SiteGround

Visit SiteGround Visit SiteGround   Write your own SiteGround review. Write your own SiteGround review.
15 out of 51 (or 29% of) people recommend SiteGround.
 › Rating Averages ››
Uptime & Reliability Server & Connection Speed Price Value for Money
7.48 / 10.0 6.76 / 10.0 4.36 / 10.0
Technical Support & Knowledge Customer Service & Billing
4.95 / 10.0 3.45 / 10.0
SiteGround
› Overall Rating ››    42.02% 
How are ratings calculated? 
  • Analyze this Page for Me
Showing 11 to 20 out of 51 reviews.   Filter Reviews
Page Relevancy
Review Quality 100%
What's
this?

SiteGround reviews

uptime & reliability
9.00
server & connection speed
5.00
technical support & knowledge
10.0
customer service & billing
5.00
price value for money
5.00
* ratings are out of 10

No Complaints So Far

I got in on a special advertised plan with Site Ground. I had another hosting provider at the time that I was unhappy with. So I decided to give Siteground a try. I had no problem with Siteground but had to cancel my hosting with them because I was under contract with another provider for another year. I explained this to Siteground but kept the domain name that they supplied. No Problem they were very nice and their tech support was tops. I went into my Cpanel and pointed the domain to my present hosting provider. When my hosting is up for renewal I will consider using Siteground at that time.

Biggest Pro: Cpanel and Tech Support
Biggest Con: Pricing when you go to renew and charge for extras

SiteGround is recommended by Melvin Bell. This person recommends SiteGround.
› Overall Rating ››    60.00% 
Reviewed on February 25th, 2012 at 13:47 EST by Melvin Bell
Customer for duration of 1 - 2 months
IP Address: 76.178.125.231
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #11 out of 51 SiteGround reviews
uptime & reliability
5.00
server & connection speed
4.00
technical support & knowledge
0.00
customer service & billing
0.00
price value for money
0.00
* ratings are out of 10

Siteground is THE WORST WEB HOSTING COMPANY AVAILABLE

I too was lured in by low-cost hosting by Siteground. As somebody said, it is a bait and switch. There's plenty of support WHEN YOU'RE SIGNING UP, after that, you literally have to PAY for support on a monthly basis. You cannot contact Siteground any other way.

Second, they autorenew without sending you ANY notification to set expectations of an upcoming renewal. They do everything they can to charge your credit card.

Third, they suspended my account for site usage claiming it was taking up too much space on their shared server. My site had 100 members of which maybe 5 were on only occasionally. I have never had this problem with Godaddy. So they suspended my account. I went to cancel but the CANCEL BUTTON WAS GRAYED OUT... I couldn't cancel. Instead, I had to talk to some douche bag on a live chat to cancel.

They make you go through their live chat system.

After doing some research on the BBB, I noticed they have a C+ rating and worse... they are not even a legitimate company. The CEO is purportedly named Tenko Nikolov. Also make note: worst CEO on the planet.

Fourth, Siteground has a phone number that will send you on an endless loop through their automated system that only tells you to go online and login to your account.

Siteground is such a pathetic hosting company. I bet some Siteground loser is going to respond saying "we're really sorry you had a bad experience... blah blah blah". It's such a scam. They really do not care... they will just try to do damage control. It's too late though. Look how many poor reviews there are for Siteground.

Do your research, don't use Siteground! Go somewhere, ANYWHERE, but not Siteground.

Biggest Pro: none
Biggest Con: customer service

Response by Lilyana Yakimova, who is a staff member of SiteGround:

Hello Jarad,

I have read your post and understand your frustration about the fact that your hosting account and website have been suspended. But I would like to address your accusation publicly here as SiteGround has acted legally and in accordance with the best business practices in your case.

I would first address the general statements you have made about SiteGround:

You wrote: "Customer service is not FREE on Siteground. You have to pay
them a premium to have the ability to email them with issues."

I must oppose this statement first as this is something that is completely not true. Customer support is free at SiteGround. Every SiteGround customer, no matter if using our standard or premium support, can contact us by phone (during office hours), via chat or our HelpDesk (24/7). In your ticket communication with our customer service regarding your website performance issue that lead to a suspension you have not waited more than 30 minutes for a reply from our 24/7 representatives and have received a reply in 8 hours once the issue was escalated to management.

You mention BBB.org and the fact that SiteGround.com is not BBB accredited.

