HostRocket

Visit HostRocket Visit HostRocket   Write your own HostRocket review. Write your own HostRocket review.
3 out of 5 (or 60% of) people recommend HostRocket.
 › Rating Averages ››
Uptime & Reliability Server & Connection Speed Price Value for Money
7.98 / 10.0 8.00 / 10.0 8.00 / 10.0
Technical Support & Knowledge Customer Service & Billing
7.20 / 10.0 8.80 / 10.0
HostRocket
› Overall Rating ››    61.60% 
How are ratings calculated? 
  • Analyze this Page for Me
Showing 1 to 5 out of 5 reviews.   Filter Reviews
Page Relevancy
Review Quality 100%
What's
this?

HostRocket reviews

uptime & reliability
9.50
server & connection speed
9.00
technical support & knowledge
5.00
customer service & billing
5.00
price value for money
1.00
* ratings are out of 10

Went downhill fast

I was a faithful customer for a long time with no complaints at all.
That all changed in 2010. Support is non-existant and, to this date, has not replied to my last two problems. I did resolve one issue by phoning in, twice...

Biggest Pro: It was good once.
Biggest Con: Support - there just isn't any.

HostRocket is NOT recommended by Stewart Amgwert. This person does NOT recommend HostRocket.
› Overall Rating ››    0.00% 
Reviewed on July 11th, 2010 at 14:32 EST by Stewart Amgwert
Customer for duration of More than 5 years
IP Address: 216.137.238.140
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: http://www.nopeople.com/   Email: stewart@nopeople.com
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
16 out of 16 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #1 out of 5 HostRocket reviews
uptime & reliability
1.00
server & connection speed
1.00
technical support & knowledge
1.00
customer service & billing
9.00
price value for money
9.00
* ratings are out of 10

They have completely tanked this year

I have been with this company for over 5 years and I can say that they used to be very good, but this has been the worst year yet. All of my sites have been down now for 36 straight hours and this is not the first time

They have not configured their servers correctly so that one hosted site has the ability to completely slow down the whole server. There have been days when it took minutes to retrieve one record from a database and display it. ow, this is not a database issue as the same page only took .035 seconds the day before.

They seem to try and resolve this by moving you data to a different server. This only works if they move everything. I have lost databases and pages during these moves. I am using there reseller program and host several sites. I have had several issues with my other sites because they are not on the same server.

There 24/7 technical support phone line is not. If you call and they are not there. I have been 1st in line on their support line only to be booted off due to high call volume. It was not like the Queue was filled. I was the next one in line.

There customer forum does not work. Sure you can display old posts, but you can't register or search, because if you do, you get an application error.

My latest issue is that all of my sites have down for the past 36 hours. Now they said it was a DNS entry problem. 36 hours to fix a DNS entry? Not sure they have the technical capability to run their business.

I am very disappointed with them. It used to be that I was only hosting my own development site, but now it I have other organizations counting on their sites being up.

Biggest Pro: price
Biggest Con: lack of knowledge

HostRocket is NOT recommended by Stephen. This person does NOT recommend HostRocket.
› Overall Rating ››    10.00% 
Reviewed on May 30th, 2010 at 07:08 EST by Stephen
Customer for duration of 3 - 5 years
IP Address: 71.56.176.222
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
16 out of 16 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #2 out of 5 HostRocket reviews
uptime & reliability
9.50
server & connection speed
10.0
technical support & knowledge
10.0
customer service & billing
10.0
price value for money
10.0
* ratings are out of 10

For shared hosting, you can't really go wrong

While I've only had a Hostrocket account myself since last April or so, I've had my site hosted on Hostrocket through a friend of mine since early 2004, and I tell you, it has been a smooth ride. Customer service is absolutely top-notch. Whenever I (or in the older days, my friend and I) had a problem, their support team is always quick and responsive in getting things taken care of. Helping setup cronjobs, dealing with hacking attacks, and even simple .htaccess configuration from when I was too stupid to know how to setup a redirect on my own. They're extremely helpful with whatever problem we've had.

For shared hosting, they provide a lot of bang for your buck. They always have some perpetual sale going on, and every month it just gets even more attractive. Unmetered bandwidth, along with the massive amount of storage space and all the bonus features makes it great for any small site. However, don't expect it to do anything extraordinary: This comes nowhere near the bang you get from a dedicated server. Getting on the front page of digg is enough to bring down the entire shared server you're on, and we've found ourselves having our account temporarily suspended until the traffic load subsided. It's nice to know they won't charge you for bandwidth overages, but don't expect to be using a whole lot of it.

