HostForWeb

Visit HostForWeb Visit HostForWeb   Write your own HostForWeb review. Write your own HostForWeb review.
4 out of 9 (or 44% of) people recommend HostForWeb.
 › Rating Averages ››
Uptime & Reliability Server & Connection Speed Price Value for Money
6.81 / 10.0 7.30 / 10.0 6.39 / 10.0
Technical Support & Knowledge Customer Service & Billing
6.81 / 10.0 5.48 / 10.0
HostForWeb
› Overall Rating ››    55.11% 
How are ratings calculated? 
  • Analyze this Page for Me
Showing 1 to 9 out of 9 reviews.   Filter Reviews
Page Relevancy
Review Quality 100%
What's
this?

HostForWeb reviews

uptime & reliability
8.90
server & connection speed
7.50
technical support & knowledge
9.60
customer service & billing
9.60
price value for money
9.70
* ratings are out of 10

Good but still not in the big league.

I have used HFW over the last tend years three times, and each time there was major issues and data loss.
The support is improving allot, however HFW tries to give the feel they are larger then they are, by having live chat people using fake names that eventually answer your ticket. Its odd but how they do it.
Each time I came back I have been on another server and each time the server failed. Last time their backup did not restore as promised luckily my own back up saved it.
And they are still having blacklisted issues with servers.

I am with them and will stay for now, it would be a big pain in the arse to move .
HFW is adequate but no where near where they should be after over 10 years of operations.
There shared servers which I tried are bogged down they cram too many accounts on these and allow mailing lists etc that force you to move like I did. I do not know of any better hosting sites, and these guys are good for the most part, they are polite and usually resolve issues quickly. That said the reliability seems to suffer around the busy times of the year they just cant handle the extra loads both technically and staff wise.

Biggest Pro: Easy to work with,
Biggest Con: Unreliable Servers, over booking shared servers.

HostForWeb is recommended by P. This person recommends HostForWeb.
› Overall Rating ››    90.00% 
Reviewed on November 30th, 2014 at 12:22 EST by P
Customer for duration of 1 - 2 years
IP Address: 68.116.113.97
Type of Plan: Reseller   Platform: Windows   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #1 out of 9 HostForWeb reviews
uptime & reliability
1.00
server & connection speed
6.50
technical support & knowledge
7.50
customer service & billing
8.00
price value for money
5.00
* ratings are out of 10

Email servers blacklisted and your website will be down

The connection wasn't bad, the people were friendly and helpful, but if your website isn't up and your email cannot be sent or received, it just doesn't matter. Nothing else matters with a web host. How would you like a car made by a nice company, sold to you by friendly people, but it just won't start? All the other good stuff doesn't matter if it doesn't do what you paid for it to do. That is what you get with HostForWeb.

Biggest Pro: Nice people on the tech support chat.
Biggest Con: Email and website down much too often!

HostForWeb is NOT recommended by Joe S.. This person does NOT recommend HostForWeb.
› Overall Rating ››    15.00% 
Reviewed on November 17th, 2014 at 15:28 EST by Joe S.
Customer for duration of More than 5 years
IP Address: 69.132.32.107
Type of Plan: Reseller   Platform: Linux   Domain: http://www.sendto.org/   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #2 out of 9 HostForWeb reviews
uptime & reliability
0.00
server & connection speed
7.90
technical support & knowledge
8.10
customer service & billing
0.00
price value for money
8.60
* ratings are out of 10

I was being ripped off

I placed an order for buying ONE domain name for $12.95. Somehow, my bill is $158.00 I now have 10 items on my bill. I e-mailed Hostfrorweb's billing department (they do not take phone calls). I contacted Max, the head of the billing. He said that the charges are not reversible. My credit card company found that Hostforweb charged me $270. The transaction is pending. Please someone help me!!!

HostForWeb is NOT recommended by Ching Juhl. This person does NOT recommend HostForWeb.
› Overall Rating ››    1.00% 
Reviewed on May 20th, 2012 at 19:07 EST by Ching Juhl
Customer for duration of More than 5 years
IP Address: 108.6.171.185
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Shared   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #3 out of 9 HostForWeb reviews
uptime & reliability
8.20
server & connection speed
3.00
technical support & knowledge
1.60
customer service & billing
1.20
price value for money
4.40
* ratings are out of 10

Hasn't quite made the big time

I was with HFW for a very long time 5+ years. In that time they moved their server twice and it was a nightmare each time they moved data was lost and DNS were way out of wack. So much so one site was blacklisted. Still is to this day.
Support knowledge is rushed, they just do not listed to what is being asked. I recently came back and tried them again and they still can not get it right. The packages are very misleading as to what you get and what is offered. And they are happy to upgrade you for a new fee to fix your problem.