This is true and is due to the fact that we are not a US based company and we have never stated otherwise. However, we provide web hosting service on servers located in US data centers and are used by hundreds of thousands of US customers. Moreover, although we are not obliged to maintain a BBB profile at all, we consider it as another valuable place for feedback. We have responded to all complains filed against us and we were able to resolve them all.

And as for the bad reviews you have mentioned I would like to bring to your attention
the fact, that every company that has a presence on the web, can be subject to bad reviews. There is not a single hosting company without "(Company) is scam" reviews and sites associated with its name. But what we do differently in such cases, as in your own case too, is that we try to attend to as many of the bad reviews as possible and if we can identify the customer, who wrote the review, we try to contact him, investigate and resolve the issue. Also there are many more happy customers, that have shared their reviews on authority websites such as
Ratepoint.com, WebHostingStuff.com, WebHostingUnleashed.com, HostSearch.com etc.

And now for your particular website issues:

On 5th of January your account artists.me started to consume a very high percentage of the shared server CPU resources. We have conducted a detailed investigation of the reasons for the high resource consumption and it turned out that your application executes slow queries towards its database, which eventually hogs the server. The first thing that our technical team did was to informed you about the issues with your account - with a ticket in your HelpDesk and an email sent to you, and to provide you with possible options for you to resolve this issue by optimizing your website, or if this is not possible, by upgrading to a higher hosting solution. In order to protect the other shared server users we also had to temporarily limit the shared server resources your account can use. This is a standard procedure used by shared hosting providers. Since you did not respond during the next 7 days and your website continued to load the server we had to suspend it, as you really needed to take an action to address the issue your website created so that other users are not affected.

You stated here: "...my website is taking up too many resources on their shared server. First, understand that my site only has 130 members. Furthermore, these are members that are hardly ever come to my site!"

Please let me remind you that the load an application creates not always depends on the number of users. If its code is inefficient it can overload a server even with a single user. Moreover you admit yourself in the ticket: "The application I'm running is huge - it's SocialEngine. Their coders suck, I agree but I had already invested a large amount of money into the application without knowing how it interacts with a server."

We can thoroughly understand that you are frustrated about your website being down after you have invested efforts, but you should also understand that we cannot allow a single website to affect the performance of all others on the server. SiteGround did everything possible to offer a solution that will be suitable for both sides. Once you contacted us we have re-activated your account for your IP, so that you can optimize the site to work in accordance with the shared hosting requirements if possible. We have also offered more suitable hosting solutions, but you have not been interested in them. That is why we have offered to provide a backup for your account, so that you can host it on a solution and with a provider of your choice.

Kind Regards,
Reneta Tsankova
COO SiteGround.com

Posted on January 21st, 2012 at 13:37 EST
SiteGround is NOT recommended by Jarad. This person does NOT recommend SiteGround.
› Overall Rating ››    2.00% 
Reviewed on January 20th, 2012 at 00:20 EST by Jarad
Customer for duration of 1 - 2 years
IP Address: 66.41.169.48
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #12 out of 51 SiteGround reviews
uptime & reliability
8.00
server & connection speed
8.00
technical support & knowledge
8.00
customer service & billing
0.00
price value for money
0.00
* ratings are out of 10

I do not recommend siteground.

I do not recommend siteground.
They have terrible pricing for old users.
New users pay for three years host, 144 dollars, and for the same old one pay $ 250. This is a robbery.
Negotiations with them in order to understand the logic of this - is useless and formal. I will not use their services and do not advise others to do it.

Response by Lilyana Yakimova, who is a staff member of SiteGround:

Hello Stavros,

The promotions we have for new customers are really different from the promotions we apply to existing customers and there is a good reason for this. The perceived risk is a substantial part of a consumer behavior. When someone needs to choose a new provider without having personal experience with its quality, the perceived risk is bigger than when someone decides to renew a service, whose quality he has seen personally. So to alleviate this bigger risk we offer bigger discounts for new customers sign ups. What we state with this is: we believe that our service value is higher, but we understand that you may want to see for yourself if this is true and we are willing to invest some free service in convincing you what the true value is.

I believe that you were satisfied with the service you has received so far, as you have renewed your account twice so far for 3 years each time.

