Site5

Visit Site5 Visit Site5   Write your own Site5 review. Write your own Site5 review.
5 out of 12 (or 42% of) people recommend Site5.
 › Rating Averages ››
Uptime & Reliability Server & Connection Speed Price Value for Money
6.20 / 10.0 6.26 / 10.0 6.01 / 10.0
Technical Support & Knowledge Customer Service & Billing
5.73 / 10.0 4.29 / 10.0
Site5
› Overall Rating ››    53.92% 
How are ratings calculated? 
  • Analyze this Page for Me
Showing 1 to 10 out of 12 reviews.   Filter Reviews
Page Relevancy
Review Quality 100%
What's
this?
« Prev 1 2

Site5 reviews

uptime & reliability
0.00
server & connection speed
0.00
technical support & knowledge
0.00
customer service & billing
0.00
price value for money
0.00
* ratings are out of 10

False Advertising

I signed up several years ago for an UNLIMITED plan. Recently I was given a server health warning and had to remove my files. A perfectly legitimate app that was just too large in diskspace. Hardly an unlimited plan is it? This is just false advertising and deception of consumers.

Site5 is NOT recommended by MN. This person does NOT recommend Site5.
› Overall Rating ››    0.00% 
Reviewed on June 24th, 2013 at 13:26 EST by MN
Customer for duration of 3 - 5 years
IP Address: 148.177.1.215
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #1 out of 12 Site5 reviews
uptime & reliability
9.00
server & connection speed
7.00
technical support & knowledge
9.50
customer service & billing
0.00
price value for money
8.00
* ratings are out of 10

Stolen IP address - Have they stolen yours?

I was very happy with Site5.com for several years until recently. I never had a problem and the server was fast and extremely reliable. A while ago, they moved my account to a new server.

Sometime after being moved to the new server, I started noticing frequent periods of the server being slow or down for a few minutes at a time. Worse, my e-mails started bouncing because the server was on a spam list.

Much worse, I found out that my e-mails were bouncing because of a problem account sharing my IP address. I was surprised because I paid for the Turbo plan which includes one free dedicated IP address. However, I found out that they took away my dedicated IP address when my account was moved to the new server. They never even notified me that I no longer had a dedicated IP address which I paid for.

I have the Turbo account which was paid for five years and included one dedicated IP address. They still advertise the Turbo plan which still includes one dedicated IP address. However, Site5.com is refusing to give me back a dedicated IP address. Instead, they told me to buy an SSL certificate somewhere and then pay them a fee to install it. Consequently, I will probably move my account to Hostgator.com.

I suspect that most of their accounts have not realized that they lost their IP address. I am considering a class-action lawsuit against Site5.com and I am interested to find out if anyone else has experienced the same problem.

Site5 is NOT recommended by Philip L. Franckel, Esq.. This person does NOT recommend Site5.
› Overall Rating ››    75.00% 
Reviewed on December 25th, 2011 at 00:37 EST by Philip L. Franckel, Esq.
Customer for duration of 3 - 5 years
IP Address: 24.187.77.227
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #2 out of 12 Site5 reviews
uptime & reliability
3.00
server & connection speed
5.00
technical support & knowledge
2.00
customer service & billing
0.00
price value for money
5.00
* ratings are out of 10

Went Downhill Fast

When I first joined Site5 almost 3 years ago they were great. Fast setup, friendly staff, great support.

I haven't had much call to contact them for the past year but this week the server was having issues for 3 days.

Their response was that the system admins were looking into it but that they couldn't tell me what the issue was or when it would be resolved.

Took 2 days and numerous contacts to support and each time got the same response - they couldn't tell me anything and would not email me when the issue was resolved. They told me there was nothing they could do.

Finally issue got resolved but when my site was still slow I called and they said there was a spike but was good now.

I asked what they were doing to resolve it so no issues in the future and they said nothing because it was good now (just like yesterday).

This was a drastically different experience of their support staff from 2 years ago and it maybe because they have got a lot bigger now and I'm just a little guy.

