Namesco

Visit Namesco Visit Namesco   Write your own Namesco review. Write your own Namesco review.
3 out of 9 (or 33% of) people recommend Namesco.
 › Rating Averages ››
Uptime & Reliability Server & Connection Speed Price Value for Money
7.47 / 10.0 6.76 / 10.0 3.68 / 10.0
Technical Support & Knowledge Customer Service & Billing
4.50 / 10.0 4.10 / 10.0
Namesco
› Overall Rating ››    44.44% 
How are ratings calculated? 
  • Analyze this Page for Me
Showing 1 to 9 out of 9 reviews.   Filter Reviews
Page Relevancy
Review Quality 100%
What's
this?

Namesco reviews

uptime & reliability
8.00
server & connection speed
8.00
technical support & knowledge
5.00
customer service & billing
4.00
price value for money
4.00
* ratings are out of 10

Over cautios, difficult control panel

You should know before starting with Namesco that every time a computer you're using presents the host with a new IP address you'll need to access the Namesco's control panel for your site and allow it to connect via FTP.

The have their own conptrol panel rather than using the almost industry standard (I think) cPanel. It's not obvious where things are or even what they mean.

If you take over admin from someone else, don't forget your password! Don't rely on your FTP client to remember it for you. Getting access without access to the person who started the hosting for your organisation is just about impossible.

All my other websites are hosted on Krystal who may or may not be more expensive, but they are human beings, their security is just as good without having to jump through hoops, and they're just more flexible. Avoid Names.co if you want an easy life.

Biggest Pro: Cost
Biggest Con: Awkwardness in dealing with access issues.

Namesco is NOT recommended by Richard Wright. This person does NOT recommend Namesco.
› Overall Rating ››    50.00% 
Reviewed on December 30th, 2014 at 13:45 EST by Richard Wright
Customer for duration of 3 - 5 months
IP Address: 80.189.172.90
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #1 out of 9 Namesco reviews
uptime & reliability
9.80
server & connection speed
2.70
technical support & knowledge
0.00
customer service & billing
0.00
price value for money
0.00
* ratings are out of 10

Namesco - Stay away and go anywhere else

My website was put down for an issue that i sort it out in 1 hour, and now is more than 5 days since they can't put the site back !

I asked all this time if someone did any changes at the server after taking my website down and i've been served with different incompetent answers that taken me days and nights of work and IT WAS Always a server config error.

PHP Warning: file_get_contents(): http:// wrapper is disabled in the server configuration by allow_url_fopen=0 ... and maybe other changes they did ..

I've worked on this website and Seo for 2 years, and i was 1st on 1st page of google eith the main keywords of business, this issue now created by Namesco is costing me thousands of pounds loss after 5 days having the website down and all i can do after all is wait until Monday (another 2 days)??!?

I will help myself in the near future and ill make sure more and more people will Not go thru what i've been with you NAMESCO!

Now, should i wait another 2 days until Monday when someone will tell me again that is the index.php the issue or the permissions, or that there is no issue and my website is a white background? OR should i just point the nameservers somewhere else and not waste anymore time ?

Yeah.. moving the site and all other 7 now

Namesco is NOT recommended by marius. This person does NOT recommend Namesco.
› Overall Rating ››    10.00% 
Reviewed on December 21st, 2013 at 18:59 EST by marius
Customer for duration of 3 - 5 years
IP Address: 78.147.138.158
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #2 out of 9 Namesco reviews
uptime & reliability
0.00
server & connection speed
0.00
technical support & knowledge
0.00
customer service & billing
0.00
price value for money
0.00
* ratings are out of 10

Ripoff

Wrongfully renewed a uk domain name that I marked as manual renew so that it would expire. Renewal cost was a rip-off 19.99! Refused to cancel the renewal even though Nominet have a 7-day cancellation policy, and even considering the Consumer Protection (Distance Selling) Regulations allows a 7-day cooling off period under law. Really unhelpful customer service, ripoff prices, and a poor account user interface. They are definitely falling behind the competition.

Namesco is NOT recommended by Charles Moore. This person does NOT recommend Namesco.
› Overall Rating ››    0.00% 
Reviewed on November 18th, 2013 at 06:49 EST by Charles Moore
Customer for duration of 6 - 11 months
IP Address: 2.69.138.93
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #3 out of 9 Namesco reviews
uptime & reliability
5.00
server & connection speed
5.00
technical support & knowledge
2.00
customer service & billing
2.00
price value for money
0.10
* ratings are out of 10

Avoid NamesCo

We have been with Register365 and Namesco for many years and are finally getting away from them. All in all they are useless.

