SiteGround

Visit SiteGround Visit SiteGround   Write your own SiteGround review. Write your own SiteGround review.
15 out of 51 (or 29% of) people recommend SiteGround.
 › Rating Averages ››
Uptime & Reliability Server & Connection Speed Price Value for Money
7.48 / 10.0 6.76 / 10.0 4.36 / 10.0
Technical Support & Knowledge Customer Service & Billing
4.95 / 10.0 3.45 / 10.0
SiteGround
› Overall Rating ››    42.02% 
How are ratings calculated? 
  • Analyze this Page for Me
Showing 21 to 30 out of 51 reviews.   Filter Reviews
Page Relevancy
Review Quality 100%
What's
this?

SiteGround reviews

uptime & reliability
10.0
server & connection speed
10.0
technical support & knowledge
0.00
customer service & billing
0.00
price value for money
0.10
* ratings are out of 10

Was blind but now I see…

Although the plans are appealing, and all seems simple enough once you’re a customer for 3-4 years you start noticing the horrible policies and overwhelming pricing that other companies refrain from charging. The support for the sales team is amazing - the technical support on the other hand is non-existent. All I suggest is that you read all of their policies, otherwise a few years down the road you will be trapped.

Since moving to my new host, I have more freedom, more space, and more money in my wallet.

Biggest Pro: Plan Deals
Biggest Con: Hidden Costs

SiteGround is NOT recommended by Jim. This person does NOT recommend SiteGround.
› Overall Rating ››    30.00% 
Reviewed on January 26th, 2011 at 17:28 EST by Jim
Customer for duration of 3 - 5 years
IP Address: 24.183.133.169
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
14 out of 14 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #21 out of 51 SiteGround reviews
uptime & reliability
9.00
server & connection speed
9.10
technical support & knowledge
0.00
customer service & billing
0.00
price value for money
7.20
* ratings are out of 10

Siteground failures in billing support and cancelations

First thing I have been cancelling accounts with them for over a year and still they popup and charge me even after getting the confirmation email and chatting with cancelation support people.

I will be honest I never had bad hosting with them just the autorenewal which is not in the terms and the one year option is a fraud even they all autorenewal.
They only support through helpdesk tickets online and chat if you can get ahold of someone, phones will just send you to voicemail or disconnect you.
Cacelation process is buried along with the so called terms they specify which actually do not show up until you try to cancel, not in the original documents.

Best option for anyone is to cancel the charges and file a complaint.
Anyone interested in civil action I already have enough to follow up with the civil attourneys according to the corporate attourneys I work with.
Just post here and we will work out the details.

Biggest Pro: hosting was always stable
Biggest Con: be prepared to be auto charged to death and never able to cancel and given excuses as to why they won't reimburse you.

SiteGround is NOT recommended by Thomas Ward. This person does NOT recommend SiteGround.
› Overall Rating ››    13.00% 
Reviewed on January 15th, 2011 at 19:38 EST by Thomas Ward
Customer for duration of 1 - 2 years
IP Address: 76.186.24.225
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
16 out of 16 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #22 out of 51 SiteGround reviews
uptime & reliability
9.80
server & connection speed
4.40
technical support & knowledge
1.00
customer service & billing
0.00
price value for money
2.20
* ratings are out of 10

What customer service?????????????????????

As a previuous review stated, watch out for the auto renewal..... Had sites that don't even exist renewed and I got charged alot of $$$$ by siteground. The fun really started when I tried to talk to someone about this..... The customer support/service department is HORRIBLE!!! Can not say it enough. HORRIBLE! Called and was told there was nothing I could do, and no one higher up to talk to. I asked for a manager or supervisor and was told "I could not talk to either. I had to send email or fill out a help ticket!" Why the customer service phone #, I have no idea. Probably to try and sign you up for more stuff.

Took almost a week to get someone to offer me a partial refund. Can't say it enough.....pick another company to host with. This company doesn't care about there customers AT ALL!!!!! I will be moving my 10+ accounts to another company who cares about their customers.

Biggest Pro: uptime
Biggest Con: everything else - customer service is no existant. Horrible!!!!! Beware!!

SiteGround is NOT recommended by Sean Deming. This person does NOT recommend SiteGround.
› Overall Rating ››    20.00% 
Reviewed on December 6th, 2010 at 11:15 EST by Sean Deming
Customer for duration of 3 - 5 years
IP Address: 67.49.154.11
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
14 out of 14 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #23 out of 51 SiteGround reviews
uptime & reliability
7.00
server & connection speed
2.80
technical support & knowledge
4.00
customer service & billing
0.00
price value for money
0.00
* ratings are out of 10

siteground-save yourself the grief and find another host

Initial setup misleading. After a year the fee skyrockets and they do not tell you the first year is a special offer.