Things got worse when i asked what would happen when I cancelled my annual account 6 months in. No pro-rated refunds.

They offer a 45 day guarantee but after that, nothing.

So, I suggest be wary if you want to try site5 and make sure you really test things out in your first 45 days (including support) to make sure you're getting the support you want.

I'm stuck with them for 6 months but then it'll be time for a change - always a good thing anyway.

Good luck!

Biggest Pro: Originally Price, Dedicated IPs and Ruby were what attracted me
Biggest Con: Crappy Support, No pro-rated refunds after 45 guarantee period

Site5 is NOT recommended by Grant. This person does NOT recommend Site5.
› Overall Rating ››    40.00% 
Reviewed on August 24th, 2011 at 17:49 EST by Grant
Customer for duration of 3 - 5 years
IP Address: 74.14.2.109
Type of Plan: Reseller   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #3 out of 12 Site5 reviews
uptime & reliability
0.00
server & connection speed
0.00
technical support & knowledge
4.50
customer service & billing
0.00
price value for money
0.00
* ratings are out of 10

REMAIN 1000 MILES AWAY FROM THIS HOSTING COMPANY

REMAIN 1000 MILES AWAY FROM THIS HOSTING COMPANY

I am using their service from 1 year. their service was good in past but from last 3 month, they have f***k all my website. their server remain down almost every day and still their billing department does not issue any credits which they have committed.

Their support is also do nothing other then just generating tickets.

Their pricing is high but still i was paying because of stable server but now i hate site5 for not taking care of their existing customer and providing supports

Becasue of their too much down time, i lost my good google ranking. big loss for my business

PLEASE PLEASE REMAIN FAR FAR AWAY FROM THIS hosting

Site5 is NOT recommended by JImit. This person does NOT recommend Site5.
› Overall Rating ››    0.00% 
Reviewed on July 28th, 2011 at 02:35 EST by JImit
Customer for duration of 1 - 2 years
IP Address: 124.125.252.108
Type of Plan: Reseller   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #4 out of 12 Site5 reviews
uptime & reliability
9.50
server & connection speed
7.60
technical support & knowledge
10.0
customer service & billing
10.0
price value for money
9.60
* ratings are out of 10

Site 5 is good for simple sites

I am just running my personal website on site5 (using Ruby on Rails) and I would like to say that my first couple of months of development have gone very well. Backstage is a great setup for managing things, the customer support has been excellent so far and their RoR setup with Passenger makes it a breeze to use that framework (I can't really speak to any other technologies, though). Also, the fact that I have shell access is pretty amazing.

The server is a bit slow, though. After investigating with top, it appears that mysql processes are slowing everything down. I don't really know what other users are doing on their accounts, but hey, that's all part of the shared host experience, you know? All in all, I would say I'm very satisfied with Site5 so far.

Biggest Pro: Customer Support
Biggest Con: Slow shared host servers.

Site5 is recommended by Austin. This person recommends Site5.
› Overall Rating ››    97.00% 
Reviewed on March 22nd, 2011 at 08:39 EST by Austin
Customer for duration of 1 - 2 months
IP Address: 192.216.106.4
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: http://www.agustinmichaelbrown.com/   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
13 out of 13 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #5 out of 12 Site5 reviews
uptime & reliability
5.00
server & connection speed
8.00
technical support & knowledge
0.00
customer service & billing
0.00
price value for money
3.00
* ratings are out of 10

Avoid this company

Site5's customer service is horrible. They are obviously amateurs who are still learning. Do yourself a favor and choose a hosting service that knows what they're doing!

