HostMySite

Visit HostMySite Visit HostMySite   Write your own HostMySite review. Write your own HostMySite review.
3 out of 12 (or 25% of) people recommend HostMySite.
 › Rating Averages ››
Uptime & Reliability Server & Connection Speed Price Value for Money
7.33 / 10.0 6.14 / 10.0 4.03 / 10.0
Technical Support & Knowledge Customer Service & Billing
5.13 / 10.0 5.66 / 10.0
HostMySite
› Overall Rating ››    40.92% 
How are ratings calculated? 
  • Analyze this Page for Me
Showing 1 to 10 out of 12 reviews.   Filter Reviews
Page Relevancy
Review Quality 100%
What's
this?
« Prev 1 2

HostMySite reviews

uptime & reliability
8.00
server & connection speed
5.00
technical support & knowledge
9.00
customer service & billing
2.00
price value for money
1.00
* ratings are out of 10

Used to be the best, now I wouldn't recommend to anyone

When I started with them back in 2001, they were a great host and continued to be until they were acquired by hosting.com. Then service and price took a nose dive. It went from being great and something I recommended to many people to something that was barely adequate. Ever since, I have been recommending another service to people.

Now, the last website I host with them is for support of a legacy email server. I get so much spam that if I don't spend hours filtering it manually, I fill up my quota in short order. When that happens, they shut off my ability to log in to my server and also receive mail. Basically they make it impossible to fix. All this happens without warning because smartermail does not inform you of the problem, you r notification is that you cannot log in anymore.

Stay away from them.

Biggest Pro: Tech support is fairly decent
Biggest Con: Price, bad customer service

HostMySite is NOT recommended by Doug. This person does NOT recommend HostMySite.
› Overall Rating ››    35.00% 
Reviewed on February 12th, 2015 at 10:22 EST by Doug
Customer for duration of More than 5 years
IP Address: 205.131.177.6
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Windows   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #1 out of 12 HostMySite reviews
uptime & reliability
1.00
server & connection speed
1.00
technical support & knowledge
0.10
customer service & billing
0.10
price value for money
0.10
* ratings are out of 10

Terrible, Awful, Rotten .. for last 2 yaers

I am with them for about 15 years (Since start of 2000), This company was my GO TO company but for last 2 years I am burned by them again and again. I strongly recommend NOT to work with this company else you risk lose what you have with them. We lose revenue, we lose credibility just because STUPID HMS doesnt do its job. They are no more fit for professional environment.

One thing I'd like to mention is, if their node is experiencing the problem, they will NEVER know and wont open ticket until you call. once you call it will take them HOURS to get to it, with no ETC (estimated time to complete/fix).

Right now my domain is out for last 18 hours. ONLY because of infrastructure issues. NO ONE know why it happened and no one knows when it would be fix. They were running backup .. i just called and they said there was an error in back and they have to re-do it. so they were waiting for my call to go and check .. to find what they did hours ago broke down. Long story short, They never MONITOR their jobs anymore. This company's culture is rotten. if you are with them and not experiencing problem, you are lucky but not for long. You are doomed. Trust me.

If you open a ticket, sometimes it may go 3-4 days without any response. Of course they apologies for everything but guess what, apologies doesn't help in the business we are in.

The only reason i am stuck with them is, i have huge migration cost but I think i am not left with any other option. Have to do it.

Biggest Con: SAY NO TO HMS

HostMySite is NOT recommended by Ahmad. This person does NOT recommend HostMySite.
› Overall Rating ››    0.00% 
Reviewed on November 13th, 2014 at 10:48 EST by Ahmad
Customer for duration of More than 5 years
IP Address: 216.237.206.170
Type of Plan: Virtual Private Servers   Platform: Windows   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #2 out of 12 HostMySite reviews
uptime & reliability
10.0
server & connection speed
0.00
technical support & knowledge
9.20
customer service & billing
6.10
price value for money
4.50
* ratings are out of 10

AVOID!!!!- Server Performance 30% - 40% Drop Off After 9AM

Wow! I'm VERY disappointing with their service.