Site is slow and errors are frequent. Support is decent, but not of the quality they make themselves out to be.

Most of the time it takes multiple support requests to get a decent answer. They are also great at closing support tickets that are not resolved. Another favorite of siteground is to bill you automatically for the second year and not tell you of the drastic price increase

All they are concerned with is money. Find another web host for your site and email

Biggest Pro: none
Biggest Con: customers are only a revenue soruce for sitegound

SiteGround is NOT recommended by Tony M. This person does NOT recommend SiteGround.
› Overall Rating ››    29.00% 
Reviewed on November 23rd, 2010 at 14:58 EST by Tony M
Customer for duration of 1 - 2 years
IP Address: 130.156.4.250
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
14 out of 14 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #24 out of 51 SiteGround reviews
uptime & reliability
10.0
server & connection speed
10.0
technical support & knowledge
10.0
customer service & billing
10.0
price value for money
10.0
* ratings are out of 10

New to siteground and so far so good

I don't know if it's too pre-mature to right a glowing review but I have to say last week I was with hostmonster and whenever I asked for support I kept on getting an around the bush answer. I cancelled my account with them after three days. There was no problems cancelling. So happy there.

I was looking for a host that supported cube cart and kept on being led to siteground but it sounded too good to be true at $2.00/month. Since I am on a tight budget and still quite a newbie this was great. I got on live chat, they talked me through, while I made the purchase and then talked me through the installation of cubecart, which I couldn't get with hostmonster and then today I asked them to install cubecart v4 for me because I didn't have a clue and they did it without a single hitch.
I asked them on live chat, directed my to submit a ticket where you can get a professional installation of script FOR FREE! Everyone else charges for installing of scripts, if they do it at all.
Simple, fast, courteous. I don't know about all these negative reviews, if they are even real but so far I have had nothing but fantastic service.
I guess time will tell once my shop is up how it goes but if they are trying to keep me as a new customer, it's working!

Biggest Pro: Super support for newbies like me.
Biggest Con: Haven't found any yet.

SiteGround is recommended by Lina Herzer. This person recommends SiteGround.
› Overall Rating ››    100.0% 
Reviewed on February 10th, 2010 at 17:46 EST by Lina Herzer
Customer for duration of Less than 1 month
IP Address: 86.26.105.48
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #25 out of 51 SiteGround reviews
uptime & reliability
10.0
server & connection speed
10.0
technical support & knowledge
5.00
customer service & billing
0.00
price value for money
5.00
* ratings are out of 10

Watch out for Renewal Notices

I have, until recently, been quite satisfied with Siteground. Their hosting is reliable, their prices are not excessive, their Sitebuilder is simple enough to use. I have a website with them for my own business, which I intend to keep. I had another website for a business my wife was running, which we decided not to continue. On 1/13, I received a notification that the site was due to expire on 2/12. I followed the procedure online to cancel the subscription. On 1/28, I was charged for another year's hosting. When I questioned this the following day, I was informed that the charge was nonrefundable! I replied that this was unacceptable, but since it was by now Saturday, I decided to wait a few days for a response - which I never received. This morning (2/5) I checked in again. The site has not been canceled. No further attempt was made to respond to my complaint. I again attempted to cancel the site. This time, I was told I would receive an email, and that the link contained in the email would allow me to confirm the cancellation. I did in fact receive the email and click on the link. It brought me to a live chat. The person at the other end claimed they never received my initial cancellation request. I am still attempting to resolve this issue... but losing faith that it will be resolved (and wondering how I will insure that come 2011, this unwanted site is not renewed for yet another year!)

SiteGround is NOT recommended by Kevin Woyce. This person does NOT recommend SiteGround.
› Overall Rating ››    50.00% 
Reviewed on February 5th, 2010 at 10:33 EST by Kevin Woyce
Customer for duration of 3 - 5 years
IP Address: 173.70.204.159
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
14 out of 14 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #26 out of 51 SiteGround reviews
uptime & reliability
0.00
server & connection speed
0.00
technical support & knowledge
0.00
customer service & billing
0.00
price value for money
0.00
* ratings are out of 10

SiteGround is a scam. Beware!!!

