Media Temple

Visit Media Temple Visit Media Temple   Write your own Media Temple review. Write your own Media Temple review.
5 out of 21 (or 24% of) people recommend Media Temple.
 › Rating Averages ››
Uptime & Reliability Server & Connection Speed Price Value for Money
5.27 / 10.0 5.06 / 10.0 3.52 / 10.0
Technical Support & Knowledge Customer Service & Billing
5.24 / 10.0 5.15 / 10.0
Media Temple
› Overall Rating ››    40.71% 
How are ratings calculated? 
  • Analyze this Page for Me
Showing 1 to 10 out of 21 reviews.   Filter Reviews
Page Relevancy
Review Quality 100%
What's
this?
« Prev 1 2 3

Media Temple reviews

uptime & reliability
0.00
server & connection speed
0.00
technical support & knowledge
0.00
customer service & billing
0.00
price value for money
0.00
* ratings are out of 10

Do Not Use

These guys are lame! They make you wait for over a half hour and then screw you on your ability to ask a 1 minute question. The site owner was on the phone with them and he was not recorded on the site as the official admin because the person who set it up was not very smart and no longer works here, but the site owner should have complete say all. When he asked to allow me to modify, he was asked to use a link which would have been labor intensive and probably not work since the guy who set it up is gone. Why can't the Owner just allow somebody like me to have control and alter the permission, ridiculous, especially after waiting 30 minutes. Security is great but over security is annoying, just do what others do. Have security questions and be done with it! I wish I could charge them for my time, I finally found the buried owner access page and fixed it, but then it was too late to ask the question because the call was lost. I wanted in the first place to just verify that my dns zone changes were correct. After I made the changes to the permissions and waiting for yet another 16 people ahead of me to get dealt with, I was helped with great care. Lesson learned, have security but don't piss off your customers! Go to go daddy!!!!!

Biggest Pro: none
Biggest Con: They have the worst customer support and a min half hour wait!!!

Media Temple is NOT recommended by Todd Larudee. This person does NOT recommend Media Temple.
› Overall Rating ››    0.00% 
Reviewed on September 4th, 2012 at 13:12 EST by Todd Larudee
Customer for duration of 1 - 2 years
IP Address: 99.154.55.166
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #1 out of 21 Media Temple reviews
uptime & reliability
3.00
server & connection speed
2.00
technical support & knowledge
4.50
customer service & billing
2.70
price value for money
2.00
* ratings are out of 10

Stay away from Mediatemple!

Oh my god... I've been a week now with Rackspace Cloud after being 3 (miserable) years with Mediatemple, and the speed is UN-BE-LI-VEABLE!
All the 3 years spent on the DV 'EXTREME' version of MEDIATEMPLE offer (so supposed to be the top of their virtual servers...) I had thousands of downtime, slow processing, solr issues etc. I have lost tens of thousands (if not hundreds of thousands) of dollars on loss of business + cost of maintenance with my developers trying to find out what was wrong with our scripts or with our CMS etc.
Of course support @ Mediatemple alsways said it was our scripts and never the server. But now that we are with a new host, we find out that there was no problem. The load/resources issues were with THEM!

One simple advise: DON'T GO WITH MEDIATEMPLE if you are a sane website owner!

Biggest Con: unreliability of server

Media Temple is NOT recommended by Sebastien. This person does NOT recommend Media Temple.
› Overall Rating ››    20.00% 
Reviewed on September 18th, 2011 at 23:37 EST by Sebastien
Customer for duration of 3 - 5 years
IP Address: 122.60.164.35
Type of Plan: Virtual Private Servers   Platform: Linux   Domain: http://www.frogs-in-nz.com/   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #2 out of 21 Media Temple reviews
uptime & reliability
7.50
server & connection speed
0.20
technical support & knowledge
2.80
customer service & billing
2.80
price value for money
0.00
* ratings are out of 10

MediaTemple = Perhaps worst hosting & customer service ever!

I gave MediaTemple a chance because they touted themselves as having quality performance and listed a lot of clients. I saw some pretty bad reviews of their service and ignored it but when it comes down to it their Grid service even as of June 2011 is horribly slow even verified with Pingdom Tools and Yottaa and did a Firefox ySlow tool.

When I approached them about this they said a network switch was causing the issue so they took the grid server I was on offline for several hours and said if it wasnt fixed by the next day they would do something to make it right.... It never did get better in fact slower.... I ended moving away from MT because of these issues and because I had much better experiences with other hosts when it came to ping and load times and customer service but as a last ditch effort to help them improve their service I posted about my experience on the MediaTemple forums and one of their staff asked for visual aid so I shot him a url on forums showing the poor service and within two hours I was banned from their forums.