CONS
- They don't offer CPANEL
- The server speed is TERRIBLE

PROS
- Phone support aint bad. Hold times naturally increase after 10am (just like every body else)

These guys need work.... Avoid them...

Biggest Pro: phone support
Biggest Con: Admin Panel / SERVER SPEED

Response by Gaby, who is a staff member of HostMySite:

Hi Scott - We're sorry to hear that you're unhappy! We do, in fact, offer cPanel with our VPS and Dedicated hosting accounts! Feel free to check it out here: http://www.hostmysite.com/vps/cPanel-VPS-Hosting/index.shtml. Regarding your server speed - the server your account is housed on has been updated and your speed should be back up! If you have any other problems with your account - don't hesitate to give us a call or open up a ticket at solutions.hostmysite.com! Thanks Scott!

Posted on April 14th, 2014 at 10:02 EST
HostMySite is NOT recommended by Scott. This person does NOT recommend HostMySite.
› Overall Rating ››    1.00% 
Reviewed on March 12th, 2014 at 10:47 EST by Scott
Customer for duration of Less than 1 month
IP Address: 96.227.222.169
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: http://www.fjmcintosh.com/   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #3 out of 12 HostMySite reviews
uptime & reliability
10.0
server & connection speed
10.0
technical support & knowledge
10.0
customer service & billing
10.0
price value for money
10.0
* ratings are out of 10

I LOVE HOST MY SITE

I am the proud owner of A Word's Worth Resume Writing and Career Coaching Service, in business since 1989. Although my business has evolved into an entity that requires a fairly high level of technology savvy, I must admit, I am NOT at all tech savvy. I am a writer by trade and I was creative and talented enough to transition my skills into a thriving resume writing and career coaching business. When I run into technology discrepancies, they are major problems for me. That is why HostMySite.com is the ONLY place I would ever have host my website. I can call them 24-7 and they are there to support me. When I say they support me, I mean they really and truly provide me with outstanding support. They talk to me -- not at me. They answer my questions that must be to them the stupidest questions they have ever heard . . . but, nonetheless, they answer them. I don't have to email them a question, then wait for their answer. When I call their telephone number, night or day, there is ALWAYS a real person at the other end of the line. And, that real person at the other end of the line is ALWAYS kind to me, patient with me, and EVER SO KNOWLEDGEABLE. If you are a business owner who would like to have your website hosted by a company who believes that customer service comes first, I HIGHLY RECOMMEND HostMySite.com. In fact, I RECOMMEND ONLY HostMySite.com!

Biggest Pro: HMS is the only way to go!

HostMySite is recommended by Nina Ebert. This person recommends HostMySite.
› Overall Rating ››    100.0% 
Reviewed on August 12th, 2013 at 20:55 EST by Nina Ebert
Customer for duration of 3 - 5 years
IP Address: 76.117.243.122
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: http://www.awordsworth.com/   Email: nina@awordsworth.com
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #4 out of 12 HostMySite reviews
uptime & reliability
9.00
server & connection speed
9.00
technical support & knowledge
5.00
customer service & billing
5.00
price value for money
3.00
* ratings are out of 10

A good thing gone horribly wrong

I must agree with many of the previous reviews - when I came on board with HostMySite.com, it was as good as I could ask. Issues resolved while I was on the phone, never waited more than two rings for Tech Support, always above and beyond.

Now, I can't access my site, I'm on hold for 5 minutes or more to talk to a Tech, I know they won't be able to fix the issue and that I'll have to wait for an e-mail a few hours later when either they can or can't do something about it, and they NEVER answer their Chat requests.

The price they charge is for a consistently available server with excellent service. Neither applies, I'm shopping.

