Lunarpages

Visit Lunarpages Visit Lunarpages   Write your own Lunarpages review. Write your own Lunarpages review.
20 out of 48 (or 42% of) people recommend Lunarpages.
 › Rating Averages ››
Uptime & Reliability Server & Connection Speed Price Value for Money
6.79 / 10.0 6.48 / 10.0 5.74 / 10.0
Technical Support & Knowledge Customer Service & Billing
5.00 / 10.0 4.86 / 10.0
Lunarpages
› Overall Rating ››    52.56% 
How are ratings calculated? 
  • Analyze this Page for Me
Showing 1 to 10 out of 48 reviews.   Filter Reviews
Page Relevancy
Review Quality 100%
What's
this?
« Prev 1 2 3 4 5

Lunarpages reviews

uptime & reliability
0.00
server & connection speed
0.00
technical support & knowledge
0.00
customer service & billing
0.00
price value for money
0.10
* ratings are out of 10

Thumbs down, way down.

If I could give a zero star overall rating I would, I have (Soon to be HAD) a dedicated server service. I was told by the sales people that dedicated users get top technical support, amongst other promises. Worked ok for awhile, but then they wanted me to move to their cloud, more money, quite a lot more. So they installed some software that took up about 90% of my disk space, which they would NOT remove (My thinking was I would need more space and thus move to the cloud). So I removed the software myself and my space usage dropped back down to about 10-25% usage, thanks for the great service. Then because the bank card I was charging their service on had less than 2 months before it expired, they canceled the site and it was down for 2 days until I changed the account billing, this was WITHOUT any prior notice, again, an attempt to get me to go to their cloud, an increase of about $20-$30 month. Since my site is non profit, I can't afford that. The above nightmares are just 2 of the examples of the poor account handling and technical support I've received over the last year. I would NOT recommend Lunarpages to ANYONE, you have been warned. I hate venting like this, if they just would have kept their promises to me, I would not post this kind of review about their services and support.

Biggest Pro: Can't even think of one.
Biggest Con: Far too many to count, they are THAT bad.

Lunarpages is NOT recommended by Rich. This person does NOT recommend Lunarpages.
› Overall Rating ››    0.00% 
Reviewed on March 18th, 2016 at 16:04 EST by Rich
Customer for duration of 3 - 5 years
IP Address: 64.58.150.28
Type of Plan: Dedicated   Platform: Linux   Domain: http://www.southcoastdivers.com/   Email: rich@southcoastdivers.com
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
End of Review #1 out of 48 Lunarpages reviews
uptime & reliability
3.00
server & connection speed
3.00
technical support & knowledge
0.20
customer service & billing
0.20
price value for money
0.20
* ratings are out of 10

Lunarpages web hosting service is unacceptable

After years and years of using Lunarpages for numerous web hosting accounts, I must say this is a company to stay away from or dump their service. It is nearly impossible to get customer service when your hosting service is down. Expect to get a chain of idiotic responses for three days before you can get any problem solved. Also expect a chain of idiotic requests every time you try to access your control panel. That means instead of 30 seconds to do something a simple as deleting an email account, expect to spend three days of idiotic responses or no responses from this company. Lunarpages used to be good ten years ago, but they suck now.

Lunarpages is NOT recommended by Roger D. This person does NOT recommend Lunarpages.
› Overall Rating ››    10.00% 
Reviewed on September 2nd, 2015 at 10:35 EST by Roger D
Customer for duration of More than 5 years
IP Address: 208.67.61.130
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #2 out of 48 Lunarpages reviews
uptime & reliability
1.50
server & connection speed
0.80
technical support & knowledge
0.10
customer service & billing
0.00
price value for money
1.00
* ratings are out of 10

Was good, now incompetent

Customer for 13 years. Dropped them after they kept dropping traffic from my home IP. Turns out they had some automatic process that kept blocking it—they wouldn't tell me why. The first time, they said they whitelisted my IP to keep it from happening again. But it kept happening, and they kept blaming me. It turned out that they were adding the whitelist rule AFTER the block rule; the block rule got processed first, so the whitelist rule was never seen. This took two days to get resolved, during which time I couldn't get to my e-mail from home.

It takes between four and 24 hours to get a response to a tech-support query.

The prices are above industry average.

My site was getting slower and slower; obviously, the server was underpowered.

