KnownHost

Visit KnownHost Visit KnownHost   Write your own KnownHost review. Write your own KnownHost review.
6 out of 8 (or 75% of) people recommend KnownHost.
 › Rating Averages ››
Uptime & Reliability Server & Connection Speed Price Value for Money
9.35 / 10.0 9.34 / 10.0 8.73 / 10.0
Technical Support & Knowledge Customer Service & Billing
8.94 / 10.0 8.85 / 10.0
KnownHost
› Overall Rating ››    86.25% 
How are ratings calculated? 
  • Analyze this Page for Me
Showing 1 to 8 out of 8 reviews.   Filter Reviews
Page Relevancy
Review Quality 100%
What's
this?

KnownHost reviews

uptime & reliability
10.0
server & connection speed
9.00
technical support & knowledge
3.00
customer service & billing
3.00
price value for money
4.00
* ratings are out of 10

known host and rocket vps nightmare!

i recently ran into a big problem for myself with rocket vps and known host.. if you don't already know, rocketvps is known hosts unmanaged service company (known host is managed).. i started off with rocket vps and had a few vulnerability issues on my behalf so since I liked the services rocketvps was offering me i figured id grab another box off of known host to have the managed services.. i then sent in a request for migrating both accounts, for some odd reason their attempts failed and were not successfully able to migrate the accounts over so I told them not to worry and that I will do them migrations alone as I needed a few domains to still be hosted on my rocketvps box.. so a few weeks go by and everything is fine and running great besides a email issue yesterday .. until today.. woke up this morning to voicemails from a client of mine saying her web page was unaccessible.. (be cause of a open cart plugin to generate ebay products is somehow messing up) .. so i go to login to cpanel via ip address, to find out the vps was completely inaccessible so I went to sign into their client control panel to see what was going on, and then i was also unable to do that.. i then replied to a 3rd late notice for not paying (which i was going to pay today) to see what was going on, they informed me that i didn't have to pay the invoice that everything has been switched to known host.. which i never requested that to happen and i wanted to keep both vps's.. and now i am having issues with 1 of my sites and their are no backups since everything was actually deleted off the vps on rocketvps.. and the only support (that i actually pay for through known host) is telling me to basically pay the developer to fix my problems because they can not figure out the mess they screwed up!!

Biggest Pro: uptime
Biggest Con: their ability to offer paid management services and aren't actually able to fix things!!!

KnownHost is NOT recommended by Eric Pizzolo. This person does NOT recommend KnownHost.
› Overall Rating ››    30.00% 
Reviewed on April 11th, 2012 at 22:06 EST by Eric Pizzolo
Customer for duration of 1 - 2 months
IP Address: 108.35.174.162
Type of Plan: Virtual Private Servers   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: eric@pizzolodesigns.com
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #1 out of 8 KnownHost reviews
uptime & reliability
6.50
server & connection speed
7.00
technical support & knowledge
8.80
customer service & billing
9.00
price value for money
6.90
* ratings are out of 10

Dispointed

I switched for KnownHost VPS from Wiredtree(that's another horrible story) on 09/21/2009 and I thought I could finally get a reliable web hosting. However, I was wrong.

There are many times that I have to refresh several times before I can access my site webpage or the ftp. The site was very unstable that it down for a minute, then up, then down for a minute.

I really need to admit that they have very fast response time for the tickets. Their support told me that everything was normal, memory use, http service is up, but I keep receiving site down notifications from my both site monitor services.

A couple of days ago, I had the same problem again. After several support tickets, Knownhost are still telling that everything is fine, but I still kept receiving pingdom site monitor notifications. I had a total of 21 down alerts and 21 up again alerts.

Then after a couple of hours, they told me that my VPS server was under a DOS attack! So I had no choice but moving to another VPS company.

Now I paste the uptime stats of my Knownhost VPS from SiteUptime.com

Year Month Outages Uptime Downtime
2011 October 8 97.774% 2.226%
2011 September 7 98.959% 1.041%
2011 August 4 99.494% 0.506%
2011 July 6 98.683% 1.317%
2011 June 10 98.939% 1.061%
2011 May 4 99.207% 0.793%
2011 April 2 99.034% 0.966%

Year Outages Uptime
2011 41 98.845%

As you can see, far from the "highest uptime in the industry" as they stated on their website.

Because the check interval of siteuptime.com is 30 minutes, so the real outages could be even more.

Biggest Pro: Fast Response Time
Biggest Con: Very unreliable uptime

KnownHost is NOT recommended by Harry Zeng. This person does NOT recommend KnownHost.
› Overall Rating ››    64.00% 
Reviewed on November 2nd, 2011 at 05:07 EST by Harry Zeng
Customer for duration of 1 - 2 years
IP Address: 59.172.48.134
Type of Plan: Virtual Private Servers   Platform: Linux   Domain: http://www.cleanmycreditup.org/   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #2 out of 8 KnownHost reviews
uptime & reliability
10.0
server & connection speed
9.90
technical support & knowledge
10.0
customer service & billing
10.0
price value for money
9.00
* ratings are out of 10

A good VPS service provider

I have been with KnownHost for less than 1 month, and so far have been very pleased with them.