The positive aspect is Alex and Max both run the place and have hands on the operations, the downside is Alex and Max still run the place and they are stuck in their ways of doing things, Which has hurt them growing. I noticed over the years many new names of techs they seem to come and go which makes it hard for them to learn the customer base. I ended up with Godaddy, I swore wouldn't go to the big market supplier, but HFW just couldn't provide the simple things I needed.

Biggest Pro: Nice people
Biggest Con: To old school, just do not meet todays needs and standards

HostForWeb is NOT recommended by Paul. This person does NOT recommend HostForWeb.
› Overall Rating ››    35.00% 
Reviewed on April 28th, 2010 at 13:58 EST by Paul
Customer for duration of More than 5 years
IP Address: 97.90.125.230
Type of Plan: Reseller   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
15 out of 15 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #4 out of 9 HostForWeb reviews
uptime & reliability
6.00
server & connection speed
8.00
technical support & knowledge
5.00
customer service & billing
1.00
price value for money
1.00
* ratings are out of 10

not sure what happen to the service

I have been with hostforweb for roughly 5 years, in that time i had minor problems which they fixed quickly, however in the last year i have been having major problems with their service and ability to help resolve problems. I was on a their Supreme shared server plan, which worked out fine, just within this year i got a server overload and they stated it was a script in my site causing it, when i ask if they can help me to pin point the script causing it they said they can not help. So i went through my site and did not find any thing out of the normal. They un-suspended my page and back to normal operation on the shared server, in November time frame a server overload happen again, seem to be that same problem yet they where still unable to help and recommended i upgrade to a VPS even suggest that their HFWVPS-1 would work fine. They did the migration well so i though, because my site was up and running again. Here it is January 2010 and i get billed for the Shared server i was on after paying for a VPS. Come to find out they never migrated my site over to the VPS. So they finally begin the migration over to the VPS and know the site does not even load or work correctly. They are claiming i am using to much memory and i need to upgrade yet again to a higher priced VPS package. I asked if my site has been running fine for the last few months without server overload, why can't you get it running on the VPS if the VPS is better than the shared plan. There was no clear answer. I must say this is back for business for the last three days my site has been down loosing customers. they just continue to bounce my tickect (s) from one level to another without any answers what so ever. I am leaving this company and would not recommend them to anyone. Bad customer support for long term customers, they are un-willing to help you resolve problems. For small businesses like mine go to another hosting company.

Biggest Con: force upgrades with no support

HostForWeb is NOT recommended by Adam Joseph. This person does NOT recommend HostForWeb.
› Overall Rating ››    60.00% 
Reviewed on February 7th, 2010 at 13:12 EST by Adam Joseph
Customer for duration of 3 - 5 years
IP Address: 68.231.29.244
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: http://www.lextechs.com/   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
15 out of 15 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #5 out of 9 HostForWeb reviews
uptime & reliability
9.80
server & connection speed
9.90
technical support & knowledge
10.0
customer service & billing
10.0
price value for money
9.00
* ratings are out of 10

always there to help

All hosts I had been a part of before HostForWeb had abysmal technical service and caused me so many problems.

Since moving to HostForWeb, everything has been perfect. On the occassion that there is downtime, they are always there to explain what is going on and when it will be solved. If I need help with something, someone is always there to either answer my question or help me open a ticket. Problems are resolved swiftly.

Uptime is very impressive, there has never been a period of downtime longer than an hour that I have ever seen. The servers are fast and are never slowed - and I believe this is because they do NOT oversell their packages. Many hosts will offer "unlimited" bandwidth and space. This is obviously impossible and can be easily abused. I think HFW could increase what they offer for the price a little more, but I am glad they do not boast these ridiculous "unlimited" packages. Because of this their service is stable and fast.

Biggest Pro: great staff, 24/7 tech support
Biggest Con: more space+bandwidth for the price

HostForWeb is recommended by Ryan. This person recommends HostForWeb.
› Overall Rating ››    98.00% 
Reviewed on June 26th, 2009 at 16:58 EST by Ryan
Customer for duration of 3 - 5 years
IP Address: 66.235.19.147
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: http://www.thebackalleys.com/   Email: ryan@thebackalleys.com
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
15 out of 15 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #6 out of 9 HostForWeb reviews
uptime & reliability
9.90
server & connection speed
9.90
technical support & knowledge
9.50
customer service & billing
9.50
price value for money
10.0
* ratings are out of 10

