HostPapa

Visit HostPapa Visit HostPapa   Write your own HostPapa review. Write your own HostPapa review.
1 out of 22 (or 5% of) people recommend HostPapa.
 › Rating Averages ››
Uptime & Reliability Server & Connection Speed Price Value for Money
2.43 / 10.0 2.66 / 10.0 1.14 / 10.0
Technical Support & Knowledge Customer Service & Billing
1.22 / 10.0 1.28 / 10.0
HostPapa
› Overall Rating ››    10.41% 
How are ratings calculated? 
  • Analyze this Page for Me
Showing 1 to 10 out of 22 reviews.   Filter Reviews
Page Relevancy
Review Quality 100%
What's
this?
« Prev 1 2 3

HostPapa reviews

uptime & reliability
0.30
server & connection speed
0.20
technical support & knowledge
0.00
customer service & billing
0.00
price value for money
0.00
* ratings are out of 10

Non Existant Customer Service

Hostpapa's support and customer service is their downfall. I had a domain hosted with them for about 2 years and at one point I needed assistance for a malware infection on my website. Hostpapa were more than ready to sell me their website protection, I was told it would take 2-3 hours and if they couldn't fix the virus then I would get my money refunded. This is a business website and after 6 days of no word from hostpapa and 7 ignored attempts to find out what was happening I couldn't wait any longer so I transferred my domain to a different host, purchased the similar product from them and it was fixed within hours. To top it all off Hostpapa refuse to give me my money back for a product they never delivered despite acknowledging that it was communicated that I would.

Email and my website were down for almost a week in the process, don't want to think about how many customers I may have lost. Definitely do not recommend!

Biggest Con: Customer Service

HostPapa is NOT recommended by Tara. This person does NOT recommend HostPapa.
› Overall Rating ››    0.00% 
Reviewed on February 1st, 2016 at 16:05 EST by Tara
Customer for duration of 1 - 2 years
IP Address: 68.147.91.76
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: http://www.terryphotoco.com/   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #1 out of 22 HostPapa reviews
uptime & reliability
5.00
server & connection speed
0.00
technical support & knowledge
0.00
customer service & billing
4.00
price value for money
2.00
* ratings are out of 10

The worst hosting ever

Not satisfied with the connection speed of the servers and with some issue that I experience after I installed two Wordpress sites for a client (using the software Softaculous), I decided to cancel the hosting service. I wanted to just move my site to another provider, but once you cancel the service, they also remove your profile (no other company that I used does that...). So I had to go back and forth several times with the live chat service to ask for a DNS name change, as I could not do it myself... The live support is useless, they do not provide you with any kind of help and what they basically do is tell you to write an email to support@hostpapasupport.com. I contacted them twice but it takes literally more than a day to respond. In the meanwhile, my domain is still unaccessible - and it has been down for three days in a row now.

Today it reached the climax, when the support person redirected me to the support by suggesting two email accounts that do not work (infos@hostpapasupport.com and hostpapasupport@hostpapasupport.com). FYI, the correct email address is support@hostpapasupport.com.

Now, they just need to change two DNS, and it takes them so long? I suspect they are doing this because they do not care about a customer that "betrayed" them. This is not the way you do business! Not at all.

Biggest Pro: The initial price
Biggest Con: Technical and customer support, server connection,

HostPapa is NOT recommended by Marco Bardus. This person does NOT recommend HostPapa.
› Overall Rating ››    0.00% 
Reviewed on July 29th, 2015 at 16:21 EST by Marco Bardus
Customer for duration of Less than 1 month
IP Address: 188.222.68.193
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #2 out of 22 HostPapa reviews
uptime & reliability
5.50
server & connection speed
5.50
technical support & knowledge
5.50
customer service & billing
0.00
price value for money
0.00
* ratings are out of 10

Tried to sneak in high charge and customer service don't care

I had an account with Hostpapa, and decided to move to another service provider.
I sent a request for the domain to be transferred. Apparently, a form requesting transfer of the only domain I had registered, was not sufficient, written request to close the account, and I should have read the terms and conditions to find that I should have sent an additional written request to close the account. Semantics, but OK, I can accept that.
What I can't accept is that at the end of my paid for period, they sent me an email saying that they were renewing my contract, but not at the same rate I had before, but a vastly increased rate for apparently an increased level of service.
This to me is a blatant attempt to try and sneak in a charge which they thought I would not notice.
I complained about this and got a "tough luck, it's all your fault" answer. I asked for the name or body to complain further to, and I got a reply stating that customer service said there was nothing else they could do. I again asked for the regulating body, or chief executive contact, and am now being ignored.
How many small companies are being taken advantage over by not challenging them and just paying the bill, at a vastly inflated price?

