HostPapa

Visit HostPapa Visit HostPapa   Write your own HostPapa review. Write your own HostPapa review.
1 out of 22 (or 5% of) people recommend HostPapa.
 › Rating Averages ››
Uptime & Reliability Server & Connection Speed Price Value for Money
2.43 / 10.0 2.66 / 10.0 1.14 / 10.0
Technical Support & Knowledge Customer Service & Billing
1.22 / 10.0 1.28 / 10.0
HostPapa
› Overall Rating ››    10.41% 
How are ratings calculated? 
  • Analyze this Page for Me
Showing 11 to 20 out of 22 reviews.   Filter Reviews
Page Relevancy
Review Quality 100%
What's
this?

HostPapa reviews

uptime & reliability
0.00
server & connection speed
0.00
technical support & knowledge
0.00
customer service & billing
0.00
price value for money
0.00
* ratings are out of 10

HOST PAPA SCAMMERS - DONT WASTE YOUR TIME OR MONEY

I wished I was one of the lucky ones who read all this jargon before signing up with Host Papa.

AUSSIES BEWARE!!!!!

I signed up. I didn't even get as far as receiving my pass codes to get online and start my website with Host Papa becasuse they stuffed up.

After weeks of trying to rectify the problem - WHICH HAS BEEN SOMEWHAT IMPOSSIBLE

DONT EXPECT TO FIND ONE PERSON TO SPEAK TO. YOU CAN LEAVE A THOUSAND MESSAGES ON THE PHONE BUT NOT GET ONE RETURN.

DONT EXPECT TO GET NOTHING BUT EMAILS SAYING SOMEONE WILL BE IN CONTACT SHORTLY - BUT NEVER EVER DOES.

NOW I HAVE TRIED REQUESTING CANCELLING, BUT NOW THEY ARE CHARGING ME ANYWAY!

DONT RISK IT AND TELL ALL YOUR MATES ABOUT HOST PAPA.

DONT RISK IT.

Biggest Pro: ABSOLUTELY NO PRO'S WITH THIS COMPANY
Biggest Con: NOTHNG BUT RIP OFF MERCHANTS WHO WILL TAKE YOUR MONEY AND RUN!

HostPapa is NOT recommended by Bob. This person does NOT recommend HostPapa.
› Overall Rating ››    0.00% 
Reviewed on June 29th, 2011 at 22:22 EST by Bob
Customer for duration of Less than 1 month
IP Address: 110.142.83.192
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Windows   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
17 out of 17 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #11 out of 22 HostPapa reviews
uptime & reliability
8.00
server & connection speed
9.00
technical support & knowledge
7.00
customer service & billing
8.00
price value for money
7.50
* ratings are out of 10

Not as Bad as Above But Don't Host Mission Critical

Host Papa is reasonable - I don't know if it deserves all of the extreme negative reviews here
Reliability seems fine
Tech support - inconsistent
The main problem is that twice they have had major upgrades that did not go as planned
Basically they turned off tech support and ran away for 2 weeks
I had on the first time - as i recall - went to the European affiliate of the company with Skype and had to scream
Then somehow it became catch 22 as i recall - all of the sudden i got action - but it was to the switchboard of the company in Canada - that had a recording
Very few firms offer low priced Canadian based ip hosting
Host Papa does do that - if you want the Canadian ip for Google.ca better search engine rankings
Yet if you are hosting a major website that is mission or income critical you might be better elsewhere
A number of graphic artists i know use it as first line hosting
This would seem strange to me

Biggest Pro: Canadian IP
Biggest Con: Erratic Clueless tech support when have major upgrade issues

HostPapa is recommended by V Cole. This person recommends HostPapa.
› Overall Rating ››    77.00% 
Reviewed on May 22nd, 2011 at 04:21 EST by V Cole
Customer for duration of 1 - 2 years
IP Address: 24.76.240.102
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: http://www.kingcolecatering.net/   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
14 out of 14 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #12 out of 22 HostPapa reviews
uptime & reliability
5.00
server & connection speed
1.00
technical support & knowledge
0.00
customer service & billing
0.00
price value for money
0.00
* ratings are out of 10