Biggest Pro: None, really, at this point
Biggest Con: Utterly unreliable due to automatic blocking

Lunarpages is NOT recommended by [Withheld]. This person does NOT recommend Lunarpages.
› Overall Rating ››    9.00% 
Reviewed on August 7th, 2015 at 10:19 EST by [Withheld]
Customer for duration of More than 5 years
IP Address: 70.188.189.43
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #3 out of 48 Lunarpages reviews
uptime & reliability
2.40
server & connection speed
2.40
technical support & knowledge
3.00
customer service & billing
2.00
price value for money
0.00
* ratings are out of 10

stay away

I'm a webmaster and I can say that today this is a very bad service.

I was not opening new accounts for my clients with them since 2011 but the situation nowadays to manage hosting is just unreliable.

I was a customer of them since 2008 but the service today is so bad that I was forced to move move out more then 10 websites wasting my time and money.

As soon as you have few people visiting the websites hosted with them they say that you are over usage the shared hosting, starting to push you to buy a unjustifiable and expensive dedicated server.

I definitely encourage all of you to skip this hosting provider and look for something better.

I solved all my issue here in Italy with just 40 euro per year!

Lunarpages is NOT recommended by corrado. This person does NOT recommend Lunarpages.
› Overall Rating ››    19.00% 
Reviewed on May 25th, 2015 at 03:54 EST by corrado
Customer for duration of More than 5 years
IP Address: 93.50.182.79
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: http://www.corradoprever.com/   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #4 out of 48 Lunarpages reviews
uptime & reliability
0.00
server & connection speed
7.00
technical support & knowledge
1.00
customer service & billing
3.00
price value for money
5.00
* ratings are out of 10

If you run a serious business, STAY AWAY from Lunarpages

Ok... I was quite happy as a BASIC lunarpages customer.
As my business grew, I upgraded to Business host.
This is where my nightmare started.

I thought if I pay more, I'd get better services and uptime from Lunarpages... WRONG
My websites started going down every now and then, until one day it was down for 24 hours straight.
Lunarpages excuse: Upgrading things...
Real reason: Hardware failure

How did I find out?

I upgraded again to VPS - their premium service... again I thought.. pay more and get better service right? WRONG AGAIN.

Their sales manager told me that the hardware is failing in the business host, and that this will never happen in their scalable VPS cloud plan.

Nightmare continued.
After paying USD1300 and moving to the VPS, I started noticing a sharp drop in my traffic.
Turns out Lunarpages is INCOMPATIBLE with a major Australian ISP, namely Bigpond.
I lost at least HALF of my PAID traffic.
Lunarpages (surprise surprise) blamed the ISP.
I had to talk to the ISP network support team, and relayed every single one of their message to Lunarpages, before finally Lunarpages decided to move me to a new data center where it is finally compatible. (after 2 weeks of hell, 150 messages back and forth)

I thought.. this is the end of the nightmare.. I can finally breath normally and spend my time on something that is actually productive... WRONG AGAIN !!!!
My uptime alert from pingdom alerted me to a continuous DOWNTIME in my VPS server.
Lunarpages promised 99.95% uptime.
Real result: 97% at best.

On top of all these server issues, the support team in Lunarpages NEVER admits that there is something wrong with the server.
You have to DO YOUR OWN RESEARCH and POINT THEM in the right direction before they are willing to do anything about it.

Not only that. Some of Lunarpages (I won't say all because some are actually decent) are smart ass tech who are working remotely somewhere out of the country.
Not only do they not know what's going on, they intimidate you if you try to ask for a refund. They'll delete your web site with the excuse of 'protecting other customers' or 'you can cancel but you wont get your money back'.
They'll also give you 2 days max to literally find a new host before they delete your site.
Update: They gave me less than 24 hours before they deleted my website ever since I asked for the refund.

Verdict: If you are serious about your website, you seriously need to get AWAY from Lunarpages.

Biggest Pro: nothing....
Biggest Con: lots of downtime, rude customer support, and deletes ur website when asking for a refund

Lunarpages is NOT recommended by Franky T. This person does NOT recommend Lunarpages.
› Overall Rating ››    0.00% 
Reviewed on February 14th, 2014 at 21:50 EST by Franky T
Customer for duration of Less than 1 month
IP Address: 101.174.88.196
Type of Plan: Virtual Private Servers   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #5 out of 48 Lunarpages reviews
uptime & reliability
0.00
server & connection speed
0.00
technical support & knowledge
0.00
customer service & billing
0.00
price value for money
0.00
* ratings are out of 10

Lunarpages used to be good but not anymore

Lunar saying that my site has been Hacked/ Compromised

Right now Lunarpages proves to be a completely waste of my time and money.

