PowWeb

Visit PowWeb Visit PowWeb   Write your own PowWeb review. Write your own PowWeb review.
4 out of 15 (or 27% of) people recommend PowWeb.
 › Rating Averages ››
Uptime & Reliability Server & Connection Speed Price Value for Money
7.07 / 10.0 5.58 / 10.0 5.11 / 10.0
Technical Support & Knowledge Customer Service & Billing
3.65 / 10.0 4.03 / 10.0
PowWeb
› Overall Rating ››    40.40% 
How are ratings calculated? 
  • Analyze this Page for Me
Showing 1 to 10 out of 15 reviews.   Filter Reviews
Page Relevancy
Review Quality 100%
What's
this?
« Prev 1 2

PowWeb reviews

uptime & reliability
0.00
server & connection speed
0.00
technical support & knowledge
0.00
customer service & billing
0.00
price value for money
0.00
* ratings are out of 10

PowWeb is the worst host - EVER!

I have had lots of host over the years on my sites. But using PowWeb truly chocked me. Lots of downtime, slow servers and even bad and rude customer service. It is really unbelievable. PowWeb have even claimed that they donít host the site! Even after logging in with my customer details!

Totally unbeliveable.

And get this: for the SECOND time PowWeb.com have done some changes to my site so that it does not even work properly anymore. And it get worse: PowWeb have not fixed it for over a week!

Do not use PowWeb. Seriously.

Biggest Con: Destroying your site and not fixing it back.

PowWeb is NOT recommended by Gunnar Andreassen. This person does NOT recommend PowWeb.
› Overall Rating ››    0.00% 
Reviewed on November 15th, 2015 at 02:22 EST by Gunnar Andreassen
Customer for duration of 1 - 2 years
IP Address: 89.10.130.20
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: http://www.fontdaddy.com/   Email: gunnarandreassen@hotmail.com
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #1 out of 15 PowWeb reviews
uptime & reliability
9.00
server & connection speed
5.00
technical support & knowledge
2.00
customer service & billing
4.00
price value for money
8.00
* ratings are out of 10

Huge security issue with PowWeb email!

I found out yesterday during a support call that PowWeb's tech support people have direct access to your email account passwords. It's unknown if they have direct access to your other passwords. Watch out!

Biggest Pro: decent service for a decent price
Biggest Con: Insecure passwords!

PowWeb is NOT recommended by Lee. This person does NOT recommend PowWeb.
› Overall Rating ››    0.00% 
Reviewed on September 14th, 2013 at 16:13 EST by Lee
Customer for duration of More than 5 years
IP Address: 107.194.23.206
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #2 out of 15 PowWeb reviews
uptime & reliability
9.00
server & connection speed
8.00
technical support & knowledge
0.00
customer service & billing
0.00
price value for money
5.00
* ratings are out of 10

Worst ever

Ever since they were sold or bought out, this company has gone only downhill. I have been with them for over 10 years and I am now leaving. They have been charging me for an account that I merged over 4 years ago. Sure it's my fault for not noticing that until now, but I don't look at my cc statement very closely, and I wasn't sure if they were charging me for the correct account or not. No emails about upcoming charges until just today. I received an invoice for that long lost account. Support was poor, with no help at all.

Biggest Pro: Uptime ease of use
Biggest Con: Ripped off

PowWeb is NOT recommended by Jim. This person does NOT recommend PowWeb.
› Overall Rating ››    40.00% 
Reviewed on July 8th, 2013 at 10:37 EST by Jim
Customer for duration of More than 5 years
IP Address: 24.14.3.24
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Windows   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #3 out of 15 PowWeb reviews
uptime & reliability
8.20
server & connection speed
6.60
technical support & knowledge
0.70
customer service & billing
0.00
price value for money
0.00
* ratings are out of 10

Every year another billing issu surprise

I have been hosting multiple websites with powweb for 6 years now. Support is next to non existent, personnal is for most part incompetent without any knowledge of code and I do not consider my self expert in any way. Every year there is a billing issue. They never send you the bill in advance and then you are in for a surprise. This year my rate jumped from USD 35.00 to more than USD 120.00. I've had it this time and will be migrating alle my webpages elsewhere

Biggest Pro: none
Biggest Con: billing, customer support

PowWeb is NOT recommended by tooneutral. This person does NOT recommend PowWeb.
› Overall Rating ››    3.00% 
Reviewed on May 27th, 2012 at 15:59 EST by tooneutral
Customer for duration of 1 - 2 years
IP Address: 174.98.138.132
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Windows   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #4 out of 15 PowWeb reviews
uptime & reliability
0.00
server & connection speed
0.00
technical support & knowledge
0.00
customer service & billing
0.00
price value for money
0.00
* ratings are out of 10

Powweb has the worst customer service and techincal support!