Biggest Con: unprofessional

Site5 is NOT recommended by Nancy Farlow. This person does NOT recommend Site5.
› Overall Rating ››    0.00% 
Reviewed on March 2nd, 2011 at 23:24 EST by Nancy Farlow
Customer for duration of 1 - 2 years
IP Address: 67.239.235.94
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: http://www.lubecvacation.com/   Email: nfarlow@hadronstudios.com
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
15 out of 15 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #6 out of 12 Site5 reviews
uptime & reliability
5.00
server & connection speed
5.00
technical support & knowledge
2.00
customer service & billing
1.00
price value for money
5.00
* ratings are out of 10

If you want to have a TERRIBLE experience, Sign up for Site5

I've used Site5 for hosting for the past 3 years. Until recently, I used them for hobby sites. I upgraded to a reseller account and started offering credit card purchase options on one of my sites. That was the beginning of the end. During the first month, the site was down for over a week because of Site5 internal issues. Site5 only offers support via their POS chat system that is supposed to be up 24 hours/day. We were only able to get through on the chat about 1 out of 5 times and then the chat person would tell us to put in a ticket and then the waiting process would start all over again. At writing, I've been trying to get Site5 to release my site to a new hosting company for nearly a week. They finally sent me a link last night to approve the transfer. Guess what, the link is non-functioning and the morons at Site5 can't figure out what to do.

My suggestion: use Site5 if like terrible customer service, less than 100% up time and if you feel like pulling out your hair sounds like fun.

Biggest Con: customer service/support

Site5 is NOT recommended by David Wilcox. This person does NOT recommend Site5.
› Overall Rating ››    20.00% 
Reviewed on October 8th, 2008 at 10:33 EST by David Wilcox
Customer for duration of 3 - 5 years
IP Address: 66.77.129.3
Type of Plan: Reseller   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
22 out of 22 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #7 out of 12 Site5 reviews
uptime & reliability
4.00
server & connection speed
3.00
technical support & knowledge
3.00
customer service & billing
2.00
price value for money
3.00
* ratings are out of 10

Site5.com - No longer a good host

I have been a customer with Site5.com for 3.5 years. Their service used to be excellent and their tech support used to be responsive and knowledgeable.

In Dec 07 they transferred their hosting to The Planet and their service and uptime have taken a serious nosedive. Their uptime is terrible, they go through fits and spurts where every client on nearly every server has uptime problems and then things are fine for a while. Email problems have crept up where there weren't any before.

Tech support has taken the biggest hit of all. I used to get great email support, and they customer service reps knew me by name - not because there were problems but because they made an effort to be available. Now they blow off tech support emails for 24 hours or more, even when there is a critical problem. They waste time with questions like whitelisting an IP, when the mail server is having serious problems.

I no longer set up new accounts with them, and I'm moving my accounts off of Site5. I recommend that if you are shopping for a reliable host that you do not consider Site5.

Biggest Con: service and reliability

Site5 is NOT recommended by Amy Gallagher. This person does NOT recommend Site5.
› Overall Rating ››    30.00% 
Reviewed on July 3rd, 2008 at 13:00 EST by Amy Gallagher
Customer for duration of 3 - 5 years
IP Address: 75.182.84.160
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: http://www.lowlande.com/   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
22 out of 22 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #8 out of 12 Site5 reviews
uptime & reliability
10.0
server & connection speed
10.0
technical support & knowledge
10.0
customer service & billing
10.0
price value for money
10.0
* ratings are out of 10

Site5 Rocks!

I have dealt with other companies in the past. However, this company ROCKS, and you will not be let down. The Price and the service is top.

I would recommend this host to everyone, and I do.

Biggest Pro: The Backend and Cpanel Rocks

Site5 is recommended by Robert Hartung. This person recommends Site5.
› Overall Rating ››    100.0% 
Reviewed on February 14th, 2008 at 02:52 EST by Robert Hartung
Customer for duration of 1 - 2 years
IP Address: 67.78.3.58
Type of Plan: Reseller   Platform: Linux   Domain: http://www.roberthartung.com/   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
23 out of 23 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #9 out of 12 Site5 reviews
uptime & reliability
10.0
server & connection speed
9.60
technical support & knowledge
9.80
customer service & billing
8.60
price value for money
9.50
* ratings are out of 10

Site5 - Awesome webhosting

I was let down dramatically by my last web host, a ton of downtime and poor support had left my website rapidly loosing visitors and was running out of options as to what I could do. I chose Site5 after a little bit of research and recommendation from a friend, and so far it has been the best web host I have used.