The information you get depends on what person you speak to and is often contradictory. Even getting speaking customer support is a joke, often being left on hold for 5 to 15 minutes. The support staff can be quite apathetic, sometimes verging on rude.

They also seem to have technical difficulties on a regular basis where their phones get cut off or the system goes down. If you do get cut off having waited 10 minutes to get through in the first place and then spent 10 minutes explaining your issue, don't expect a call back, just be ready to call back and go though the entire procedure again!

It should also be noted that there is a web address posted on their site to contact in the event of a support issue, customercare@. When I emailed this address, I got a bounce back saying that it is an unmonitored address. I then sent the same email to support@ and got the same message. I thought it might be an error so waited 2 days to see if I would get a response. Nothing!

Some people may love this company, in the same way that some people love the horrendous treatment dished out to customers by Ryanair. If your customer service expectations are low, then maybe namesco or register365 is for you. However, if your standards are any way professional, I suggest going elsewhere!

Namesco is NOT recommended by Fionn Dolan. This person does NOT recommend Namesco.
› Overall Rating ››    30.00% 
Reviewed on August 2nd, 2013 at 10:14 EST by Fionn Dolan
Customer for duration of 1 - 2 years
IP Address: 213.79.44.44
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #4 out of 9 Namesco reviews
uptime & reliability
8.00
server & connection speed
6.00
technical support & knowledge
2.00
customer service & billing
2.00
price value for money
2.00
* ratings are out of 10

Namesco Good????????

My site has been down now for nearly a week and my customers are suffering. The problem is that despite having nearly 2.4 gb of space unused I am told that the SQL database Im trying to upload is too large at 51mb. I might need a dedicated server. It appears they are living in the eighties.

The web app they use is called MyLittleBackup and it this is incapable of restoring anything over the size of 10mb or takes more than 15 minutes to upload.

i have tried to email screen shots to namesco support showing some of the error messages from MyLittleBackup however namesco support automatically ditches attachment to emails. Tech support is supposed to contact me and its now two days later and no call.

If you want a web host for a little diddy site then namesco might satisfy you otherwise if you need a professional site avoid namesco completely.

Biggest Pro: Nice company website
Biggest Con: That they can handle MS Sql Server database files

Namesco is NOT recommended by Chris Grimmette. This person does NOT recommend Namesco.
› Overall Rating ››    20.00% 
Reviewed on November 7th, 2009 at 04:21 EST by Chris Grimmette
Customer for duration of 6 - 11 months
IP Address: 62.64.188.86
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Windows   Domain: [withheld]   Email: cgrimmette@hotmail.co.uk
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
20 out of 20 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #5 out of 9 Namesco reviews
uptime & reliability
6.50
server & connection speed
9.20
technical support & knowledge
3.00
customer service & billing
0.00
price value for money
0.00
* ratings are out of 10

You have to be kidding me? These guys are the worst!

If i could give this companies support & value a lower rating than 0, i would. They used to be good but over the last few years, awful. Support is a very bad joke, i've never called them without having less than 9 poeple waiting in the Q and of course you have to pay through the nose for this.

There have been very rude on occasions & if you are looking for an appology for thier mistakes, forget it.

Very expensive, they only have SQL & PHP in a couple of hosting packages, in this day and age, that is pathetic.

They detleted a website of mine and took 3 days to put it back again, 3 days!!! i never got an apology

From reading other reviews, there are many more unhappy customers than happy

I wouldn't recomend www.names.co.uk to my worst enemy

You're been warned!

Biggest Pro: don't have any
Biggest Con: Price & support

Namesco is NOT recommended by Paul. This person does NOT recommend Namesco.
› Overall Rating ››    0.00% 
Reviewed on July 8th, 2009 at 12:35 EST by Paul
Customer for duration of 3 - 5 years
IP Address: 200.116.245.172
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: atrevidopaul@gmail.com
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
19 out of 19 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #6 out of 9 Namesco reviews
uptime & reliability
9.90
server & connection speed
9.90
technical support & knowledge
9.00
customer service & billing
9.90
price value for money
8.00
* ratings are out of 10

Very Good - Recommended

I used Namesco many years ago and after a few years decided to return. I cannot realy complain. Not as cheap as other hosting companies, but I rather pay more for good service. Only negative thing I have to say is that Namesco does not use Apache. They use Zeus instead. This can be bit of problem when hosting Wordpress. They would have been the most perfect hosting company if Apache was available.