I have had the worst customer experience of my life with Powweb. 17 hours on the phone and counting and no one over there can do anything. Everyone has excuses and apologies, but no authority or knowledge to do anything. I am migrating my business off of their products and going elsewhere. If you are thinking of using Powweb, don't. They suck!!!

I hope anyone that reads this does not use them. I have spent 17 1/2 hours on the phone with them over the past 72 hours and still no one can help me. They lost hundreds of my emails, charged me money for services they did not provide, and constantly passed the buck to someone else just as incompetent as the person before them.

Biggest Con: the fact that they are still in business

PowWeb is NOT recommended by J Kahn. This person does NOT recommend PowWeb.
› Overall Rating ››    0.00% 
Reviewed on February 15th, 2012 at 20:51 EST by J Kahn
Customer for duration of 3 - 5 years
IP Address: 67.2.253.191
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #5 out of 15 PowWeb reviews
uptime & reliability
7.20
server & connection speed
2.00
technical support & knowledge
1.00
customer service & billing
8.80
price value for money
5.70
* ratings are out of 10

Slow load times

PowWeb is notorious for slow load times for their shared servers. When you open a ticket they say that the issue is not an issue and closes the ticket. I have a PowWeb account for 3 years and it has been going down hill since they changed their plan to unlimited bandwidth. This year I will be letting my sub run out and going with another Web Hosting.

Biggest Pro: unlimited bandwidth
Biggest Con: Slow LOAD TIMES

PowWeb is NOT recommended by Ken. This person does NOT recommend PowWeb.
› Overall Rating ››    19.00% 
Reviewed on December 17th, 2011 at 15:31 EST by Ken
Customer for duration of 3 - 5 months
IP Address: 67.162.249.159
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #6 out of 15 PowWeb reviews
uptime & reliability
8.50
server & connection speed
5.00
technical support & knowledge
2.00
customer service & billing
2.00
price value for money
3.50
* ratings are out of 10

NOT UNLIMITED

i just had this chat with tech support:

Mike: i wasn't using it for storage - someone was using ftp to send me some files.

Mike: but i have removed them now

Don Ray: Okay.

Don Ray: Is there anything else I can assist you with today?

Mike: so am i understanding this right? it is unlimited up to 25 gigs? i mean - i just need to know.

Don Ray: Yes.

Mike: ha... thanks.

PowWeb is NOT recommended by mike. This person does NOT recommend PowWeb.
› Overall Rating ››    35.00% 
Reviewed on July 27th, 2011 at 13:59 EST by mike
Customer for duration of More than 5 years
IP Address: 216.27.61.137
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #7 out of 15 PowWeb reviews
uptime & reliability
8.90
server & connection speed
8.00
technical support & knowledge
4.90
customer service & billing
4.40
price value for money
6.90
* ratings are out of 10

Powweb has gone downhill

Been with Powweb for 10 years. Went through the buyout with them. A couple of years ago I started to see problems, minor ones at first. Last year I renewed for 2 years and then my problems really began. My biggest complaint is the pass through spam. Someone at powweb has drilled a hole through their spam filters and they refuse to correct the situation. My second complaint is that everyone that used to be helpful in tech support is gone and now it's just a bunch of rude monkey's. Everyone that has ever replied to my support ticket has given me a different answer. they've even told me their own documentation in the help section is wrong. They will turn off you email or website whenever you complain or write a bad review through their technical support follow up survey.

I'm done with these guys, my suggestion to anyone considering them: find someone else! The anxiety (and extra work involved) of serving your clients through these guys isn't worth the money. You'll spend more later so go pay the extra up front somewhere else.

