Namecheap

Visit Namecheap Visit Namecheap   Write your own Namecheap review. Write your own Namecheap review.
6 out of 21 (or 29% of) people recommend Namecheap.
 › Rating Averages ››
Uptime & Reliability Server & Connection Speed Price Value for Money
4.36 / 10.0 5.26 / 10.0 4.77 / 10.0
Technical Support & Knowledge Customer Service & Billing
4.69 / 10.0 4.86 / 10.0
Namecheap
› Overall Rating ››    39.48% 
How are ratings calculated? 
  • Analyze this Page for Me
Showing 1 to 10 out of 21 reviews.   Filter Reviews
Page Relevancy
Review Quality 100%
What's
this?
« Prev 1 2 3

Namecheap reviews

uptime & reliability
4.00
server & connection speed
5.00
technical support & knowledge
10.0
customer service & billing
10.0
price value for money
5.00
* ratings are out of 10

Don't use their free nameservers

I have chosen to use the namecheap nameservers and i monitored the availability of a domain using the namecheap nameservers & its 301 redirect using monitor.us
From time to time, i have a 30 minutes downtime but it is never constant. It does come from the name servers.

Also, i have discovered their server returned a 403 when i ping my domain from certain proxies.

Namecheap is NOT recommended by bernard dufresne. This person does NOT recommend Namecheap.
› Overall Rating ››    45.00% 
Reviewed on August 20th, 2014 at 02:56 EST by bernard dufresne
Customer for duration of 1 - 2 years
IP Address: 86.201.23.57
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #1 out of 21 Namecheap reviews
uptime & reliability
5.00
server & connection speed
2.50
technical support & knowledge
2.00
customer service & billing
0.90
price value for money
0.10
* ratings are out of 10

Worthless email hosting

Namecheap has the worst spam filtering on the planet. I've worked for weeks with their staff and they have not made a single improvement in the loads of spam I get every day. I plan to move away from Namecheap asap.
Their advertising states that they have "tough anti-spam protection". That is completely false and they have refused to refund my money even though they have clearly not lived up to their word.

Biggest Con: False Advertising

Namecheap is NOT recommended by Dale Arveson. This person does NOT recommend Namecheap.
› Overall Rating ››    10.00% 
Reviewed on June 19th, 2014 at 22:20 EST by Dale Arveson
Customer for duration of 1 - 2 months
IP Address: 50.47.23.164
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Windows   Domain: http://www.arveson.net/   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #2 out of 21 Namecheap reviews
uptime & reliability
9.90
server & connection speed
9.50
technical support & knowledge
0.10
customer service & billing
0.10
price value for money
2.00
* ratings are out of 10

Cheap hosting, useless support

So transferred to a shared hosting plan. No problems, almost immediately i start getting spam on my business account. I switched from go daddy and never had an issue. I was getting 30-40 emails a day in my spam folder.

Well their spam filters are totally useless ALL mail is considered spam, no real way to pick safe list actual mail. Try to get me to get an xchange server, setup didn't even work. Their useless support couldn't fix it and still get spam till this day with NO filtering of good mail.

I am going back to godaddy, can't run a business looking in a spam folder all day long. I've even created filters to block spam it still comes through.

If you just have a domain without contact info it would be good enough, but to run a business where you need email to work properly forget it! $10 when i switch back to godaddy the spam will instantly stop!

Biggest Pro: Cheap
Biggest Con: Tech support is useless

Namecheap is NOT recommended by ryan. This person does NOT recommend Namecheap.
› Overall Rating ››    10.00% 
Reviewed on June 4th, 2014 at 17:40 EST by ryan
Customer for duration of 3 - 5 months
IP Address: 96.54.138.65
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #3 out of 21 Namecheap reviews
uptime & reliability
0.00
server & connection speed
0.00
technical support & knowledge
5.00
customer service & billing
5.00
price value for money
1.00
* ratings are out of 10

HORRIBLE DOWNTIMES FOR SHARED WEBHOSTING

So while I wait for the 'Namecheap tech geniuses' to figure out why my website has so many downtimes, I'm here writing a review on how pathetic Namecheap's webhosting service is.

Clearly, it looks like they spend most of their budget on advertising rather than on building a good infrastructure. Their webhosting plans might be cheaper than the rest but I now see the reason why. Besides Namecheap, I host my other websites with different hosting providers and never have I seen so many downtimes.

Currently, as I write this review, my site has been down for close to 1 hour. Tech informs me they are checking on resource overload. I use WordPress and the site I host with them hardly uses any out of the ordinary plugins.

In the past one month I've faced atleast 5 minutes of downtime every week, two 5 minute downtimes yesterday and 1hr+ and counting downtime right now.

Stay away from Namecheap (even their domain registration service is crap and not as cheap as they make it to be).