Beware!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Stay away from these thieves.
I was a customer since March 2008 and had pre-paid for a hosting plan that was paid in full until March 4 2011.
In December 2010 for reliability reasons, I needed to move my domain name off the host papa servers to my own servers but I needed to keep my corporate domain name.
They would not do it unless I canceled my hosting plan, which I did. They still would not release the domain name until I paid an additional $29.95 for the rights to the name and then after I paid them they released the domain name and pointed it to my servers.
I assumed I had complete ownership to the name for which paid for and I thought that I would be notified when it was going to expire by the registrar, at which time I would be responsible to renew the domain.
On March 4 2011 with no warning I lost access to my corporate website and all email addresses I had associated with my domain name.
I did a who is on the name and Hostpapa was listed as primary owner with me as secondary owner. It turn out that Hostpapa charged me $29.95 for the domain name (even though it was paid in full until March), but didnít actually honor the agreement of the sale by listing me as the exclusive owner as they indicated they would.
This was their smoke and mirrors to rape an honest customer from my hard earned cash. When the domain renewal came around they renewed it (as shown in the current who is) and now will not release my domain name property until I pay them again.
To compound things, I have been leaving them multiple voice messages and emails but for several days now, and the only response I got was that for security purposes they will not discuss anything with me unless I send them an email from the email address I had registered with them. This is ridiculous since they have me locked out of my own emails and I cannot send or receive email from that domain.
Since this domain name is associated with a corporate website, I have sent this to my legal department for assessment.
These people are bad news, do yourself a favor and stay far away from them.

Biggest Pro: None
Biggest Con: Frauds and no honor

HostPapa is NOT recommended by TC. This person does NOT recommend HostPapa.
› Overall Rating ››    0.00% 
Reviewed on March 7th, 2011 at 14:27 EST by TC
Customer for duration of 3 - 5 years
IP Address: 142.163.244.210
Type of Plan: Dedicated   Platform: Windows   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
17 out of 17 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #13 out of 22 HostPapa reviews
uptime & reliability
0.10
server & connection speed
0.10
technical support & knowledge
0.10
customer service & billing
0.00
price value for money
0.00
* ratings are out of 10

Bad experience!

Was affordable and tought i would be a good place since based in Canada.
First bas surprise ..... in the first month, someone hacked my site ..... and
i got an auto email that "lickmyballs@mysite.com was created" ....... and the hacker
created many YAHOO FANTASY sports teams with names like: i_ripped_my_kids .... etc ......... wow great security on HostPapa.

After 14 months ..... i decided to close my account, so i expected to have a part of my money for the 10 months prepaid plan. Instead of that i just got a dry email telling that they closed my site and my subcribtion will end in 10 months ...... if you don't want to refund ..... why close my account right away?

And best to all .......... I never complained on Hostpapa ...... and they blocked my IP address ............. Well what a bunch of dirty monkeys !!!!!
They people are pure ass/$$"les in my book.
If you leave ......... they treath you like a garbage.

HOSTPAPA RIP-OFF ARTISTS..

Biggest Pro: Compared to Ben Ladin, they make him look like a good guy.
Biggest Con: Rip Off Artists. No respect to honest customers. Only want your money.

HostPapa is NOT recommended by Joel. This person does NOT recommend HostPapa.
› Overall Rating ››    1.00% 
Reviewed on November 22nd, 2010 at 11:25 EST by Joel
Customer for duration of 1 - 2 years
IP Address: 74.59.95.63
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
19 out of 19 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #14 out of 22 HostPapa reviews
uptime & reliability
1.10
server & connection speed
1.10
technical support & knowledge
0.00
customer service & billing
0.00
price value for money
0.00
* ratings are out of 10

A Hellish Ordeal

I'm with everyone else here. Hostpapa is the worst hosting I have ever had the mispleasure to experience. Nonexistent customer service, terrible uptime, and good luck moving to real hosting if you ever want to move, because it will be a hellish ordeal the likes of which you can't even imagine.

I am not a violent man, but I would seriously and gladly pay somebody $1,000 per instance of physical harm inflicted on any HostPapa executive, support person, or billing department person, and consider it money well spent and a service to the community.

Sign up today, and you too can enjoy impressive downtime, nonexistent phone support where you have to leave messages that are never responded to, opening "tickets" for your issues that don't get responded to for weeks, and online chat personnel who will hang up on you multiple times!

