.

It was set to expire in Feb 2010. On March 31, 2009, it got pulled - without warning either via email or a notice on their site-and they said I'd have to pay $199 to get it back. They offered no real explanation and refused to let me speak to a supervisor.

I'm still trying to figure out how they pulled an unexpired domain and can hold it hostage.

Morale of the story-stay away from Siteground. They are unethical and their customer service is pitiful.

I like Hostgator.

SiteGround is NOT recommended by C Moore. This person does NOT recommend SiteGround.
› Overall Rating ››    5.00% 
Reviewed on April 1st, 2009 at 09:54 EST by C Moore
Customer for duration of 1 - 2 years
IP Address: 87.2.231.193
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
15 out of 15 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #32 out of 51 SiteGround reviews
uptime & reliability
10.0
server & connection speed
0.10
technical support & knowledge
0.10
customer service & billing
5.00
price value for money
0.00
* ratings are out of 10

Be Cautious!

They are decent for the first year... then all of a sudden when your site is no where close to using the 7500GB of bandwidth they will place a bandwidth limitation on your site noting the cause as too much bandwidth I/O and guess what, everything that makes your site go from 0-60 in 2 seconds is now reversed and they quote their TOS every other reply if you argue. Everyone has bad experiences, some could have great ones w/ them but I did not and www.tournamentgamingworld.com (the site they placed the limit on) is not any longer, the site runs slow now and a map download less than 25mb which used to take 1-5 mins to download now takes 2+1/2 hours to download. After arguing my heart out to a bunch of morons only two employess saw my logic... Siteground now suck IMO but Anatoli & Natalie rock for being human just like you and me, helping a person not their company as everyone should to make the company look better else why work for them? Thanks to you 2 only and the rest of ya I'll quote some of the EURO guys off our Teamspeak... Bullocks and kiss me arse.

Mike Miller
now w/ GoDaddy.com FTW!

Biggest Pro: 1 good year of decent hosting
Biggest Con: OVERSELLING!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

SiteGround is NOT recommended by Michael Miller. This person does NOT recommend SiteGround.
› Overall Rating ››    10.00% 
Reviewed on March 6th, 2009 at 19:54 EST by Michael Miller
Customer for duration of 1 - 2 years
IP Address: 65.188.235.234
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: http://www.thelastsuperman.com/   Email: michaelmiller1982@hotmail.com
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
15 out of 15 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #33 out of 51 SiteGround reviews
uptime & reliability
10.0
server & connection speed
10.0
technical support & knowledge
9.70
customer service & billing
9.60
price value for money
9.70
* ratings are out of 10

Good service

Very thorough service. There is a handy interface, but some of it isn't very intuitive.

One big drawback, however, is that their website interface makes it difficult to submit a ticket for customer support. If I send an email, they'll just direct me back to their web site with no obvious way to ask for help.

I would recommend SiteGround Hosting to anyone with a basic knowledge of web development. In isn't for newbies, however.

Biggest Pro: CPanel
Biggest Con: Can't easily find help request form.

SiteGround is recommended by Cabot N. This person recommends SiteGround.
› Overall Rating ››    98.00% 
Reviewed on March 3rd, 2009 at 11:59 EST by Cabot N
Customer for duration of 3 - 5 months
IP Address: 206.173.159.62
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #34 out of 51 SiteGround reviews
uptime & reliability
9.50
server & connection speed
9.50
technical support & knowledge
9.50
customer service & billing
9.00
price value for money
9.50
* ratings are out of 10

Siteground have been helpful when needed but did freeze my site.

Helpfule when started as a noob on Joomla etc and only recently froze my site for extreme CPU usage.

Were patient over a week or so and helpful on solutions to reduce it back into reasonable limits, but figured it out mainly myself.

The cause was my own doing allowing spammers in the back door to my Gallery comments section and massive IFRAME page views from my main Turbo Car Automotive site www.TurboClub.com.