There are too may Lunarpages customers complaining that Lunarpages told them that their site has been hacked/ compromised. Is this a gimmick for Lunarpages to make more money or is it that their database became corrupted? Who should I really believe? I honestly don't believe that so many customers of Lunarpages alone has malicious visitors. Lunarpages should give ppl their data without any charge. I am not going to pay $75. to retrieve my data because they only keep it for 3 to 5 days, so there's no point retrieving garbage. This is a serious problem and Lunarpages are acting like they don't care about the customers because frankly they don't. Its all about making the money and that's why they would lose more trying to make more.

Biggest Con: Lunar saying that my site has been Hacked/ Compromised

Lunarpages is NOT recommended by Vicky. This person does NOT recommend Lunarpages.
› Overall Rating ››    0.00% 
Reviewed on January 20th, 2013 at 22:09 EST by Vicky
Customer for duration of 3 - 5 years
IP Address: 190.213.200.89
Type of Plan: Dedicated   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #6 out of 48 Lunarpages reviews
uptime & reliability
6.00
server & connection speed
4.50
technical support & knowledge
4.50
customer service & billing
0.00
price value for money
0.00
* ratings are out of 10

Bad expreiance

Well, Lunarpages did ok when I wap paying them. When I decided I wanted to move to another web host I could not cancel my payments. After searching for a long time I sent them e-mail to cancel the account, so they did. It is annoying that they make it so hard for you to cancel the account.

Lunarpages send a lot of spam posts to my inbox but they didn,t bother to send me the date when my account would be closed. Instead they put the date where I will probably not see it. They closed my account so I could not access my files. Then I had to pay 85$ to get my web page back.

I really felt disappointed and betrayed.

Lunarpages is NOT recommended by Jafet Bjarkar. This person does NOT recommend Lunarpages.
› Overall Rating ››    10.00% 
Reviewed on June 24th, 2011 at 08:17 EST by Jafet Bjarkar
Customer for duration of 1 - 2 years
IP Address: 89.160.161.66
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Windows   Domain: http://www.klifur.is/   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #7 out of 48 Lunarpages reviews
uptime & reliability
5.90
server & connection speed
0.00
technical support & knowledge
0.70
customer service & billing
0.80
price value for money
0.20
* ratings are out of 10

Lunar Pages Sucks

After hundreds of times getting lackluster support with multiple days waiting time while my site was down, super slow bandwidth, an paying more then a dedicated at many other hosting company I could not take this abuse anymore. This company is horrible and the VPS solution was slower then my shared hosting accounts and the bandwidth was slower then my DSL at home where I host other sites. I would never recommend this company due to the poorest support ever and long waiting times to get the site back up.

Biggest Pro: none
Biggest Con: support sucks

Lunarpages is NOT recommended by Jason. This person does NOT recommend Lunarpages.
› Overall Rating ››    3.00% 
Reviewed on October 14th, 2010 at 18:19 EST by Jason
Customer for duration of 3 - 5 months
IP Address: 65.119.21.194
Type of Plan: Virtual Private Servers   Platform: Windows   Domain: [withheld]   Email: jason@winkstudios.com
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
18 out of 18 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #8 out of 48 Lunarpages reviews
uptime & reliability
9.50
server & connection speed
9.50
technical support & knowledge
9.00
customer service & billing
9.00
price value for money
9.50
* ratings are out of 10

They are driving me away claiming high cpu utilization

I've been with Lunarpages for at least 5 years and rarely had problems when I was just running an html site. I added a WordPress blog in 2006 and it ran without problems until May of this year. Out of the blue, they shut down my blog claiming high cpu utilization of 12%. I got them to re-activate it after 24 hours and for the last two months, I've been doing anything and everything to bring utiliation down without any success. My support ticket is no 109 messages long. I have literally brought my blog down to the default theme with no plugins installed and they are still saying it's too high. I have also replace all the WordPress files and all plugins. Nothing works. At one point, they were claiming a site which had one visitor total was causing too much cpu load. To their credit, they have allowed me to keep my site online as long as I was trying new fixes. However, they would occasionally tell me I need a dedicated server in which I would respond by saying a site with 600 visitors/2,000 page views should not need a dedicated server. I am now convinced their stats are wrong or they have oversold capacity. Luckily, I only have 2 months left on my contract so I'm looking for another host. I hate changing host but they leave me no choice.