Biggest Con: Worst Downtimes ever experienced

Namecheap is NOT recommended by John. This person does NOT recommend Namecheap.
› Overall Rating ››    5.00% 
Reviewed on July 18th, 2013 at 01:16 EST by John
Customer for duration of 6 - 11 months
IP Address: 159.148.73.119
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #4 out of 21 Namecheap reviews
uptime & reliability
10.0
server & connection speed
10.0
technical support & knowledge
10.0
customer service & billing
10.0
price value for money
10.0
* ratings are out of 10

Awesome Hosting

I felt like I had to post here to support NameCheap.

Since I've signed up and started using NameCheap's hosting service I have been nothing but amazed. Let me break down my experience.

Uptime -
My site has had an uptime of 100% for two months now with NO service interruptions. It's kind of hard to beat 100% isn't it? Also the average response time is 0.084 which is pretty darn good.

Support-
I have had to use support twice. One time I created an error in my code which I didn't notice and after submitted a support ticket THEY took the time to fix it FOR ME within a few hours. The second time my e-mail was blocked by a server. They IMEDIATLEY changed the IP on the server and got the old IP off of the block list. Support is always very kind and helpful. No problems ever!

Features-
Their cPanel is jam packed with amazing features. They include awesome scripts like Cloud Flare and Softaculous for no charge. There are also many many great features included at no additional price.

Overall I couldn't recommend name cheap any more.

Biggest Pro: Server Uptime
Biggest Con: None

Namecheap is recommended by Ryan. This person recommends Namecheap.
› Overall Rating ››    100.0% 
Reviewed on July 6th, 2013 at 19:43 EST by Ryan
Customer for duration of 1 - 2 months
IP Address: 108.20.150.36
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #5 out of 21 Namecheap reviews
uptime & reliability
0.00
server & connection speed
0.00
technical support & knowledge
0.00
customer service & billing
0.00
price value for money
0.00
* ratings are out of 10

Namecheap Stole My Web Site and is Holding It Ransom for $200

everything went OK for the first year,; at the start of year I was notified my registration had expired it would cost $200 to get it reactivated!!?? Meanwhile, they stole the site name, which was original with me?? I have tried to contact them but they never reply; my web master, Trackside Photo, has also tried to contact them and they will nt respond.

In short, these are unscrupulous web site thieves who prey on those who are unfortunate enough to have hooked up with them.

MY ADVICE To WEVERYONE IS TO STAY AWAY FROM THESE CROOKS!

Namecheap is NOT recommended by Wayne Kelly. This person does NOT recommend Namecheap.
› Overall Rating ››    0.00% 
Reviewed on June 19th, 2013 at 19:15 EST by Wayne Kelly
Customer for duration of 1 - 2 years
IP Address: 96.251.59.74
Type of Plan: Virtual Private Servers   Platform: Linux   Domain: http://www.vintagehollywoodimages.com/   Email: wfkelly@earthlink.net
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
13 out of 13 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #6 out of 21 Namecheap reviews
uptime & reliability
0.00
server & connection speed
0.00
technical support & knowledge
0.00
customer service & billing
0.00
price value for money
0.00
* ratings are out of 10

Negative

I just transferred my domain name and have been trying to upload my site for several days now. I have requested assistance, which has been ignored. Foolishly, I paid for shared hosting for a year - money I'll never see again. And have nothing to show for it. So, yes, technically, I'm still a customer but I have received no benefit what-so-ever.

I don't care for GoDaddy either, but at least my sites are up and running, and functional. Where at NameCheap apparently I have donated to their charity. Maybe I can write the expense off as a charitable donation!

There's so much absolute crap on the internet, it's too bad. The internet offers so much opportunity, but it's so difficult to find actual services that work. Oh well, I guess you get what you pay for - so beware. I have to rate everything "0.0" because I have received nothing for the money I have spent. Well, I did successfully transfer my domain name - which was easy. But then, I can't use it at all - so it's not doing me any good.

Biggest Pro: cheap
Biggest Con: useless

Namecheap is NOT recommended by Phil. This person does NOT recommend Namecheap.
› Overall Rating ››    0.00% 
Reviewed on October 6th, 2012 at 16:27 EST by Phil
Customer for duration of Less than 1 month
IP Address: 24.192.241.116
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: 3hrresults@gmail.com
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
13 out of 13 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #7 out of 21 Namecheap reviews
uptime & reliability
0.10
server & connection speed
0.00
technical support & knowledge
0.00
customer service & billing
0.10
price value for money
0.00
* ratings are out of 10

absolutely awful experience

I'm writing this on Aug 1, 2012 , which is DAY 9 from when I registered my domain.

I still am unable to get my (one) email account to work (on my iMac using .mail app)
and I cannot access cpanel to manage my domain or my email account (only one)

They blocked my account twice - with no notice -
first block occurred the first day after registering - a fraud alert - wherein after 3 days of debate I too had to send via email (very reluctantly) a pic of - both sides - of my cc (this smells) . I called ICANN and all they did was give to me namecheap contact info in LA - but don't try to phone/call them--it's a farce.