Biggest Pro: Small Efficient Good Service
Biggest Con: Not using Apache

Namesco is recommended by Paisley. This person recommends Namesco.
› Overall Rating ››    95.00% 
Reviewed on May 8th, 2009 at 15:11 EST by Paisley
Customer for duration of 1 - 2 months
IP Address: 78.16.37.237
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
18 out of 18 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #7 out of 9 Namesco reviews
uptime & reliability
10.0
server & connection speed
10.0
technical support & knowledge
10.0
customer service & billing
10.0
price value for money
10.0
* ratings are out of 10

Namesco. Number 1 for me.

Being new to computers and the systems I would need, I did what research I could from my limited knowledge base and came up with Namesco.

I am delighted with my choice. Apart from one minor accounts problem that was resolved with profuse apologies, I have had excellent service from them ... far in excess of what my nuisance value merits.

Apple mac users should take particular note.

Biggest Pro: I always feel they are going out of their way to look after me.
Biggest Con: None whatsoever.

Namesco is recommended by Michael Smith. This person recommends Namesco.
› Overall Rating ››    100.0% 
Reviewed on December 3rd, 2008 at 07:33 EST by Michael Smith
Customer for duration of 1 - 2 years
IP Address: 213.246.68.26
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Mac   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
19 out of 19 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #8 out of 9 Namesco reviews
uptime & reliability
10.0
server & connection speed
10.0
technical support & knowledge
9.50
customer service & billing
9.00
price value for money
9.00
* ratings are out of 10

A hidden gem!

Don't know if I am doing these guys any favours by recommending them as no-one seems to know much about them and that for me is one very big plus point.

They treat me as an individual rather than just another number and have always been extremely supportive during the 4+ years I have used them.

I know that there are cheaper packages out there but my question would be at what cost compared to the service I recieve now?

The space and bandwidth I have on my package are enough to keep my little website going for a good few years yet before I would ever need to start to think about looking to increase my payments for a larger package.

I am regularily updated when I need to be and do not recieve any useless emails offering stupid irrelivent information which is a big plus point when sorting through my mail.

Anyway enough from me, just to say that I would have no problems at all recommending this company if reliability and peace of mind is what you want

Namesco is recommended by Wayne Riddell. This person recommends Namesco.
› Overall Rating ››    95.00% 
Reviewed on July 14th, 2007 at 16:23 EST by Wayne Riddell
Customer for duration of 3 - 5 years
IP Address: 81.157.18.138
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
28 out of 28 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #9 out of 9 Namesco reviews
link to this page   |   tell a friend about this web host
Host Gator - Host Unlimited Web Sites
Reseller Hosting - 50% Off
Host Unlimited Sites
Free Dedicated IP & Backups
90 Day Money Back Guarantee
Try it out for just $13.99/mo.
InMotion Hosting

Read what users say about InMotion Hosting!


For Users
Web Hosting Reviews
Submit Review
Advanced Search
All Web Hosts
Top Rated

Our Difference
Contact


Free Newsletter
For Hosts
Host Log-in
Create Account
Generate Links
Get More Exposure


New Reviews
Go Daddy
000webhost
Just Host
WebHostingPad
EasyCGI
BlueFur
SkyNet Hosting
Arvixe
HostSo
VPSDepot
ADDR
Lunarpages
Quick2Host
WebIntellects
KVC Hosting
SiteGround
A Small Orange
ServerSea
StoresOnline
HostPapa


Other
Website Thumbnails
This site is powered by Host Gator.
Copyright © 1999-2016 WebHostingReviews.com. All Rights Reserved.
All reviews, content, graphics, logos, design, and scripts, are the sole property of WebHostingReviews.com, and
may not be used without prior written consent from us. All violations will be prosecuted to the maximum extent possible under the law.
Last Update: June 20th, 2016 at 15:01 EST / This site has a total of 3,441 web hosting reviews, based on 529 different web hosting companies.