My site stats:

Disk space: 13 gb
Bandwidth used: Jun-36 gb, May-52 gb, Apr-55 gb
3 domains, 4 sql database, no emails as they are hosted on Google Apps.

I asked them to move me to another server as a test and they replied my server was powerful enough claiming 175 days uptime. Pingdom shows they were down 10 times in the last 30 days for a total of 55 min.

No problems with billing issues. In 2008, they advertised a $3.50/month offer for new sign ups. I asked for the same deal to renew. They said it was only for new customers so I said if they don't give it to me, I'll leave. I know how expensive it is to get new customers. I am an affiliate and they pay $50 for new sign ups. They relented and gave me the offer.

As for technical support, I guess they are as good or as bad as any others. They often don't answer questions and reply with stock answers.

Response time on my blog is quite good at average 1 second to render a php page.

Overall, I give them very high ratings despite the problems I had with cpu utilization. If they stop hassling me about that, I would renew. I would recommend this host for most personal sites but if you expect decent traffic on a WordPress blog, you may have to look elsewhere.

Lunarpages is recommended by P Y. This person recommends Lunarpages.
› Overall Rating ››    95.00% 
Reviewed on July 14th, 2010 at 18:47 EST by P Y
Customer for duration of More than 5 years
IP Address: 71.135.57.19
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
16 out of 16 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #9 out of 48 Lunarpages reviews
uptime & reliability
8.00
server & connection speed
5.00
technical support & knowledge
3.00
customer service & billing
0.00
price value for money
0.10
* ratings are out of 10

Going Downhill

I've been with Lunarpages for a few years now; it was great starting out, but not so good these days. Speed seems to be slower all the time, quite a few down periods and really slow response for support issues. Worst of all is Lunarpages raising prices on everything once you sign up for a multi-year deal. Domain registration fees are ridiculous after the "introductory offer" and my dedicated IP fee has more than doubled in the past year.
I'm looking for a new host even though there is a year left on my Lunarpages hosting contract; the additional fees are more than moving my website to another host.
Pretty weak.

Biggest Pro: Website on line most of the time
Biggest Con: Underhanded billing, poor support

Lunarpages is NOT recommended by Ron. This person does NOT recommend Lunarpages.
› Overall Rating ››    40.00% 
Reviewed on June 29th, 2010 at 12:00 EST by Ron
Customer for duration of 3 - 5 years
IP Address: 71.50.5.128
Type of Plan: Semi Dedicated   Platform: Linux   Domain: http://www.watermanatwork.com/   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
17 out of 17 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #10 out of 48 Lunarpages reviews
« Prev 1 2 3 4 5
link to this page   |   tell a friend about this web host
Host Gator - Host Unlimited Web Sites
Reseller Hosting - 50% Off
Host Unlimited Sites
Free Dedicated IP & Backups
90 Day Money Back Guarantee
Try it out for just $13.99/mo.
InMotion Hosting

Read what users say about InMotion Hosting!


For Users
Web Hosting Reviews
Submit Review
Advanced Search
All Web Hosts
Top Rated

Our Difference
Contact


Free Newsletter
For Hosts
Host Log-in
Create Account
Generate Links
Get More Exposure


New Reviews
Go Daddy
000webhost
Just Host
WebHostingPad
EasyCGI
BlueFur
SkyNet Hosting
Arvixe
HostSo
VPSDepot
ADDR
Lunarpages
Quick2Host
WebIntellects
KVC Hosting
SiteGround
A Small Orange
ServerSea
StoresOnline
HostPapa


Other
Website Thumbnails
This site is powered by Host Gator.
Copyright © 1999-2016 WebHostingReviews.com. All Rights Reserved.
All reviews, content, graphics, logos, design, and scripts, are the sole property of WebHostingReviews.com, and
may not be used without prior written consent from us. All violations will be prosecuted to the maximum extent possible under the law.
Last Update: June 20th, 2016 at 15:01 EST / This site has a total of 3,441 web hosting reviews, based on 529 different web hosting companies.