Biggest Pro: makes you appreciate any other host
Biggest Con: nonexistent support at every level

HostPapa is NOT recommended by Cameron. This person does NOT recommend HostPapa.
› Overall Rating ››    0.00% 
Reviewed on November 4th, 2010 at 07:06 EST by Cameron
Customer for duration of 1 - 2 years
IP Address: 24.94.82.18
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
18 out of 18 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #15 out of 22 HostPapa reviews
uptime & reliability
1.00
server & connection speed
1.80
technical support & knowledge
3.20
customer service & billing
0.00
price value for money
2.50
* ratings are out of 10

Host Papa Rip off... Now refuse to release my domain.

Stay Away from Host Papa.
If you choose not to renew with them they ignore all emails and block your domain. They are a complete rip off. Also impossible to move around their control panel. Useless customer service. Bad experience with them.

HostPapa is NOT recommended by louise. This person does NOT recommend HostPapa.
› Overall Rating ››    10.00% 
Reviewed on May 3rd, 2010 at 10:46 EST by louise
Customer for duration of 6 - 11 months
IP Address: 79.154.200.102
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Mac   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
15 out of 15 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #16 out of 22 HostPapa reviews
uptime & reliability
9.00
server & connection speed
9.00
technical support & knowledge
0.10
customer service & billing
0.10
price value for money
0.00
* ratings are out of 10

DO NOT use this company

I used Hostpapa for over a year and everything was fine for the first year. However during my second year of hosting they suspended my account for spamming. This was due to somebody hacking my site so I phoned them to explain the situation and they were refusing to unsuspend my account. I ended up being passed around from person to person until I reached the manager who I can't think of a nice word to describe.

After a month of messing about with these idiots I just asked for the money back for the year that I had just paid for. I was refused a refund and Andre the manager claims that I am wasting their time. So is my time not important? Is a month of waiting for them to sort this problem out only to be told that I am banned from their hosting without a refund.

This a disgusting company and one of the worst I have ever had to deal with. I am now considering seeking legal action to get my money back that they have stolen. There are similar hosting packages out there so I would recommend anyone to find an alternative who don't treat their customers like dirt.

DO NOT give them any of your money or you might lose it!

Biggest Con: THIS COMPANY ARE JUST SCUM!

HostPapa is NOT recommended by Tom. This person does NOT recommend HostPapa.
› Overall Rating ››    5.00% 
Reviewed on April 21st, 2010 at 08:29 EST by Tom
Customer for duration of 1 - 2 years
IP Address: 86.30.22.239
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: http://www.spidok.com/   Email: fireflyx@ymail.com
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
16 out of 16 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #17 out of 22 HostPapa reviews
uptime & reliability
0.00
server & connection speed
0.50
technical support & knowledge
0.00
customer service & billing
0.00
price value for money
0.00
* ratings are out of 10

Hostpoopa more like!

I am in the uk and my site loads like a flick book... well it did, not now [more in a sec]. When it loaded, the site would appear and 'assemble itself' before your eyes. Yes folks, thats how slow it was... background...frames..images...everything appearing as if by magic. Wow,for entertainment purposes, i hand it to hostpoopa. But i'm not laughing now. I'm real sick of these ignorant money grabbers. Now i can't even log into my server using ftp. I have been trying for 2 days and all the time i get time-out errors. They pride themselves with an oustanding customer service? where? must of miss it? or maybe we have to pay a super-premium fee for that?

There is no customer service. They ignore cries for help even if you set the ticket as urgent. My site is unusable. I am real pissed now with them. They are ignorant shites who dont deserve your business. I heard from other folk that they even store literally hundreds of websites on a single server. Really? that explains the total lack of response from the server when you try to connect. There website forum deletes any bad reviews. So please don't expect to read anything bad about them there.

They are a con and deserve to go bust. If your reading this hostpoopa, you can shove your web-hosting where the sun don't shine. And your not charging me $26 dollars for transferring my domain either. You owe me for the service i paid for anyway, and hasnt been much of a service anyway. I'll change the domain name and keep my cash thank you.

Anyone who falls for there scams, service and refund guarantees deserve them. Once bitten, twice shy. Avoid at all costs!