This is my first VPS hosting account, and I came from a share host environment. Therefore, I had lots of questions with regards to the set-ups. I have submitted many srevice tickets, and in general, I got the answers or assistance within 15-20 minute time frame.

If this is the service level that I will be getting, I will be with KnownHost for a long time.

Biggest Pro: value for money, timely support ticket responses
Biggest Con: none

KnownHost is recommended by Michael. This person recommends KnownHost.
› Overall Rating ››    100.0% 
Reviewed on June 12th, 2010 at 03:59 EST by Michael
Customer for duration of Less than 1 month
IP Address: 121.76.14.2
Type of Plan: Virtual Private Servers   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
17 out of 17 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #3 out of 8 KnownHost reviews
uptime & reliability
9.80
server & connection speed
9.80
technical support & knowledge
9.90
customer service & billing
9.90
price value for money
9.90
* ratings are out of 10

Great host

Knownhost: They do what they say, and they tell when there's a problem. Every time I contact them for support, they get back to me very quickly, and they get it taken care of. I'm just shared reseller, so I don't have all the features I would have with a full VPS or dedicated server, but I"m very happy with KnownHost.

They don't offer either shared or reseller hosting anymore, unfortunately.

KnownHost is recommended by Jeff Layton. This person recommends KnownHost.
› Overall Rating ››    99.00% 
Reviewed on April 14th, 2009 at 16:13 EST by Jeff Layton
Customer for duration of 1 - 2 years
IP Address: 24.0.227.95
Type of Plan: Reseller   Platform: Linux   Domain: http://www.techonecs.com/   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
19 out of 19 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #4 out of 8 KnownHost reviews
uptime & reliability
10.0
server & connection speed
9.70
technical support & knowledge
10.0
customer service & billing
10.0
price value for money
10.0
* ratings are out of 10

Customer service is great

I have been using knownhost for a couple of years now and they have been great.

My sites run a VPS through their Texas link, not the California one.

The customer service has been great since i had issues at first running a vps and needed a managed system to get me going.

They moved my sites over, sent a few good follow up emails to see how i felt with them, and performed over the first year when i had a few issues.

One of the sites i run is a free image host which I think has been made better due to them.

They let me know within an hour more or less sometimes when issues are happening with the site to my mobile.

Some people may not like a company that lets them know when there is a problem with spam , but I love it and they have worked with me a few times to resolve some matters that my past hosts let slide till i ended up having to work all night to get the server back on track with.

Overall great customer service that lets you know OFTEN when there is a problem.

KnownHost is recommended by Ted Kosmidis. This person recommends KnownHost.
› Overall Rating ››    99.00% 
Reviewed on January 14th, 2008 at 01:13 EST by Ted Kosmidis
Customer for duration of 1 - 2 years
IP Address: 69.203.18.131
Type of Plan: Virtual Private Servers   Platform: Linux   Domain: http://www.hostpic.biz/   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
28 out of 28 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #5 out of 8 KnownHost reviews
uptime & reliability
9.90
server & connection speed
9.90
technical support & knowledge
10.0
customer service & billing
10.0
price value for money
10.0
* ratings are out of 10

One Year Review

I have been with Knownhost for almost exactly a year now. I took a flier on them after having many issues with my previous host. I had read some good reviews of Knownhost on various web hosting forums, and even though they were still relatively new, I decided to give them a chance.

I have been a web hosting reseller for almost five years now, and I can honestly say that I've never had a host that was THIS responsive, agile, and willing to help in any situation. Below are my impressions of Knownhost, starting from day one.

The previous host I was with (who shall remain nameless since Iíve been gone for a year) started out great, but had become extremely slow and the support I was receiving diminished in quality. So I started browsing around web hosting related forums to see what I could find. I saw a three month review from someone about Knownhost, and clicked through to their site to see what all the fuss was about. Initially I was skeptical because I was less than impressed with their website design (which has since been redesigned). I went back to the hosting forums and did some more research, and couldnít find ANY negative comments.

After some self-convincing, I decided to open an account with Knownhost, running it simultaneously with my other reseller account. I chose a VPS, which was something I wanted to learn more about anyway. I initially chose to go with the Plesk system. It took about two hours for the account to be set up. From there I logged into the control panel system and began to poke around and learn what I was doing. After playing with Plesk for a few days, I decided it wasnít for me. I was worried about what Knownhost would say about wanting to switch to CPanel, and what fees I might have to pay to do so.

