Host Gator

Visit Host Gator Visit Host Gator   Write your own Host Gator review. Write your own Host Gator review.
63 out of 66 (or 95% of) people recommend Host Gator.
 › Rating Averages ››
Uptime & Reliability Server & Connection Speed Price Value for Money
9.77 / 10.0 9.57 / 10.0 9.48 / 10.0
Technical Support & Knowledge Customer Service & Billing
9.38 / 10.0 9.43 / 10.0
Host Gator
› Overall Rating ››    95.97% 
How are ratings calculated? 
  • Analyze this Page for Me
Showing 1 to 10 out of 66 reviews.   Filter Reviews
Page Relevancy
Review Quality 100%
What's
this?
« Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7

Host Gator reviews

uptime & reliability
10.0
server & connection speed
10.0
technical support & knowledge
10.0
customer service & billing
10.0
price value for money
9.50
* ratings are out of 10

VPS at Hostgator

I started out with their business plan. It was very inexpensive, very fast and no downtime. Support was quick and thorough. After a couple of months I wanted a VPS because I wanted to run some other processes that don't run on shared hosting. I started out with a VPS Level 3 and later moved up to a Level 5. I basically needed the extra RAM and cpu. I've got Cpanel for all my domains, 4 static IP addresses. I'm paying around $100 month, which might seem high, but my VPS is completely managed and I have resources to spare. They've performed some critical balancing operations and installations which I could probably do, but there would be a lot of trial and error (and downtime). My websites are critical to my company and ~ $100/mo is really nothing. My sites are never down and they run extremely fast. In addition, support is practically instant whenever I have a question or if something isn't working right. I'm running several Prestashop stores on the VPS and Hostgator's support for Prestashop is superb. With root shell access, this package is complete. I put all my effort into running my business and the very last thing I ever have to worry about is my site or email being down. They aren't.

Biggest Pro: They can provide anything I need
Biggest Con: the VPS cost brings price value down to 9.5 from 10

Host Gator is recommended by Richard Turner. This person recommends Host Gator.
› Overall Rating ››    100.0% 
Reviewed on April 22nd, 2013 at 20:01 EST by Richard Turner
Customer for duration of 1 - 2 years
IP Address: 76.17.67.37
Type of Plan: Virtual Private Servers   Platform: Linux   Domain: http://www.ecg.com/   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
19 out of 19 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #1 out of 66 Host Gator reviews
uptime & reliability
10.0
server & connection speed
10.0
technical support & knowledge
10.0
customer service & billing
10.0
price value for money
10.0
* ratings are out of 10

Hosting Multiple Domains on Hostgator

I have been with hostgagor for 5 years now, after moving from a much more expensive Australian Host (who hosted from US anyway) and have been delighted with them. As a web developer and professional and personal blogger I host over 20 domains on the one account (.com and .au) and multiple sub-domains (for myself, clients, friends and a couple of non-profits). A few have Google ratings of 5-7 which indicates how much traffic they get and I am only on their baby plan.

If there has been any downtime at all since have been with them it must have been so short as neither myself or clients have noticed it and I am working with my sites for hours each day.

The only times I have needed to contact customer support has been for problems I have created myself and the matter has been dealt with speedily through their online chat. The operators have all been friendly, very helpful and knowledgeable. I have helped other bloggers with their own sites hosted through various different hosts so I am confident that I have chosen the best.

PS - I am not a hosting reseller for Hostgator so I have nothing to gain from writing such a glowing review.

Biggest Pro: Reliability-Price
Biggest Con: None

Host Gator is recommended by Sue Bride. This person recommends Host Gator.
› Overall Rating ››    100.0% 
Reviewed on July 4th, 2011 at 15:30 EST by Sue Bride
Customer for duration of 3 - 5 years
IP Address: 114.76.0.158
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: http://www.sueblimely.com/   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
36 out of 36 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #2 out of 66 Host Gator reviews
uptime & reliability
10.0
server & connection speed
10.0
technical support & knowledge
10.0
customer service & billing
10.0
price value for money
10.0
* ratings are out of 10

Absolutely Flat-Out the BEST

I've been with HostGator for almost two years now. I have never seen another company strive so hard to make constant improvements and provide the very best in service and support.

I've submitted two support tickets to them, and I'm not exaggerating when I say they were on it in less than one minute. It is not humanly possible to provide better support than that.

Their servers are driven by wind power, a sustainable energy source.

The ease of use of their CPanel is outstanding. Hosting plans are very reasonably priced.

I recommend HostGator to everyone. You can't go wrong with these guys. They are the best.