The ban message said inappropriate use of the forums so I guess being dissatisfied is a inappropriate use of the forums.

Biggest Con: Horrible Customer Service & Server Speeds

Media Temple is NOT recommended by Benjamin Kerensa. This person does NOT recommend Media Temple.
› Overall Rating ››    25.00% 
Reviewed on June 28th, 2011 at 16:07 EST by Benjamin Kerensa
Customer for duration of 3 - 5 months
IP Address: 67.170.136.219
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
15 out of 15 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #3 out of 21 Media Temple reviews
uptime & reliability
6.00
server & connection speed
7.00
technical support & knowledge
4.00
customer service & billing
3.50
price value for money
3.00
* ratings are out of 10

Horrible in many ways

I have been hosting with MediaTemple now for between 2-3 years. For one, the technical support, has always lagged on response times. My average wait time, is 8 - 14 hours. That is unbelievable.

Secondly, recently, there was an issue with the processing of my associated credit card. What did they do? They immediately without warning, cancel / put on hold, any services associated to account! (mail, domains, etc.)

That is complete disgust. I can see if a warning had been given - ok. But no, nothing, an immediate shutdown of my services. All in all, it's far more priced than any other hosting provider, and the quality is far less than any other I've dealt with.

I will be looking at switching within the next few days.

Biggest Con: technical support, wait / response time

Media Temple is NOT recommended by Michael Joanisse. This person does NOT recommend Media Temple.
› Overall Rating ››    48.00% 
Reviewed on April 19th, 2011 at 09:19 EST by Michael Joanisse
Customer for duration of 1 - 2 years
IP Address: 174.95.120.205
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
16 out of 16 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #4 out of 21 Media Temple reviews
uptime & reliability
0.00
server & connection speed
0.00
technical support & knowledge
0.00
customer service & billing
0.00
price value for money
0.00
* ratings are out of 10

Stay away!

Been having nothing but problems from them lately. The worst of which occurred when I thought I sent an email but it didn't go through. I was never notified, it didn't bounce back or anything. I missed an important meeting because of it.

Media Temple is NOT recommended by Mason. This person does NOT recommend Media Temple.
› Overall Rating ››    0.00% 
Reviewed on March 7th, 2011 at 13:28 EST by Mason
Customer for duration of 3 - 5 years
IP Address: 204.17.229.250
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: http://www.masongentry.com/   Email: mtgentry81@yahoo.com
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
17 out of 17 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #5 out of 21 Media Temple reviews
uptime & reliability
5.80
server & connection speed
7.00
technical support & knowledge
5.00
customer service & billing
4.00
price value for money
2.00
* ratings are out of 10

Media Temple Not Worth the Money

There are two main reasons why I have decided to end my relationship with the englishconversations.org account with Media Temple and move to a new host.

Reason #1: Monthly Overage Charges and the resulting feeling of suspicion that the use of the term "GPU" has engendered.

When I was making the decision to move to MT from Bluehost, I was told that my yearly charge would be 200 dollars for the grid service. The salesperson also mentioned that the only other possible charges might result from surpassing the amount of monthly resources allotted for my site on the grid. The salesperson ASSURED me that I wouldn't have to worry about this, because, and I quote, "this is not an issue for 99% of Wordpress users".

Well, I've been averaging somewhere around 30 dollars a month in overage charges, resulting in an average monthly rate of around 50 dollars when factoring in the yearly rate. I was even charged 67 dollars in overage fees in October, which would work out to almost 4 times my base fees! There is obviously something wrong with this payment system.

When asked what is the difference between GPUs and CPUs, I couldn't get a straight answer from anyone. When I asked if they could tell me what my CPU usage was, nobody did. Why is that?

It was only recently that this FAQ contained the type of detailed information it does now: http://mediatemple.net/webhosting/gs/faq.php#63

I don't remember finding this much detail back in September when I was researching the issue. Might the new information be a result of other people complaining about this issue?

Thus, these enormous extra monthly charges in combination with a secretive GPU usage rate makes me suspect that the entire system is set up to milk grid users for extra money. Could it be to pay for lavish parties like this one? http://weblog.mediatemple.net/2011/02/22/2011-mt-sxswi-closing-party/

Reason #2: Too much downtime

My site was down for DAYS intermittently. All I got were form messages explaining what MT was doing about it. But there was never an individual effort to help me out. For someone paying 550 DOLLARS A YEAR for a simple Wordpress site, I think that warrants some special attention.