I didn't get off to a very good start with Site5. Unfortunately they don't accept PayPal, and while this is only a minor hindrance it does make a difference, but after a quick email to their billing department and a swift response I registered with Site5 using a credit card, instead of PayPal.

I have never ceased to be amazed by the excellent response and professionalism of Site5 whenever I have had a question, they were quick to respond to my emails and support tickets and I can't say I have ever had a problem with the server. One time I had a question about the version of PHP they were using and I received a response and had everything sorted within 30 minutes Ė and there are time zone differences from where I live to the data centre. I've had no downtime that I am aware of, no server crashes or MySQL errors. Never have any of my domains been slow to respond or unavailable, Iíve never had problems with the Site5 website or logging into the backstage system. When adding on domains, Site5 has picked up the nameservers quickly and on several occasions I have had my domains up and running in an hour or two, far quicker than in previous experience with other hosts. Everything just ticks over smoothly, and it's great to know that my website is in safe hands with support when I need it, I know Iím guaranteed a fast response and I donít have to worry if my websites are going to still be there in a couple of days.

The backend panel (called backstage and account manager at Site5) is also very stunning. Visually itís very impressive and much easier to use than the normal cPanel that comes with hosting. Everything is split up into categories at the side of the website which makes for quick access to any part of the website and control panel that you need. It also contains everything youíd expect, from Fantastico and AwStats to phpMyAdmin. Even though I had never seen the backend before I signed up with Site5 and it was a shock to see something other than cPanel there, I quickly got the hang of it and round it much more pleasant and easier to use.

A great referrals system is also included in Site5, whereby referring people to Site5 can make a fair amount of money. Even just referring a couple of friends, the amount that you can achieve through the system is very large.

Overall, Site5 is an excellent host with great value for money, extensive and knowledgeable customer service and it continues to serve me well!

Biggest Pro: Lovely backend system
Biggest Con: Can't pay via PayPal

Site5 is recommended by Sam Hulse. This person recommends Site5.
› Overall Rating ››    97.00% 
Reviewed on December 31st, 2007 at 18:43 EST by Sam Hulse
Customer for duration of 6 - 11 months
IP Address: 82.38.35.189
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: http://www.samhulse.co.uk/   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
25 out of 25 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #10 out of 12 Site5 reviews
« Prev 1 2
link to this page   |   tell a friend about this web host
Host Gator - Host Unlimited Web Sites
Reseller Hosting - 50% Off
Host Unlimited Sites
Free Dedicated IP & Backups
90 Day Money Back Guarantee
Try it out for just $13.99/mo.
InMotion Hosting

Read what users say about InMotion Hosting!


For Users
Web Hosting Reviews
Submit Review
Advanced Search
All Web Hosts
Top Rated

Our Difference
Contact


Free Newsletter
For Hosts
Host Log-in
Create Account
Generate Links
Get More Exposure


New Reviews
Go Daddy
000webhost
Just Host
WebHostingPad
EasyCGI
BlueFur
SkyNet Hosting
Arvixe
HostSo
VPSDepot
ADDR
Lunarpages
Quick2Host
WebIntellects
KVC Hosting
SiteGround
A Small Orange
ServerSea
StoresOnline
HostPapa


Other
Website Thumbnails
This site is powered by Host Gator.
Copyright © 1999-2016 WebHostingReviews.com. All Rights Reserved.
All reviews, content, graphics, logos, design, and scripts, are the sole property of WebHostingReviews.com, and
may not be used without prior written consent from us. All violations will be prosecuted to the maximum extent possible under the law.
Last Update: June 20th, 2016 at 15:01 EST / This site has a total of 3,441 web hosting reviews, based on 529 different web hosting companies.