I am going to cancel my account and will try to get my web hosting $65+ refunded that I stupidly paid for when I registered the domain and take my biz elsewhere - and hope that my cc account isn't hacked in the future.

sure, support was there, but sent many, many different and conflicting information to resolve issues - none have been of any use.

All the above - JUST TO SET UP EMAIL on my iMac and iPhone. And I pretty computer savvy.

Tremendous time wasted and lost biz opportunities. I'm thoroughly disgusted

Namecheap is NOT recommended by barbara. This person does NOT recommend Namecheap.
› Overall Rating ››    0.00% 
Reviewed on August 1st, 2012 at 14:19 EST by barbara
Customer for duration of Less than 1 month
IP Address: 76.254.71.109
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: http://www.cruzcountyreosales.com/   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #8 out of 21 Namecheap reviews
uptime & reliability
5.00
server & connection speed
8.00
technical support & knowledge
9.00
customer service & billing
9.00
price value for money
9.50
* ratings are out of 10

Poor Uptime Guarantee

I have been using namecheap for 4 months already, and my website is down few times a day.
In one day my website goes down for around 30 minutes, and it's almost the same time of the day. Everytime I access my website when it's down I get the message 504 Gateway Time-out or Chrome couldn't find the address.

Biggest Pro: Good price
Biggest Con: Uptime sucks

Namecheap is NOT recommended by Johnson. This person does NOT recommend Namecheap.
› Overall Rating ››    93.00% 
Reviewed on February 18th, 2012 at 17:36 EST by Johnson
Customer for duration of 3 - 5 months
IP Address: 187.74.94.14
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: http://www.alienbunker.com/   Email: johnson@imortaza.com
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
14 out of 14 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #9 out of 21 Namecheap reviews
uptime & reliability
8.10
server & connection speed
9.00
technical support & knowledge
9.00
customer service & billing
9.50
price value for money
10.0
* ratings are out of 10

Limited but positive experience

I reckon Namecheap is perfect if you want to get basic hosting at minimum cost.

What I did do:

I have moved to namecheap mainly due to low cost, plus it provides dynamic dns, free email forwarding (which works) and cheap email hosting (which works). I took the SOPAsucks promotion away from Godaddy.com. Also it provides whois privacy for free which Godaddy uses for revenue raising in their bait-and-switch marketing strategy.

What I did not do:

I did not buy web hosting yet as I am not forced to - I want to see how everything works out first.

My Experience:

Some of the set up is a bit confusing at first, but its still easier to navigate than Godaddy and help is easier to find. The email hosting is similar to Exchange but is supposedly in beta still. However it works without any problems for me - its at least faster than Godaddy's servers were, and much cheaper. The live help is 24/7 which worked on New Year's Eve (when I transferred). The whole thing took about 1 hour to achieve, but the email hosting needed 2 days to be activated due to the new year holiday. I forwarded emails during that time and that went fine, however it is slower than having direct hosting for some reason.

All in all namecheap has an amateurish name for a company, and its website is obviously built on a low budget, so I am not surprised that people have had mixed experiences. However despite all that, everything is working, so I have no cause to complain.

Biggest Pro: Low price and a lot of free features
Biggest Con: Setting up is a bit confusing

Namecheap is recommended by Dan. This person recommends Namecheap.
› Overall Rating ››    80.00% 
Reviewed on January 2nd, 2012 at 07:39 EST by Dan
Customer for duration of Less than 1 month
IP Address: 118.208.244.183
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
15 out of 15 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #10 out of 21 Namecheap reviews
« Prev 1 2 3
link to this page   |   tell a friend about this web host
Host Gator - Host Unlimited Web Sites
Reseller Hosting - 50% Off
Host Unlimited Sites
Free Dedicated IP & Backups
90 Day Money Back Guarantee
Try it out for just $13.99/mo.
InMotion Hosting

Read what users say about InMotion Hosting!


For Users
Web Hosting Reviews
Submit Review
Advanced Search
All Web Hosts
Top Rated

Our Difference
Contact


Free Newsletter
For Hosts
Host Log-in
Create Account
Generate Links
Get More Exposure


New Reviews
Go Daddy
000webhost
Just Host
WebHostingPad
EasyCGI
BlueFur
SkyNet Hosting
Arvixe
HostSo
VPSDepot
ADDR
Lunarpages
Quick2Host
WebIntellects
KVC Hosting
SiteGround
A Small Orange
ServerSea
StoresOnline
HostPapa


Other
Website Thumbnails
This site is powered by Host Gator.
Copyright © 1999-2016 WebHostingReviews.com. All Rights Reserved.
All reviews, content, graphics, logos, design, and scripts, are the sole property of WebHostingReviews.com, and
may not be used without prior written consent from us. All violations will be prosecuted to the maximum extent possible under the law.
Last Update: June 20th, 2016 at 15:01 EST / This site has a total of 3,441 web hosting reviews, based on 529 different web hosting companies.