And for a website who has a mailing list of 70,000 people, a FB page of 5,500, and a daily stream of several thousand visitors, some of whom buy products, why is OK and acceptable for Media Temple to allow a site like this to sit in limbo and deliver 403 errors to people? It's not, especially for what I have been paying each month? I've been getting emails from people, in the last few days especially, wondering why they cannot access our site. Perhaps they all need a thorough explanation...

In sum, Media Temple, as slick as they present themselves, just doesn't follow through on what you would expect such a host to be. I highly recommend avoiding their services. They are overpriced and underwhelming. You are better off finding hosting elsewhere.

Biggest Pro: Attactive Interface
Biggest Con: Hidden Fees and Downtime

Media Temple is NOT recommended by Aaron Cambpell. This person does NOT recommend Media Temple.
› Overall Rating ››    50.00% 
Reviewed on March 4th, 2011 at 08:51 EST by Aaron Cambpell
Customer for duration of 1 - 2 years
IP Address: 180.146.57.39
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: http://www.englishconversations.org/   Email: aaronpcampbell@gmail.com
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
21 out of 21 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #6 out of 21 Media Temple reviews
uptime & reliability
1.70
server & connection speed
0.30
technical support & knowledge
4.30
customer service & billing
5.00
price value for money
0.10
* ratings are out of 10

MediaTemple's Grid Service is now subpar

MT used to be an outstanding hosting company. The best I'd ever had.

They have, in the past year, really declined, though. Given the high cost of $20 / month and the large downtimes or just latency issue, I would not recommend them.

It's just a bummer that they haven't fixed this, so many of their clients have contacted them about this but support doesn't seem to care...

Biggest Pro: Shiny graphics on their back end
Biggest Con: Horrible latency issues

Media Temple is NOT recommended by Nathan. This person does NOT recommend Media Temple.
› Overall Rating ››    19.00% 
Reviewed on February 28th, 2011 at 11:07 EST by Nathan
Customer for duration of 3 - 5 years
IP Address: 137.118.200.169
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Unix   Domain: http://www.clicknathan.com/   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
19 out of 19 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #7 out of 21 Media Temple reviews
uptime & reliability
7.90
server & connection speed
8.80
technical support & knowledge
6.00
customer service & billing
0.00
price value for money
0.10
* ratings are out of 10

Very bad choice for domain registration

I'm not usin MediaTemple for hosting but domain registration. I've registered my domain and tried to do a 301 redirect as services on Google App Engine cannot use naked domains. They told me that I had to buy a hosting service if I want to use a 301 redirect service. GoDaddy and Name.com does this for free. MediaTemple just wants your money. Stay away from them.

Biggest Con: Waste of time

Media Temple is NOT recommended by Can Bascil. This person does NOT recommend Media Temple.
› Overall Rating ››    2.00% 
Reviewed on February 22nd, 2011 at 16:18 EST by Can Bascil
Customer for duration of 1 - 2 months
IP Address: 85.106.145.114
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
19 out of 19 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #8 out of 21 Media Temple reviews
uptime & reliability
5.00
server & connection speed
5.00
technical support & knowledge
3.30
customer service & billing
2.10
price value for money
3.70
* ratings are out of 10

Poor customer support

We've had a really hard time with MediaTemple. They seem to have outdated software and be a bit sluggish about answering questions.

My biggest issue is when they deleted a huge chunk of my website, then wanted to charge me to bring it back from back-up, they didn't even seem to be curious about why the big chunk of the site disappeared.

Their interface is really difficult and confusing to use. Their customer service phone support is unhelpful and has a huge wait time, and all in all I think it's time for a new host.

Biggest Pro: They do offer phone support
Biggest Con: Outdated technology

Media Temple is NOT recommended by kat mcdivitt. This person does NOT recommend Media Temple.
› Overall Rating ››    36.00% 
Reviewed on November 16th, 2010 at 16:39 EST by kat mcdivitt
Customer for duration of 3 - 5 years
IP Address: 76.254.33.141
Type of Plan: Dedicated   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
19 out of 19 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #9 out of 21 Media Temple reviews
uptime & reliability
0.00
server & connection speed
0.00
technical support & knowledge
5.00
customer service & billing
5.00
price value for money
0.00
* ratings are out of 10

Media Temple = EVIL! The Grid is Broken, Defective and a Fraud

I used a shared hosting (ss) plan with Media Temple for 3-4 years before their grid service (gs) was launched. I never upgraded that (ss) plan to the (gs), but I did have as many as 3 (gs) accounts with SQL and Rails containers between 2008-2010. No problems with the (ss). It was super.