I signed up for a 1month trial for siteground on Sept. 18. I'm new at this and I wanted to test the service before committing to anything. Immediately I found the site very difficult to navigate through. When ever you click on an icon on the site it doesn't take you to where you need to go. Instead it takes you to a detour tutorial which leads to another tutorial which leaves you with leaving several window open just to go back and review that all your steps are taken right. Its rediculously time consuming. Not only that but they offered a free website transfer for the first 7 days but heaven help you if you can figure out how to do that. Mine fortuanatley would not configure so it was never transfered (which I am grateful for now since I'm sure they would have held it hostage). The main reason I chose to try this service was because I did not have to sign up for a long period without first getting a taste of the service. Their was nothing in the fine print prior to signing up that stated they did an automatic renewal. In fact I recall the page at the time saying it expired after 1 month. Well that was just a flat out lie. After signing up they said they did an automatic renewal and get this they sign you up for a year for $107.49. That is some expensive hosting. I got an email saying that my account was automatically renewed on the October 18th. I tried to call the number that was in the email and lo and behold no one answers. What a shock. I then went to check my bank account and there was a pending charge. Now call me crazy but I'm pretty sure that if I open an account on the 18th and it expires on the 18th then I can cancel on the 18th. So thats what I tried to do. I went online to cancel the account and and it takes you to a page to cancel and says in a box that you agree to the terms that the renewal fee is non refundable when charged after the 1month trial date. I'm like well today is the end of my trial date not after so its in your fine print so whatever. I printed it of course to show to my bank if they want to push it. I then was sent an email to confirm my cancelation. That email had a link to chat live with someone who tried everything to keep me from cancelling. I told them that today was the final day of my trial period and I wanted to cancel and that they needed to remove the renewal charge immediatley from my account. They claimed it was non refundable. I repeatedly reminded this person that today was the last day of my trial and I was canceling by the end of that trial and they had no authorization to charge my account. Apparently they feel that they can just charge you early for your convenience as they put it and after words you can't get your money back. Then after I told them I was going to block to payment from my bank they tell me that I can only get a refund if I talk to billing. Which he had already said was open from 9-5 mon-fri and then said they were available 24/7. So which is it. So I filled a ticket with billing to cancel the account and I havn't heard back from them. I called my bank this morning to tell them the charge was unauthorized and if they attempted to charge it that I want to open a dispute. I copied all of the conversation I had with the man online as well as the first email they sent me to the last proving that the cancellation was requested on the 18th. So now I just have to wait and see if they are mischevious enough to try and actually follow through with their little scam. I am cancelling my card on the off chance they may try and charge more money to my card as well. Oh and by the way even if you read the fine print. Its not their. So everyone on hear that didn't and let these people lie to you because you didn't please call your bank and file a dispute. I'm read details and believe me their were no details there to be found.

Biggest Con: Very disshonest a Huge Con

SiteGround is NOT recommended by Bethany. This person does NOT recommend SiteGround.
› Overall Rating ››    0.00% 
Reviewed on October 19th, 2009 at 08:59 EST by Bethany
Customer for duration of Less than 1 month
IP Address: 98.193.231.195
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #27 out of 51 SiteGround reviews
uptime & reliability
4.40
server & connection speed
9.70
technical support & knowledge
0.30
customer service & billing
0.00
price value for money
0.00
* ratings are out of 10

Biggest ripoff

DO not sign up for an account with these people.

I was suckered in with their 5.00 for the first month sign up.

and that very first day I discovered how difficult it is to navigate their site, and build your own site .

so I did not like it at all.

I ask for cancellation of my account. upon asking for a account cancellation they tell me they will charge me 25.00 fee when my sign up fee was only 5.00. also I discovered u need to chat with some sale person in order to cancel your account in witch the sale person trys to talk u out of it in every way possible.

so then I discover well my account will expire on oct 1st 30 days after my sign up so I will just let it expire and I wont have to worry about any fees.

Boy was I wrong!. I wake up today and find they took 107.00 from my bank account, without my authorization. so im flaming mad of course.

I once again try to cancel my account and I ask for a refund. well after 5 trys into their crappy chat session I finally get some dude asking me how he can help me.

I tell him I want my account deleted and I would like a refund for the 107.00 they took from me just minutes ago. he does not want to delete my account , it took 40 min of my morning arguing with this guy.

finally after the 6th time telling him to delete it he says he will.

on top of this he tells me they only do refunds in the first 30 days. after the first 30 days whatever is charged after that they wont refund at all.

I never read this anywhere when I signed up.

so I got charged 107.00 for a site I never used and will never use. and im out that 107.00 which I really needed for my utility bills .

so please dont sign up for these people. they totally mislead me to think my account would be deleted if I dident renew instead they renewed my account.