Biggest Pro: No bandwidth fees, great value
Biggest Con: The same cons that are attributed to any shared hosting service, really

HostRocket is recommended by Dennis Wyman. This person recommends HostRocket.
› Overall Rating ››    98.00% 
Reviewed on December 18th, 2007 at 01:20 EST by Dennis Wyman
Customer for duration of 6 - 11 months
IP Address: 64.252.32.82
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: http://www.vgrc.net/   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
31 out of 31 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #3 out of 5 HostRocket reviews
uptime & reliability
9.90
server & connection speed
10.0
technical support & knowledge
10.0
customer service & billing
10.0
price value for money
10.0
* ratings are out of 10

Like a well oiled machine!

I have been a customer with Hostrocket for over a year. During my experience with them, I have had little to no downtime, fast loading times, ran quite a few sites all working with decent speeds. They were excellent in support when I had problems or even when I had a period of downtime in which they told me that the server I was on unfortunately had some hardware problems. They switched me over to a new server very quickly and updated my space from the original 5 GB storage to 25 GB storage and now I have over 100 GB of storage! They even helped me out when I wanted to get domains from outside sources such as namecheap. Their billing went smoothly and their bandwith is great. I'd reccomend them for hosting, but be aware that you can get domains cheaper from namecheap or godaddy. I learned the hard way...

Biggest Pro: Excellent support and uptime.

HostRocket is recommended by Matthew Strohmeyer. This person recommends HostRocket.
› Overall Rating ››    100.0% 
Reviewed on July 5th, 2007 at 17:52 EST by Matthew Strohmeyer
Customer for duration of 1 - 2 years
IP Address: 75.24.44.141
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: http://www.wabuf.com/   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
35 out of 35 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #4 out of 5 HostRocket reviews
uptime & reliability
10.0
server & connection speed
10.0
technical support & knowledge
10.0
customer service & billing
10.0
price value for money
10.0
* ratings are out of 10

HostRocket - Great Service, Amazing Price

I've been using HostRocket for a little over a year now and the features you get for such a low price tag are amazing. You don't ever have to worry about going over your bandwidth limit, as there really isn't one (unless you pull in MASSIVE amounts of traffic). Couple that with very reasonable levels of storage to choose from and a control panel with more features than you will probably ever use, you won't find a better host for the price. The reliability has been amazing as well. In the year or so that I have had my site hosted with this company, I have only experienced downtimes during the scheduled maintenance periods, which take place at obscure hours of the day so they can disrupt their customers as little as possible. They also often run specials where you can sign up for multiple years for a slightly reduced price, which I opted for when registering my account.

All in all, I really haven't found anything that I dislike about this host.

Biggest Pro: Amazing reliability, speed, and features
Biggest Con: None

HostRocket is recommended by Mike. This person recommends HostRocket.
› Overall Rating ››    100.0% 
Reviewed on July 2nd, 2007 at 22:40 EST by Mike
Customer for duration of 1 - 2 years
IP Address: 24.195.190.185
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
33 out of 33 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #5 out of 5 HostRocket reviews
link to this page   |   tell a friend about this web host
Host Gator - Host Unlimited Web Sites
Reseller Hosting - 50% Off
Host Unlimited Sites
Free Dedicated IP & Backups
90 Day Money Back Guarantee
Try it out for just $13.99/mo.
InMotion Hosting

Read what users say about InMotion Hosting!


For Users
Web Hosting Reviews
Submit Review
Advanced Search
All Web Hosts
Top Rated

Our Difference
Contact


Free Newsletter
For Hosts
Host Log-in
Create Account
Generate Links
Get More Exposure


New Reviews
Go Daddy
000webhost
Just Host
WebHostingPad
EasyCGI
BlueFur
SkyNet Hosting
Arvixe
HostSo
VPSDepot
ADDR
Lunarpages
Quick2Host
WebIntellects
KVC Hosting
SiteGround
A Small Orange
ServerSea
StoresOnline
HostPapa


Other
Website Thumbnails
This site is powered by Host Gator.
Copyright © 1999-2016 WebHostingReviews.com. All Rights Reserved.
All reviews, content, graphics, logos, design, and scripts, are the sole property of WebHostingReviews.com, and
may not be used without prior written consent from us. All violations will be prosecuted to the maximum extent possible under the law.
Last Update: June 20th, 2016 at 15:01 EST / This site has a total of 3,441 web hosting reviews, based on 529 different web hosting companies.