Biggest Pro: When all is going well - it's great!
Biggest Con: Continuously deteriorating levels of service and support

HostMySite is NOT recommended by Jeff Riedl. This person does NOT recommend HostMySite.
› Overall Rating ››    50.00% 
Reviewed on August 8th, 2010 at 13:12 EST by Jeff Riedl
Customer for duration of 3 - 5 years
IP Address: 50.9.19.4
Type of Plan: Virtual Private Servers   Platform: Linux   Domain: http://www.agilityevents.net/   Email: jeff@cjrenterprises.biz
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
16 out of 16 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #5 out of 12 HostMySite reviews
uptime & reliability
9.50
server & connection speed
0.00
technical support & knowledge
2.00
customer service & billing
5.00
price value for money
0.00
* ratings are out of 10

Very Slow Downloads

Hostmysite.com is now called hosting.com

At 25.00 a month, I should have moved long ago.
3min to download a 60mb file from my site, on vimeo.com same file took 1min.
Tech said it's my problem.

Biggest Con: slow speed, over priced

HostMySite is NOT recommended by unhappy user. This person does NOT recommend HostMySite.
› Overall Rating ››    0.00% 
Reviewed on November 5th, 2009 at 09:52 EST by unhappy user
Customer for duration of 1 - 2 years
IP Address: 24.223.177.98
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
15 out of 15 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #6 out of 12 HostMySite reviews
uptime & reliability
7.00
server & connection speed
8.00
technical support & knowledge
4.60
customer service & billing
1.10
price value for money
5.70
* ratings are out of 10

Wonderful company ruined by an acquisition

Points to consider:
- In it's heyday, problems would most always be solved on the phone. Today, they NEVER are. The Phone system has become yet another entry point to the clogged email ticket system. The techs are stressed, overworked, and you can hear it in their voice. Billing, for example, all work 3 hours overtime every day.
- Both Shared SQL and Apache crash frequently. It usually takes 30 minutes for them to be back and running. Have a clogged MySQL connection pool (which you yourself cannot reset)? A ticket placed and 5 hours later, connections are usually reset.
- Despite a lack of plan upgrades for 2 years, pricing on all shared plans has been increased at least 40%.
- Billing is terrible. The control panel is riddled with more bugs than a Brazilian Rainforest. Due to an error in their control panel, I was charged the wrong price for an extra database. Their system reinvoiced me for the full amount a year later. Even it it's heyday, Billing was no cakewalk. They could not understand that their system had messed up, and so I was forced to take my issue to the call center supervisor. About 12 days ago, I was granted a prorated refund for my account. It still has not gone through.

Biggest Pro: If you like being able to talk to someone 24/7, you still can at HostMySite, but they will not be much help.
Biggest Con: Lackluster reliability, and no support to compensate

HostMySite is NOT recommended by Ben. This person does NOT recommend HostMySite.
› Overall Rating ››    74.00% 
Reviewed on August 16th, 2009 at 11:21 EST by Ben
Customer for duration of 3 - 5 years
IP Address: 24.13.232.14
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
17 out of 17 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #7 out of 12 HostMySite reviews
uptime & reliability
0.00
server & connection speed
6.20
technical support & knowledge
0.00
customer service & billing
5.10
price value for money
0.00
* ratings are out of 10

Terrible!

Down twice in less than a week for hours at a time. The first time was nearly a full 24 hour day. We managed to reset all our meetings from the last time they were down, sheepishly explaining that we were going through "upgrades" to our prospects. Lucky for us, we reset them for today and they are DOWN AGAIN! They are nice enough on the phone and listen to me yell at them, but everything seems to be out of their control. How does a hosting company go down at all much less for full days at a time? These guys have to be one of the worst hosting providers in the world. Stay far, far away from them.

Biggest Pro: They are nice
Biggest Con: They suck

HostMySite is NOT recommended by Al. This person does NOT recommend HostMySite.
› Overall Rating ››    0.00% 
Reviewed on July 27th, 2009 at 16:41 EST by Al
Customer for duration of 3 - 5 months
IP Address: 72.19.147.90
Type of Plan: Virtual Private Servers   Platform: Windows   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
15 out of 15 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #8 out of 12 HostMySite reviews
uptime & reliability
9.00
server & connection speed
9.00
technical support & knowledge
0.10
customer service & billing
9.00
price value for money
0.10
* ratings are out of 10

Excellent NO MORE!!!