SiteGround is NOT recommended by Lisa. This person does NOT recommend SiteGround.
› Overall Rating ››    30.00% 
Reviewed on October 1st, 2009 at 10:34 EST by Lisa
Customer for duration of 1 - 2 months
IP Address: 71.182.74.112
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: lhunter2004@msn.com
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #28 out of 51 SiteGround reviews
uptime & reliability
0.00
server & connection speed
0.00
technical support & knowledge
0.00
customer service & billing
0.00
price value for money
0.00
* ratings are out of 10

SiteGround is a Hosting Scam. Read all their fine print.

After no problems for 3 months, I uploaded a few joomla sites which have a lot of small files. They told me my account was going to be shut down because of too much 'inode' usage. So I was forced to delete all my work. I was not using a lot of space (only 200mgs!) so I was very surprised this would happen on an account with 'unlimited' space.

Several months later I got another notice saying my site would be turned off in 2 days because of too many 'multimedia' files. The files they were referring to were not audio or video, but simply jpgs! Again I had to quickly delete all the work. My total space used was only 100GBs for an 'unlimited' account! They said I had to upgrade to a dedicated server ($250 per month) in 2 days or they would shut off my site!

I did find an 800 number through Google but after many attempts I gave up the illusion of actually talking to someone. After a few minutes they just cut you off.

Even their ticket system is ridiculous. I had a lot of trouble finding the place to submit a ticket (they make this purposely very difficult). Of course their response to my please of mercy went unheeded. I don't understand how such a company can even be in business. I guess it will attract people looking for something for nothing. I understand what goes into hosting and I was not looking for that. My mistake was not reading the fine print. I've never had to do that before with hosting companies who keep things simple: you pay for space and bandwidth and leave you alone.

Enough was enough. I closed my account. This is the worst hosting scam I've ever seen.

Biggest Con: Everything siteground.com does is a scam.

SiteGround is NOT recommended by Steve Jones. This person does NOT recommend SiteGround.
› Overall Rating ››    0.00% 
Reviewed on August 4th, 2009 at 14:01 EST by Steve Jones
Customer for duration of 6 - 11 months
IP Address: 97.117.206.62
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #29 out of 51 SiteGround reviews
uptime & reliability
9.90
server & connection speed
9.90
technical support & knowledge
9.90
customer service & billing
0.00
price value for money
0.00
* ratings are out of 10

This company is a rip off

They pretend to give you a low monthly, but in return charge you some sort of fees elsewhere.

DO NOT GO WITH THIS COMPANY or be fooled by their low monthly. They are dishonest.

Do not go with this company because:

- You need to purchase an addon space for each domain added to your account.
Where as other company and my current company is unlimited.

- You're only allowed 5 domains maximum added to your account.
Other companies and my current company is unlimited.

- Do not give free domain for new accounts
Other companies and my current company give a lifetime domain.

SiteGround is NOT recommended by Riley Ryan. This person does NOT recommend SiteGround.
› Overall Rating ››    0.00% 
Reviewed on July 16th, 2009 at 09:58 EST by Riley Ryan
Customer for duration of 1 - 2 years
IP Address: 72.220.39.42
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Windows   Domain: [withheld]   Email: njil96@yahoo.com
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #30 out of 51 SiteGround reviews
link to this page   |   tell a friend about this web host
Host Gator - Host Unlimited Web Sites
Reseller Hosting - 50% Off
Host Unlimited Sites
Free Dedicated IP & Backups
90 Day Money Back Guarantee
Try it out for just $13.99/mo.
InMotion Hosting

Read what users say about InMotion Hosting!


For Users
Web Hosting Reviews
Submit Review
Advanced Search
All Web Hosts
Top Rated

Our Difference
Contact


Free Newsletter
For Hosts
Host Log-in
Create Account
Generate Links
Get More Exposure


New Reviews
Go Daddy
000webhost
Just Host
WebHostingPad
EasyCGI
BlueFur
SkyNet Hosting
Arvixe
HostSo
VPSDepot
ADDR
Lunarpages
Quick2Host
WebIntellects
KVC Hosting
SiteGround
A Small Orange
ServerSea
StoresOnline
HostPapa


Other
Website Thumbnails
This site is powered by Host Gator.
Copyright © 1999-2016 WebHostingReviews.com. All Rights Reserved.
All reviews, content, graphics, logos, design, and scripts, are the sole property of WebHostingReviews.com, and
may not be used without prior written consent from us. All violations will be prosecuted to the maximum extent possible under the law.
Last Update: June 20th, 2016 at 15:01 EST / This site has a total of 3,441 web hosting reviews, based on 529 different web hosting companies.