Biggest Pro: Uptime and General Help
Biggest Con: Cant handle high traffic like 30,000 requests a day

SiteGround is recommended by Greg. This person recommends SiteGround.
› Overall Rating ››    92.00% 
Reviewed on March 2nd, 2009 at 00:33 EST by Greg
Customer for duration of 3 - 5 years
IP Address: 59.167.191.154
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: http://www.turboclubmembers.com/   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
14 out of 14 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #35 out of 51 SiteGround reviews
uptime & reliability
8.00
server & connection speed
3.10
technical support & knowledge
2.20
customer service & billing
1.60
price value for money
4.80
* ratings are out of 10

Great for first year then little by little they hosed us

The first year was great flawless....then after we renewed it went downhill. We use SG for hosing a forums and downloads. The Downloads were lightening for 1+ yrs 700kbps to 1mbps...then one week we got 5k and 54k download speeds. I opened a ticket and was advised that we were using too many resources from server and they had throttled us...NO email or notification from them. I check my terms if use and we are limited to 7500gb monthly bandwidth and was even more surprised and angry when I checked our usage and it was not even close 7500gb only about 16% of that. I am still fighting with them but I suggest you watch out for them..Its poor customer service to place a bandwidth throttle on a customer and not even advise them-

SiteGround is NOT recommended by Glenn. This person does NOT recommend SiteGround.
› Overall Rating ››    23.00% 
Reviewed on February 28th, 2009 at 19:15 EST by Glenn
Customer for duration of 1 - 2 years
IP Address: 67.240.94.237
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
14 out of 14 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #36 out of 51 SiteGround reviews
uptime & reliability
9.00
server & connection speed
9.00
technical support & knowledge
9.50
customer service & billing
9.70
price value for money
10.0
* ratings are out of 10

Great service

I really don't know why everybody goes on and on about how horrible Siteground's service is. I host 8 sites on their servers and have had few problems. Every time something has come up, they have solved it in an amazingly short time, sometimes as little as 15 minutes for things I hadn't even asked them to hurry up on!

I confess I suspect that some of the negative votes are really competition trying to dirty their name.

Biggest Pro: Resources and service
Biggest Con: Slow shared hosting servers

SiteGround is recommended by Ian. This person recommends SiteGround.
› Overall Rating ››    96.00% 
Reviewed on February 17th, 2009 at 20:44 EST by Ian
Customer for duration of 6 - 11 months
IP Address: 200.85.55.114
Type of Plan: Reseller   Platform: Unix   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #37 out of 51 SiteGround reviews
uptime & reliability
8.00
server & connection speed
9.00
technical support & knowledge
0.00
customer service & billing
0.00
price value for money
2.00
* ratings are out of 10

Avoid SiteGround at all Costs!!!

Siteground looks good at the beginning. They go around & pad review sites with glowing reviews so noobs like me will think they are the best & sign up with them. Unfortunately once the noob gets a little more worldly & starts talking to other SiteGround customers & former customers the horrid truth comes out.

My site was fast. I give them credit for that but... as time went on they changed everything around bit by bit until normal routine site maintenance became impossible. As Siteground oversells & oversells space on each server more & more they have to make changes so massive numbers of sites can still run on their oversold servers. Siteground's solution to this is to recommend a dedicated server. Soteground expects a small website with a minute amount of traffic & bandwidth usage to pay for a dedicated server so routine site maintenance can be performed. How laughable.

They make these changes in the background so no one out front will notice. After about 10 months of figuring out workarounds for the things Siteground would not allow me to do that any reputable hosting company would allow, they finally set the server timeout settings so low that simple site updates & maintenance could not be performed in a normal manner. Because of this unrealistic "timeout" setting the only option was to do all maintenance, board MODS, & upgrades manually. So instead of a board upgrade taking around 10 seconds to do automatically I was supposed to download the files, manually modify, then upload all my files back to the server which could take hours & lead to unnecessary mistakes. Hmmm 10 seconds of work or endless hours of work?? I chose 10 seconds & left Siteground.

Siteground also does not allow a full database backup to be done. Have you ever heard of a paid server not allowing the site owner to back up their own site? That is the kind of stuff only free hosting sites do. When you get sick of Siteground & want to leave them they will stick it to you & make you pay them for a site backup. That's absolutely absurd in my book.

Siteground did get to screw me over one last time though on my way out the door. They conveniently ignored the domain name transfer request from my new hosting company. So to my surprise my domain name expired while the transfer was "pending" & poof my site went down. Siteground held my domain name hostage & forced me to pay them the yearly renewal fee before they would transfer my domain.