Now all these accounts are closed, except one last grid account, which probably will be closed soon. it is simply a terrible service, the worst I have ever seen, based not just on the frustrating experience of having slow or unavailable sites but also 24/7 uptime and page load speed monitoring. I only had 1-2 months with high 90% uptime. Generally uptime would run below 95% and sometimes below 90%. That is 36-72 HOURS of downtime! Up to 3 days!!! Generally it would be 10-40 minutes here and there from DDoS attacks or hardware failures. Mailservers would also go down on their own every now and then.

There have been major security breaches, including 10% of all users' root password stolen because MT kept them unencrypted in an insecure server. I would not be surprised if they are being or have been sued over things like this. Since that security breach, a lot of things went south. There have been more breaches, and aggravating interventions as MT techs mess with accounts and plead with customers to change passwords to help abate a problem they caused and have not been able to get under control.

The worst problem is the notorious database latency, which Sean Fox has examined and written about in detail as stemming from a foundational design flaw in the grid. This seems to have been admitted implicitly by Media Temple since the problem soon emerged after the grid's debut in 2006. They have promised a successor, the cluster service (cs) since 2006 or 2007, but they constantly push the date back. They will often try to upsell customers on an SQL container on the idea that dedicated database resources (kind of a MySQL VPS) will fix their problems. It will make load speeds marginally better, as will migration to a new cluster with fewer users. But sooner or later--and always right after the big Christmas promotionals--you will get slammed with extreme latency and downtime.

The full fledged grid costs $20/mo, or $15 if you buy it with a standing discount. A container to run Rails at all is another $20/mo. An SQL container is $20/mo. This would be a nice deal IF you wanted to ensure your sites never went down and always loaded quickly without the hassle of a VPS if you really don't need one. But the reality is, you can pay $5-10/mo. and even less and get infinitely better performance, reliability, etc. From any of the big cut-rate hosts that lease servers from The Planet, you can can get Rails, quick SQL response, and much else beyond what the grid offers along with much faster and better customer service for a fraction of what the grid costs. Every host I have used adds services and makes improvements every few months. This is not the case with the grid. It took forever to get on MySQL5--that happened in late 2010 after being promised as "coming soon" for over a year! They claim to be improving hardware now and then, but you won't see a performance gain. There are never any noticeable improvements. Every failure is explained as having a minimal chance of recurrence, but failure after failure occurs.

Bottom Line: The grid is mired in a bad idea from 2006 that Media Temple rushed into production without proper testing. They chosen to skate by on slick marketing, denial, and buying off the possible critics. They have done so for far too long. it is the wrong move, the evil move. The grid is not a cut above shared hosting. It is not a cadillac service. It can't remotely begin to compete with the two-buck chucks of shared hosting.

I have limited experience with the other VPS type plans Media Temple offers. They are not price-competitive, and despite them not being the types of plans where you should need a lot of support since you run the server yourself, I would not recommend them either. This is simply not a company that can be trusted.

Biggest Pro: Well done Knowledgebase and Control Panel
Biggest Con: Nearly always very slow and often down

Media Temple is NOT recommended by Dan. This person does NOT recommend Media Temple.
› Overall Rating ››    0.00% 
Reviewed on November 4th, 2010 at 21:56 EST by Dan
Customer for duration of More than 5 years
IP Address: 184.59.1.92
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: http://www.newlocalmedia.com/   Email: dan@newlocalmedia.com
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
22 out of 22 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #10 out of 21 Media Temple reviews
« Prev 1 2 3
link to this page   |   tell a friend about this web host
Host Gator - Host Unlimited Web Sites
Reseller Hosting - 50% Off
Host Unlimited Sites
Free Dedicated IP & Backups
90 Day Money Back Guarantee
Try it out for just $13.99/mo.
InMotion Hosting

Read what users say about InMotion Hosting!


For Users
Web Hosting Reviews
Submit Review
Advanced Search
All Web Hosts
Top Rated

Our Difference
Contact


Free Newsletter
For Hosts
Host Log-in
Create Account
Generate Links
Get More Exposure


New Reviews
Go Daddy
000webhost
Just Host
WebHostingPad
EasyCGI
BlueFur
SkyNet Hosting
Arvixe
HostSo
VPSDepot
ADDR
Lunarpages
Quick2Host
WebIntellects
KVC Hosting
SiteGround
A Small Orange
ServerSea
StoresOnline
HostPapa


Other
Website Thumbnails
This site is powered by Host Gator.
Copyright © 1999-2016 WebHostingReviews.com. All Rights Reserved.
All reviews, content, graphics, logos, design, and scripts, are the sole property of WebHostingReviews.com, and
may not be used without prior written consent from us. All violations will be prosecuted to the maximum extent possible under the law.
Last Update: June 20th, 2016 at 15:01 EST / This site has a total of 3,441 web hosting reviews, based on 529 different web hosting companies.