Biggest Pro: Only paying for 1 year. Phew that was close , could of signed up for 2 or 3 yrs =/
Biggest Con: Being sucked into there 'caring customers service' slogan =/

HostPapa is NOT recommended by ymo1965. This person does NOT recommend HostPapa.
› Overall Rating ››    5.00% 
Reviewed on March 2nd, 2010 at 18:53 EST by ymo1965
Customer for duration of 1 - 2 years
IP Address: 213.106.49.31
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Windows   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
16 out of 16 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #18 out of 22 HostPapa reviews
uptime & reliability
0.30
server & connection speed
0.30
technical support & knowledge
0.00
customer service & billing
1.00
price value for money
1.00
* ratings are out of 10

Dont trust HostPapa

Hello all,

On many occasions I have asked the technical team from Host Papa to fix my clients hosting. My issue was that the sites load very slow and sometimes the sites where OFFLINE!

This is one of Host Papa's responses:
"I have tested your site and see it up online. Looks like your computers IP address is being blocked after to many failed log in attempts. This block will only last 1 hour if after that hour is up and you are not unblocked reply back with your IP address and we can manually unblock it for you."

Now I have tested my clients sites on four different computers so there is no way it's blocking ip's... and why the hell would it randomly start blocking ip's?

Just to let you know this issue of slow speeds and not loading pages at all was effecting 3 of my clients on their own hosting plans.

I have now moved all my clients to HostaGator and the speeds are great, plus the support dose not treat you like crap.

HostPapa is NOT recommended by Dan. This person does NOT recommend HostPapa.
› Overall Rating ››    10.00% 
Reviewed on February 19th, 2010 at 16:34 EST by Dan
Customer for duration of 3 - 5 months
IP Address: 204.112.128.74
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
18 out of 18 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #19 out of 22 HostPapa reviews
uptime & reliability
0.10
server & connection speed
1.00
technical support & knowledge
2.00
customer service & billing
0.00
price value for money
0.10
* ratings are out of 10

HostPapa.ca are the worst host. Use them if you hate uptime!

I can not warn you strongly enough not to use hostpapa.

Their service and tech support were inadequate and often did not get back to me at all.

About 2 years ago I was shopping for a local (Oakville, Ontario) web host and liked hostpapa's site and green energy policy. However, over these past two years, my websites have all suffered days of downtime each month, sluggish speeds (now after finally transferring away they told me the had bandwidth limits on my sites !!! 10kb download!).

After being forced to change hosts, they cut off my site before the transfer completed and offered NOTHING when I asked for a refund on the 5 years of hosting I've paid for in advance. This company don't deserve your business.

Use any other service in the world and you'll be ten times happier.

Biggest Pro: cpanel
Biggest Con: lots of downtime

HostPapa is NOT recommended by Dave B. This person does NOT recommend HostPapa.
› Overall Rating ››    10.00% 
Reviewed on September 26th, 2009 at 09:08 EST by Dave B
Customer for duration of 1 - 2 years
IP Address: 99.232.181.130
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
19 out of 19 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #20 out of 22 HostPapa reviews
link to this page   |   tell a friend about this web host
Host Gator - Host Unlimited Web Sites
Reseller Hosting - 50% Off
Host Unlimited Sites
Free Dedicated IP & Backups
90 Day Money Back Guarantee
Try it out for just $13.99/mo.
InMotion Hosting

Read what users say about InMotion Hosting!


For Users
Web Hosting Reviews
Submit Review
Advanced Search
All Web Hosts
Top Rated

Our Difference
Contact


Free Newsletter
For Hosts
Host Log-in
Create Account
Generate Links
Get More Exposure


New Reviews
Go Daddy
000webhost
Just Host
WebHostingPad
EasyCGI
BlueFur
SkyNet Hosting
Arvixe
HostSo
VPSDepot
ADDR
Lunarpages
Quick2Host
WebIntellects
KVC Hosting
SiteGround
A Small Orange
ServerSea
StoresOnline
HostPapa


Other
Website Thumbnails
This site is powered by Host Gator.
Copyright © 1999-2016 WebHostingReviews.com. All Rights Reserved.
All reviews, content, graphics, logos, design, and scripts, are the sole property of WebHostingReviews.com, and
may not be used without prior written consent from us. All violations will be prosecuted to the maximum extent possible under the law.
Last Update: June 20th, 2016 at 15:01 EST / This site has a total of 3,441 web hosting reviews, based on 529 different web hosting companies.