4 years and no problems

I'd say as a hosting company they are great, I've had a reseller account for years now, The only draw back is due to shared servers you sometimes get your mail accounts blacklisted due to something stupid the other users did but thats the nature of shared hosting.Down time has been minimal , I've had a few billing issues usally on my part not theirs they haven't shut me down due to lack ot payment anytime. They have been quick replied for most tech support issues. I like them would use them again and I still use them

Matt

Biggest Pro: Cost / flexiblity
Biggest Con: not able to get a live person on the phone

HostForWeb is recommended by Matt Skogberg. This person recommends HostForWeb.
› Overall Rating ››    99.00% 
Reviewed on November 12th, 2008 at 18:51 EST by Matt Skogberg
Customer for duration of 3 - 5 years
IP Address: 72.24.28.178
Type of Plan: Reseller   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
17 out of 17 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #7 out of 9 HostForWeb reviews
uptime & reliability
8.00
server & connection speed
4.00
technical support & knowledge
0.00
customer service & billing
0.00
price value for money
0.00
* ratings are out of 10

Worst web host ever

This company is utterly abysmal and completely incompetent, even at the manager level. My billing ticket is still unresolved after nearly 6 weeks and they continued to charge me after cancellation and lie about making the refund. Even the managers do not read the tickets. Worst customer service I have ever experienced in about 10 hosting companies during my lifetime. Avoid like the plague.

Biggest Pro: None
Biggest Con: Customer service are idiots that do not read your inquiry at all.

HostForWeb is NOT recommended by Frank. This person does NOT recommend HostForWeb.
› Overall Rating ››    0.00% 
Reviewed on October 28th, 2008 at 16:34 EST by Frank
Customer for duration of 6 - 11 months
IP Address: 69.196.187.67
Type of Plan: Virtual Private Servers   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
16 out of 16 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #8 out of 9 HostForWeb reviews
uptime & reliability
9.50
server & connection speed
9.00
technical support & knowledge
10.0
customer service & billing
10.0
price value for money
9.80
* ratings are out of 10

Impressed with Hostforweb

2007 is my third year with Hostforweb (HFW) and I have nothing but praise for them. I find their prices to be very reasonable, and I am satisfied with the level of uptime I receive (close to 100% from my experience).

Their support staff are the best I have experienced, with the problems I have faced (maybe a couple a year) all being resolved in quick time. Their live help is very efficient and the majority of smaller issues they are able to resolve. For other (larger) issues, an email is usually required to be sent, and from personal experience, response times would be, on average, under 30 minutes. Sometimes I have received replies within minutes.

HFW have online forums, and while I am not a regular visitor to them, when I do occasionally drop by, I am impressed to see the HFW staff asking the customers what they would like to see improved, for new ideas, and then taking on board what has been suggested.

My only suggestion to HFW would be to introduce a VPS plan that is lower than $40 a month, as it would lessen the gap between the most expensive shared plan ($20/month) and the lowest priced VPS plan ($40/month).

I would recommend Hostforweb to anybody currently looking for a webhost!

Biggest Pro: Support

HostForWeb is recommended by battye. This person recommends HostForWeb.
› Overall Rating ››    98.00% 
Reviewed on July 22nd, 2007 at 05:28 EST by battye
Customer for duration of 3 - 5 years
IP Address: 121.209.68.62
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: http://www.forums.cricketmx.com/   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
27 out of 27 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #9 out of 9 HostForWeb reviews
link to this page   |   tell a friend about this web host
Host Gator - Host Unlimited Web Sites
Reseller Hosting - 50% Off
Host Unlimited Sites
Free Dedicated IP & Backups
90 Day Money Back Guarantee
Try it out for just $13.99/mo.
InMotion Hosting

Read what users say about InMotion Hosting!


For Users
Web Hosting Reviews
Submit Review
Advanced Search
All Web Hosts
Top Rated

Our Difference
Contact


Free Newsletter
For Hosts
Host Log-in
Create Account
Generate Links
Get More Exposure


New Reviews
Go Daddy
000webhost
Just Host
WebHostingPad
EasyCGI
BlueFur
SkyNet Hosting
Arvixe
HostSo
VPSDepot
ADDR
Lunarpages
Quick2Host
WebIntellects
KVC Hosting
SiteGround
A Small Orange
ServerSea
StoresOnline
HostPapa


Other
Website Thumbnails
This site is powered by Host Gator.
Copyright © 1999-2016 WebHostingReviews.com. All Rights Reserved.
All reviews, content, graphics, logos, design, and scripts, are the sole property of WebHostingReviews.com, and
may not be used without prior written consent from us. All violations will be prosecuted to the maximum extent possible under the law.
Last Update: June 20th, 2016 at 15:01 EST / This site has a total of 3,441 web hosting reviews, based on 529 different web hosting companies.