HostMySite was truly magnificent as a hosting company for years. Lou Honick then sold the company, and they have gone streadily down-hill ever since. They just had a major breach of all shared hosting plan logins, reset all the passwords, AND DIDN'T ADVISE ME OF THE PROBLEM OR RESPOND TO MY EMAIL AT 3PM yesterday asking for help getting back into our sites. They had advised one of my clients over th phone that I would have to rest all their FTP logins, which I tried to do BUT THEIR PASSWORD RESET PROGRAM DIDN'T WORK!!! I finally called their tech support and got ONE login manually reset.

HMS used to be the best, now that are just as bad as the rest...

I am now looking for a new host for my 20 sites...

Biggest Pro: None any more...
Biggest Con: HORRIBLE SERVICE UNLESS YOU STAY ON THEIR BUTT THE WHOLE TIME!!!

HostMySite is NOT recommended by Charles Ragsdell, II. This person does NOT recommend HostMySite.
› Overall Rating ››    1.00% 
Reviewed on April 15th, 2009 at 10:37 EST by Charles Ragsdell, II
Customer for duration of 3 - 5 years
IP Address: 72.204.113.208
Type of Plan: Virtual Private Servers   Platform: Windows   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
16 out of 16 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #9 out of 12 HostMySite reviews
uptime & reliability
9.90
server & connection speed
9.00
technical support & knowledge
10.0
customer service & billing
10.0
price value for money
9.00
* ratings are out of 10

Excellent professionalism for 2 years

I've used HostMySite for over 2 years and have been impressed with their professionalism. When they're have been problems, they have been exceedingly helpful in explain the issue and helping me resolve it (if the issue was something I did) and equally forthcoming with details if the issue was on their end. I feel like they are more a partner than simply a vendor.

They also clearly communicate well in advance about when they will have system maintenance.

I've had no performance issues in a shared environment. (my web site gets about 4 million page hits a year, mostly during fall and winter).

I moved to HostMySite from 1and1 - it was a night and day difference in service level, technical expertise, and professionalism. I'm very happy with HostMySite.

Mike

Biggest Pro: Technical Professionalism
Biggest Con: None

HostMySite is recommended by Mike Muha. This person recommends HostMySite.
› Overall Rating ››    95.00% 
Reviewed on January 7th, 2009 at 13:41 EST by Mike Muha
Customer for duration of 1 - 2 years
IP Address: 8.2.183.242
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Windows   Domain: http://www.nordicskiracer.com/   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
17 out of 17 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #10 out of 12 HostMySite reviews
« Prev 1 2
link to this page   |   tell a friend about this web host
Host Gator - Host Unlimited Web Sites
Reseller Hosting - 50% Off
Host Unlimited Sites
Free Dedicated IP & Backups
90 Day Money Back Guarantee
Try it out for just $13.99/mo.
InMotion Hosting

Read what users say about InMotion Hosting!


For Users
Web Hosting Reviews
Submit Review
Advanced Search
All Web Hosts
Top Rated

Our Difference
Contact


Free Newsletter
For Hosts
Host Log-in
Create Account
Generate Links
Get More Exposure


New Reviews
Go Daddy
000webhost
Just Host
WebHostingPad
EasyCGI
BlueFur
SkyNet Hosting
Arvixe
HostSo
VPSDepot
ADDR
Lunarpages
Quick2Host
WebIntellects
KVC Hosting
SiteGround
A Small Orange
ServerSea
StoresOnline
HostPapa


Other
Website Thumbnails
This site is powered by Host Gator.
Copyright © 1999-2016 WebHostingReviews.com. All Rights Reserved.
All reviews, content, graphics, logos, design, and scripts, are the sole property of WebHostingReviews.com, and
may not be used without prior written consent from us. All violations will be prosecuted to the maximum extent possible under the law.
Last Update: June 20th, 2016 at 15:01 EST / This site has a total of 3,441 web hosting reviews, based on 529 different web hosting companies.