Reneta Tzankova
COO SiteGround.com

Posted on January 11th, 2012 at 04:35 EST
SiteGround is NOT recommended by stavros. This person does NOT recommend SiteGround.
› Overall Rating ››    50.00% 
Reviewed on January 1st, 2012 at 12:47 EST by stavros
Customer for duration of 3 - 5 years
IP Address: 77.49.53.21
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #13 out of 51 SiteGround reviews
uptime & reliability
6.00
server & connection speed
6.00
technical support & knowledge
6.00
customer service & billing
0.00
price value for money
0.00
* ratings are out of 10

DO NOT USE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Lured in with very cheap starting prices. Account auto renews and I got reminders through saying my account was going to be renewed but not for how much or when. I signed in to see when money would be taken and not even in that section of the website did it tell me the date or how much! So a few weeks before my start date a year later they take around £200 off me! It was clear I was in the process of shutting down my sites and backing up data ready for the year's worth of services end (a Wordpress site could not be backed up by their system so I had to do it manually) and I explained this. They tried to charge me to leave, charge me to switch to 3 monthly billing cycles to get out of it which weren't much cheaper than what they had taken. To cancel it I would have had to pay around £60! Ended up sending it to Natwest credit card fraud department who refunded it after a lengthy wait. They said they had never seen so much information given regarding an internet company and agreed they had been misleading. I have actually bothered to come and find a site like this just to soley warn people not to use them, I hope they start being more transparent and user friendly ***PLEASE STAY AWAY!!!***

Response by Lilyana Yakimova, who is a staff member of SiteGround:

Hello Lucy,

We are sorry that you have felt misled. We constantly change and try to improve our marketing messages to make sure our customers understand the limited-time deals we offer without being confused or misled. In addition to that, we make sure that all such renewal policies and terms regarding our product are explained in our Terms of Service in as much detail as possible.

So, on our website we have made visible both our promotional and regular price so customers have an idea of the real value of the hosting and the renewal price.

The auto-renewal process itself is made for customers' convenience and the renewal fees are charged 15 days prior to expiration, in order to provide uninterrupted hosting services to the website owners (also mentioned in the notification email sent to you) and is explained in the above-mentioned Terms of Service.

Immediately after you contacted us, our team has discussed with you the different cancellation and billing cycle switch options as per our TOS. In case of cancellation after the billing date we have to withhold a $24.95 refund processing fee as well as a $14.95 domain name renewal fee. Needless to say that the domain name remains your property and you are free to manage and use it as it suits you best.

Despite all that, we make sure that no customer is forced into unwanted and unfair contract terms so we make exceptions where that is needed. I am sorry that you did not follow up on that conversation in the ticket where I am sure we would have resolved the problem in a satisfactory way for you, but have gone to your bank directly. In any case, good luck with your site.

Best Regards!

Posted on October 4th, 2011 at 10:10 EST
SiteGround is NOT recommended by Lucyfr. This person does NOT recommend SiteGround.
› Overall Rating ››    0.00% 
Reviewed on September 30th, 2011 at 09:06 EST by Lucyfr
Customer for duration of 1 - 2 years
IP Address: 194.176.105.150
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Windows   Domain: http://www.dawbdesign.com/   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #14 out of 51 SiteGround reviews
uptime & reliability
6.30
server & connection speed
6.40
technical support & knowledge
4.60
customer service & billing
0.00
price value for money
0.40
* ratings are out of 10

Terrible Experience with Siteground -- Stay away!

The Siteground.com hosting was definitely a "bait and switch". They offered a low price hosting service ($10 year); then refused to stop auto payments at $109 per year at end of the service term. I regularly received charges that I didn't expect. And, when you try to leave, they inflict additional charges. I had to resort to placing a "bad" credit card on the site; which requires an active credit card -- no Paypal allowed. But I got caught, when I tried to renew a site I did want. Now, I can't get my valid card off their records. I will have to change banks to get away from Siteground.

BIG SCAM! Stay away from Siteground.com

Biggest Pro: NONE -- many other services offer better plans
Biggest Con: Refusal to left you leave without dumping extraneous exit charges on you. I see class action lawsuits in their future.

Response by Lilyana Yakimova, who is a staff member of SiteGround:

Hello Stafford Battle,

The $9.95 Hosting offer you mention, is valid for the first year of hosting and gives customers the chance to test our services. With this offer you only pay $9.95 and get one year of hosting plus a domain registered especially for you, and we pay for this domain name for the entire time you stay with us. If after the first year the customer is satisfied with us and wants to stay with us, he or she pays the regular hosting fees. The terms of this promotion are clearly stated in our Term of Use.