I cannot state it emphatically enough. Stay away from Siteground!! Stay very far away!!

Biggest Pro: server speed
Biggest Con: everything else

SiteGround is NOT recommended by Teresa Tucker. This person does NOT recommend SiteGround.
› Overall Rating ››    0.00% 
Reviewed on January 6th, 2009 at 23:25 EST by Teresa Tucker
Customer for duration of 6 - 11 months
IP Address: 71.8.70.172
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
18 out of 18 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #38 out of 51 SiteGround reviews
uptime & reliability
9.80
server & connection speed
9.90
technical support & knowledge
9.50
customer service & billing
9.90
price value for money
9.90
* ratings are out of 10

Good site but lost Frontpage Support

I am not a website designer. I've been using frontpage because its easu and a GUI interface with drag and drop, a feature I need because I do not know HTML. They dropped support for microsoft which doesn't make me happy. I'm using the new Microsoft Web Designer and cool things that I would like to do they don't support.

However, I have been with them for quite a few years and they have excellent customer service. They are usually pretty quick to answer your questions and problems. I would recommend them if you want reliability. I think I need to look for someone that supports ASP.

Biggest Pro: Reliable and fast
Biggest Con: Don't support Windoes web design programs

SiteGround is recommended by Brad. This person recommends SiteGround.
› Overall Rating ››    99.00% 
Reviewed on November 3rd, 2008 at 21:53 EST by Brad
Customer for duration of 3 - 5 years
IP Address: 75.70.252.84
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
23 out of 23 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #39 out of 51 SiteGround reviews
uptime & reliability
10.0
server & connection speed
10.0
technical support & knowledge
9.80
customer service & billing
9.90
price value for money
9.90
* ratings are out of 10

Great Hosting!

This hosting is really good.

They have great uptime, great features, great prices, great support, great speed, and everything else.

I've been using SiteGround since December, and had no problems except that they put a restriction on my account due to a server overload which I had no idea how it happened. I fixed the problem and the restriction was taken off, so I still say these guys are great.

They responded to my tickets within 5 minutes of me sending them, every time!

I haven't seen my site down once yet, if it was It was when I was away... I haven't really needed any help yet as far as support goes (my tickets regarded the restrictions)

I am simply using a forum (MyBB software) and nothing else, so I don't expect there to be many problems.

So, overall great host. I like the cPanel, site building software, and everything.

Biggest Pro: Pretty much everything
Biggest Con: Account restrictions...

SiteGround is recommended by Alpha. This person recommends SiteGround.
› Overall Rating ››    100.0% 
Reviewed on April 11th, 2008 at 11:15 EST by Alpha
Customer for duration of 3 - 5 months
IP Address: 69.179.89.211
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Windows   Domain: http://www.sherwoodx.com/   Email: alpha@sherwoodx.com
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
28 out of 28 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #40 out of 51 SiteGround reviews
link to this page   |   tell a friend about this web host
Host Gator - Host Unlimited Web Sites
Reseller Hosting - 50% Off
Host Unlimited Sites
Free Dedicated IP & Backups
90 Day Money Back Guarantee
Try it out for just $13.99/mo.
InMotion Hosting

Read what users say about InMotion Hosting!


For Users
Web Hosting Reviews
Submit Review
Advanced Search
All Web Hosts
Top Rated

Our Difference
Contact


Free Newsletter
For Hosts
Host Log-in
Create Account
Generate Links
Get More Exposure


New Reviews
Go Daddy
000webhost
Just Host
WebHostingPad
EasyCGI
BlueFur
SkyNet Hosting
Arvixe
HostSo
VPSDepot
ADDR
Lunarpages
Quick2Host
WebIntellects
KVC Hosting
SiteGround
A Small Orange
ServerSea
StoresOnline
HostPapa


Other
Website Thumbnails
This site is powered by Host Gator.
Copyright © 1999-2016 WebHostingReviews.com. All Rights Reserved.
All reviews, content, graphics, logos, design, and scripts, are the sole property of WebHostingReviews.com, and
may not be used without prior written consent from us. All violations will be prosecuted to the maximum extent possible under the law.
Last Update: June 20th, 2016 at 15:01 EST / This site has a total of 3,441 web hosting reviews, based on 529 different web hosting companies.