HostPapa is NOT recommended by Rob Jourdain. This person does NOT recommend HostPapa.
› Overall Rating ››    0.00% 
Reviewed on May 13th, 2015 at 03:43 EST by Rob Jourdain
Customer for duration of 6 - 11 months
IP Address: 31.53.72.199
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #3 out of 22 HostPapa reviews
uptime & reliability
0.00
server & connection speed
0.00
technical support & knowledge
0.00
customer service & billing
0.00
price value for money
0.00
* ratings are out of 10

Awful service, avoid at all costs

As soon as I had my wordpress site installed, the site became incredibly slow to load. Usually 5 seconds for a simple page to open. The site's performance was nothing short of terrible. I contacted HostPapa support and they refused to accept that 5 seconds for a page to begin loading was "too slow". In fact in the support email he guy said "that's pretty good really".

It later transpired that only 32mb of RAM was available on the shared hosting (not enough for the WP installation I was running) and this was probably part of the problem. HostPapa support refused to entertain the idea of allocating more RAM (even if it meant paying more).

When it came to the end of my 1-year contract, they sent me an invoice to renew, in which my hosting fees had almost doubled, and the cost of renewing a .co.uk domain for 1 year was £10.99 (you can get these for £2.99 anywhere else). So I decided to take my business elsewhere.

Transferring a domain away from HostPapa is a nightmare. It's not possible to update the IPS tag yourself. Telephone support directed me to a page on the control panel that did not exist, and the support guy couldn't understand. He instructed me to open a support ticket. Just in case, I tried the online chat support thing and the same thing happened. So I opened a ticket asking for the IPS tag to be updated. It took them 3 days to respond, with an automated email that said "you must reply to this email: please confirm that you do not wish to renew this domain (yes/no), please confirm that you wish to transfer this domain (yes/no)" with still no mention of the IPS tag. I replied to that email, and it's been a further 2 days with no response. I've since been back on the online support chat, and the technician said my ticket was already on the highest priority and they were working as hard as they could to resolve the issue.

Updating an IPS tag takes like 3 seconds, to type "SOMETEXT" into a box and hit submit. 5 days now and they're still working on it. Awful, awful support.

Between terrible site loading times, terrible support, the inability to update an IPS tag manually (every other host I've used includes this feature), and 5 days (and counting) to get this simple task completed, I wanted to migrate away anyway. To almost double my hosting fees as well? Terrible.

Avoid this company.

HostPapa is NOT recommended by James King. This person does NOT recommend HostPapa.
› Overall Rating ››    0.00% 
Reviewed on January 12th, 2014 at 13:09 EST by James King
Customer for duration of 6 - 11 months
IP Address: 95.148.122.151
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #4 out of 22 HostPapa reviews
uptime & reliability
7.00
server & connection speed
5.00
technical support & knowledge
0.00
customer service & billing
8.00
price value for money
0.00
* ratings are out of 10

Bad when it works and a huge ball of stress when it doesn't

Hostpapa, when I joined, was an excellent Canadian hosting company. Unfortunately, after a time it became clear that their priority had changed from being an excellent hosting provider (at the time they were rated #1 in Canada) to just another money grab.
Their hosting was never fantastic. It always had problems with staying up but those problems got a lot worse when their support went downhill. Now their standard response, no matter what is happening, is to blame you and lock up. You have to have infinite patience when you call or chat with their staff because they are infuriating. They will tell you ball faced lies and then refuse to listen to you.
Hostpapa may or may not be the worse hosting on the planet, but I can tell you that if you're website going down for several days a year is not something you can tolerate then Hostpapa is not for you.