As I see you have purchased ca. 10 accounts from this promotion. If you think that the regular fees are too high for you, you can transfer your websites away or cancel some or all of them. You can easily do that from the Billing section in your account. You can decide if you want to cancel immediately or at expiration date. If you want to transfer your website away, you have to pay for the domain name, that we purchase for you at sign up. Please note that the domain alone costs more than the $9.95 that you pay initially.

If you think that you have been charged for something you did not order, please contact our Billing department through your User Area and they will investigate the case.

Regards, The SiteGround Team

Posted on May 11th, 2011 at 02:58 EST
SiteGround is NOT recommended by Stafford Battle. This person does NOT recommend SiteGround.
› Overall Rating ››    14.00% 
Reviewed on May 10th, 2011 at 09:44 EST by Stafford Battle
Customer for duration of 3 - 5 years
IP Address: 138.238.231.10
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: http://www.sbattle.com/   Email: sbattle@sbattle.com
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #15 out of 51 SiteGround reviews
uptime & reliability
10.0
server & connection speed
7.30
technical support & knowledge
9.90
customer service & billing
1.60
price value for money
8.00
* ratings are out of 10

Be very very carefull at the end of the hosting period

Siteground is like that: Gentleman at the beginning, Gentleman during the journey (at least with me it was) and rude at the end (at least with me they were).
I've cancelled the webhosting with them (www.birminghamadvice.com) and I've received some email warning that "your account is about to expire, you'll lose all of your site contents if you don't renew...bla-bla...). Obviously I took no action as I wanted to cancel the account anyway so I rest assured the cancelation is under way. On the day of expiration big surprise: one email message thanks me for renewal of my hosting account with Siteground! So, for no action at my end Siteground has managed to pull out my credit card details and renew the account for me!! I got mad as I donít like anyone to use my credit card details without my permission. Iíve got in touch with my brother in law which happen to be a barrister and advised me to write to them and ask for an immediate refund or Iíll open legal action against their hosting company. I was lucky because I used to keep every piece of correspondence with them. With this occasion Iíve been refunded the money but I really disliked the way they understand to do business.
Technical support: Iíll be totally honest with you, they were very supportive on this matter. The truth is that I didnít have problems with my sites and with one occasion when I really messed up with the web content of my site they have managed to fix it quick.
One warning though: be very careful at the way your account is renewed as by default this is set to be renewed at expiration. You have to request the cancellation via Billing Panel and then confirm again by email. If you donít do that you can end up with your account renewed for another year and a large bill for that.

Biggest Pro: technical support, cpanel, web knowledge, cheap offers at the beginning
Biggest Con: billing, unauthorised used of your billing details

SiteGround is NOT recommended by Florin B. This person does NOT recommend SiteGround.
› Overall Rating ››    56.00% 
Reviewed on March 16th, 2011 at 08:05 EST by Florin B
Customer for duration of 1 - 2 years
IP Address: 213.120.92.197
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: http://www.birminghamadvice.com/   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
15 out of 15 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #16 out of 51 SiteGround reviews
uptime & reliability
0.00
server & connection speed
0.00
technical support & knowledge
0.00
customer service & billing
0.00
price value for money
0.00
* ratings are out of 10

Worst web hosting in the world

Recently I Purchased shared hosting for my website in siteground....i contacted the chat support even twice for some queries...Those guys told that u can host unlimited addon domains,but after the payment get over im shocked with their fraud plan...each addon domains cost $30 per year and also $24 setup fee..the chat support is just liers and fake....They are cheaters,stoling customer money with cunning tricks and hidden fees...the server load time is also not that much good,these guys didnt show web host features clearly,this is what they do to cheat customers... so stay away from them...dont host website with them....they are fuck cheaters

SiteGround is NOT recommended by Navin Kumar. This person does NOT recommend SiteGround.
› Overall Rating ››    0.00% 
Reviewed on February 28th, 2011 at 02:38 EST by Navin Kumar
Customer for duration of Less than 1 month
IP Address: 122.164.119.17
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
15 out of 15 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #17 out of 51 SiteGround reviews
uptime & reliability
0.00
server & connection speed
0.00
technical support & knowledge
0.00
customer service & billing
0.00
price value for money
0.00
* ratings are out of 10

Siteground bait and switched to get signup then would not cancel

I needed vbulletin hosting and found their website- the language said "100% turnkey need nothing else" so I signed up and paid their one year of hosting fee. Come to find out it was not 100% turnkey - as they did not provide the vbulletin and I would need to buy the license. Once I found that out with the salesman I immediately cnacelled the account- within 1 hour of the purchase- Now it has been 1 year later and they not only did not cancel the account but htey were trying to charge my CC again- after repeated emails they finally agreed to give back 75% and keep the rest as a cancellation fee - Stay away total rip-off!