Fortunately, Knownhost was incredibly friendly and helpful about the whole thing. They set me up with a CPanel VPS in about an hour, and I got into more familiar territory. I moved my main domain over, and noticed a big speed increase in my site. From there, I started working with my customers to move their sites and accounts over to my VPS. I ran into no problems doing that, and had all of my clients moved over in about three weeks.

Since I have moved, I have experienced ONE outage, and it was for less than five minutes. Knownhost was very responsive and made sure that they were in contact with me during the outage, as well as after explaining exactly what went wrong. I have received a lot of feedback from my customers about the increase in speed and responsiveness of the server compared to the older one they were on before.

All in all, I give Knownhost 9+ out of 10. The value of their VPS packages is exceptional, and their support is absolutely second to none. I would HIGHLY recommend them, and have recommended them to a few of my peers in the web hosting community. Everyone I have recommended is extremely happy as well.

Biggest Pro: OUTSTANDING Customer Support

KnownHost is recommended by Ryan. This person recommends KnownHost.
› Overall Rating ››    99.00% 
Reviewed on September 10th, 2007 at 12:52 EST by Ryan
Customer for duration of 1 - 2 years
IP Address: 167.115.255.20
Type of Plan: Virtual Private Servers   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
33 out of 33 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #6 out of 8 KnownHost reviews
uptime & reliability
9.60
server & connection speed
9.80
technical support & knowledge
9.80
customer service & billing
9.90
price value for money
10.0
* ratings are out of 10

Knownhost 7 month review

I started hosting with knownhost around 7 month ago, when I purchased their KH PRO+ reseller plan for my websites.

From the beginning the support and uptime has been topnotch, any queries or problems submitted to their online support get answered in less than 30 minutes. In a few instances where there has been downtime, their support staffs were courteous and prompt in their replies.

The server speed has never been an issue, even though most of the website on my account are php/mysql based and receive decent traffic.

Biggest Pro: Uptime, server speed and support
Biggest Con: No paypal subscription options

KnownHost is recommended by Yogesh. This person recommends KnownHost.
› Overall Rating ››    99.00% 
Reviewed on July 4th, 2007 at 12:59 EST by Yogesh
Customer for duration of 6 - 11 months
IP Address: 59.178.58.120
Type of Plan: Reseller   Platform: Linux   Domain: http://www.contentpays.info/   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
38 out of 38 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #7 out of 8 KnownHost reviews
uptime & reliability
9.00
server & connection speed
9.60
technical support & knowledge
10.0
customer service & billing
9.00
price value for money
10.0
* ratings are out of 10

Great support

KnownHost is a great option for VPS. Their support was always replying in 10 minutes or less, i was amazed. I benchmarked my VPS with unixbench, and it was amazing. The burst performance they allow is as much (if not more) than a dedicated server. They have 10+ dedicated servers and are top notch in my opinion... i even got a christmas card! Best support, awesome vps performance, and the prices are almost the lowest i could find for the specs.

KnownHost is recommended by Brian. This person recommends KnownHost.
› Overall Rating ››    100.0% 
Reviewed on June 30th, 2007 at 12:55 EST by Brian
Customer for duration of 3 - 5 months
IP Address: 74.60.251.1
Type of Plan: Virtual Private Servers   Platform: Linux   Domain: http://www.switchwithme.com/   Email: admin@switchwithme.com
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
37 out of 37 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #8 out of 8 KnownHost reviews
link to this page   |   tell a friend about this web host
Host Gator - Host Unlimited Web Sites
Reseller Hosting - 50% Off
Host Unlimited Sites
Free Dedicated IP & Backups
90 Day Money Back Guarantee
Try it out for just $13.99/mo.
InMotion Hosting

Read what users say about InMotion Hosting!


For Users
Web Hosting Reviews
Submit Review
Advanced Search
All Web Hosts
Top Rated

Our Difference
Contact


Free Newsletter
For Hosts
Host Log-in
Create Account
Generate Links
Get More Exposure


New Reviews
Go Daddy
000webhost
Just Host
WebHostingPad
EasyCGI
BlueFur
SkyNet Hosting
Arvixe
HostSo
VPSDepot
ADDR
Lunarpages
Quick2Host
WebIntellects
KVC Hosting
SiteGround
A Small Orange
ServerSea
StoresOnline
HostPapa


Other
Website Thumbnails
This site is powered by Host Gator.
Copyright © 1999-2016 WebHostingReviews.com. All Rights Reserved.
All reviews, content, graphics, logos, design, and scripts, are the sole property of WebHostingReviews.com, and
may not be used without prior written consent from us. All violations will be prosecuted to the maximum extent possible under the law.
Last Update: June 20th, 2016 at 15:01 EST / This site has a total of 3,441 web hosting reviews, based on 529 different web hosting companies.