Biggest Pro: Price
Biggest Con: Everything besides price

HostPapa is NOT recommended by Charles Angerstein. This person does NOT recommend HostPapa.
› Overall Rating ››    0.00% 
Reviewed on November 29th, 2013 at 16:36 EST by Charles Angerstein
Customer for duration of More than 5 years
IP Address: 192.0.195.244
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #5 out of 22 HostPapa reviews
uptime & reliability
0.00
server & connection speed
0.00
technical support & knowledge
0.00
customer service & billing
0.00
price value for money
0.00
* ratings are out of 10

WORST of the WORST

I used hostpapa as my first web host without checking it out as I should have. It said 30 day money back guarantee so I thought I would give them a shot. First, the web design software to build a site (Soholaunch) was archaic. I went out and purchased Web Easy to design the site.
Second, tried to publish the site, finally got to speak to someone in tech support because I needed some info from hostpapa for the FTP program to upload the files, The guy was clueless as to what I was asking him. This combined with terrible wait times for tech support I decided to ditch them. Third, they did not return all of my money, only a portion. Fourth, I had to obtain a Authorization Code to transfer my Domain to another host. I did get the Authorization Code but they also had to point the Name Servers to the new host, this I could not get done. I spoke to them three times and still no action. FIFTH and this is the real clincher; on their website it lists 115 George Street, Suite 511, Oakville Ontario Canada (near Toronto) it's about a 45 minute drive from my place so I took a drive there. It was a UPS store and they were using a P.O. Box. NO PEOPLE - NO OFFICE. I am writing this review while on hold with their tech support to get the NS changed 55 minutes so far on hold...

HostPapa is NOT recommended by xexsell. This person does NOT recommend HostPapa.
› Overall Rating ››    0.00% 
Reviewed on December 1st, 2012 at 10:50 EST by xexsell
Customer for duration of Less than 1 month
IP Address: 50.70.52.125
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Windows   Domain: [withheld]   Email: xexsell@gmail.com
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
14 out of 14 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #6 out of 22 HostPapa reviews
uptime & reliability
9.00
server & connection speed
9.00
technical support & knowledge
2.00
customer service & billing
2.00
price value for money
9.00
* ratings are out of 10

Account suspended

I've been with Host Papa for over 4 years now. They've been quite bad at the beginnings, lots of downtime, etc. but then they improved.

I had my account suspended 1st time about 2 years ago due to excessive use of resources. Ok, I created DATABASE with 20GB size, guess their servers can't handle it. So I found out that UNLIMITED as they claim is NOT at all Unlimited! Took me several days of hassling with them to get my account back.

After this incident everything was fine for another 2 years. The speed increased and the uptime was fine. Until today!

I saw another message from them: "Your account has been suspended for overloading mysql server with heavy query."

Are you kidding me?! I've checked the SQL query responsible for this but it was a simple query I've been running the whole time.
I'm really upset since they just decide to suspend your account without any notice. I'm running e-commerce sites there and now they are all down.

I had enough! I'm switching to proper hosting - most likely Amazon Cloud.

Guess Host Papa is good only for very small sites with almost no traffic, so if you need something more, find a better solution.

Biggest Pro: Cheap and relatively fast.
Biggest Con: Poor customer support. Bad for larger scale websites. Very fast in suspending your account.

HostPapa is NOT recommended by Peter. This person does NOT recommend HostPapa.
› Overall Rating ››    70.00% 
Reviewed on January 25th, 2012 at 15:29 EST by Peter
Customer for duration of 3 - 5 years
IP Address: 93.174.86.215
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: http://www.beatlottery.co.uk/   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #7 out of 22 HostPapa reviews
uptime & reliability
1.00
server & connection speed
1.00
technical support & knowledge
0.00
customer service & billing
0.00
price value for money
0.00
* ratings are out of 10