SiteGround is NOT recommended by John . This person does NOT recommend SiteGround.
› Overall Rating ››    0.00% 
Reviewed on February 26th, 2011 at 10:04 EST by John
Customer for duration of Less than 1 month
IP Address: 24.176.185.146
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
16 out of 16 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #18 out of 51 SiteGround reviews
uptime & reliability
6.20
server & connection speed
1.40
technical support & knowledge
0.00
customer service & billing
0.00
price value for money
0.00
* ratings are out of 10

Website hacked and siteground provides inadequate support

Firstly, this review is for those kind of sites that enjoy a really high traffic and organic search rankings.

My site runs on Wordpress, hosted with Siteground and I discovered that the db was hacked into on the 9th of Feb, this morning. Upon contacting siteground I was told to:

1) Restore DD/Back up
2) Request a site audit

What's strange is the fact that you have to PAY for using either of these services. Thankfully I had a backup of my DB was able to get my site up and running.

The question that remains though is, as a web hosting provider it is the prerogative of Siteground to assist customers who have been victims of hacking. Instead of offering help, Siteground jumped at the opportunity to make more money through stupid services without actually focusing on resolving the issue.

I'm through and through with siteground, where firstly their support system just lists a bunch of questions and leaves no room for 'Other Queries' type of issues.

Thanks for nothing siteground.

Biggest Pro: Website Transfer
Biggest Con: Be sure to spend money on every little thing.

SiteGround is NOT recommended by John Benjamin. This person does NOT recommend SiteGround.
› Overall Rating ››    0.00% 
Reviewed on February 13th, 2011 at 08:24 EST by John Benjamin
Customer for duration of 6 - 11 months
IP Address: 95.68.100.158
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
14 out of 14 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #19 out of 51 SiteGround reviews
uptime & reliability
0.00
server & connection speed
0.00
technical support & knowledge
0.00
customer service & billing
0.00
price value for money
0.00
* ratings are out of 10

Siteground Is A Scam!!!

" Siteground Is A Scam!!! I signed up for the service and was promised help in getting the site going. Nothing on the site has ever been functionable. I wasted many hours and money trying to figure out things myself. Followed all the instructions and reported that nothing would work. All I heard was excuses. They have taken my money and offered no service or resolution to these issues. I feel that this is a scam site and warn any one from payiong for a service that mis represents. If you read positive reviews then it is by people who work for this company! All They Care About Is Getting Your Money! Beware This Is A Rip Off!!! "

Biggest Con: No help ever!!!!

SiteGround is NOT recommended by jeff. This person does NOT recommend SiteGround.
› Overall Rating ››    0.00% 
Reviewed on February 11th, 2011 at 13:31 EST by jeff
Customer for duration of 6 - 11 months
IP Address: 67.177.211.100
Type of Plan: Dedicated   Platform: Windows   Domain: http://www.musicdragon.net/   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
15 out of 15 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #20 out of 51 SiteGround reviews
link to this page   |   tell a friend about this web host
Host Gator - Host Unlimited Web Sites
Reseller Hosting - 50% Off
Host Unlimited Sites
Free Dedicated IP & Backups
90 Day Money Back Guarantee
Try it out for just $13.99/mo.
InMotion Hosting

Read what users say about InMotion Hosting!


For Users
Web Hosting Reviews
Submit Review
Advanced Search
All Web Hosts
Top Rated

Our Difference
Contact


Free Newsletter
For Hosts
Host Log-in
Create Account
Generate Links
Get More Exposure


New Reviews
Go Daddy
000webhost
Just Host
WebHostingPad
EasyCGI
BlueFur
SkyNet Hosting
Arvixe
HostSo
VPSDepot
ADDR
Lunarpages
Quick2Host
WebIntellects
KVC Hosting
SiteGround
A Small Orange
ServerSea
StoresOnline
HostPapa


Other
Website Thumbnails
This site is powered by Host Gator.
Copyright © 1999-2016 WebHostingReviews.com. All Rights Reserved.
All reviews, content, graphics, logos, design, and scripts, are the sole property of WebHostingReviews.com, and
may not be used without prior written consent from us. All violations will be prosecuted to the maximum extent possible under the law.
Last Update: June 20th, 2016 at 15:01 EST / This site has a total of 3,441 web hosting reviews, based on 529 different web hosting companies.