Biggest Pro: the pros are long gone
Biggest Con: pick one

PowWeb is NOT recommended by Blair Wolf. This person does NOT recommend PowWeb.
› Overall Rating ››    66.00% 
Reviewed on July 6th, 2011 at 13:07 EST by Blair Wolf
Customer for duration of More than 5 years
IP Address: 174.79.248.151
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #8 out of 15 PowWeb reviews
uptime & reliability
3.00
server & connection speed
4.00
technical support & knowledge
1.50
customer service & billing
4.00
price value for money
2.00
* ratings are out of 10

POWWEB is a lie. I wish I never hosted with them.

Powweb advertised unlimited hosting space and bandwidth and we thought we had a good deal. We couldn't have been more wrong. I would not dwell on the many times that our website went down, sometimes we got notified that there was a problem; most times we didn't. What really broke the camel's back was a day came when all of a sudden I got a mail from powweb stating that my act was in violation of use. On reading their email they claimed I had exceeded my storage limit and to delete some files amd read their terms of service. In shock I read the terms of service which gave a vague statement that not to exceed normal. Confused, I replied hoping for more clarification. I wasn't using my site to store external files and please ur term "normal use" seems vague. I never got a reply, instead i got template responses, Some days later, lo and behold, my entire website was replaced with a account suspended message! Its been over 2 days now and everytime I called they say someone who can help me will get back to me. They never did and my website is still down. I am in shock. I can't believe this is happening. So only if you plan on having a 5 page static website with no possibility of growth and you dont mind a 20-30% downtime, go with them, else PLS RUN!

Biggest Con: False advertisement

PowWeb is NOT recommended by Lekan. This person does NOT recommend PowWeb.
› Overall Rating ››    0.00% 
Reviewed on September 16th, 2010 at 22:25 EST by Lekan
Customer for duration of 3 - 5 years
IP Address: 69.114.179.116
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
14 out of 14 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #9 out of 15 PowWeb reviews
uptime & reliability
8.00
server & connection speed
6.50
technical support & knowledge
5.00
customer service & billing
0.10
price value for money
5.00
* ratings are out of 10

TRICKY-DO NOT USE

I renewed with them for another year, then noticed a month or so later, my website dissapeared from the web. When I checked with PowWeb, they said, Oh, you didn't renew your domain when you renewed your hosting, so we now are going to charge you $160 instead of the normal $4.95 a year!!! When I asked why they didn't tell me that when I renewed, they couldn't even muster up an answer!!! They do it on purpose so you have to pay some ridiculous fee and they trap you into using them, otherwise you have to change domain names!! Very slick and very tricky. I am currently filing complaints against them with several state and federal agencies regarding this unethical business practice.

Biggest Pro: lots of templates
Biggest Con: non existant cust serv and horrible billing practices

PowWeb is NOT recommended by Andrew. This person does NOT recommend PowWeb.
› Overall Rating ››    45.00% 
Reviewed on June 28th, 2010 at 09:19 EST by Andrew
Customer for duration of 1 - 2 years
IP Address: 162.111.235.36
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
15 out of 15 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #10 out of 15 PowWeb reviews
« Prev 1 2
link to this page   |   tell a friend about this web host
Host Gator - Host Unlimited Web Sites
Reseller Hosting - 50% Off
Host Unlimited Sites
Free Dedicated IP & Backups
90 Day Money Back Guarantee
Try it out for just $13.99/mo.
InMotion Hosting

Read what users say about InMotion Hosting!


For Users
Web Hosting Reviews
Submit Review
Advanced Search
All Web Hosts
Top Rated

Our Difference
Contact


Free Newsletter
For Hosts
Host Log-in
Create Account
Generate Links
Get More Exposure


New Reviews
Go Daddy
000webhost
Just Host
WebHostingPad
EasyCGI
BlueFur
SkyNet Hosting
Arvixe
HostSo
VPSDepot
ADDR
Lunarpages
Quick2Host
WebIntellects
KVC Hosting
SiteGround
A Small Orange
ServerSea
StoresOnline
HostPapa


Other
Website Thumbnails
This site is powered by Host Gator.
Copyright © 1999-2016 WebHostingReviews.com. All Rights Reserved.
All reviews, content, graphics, logos, design, and scripts, are the sole property of WebHostingReviews.com, and
may not be used without prior written consent from us. All violations will be prosecuted to the maximum extent possible under the law.
Last Update: June 20th, 2016 at 15:01 EST / This site has a total of 3,441 web hosting reviews, based on 529 different web hosting companies.