£84.cancelled .got£60. back

im a newbie to web host etc,chose hostpapa for all the good reviews .i found..took 3 year deal for £84 [uk]
first thing i ticked box fo hp to transfer my domain from 1&1.got a link on how to do it my self.i ,i had now idear as im new to this .ask them to do as it says in add .told to follow instructions in email ..did i get fed up trying yes .[polite way of putting it] after hours of messing around i sorted it out.now on to the web builder ...night mare for me ,easy if you now the xyz's...i ended up with to home pages after trying to delete one i deleted more than i shud and lost the web build program no gallerys .could not even see my home page...told hp .thay said no problem we will reset it and i can start over .got another link to install the build program?.so thy did not reset anything....so gave up cancelled my account before the 30 full refund past.
got email a few hours after telling a email as been sent for me to reset my details and start over ,still not got it .its in my spam acording to them ....anyway got a email saying i will get refund for £60...i paid £84..still in my 30 day full refund....i have my own domain...not hp's....so wares the full refund gone ,do thay keep the vat aswell .it cost £70+vat so if thay do im still £10 down on the cost...£24..for doing nothing but post links for me to sort out myself....
ok im new and dont understand all things teck ..with web building....but not to do as thay say and give me links how to do it myself ...its of putting .and have left before i get to stressed with any future problems...
just the refund thing now i have got back to them about it .......stay away ....to stressfull...

Biggest Pro: none for me .will look elseware
Biggest Con: custermer service shud be renamed do it your self .we carnt be bothered..

HostPapa is NOT recommended by jeff. This person does NOT recommend HostPapa.
› Overall Rating ››    0.00% 
Reviewed on December 27th, 2011 at 05:41 EST by jeff
Customer for duration of Less than 1 month
IP Address: 86.152.248.217
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #8 out of 22 HostPapa reviews
uptime & reliability
0.00
server & connection speed
0.00
technical support & knowledge
0.00
customer service & billing
0.00
price value for money
0.00
* ratings are out of 10

Want to waste your time and get stressed out...?

...then sign up to Hostpapa!

I switched to Hostpapa appx. 2 weeks ago. Incredibly unhelpful and on one occasion rude customer service.
Hopefully they'll make good on their "30 day money back guarantee" but I'm not placing money on it.

Avoid at all costs.

HostPapa is NOT recommended by Elena. This person does NOT recommend HostPapa.
› Overall Rating ››    0.00% 
Reviewed on November 23rd, 2011 at 18:02 EST by Elena
Customer for duration of 3 - 5 years
IP Address: 82.124.45.192
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #9 out of 22 HostPapa reviews
uptime & reliability
1.00
server & connection speed
9.00
technical support & knowledge
5.00
customer service & billing
5.00
price value for money
3.00
* ratings are out of 10

poor service

I have not got satisfaction and trouble free e-mail service.
Most of the communications are form posts.
Phone followup does not happen. They promise to look after matters but nothing happens.

Biggest Con: Promises, promises but nothing happens.

HostPapa is NOT recommended by G Scholes. This person does NOT recommend HostPapa.
› Overall Rating ››    40.00% 
Reviewed on November 6th, 2011 at 01:50 EST by G Scholes
Customer for duration of 1 - 2 months
IP Address: 184.66.100.244
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #10 out of 22 HostPapa reviews
« Prev 1 2 3
link to this page   |   tell a friend about this web host
Host Gator - Host Unlimited Web Sites
Reseller Hosting - 50% Off
Host Unlimited Sites
Free Dedicated IP & Backups
90 Day Money Back Guarantee
Try it out for just $13.99/mo.
InMotion Hosting

Read what users say about InMotion Hosting!


For Users
Web Hosting Reviews
Submit Review
Advanced Search
All Web Hosts
Top Rated

Our Difference
Contact


Free Newsletter
For Hosts
Host Log-in
Create Account
Generate Links
Get More Exposure


New Reviews
Go Daddy
000webhost
Just Host
WebHostingPad
EasyCGI
BlueFur
SkyNet Hosting
Arvixe
HostSo
VPSDepot
ADDR
Lunarpages
Quick2Host
WebIntellects
KVC Hosting
SiteGround
A Small Orange
ServerSea
StoresOnline
HostPapa


Other
Website Thumbnails
This site is powered by Host Gator.
Copyright © 1999-2016 WebHostingReviews.com. All Rights Reserved.
All reviews, content, graphics, logos, design, and scripts, are the sole property of WebHostingReviews.com, and
may not be used without prior written consent from us. All violations will be prosecuted to the maximum extent possible under the law.
Last Update: June 20th, 2016 at 15:01 EST / This site has a total of 3,441 web hosting reviews, based on 529 different web hosting companies.