Host Gator is recommended by Marc Sullivan. This person recommends Host Gator.
› Overall Rating ››    100.0% 
Reviewed on November 11th, 2010 at 17:11 EST by Marc Sullivan
Customer for duration of 1 - 2 years
IP Address: 184.39.123.168
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
46 out of 46 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #3 out of 66 Host Gator reviews
uptime & reliability
10.0
server & connection speed
10.0
technical support & knowledge
10.0
customer service & billing
10.0
price value for money
10.0
* ratings are out of 10

Very happy with Host Gator

I've not have had any problems of any sort with Host Gator. Website runs smoothly and super fast connection.

CPanel and site is easy to use and site easy to navigate and as yet, I did not use support other than when I transferred DNS from JustHost (big nightmare) to worry free zone Host Gator. Transfer was easy and super... super fast.

All in all, as yet, no complaints or problems.

Biggest Pro: Worry free zone, excellent CPanel and no contract.

Host Gator is recommended by Amanda. This person recommends Host Gator.
› Overall Rating ››    100.0% 
Reviewed on June 18th, 2010 at 13:30 EST by Amanda
Customer for duration of 6 - 11 months
IP Address: 86.137.208.15
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Mac OS X   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
43 out of 43 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #4 out of 66 Host Gator reviews
uptime & reliability
10.0
server & connection speed
10.0
technical support & knowledge
10.0
customer service & billing
10.0
price value for money
10.0
* ratings are out of 10

Couldn't be happier with Host Gator

I have been with Host Gator for just over 6 months. In that time I have not had one single issue or down time. The control panel is so superior over the garbage that AIT provided, I just had no idea what I was missing.

Not only do my websites run flawlessly, but I've been able to set up two extensive, professional store fronts and generate sales at no additional cost. The Mcart that AIT offered was an embarassment.

I am extremely pleased with Host Gator and their tech staff and would recommend them to anyone, without hesitation.

Biggest Pro: 100% uptime, great tech support, great cpanel
Biggest Con: none

Host Gator is recommended by Everet. This person recommends Host Gator.
› Overall Rating ››    100.0% 
Reviewed on April 20th, 2010 at 08:24 EST by Everet
Customer for duration of 6 - 11 months
IP Address: 66.202.32.34
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: http://www.eregalstudio.com/   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
43 out of 43 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #5 out of 66 Host Gator reviews
uptime & reliability
10.0
server & connection speed
10.0
technical support & knowledge
10.0
customer service & billing
10.0
price value for money
10.0
* ratings are out of 10

Outstanding Customer Service!!

I have been a HostGator customer for the last 3 years, and I truly can't speak highly enough of their technical support department and the services HostGator provides.

I am the developer for a system that is designed to send alerts to members of the general public during severe weather events along with several other tools that we have created that are designed to assist with the protection of lives, property, and communications. The service we have created is utilized by emergency response organizations all around the country. The systems we have created were designed to provide the difference between life and death in alot of situtations.

I can truly say that with the work we are doing, and the true impact we have on the organizations utilizing our services, its very critical that our servers are fully functional at all times. A week or so ago we ran in to a serious problem with our dedicated server and our mail system was blocking text messages from going through. This posed a serious issue due to the weather and the possibility of a tornado being produced. I contacted HostGator, explained the situation, and within minutes their support department went to work to resolve the issue at hand. This was one of the situations where it could of turned out to be a life or death senario. If the alerts didn't get sent out, and a tornado had touched down and someone was killed, it would have caused massive devistation to the work that we are doing.

If it wasn't for the knowledge and quick response of the HostGator technical support team, our entire operation could of gone under. Because of situations like this that have arisen in the past, HostGator has never once failed to step up and correct the problems we faced (and in come cases the problem was actually on our end and not theirs), I would have to say anyone looking for a hosting company with outstanding reliability, amazing customer and technical support, and great prices, well HostGator is the best company out there!

Biggest Pro: Technical support is just simply amazing!
Biggest Con: I have no complaints what so ever about HostGator.

Host Gator is recommended by Michael C.. This person recommends Host Gator.
› Overall Rating ››    100.0% 
Reviewed on April 13th, 2010 at 20:09 EST by Michael C.
Customer for duration of 3 - 5 years
IP Address: 24.2.25.197
Type of Plan: Dedicated   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
46 out of 46 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #6 out of 66 Host Gator reviews
uptime & reliability
10.0
server & connection speed
10.0
technical support & knowledge
10.0
customer service & billing
10.0
price value for money
10.0
* ratings are out of 10

Best Support in the Industry

I have been using Host Gator over 5 years. I can not tell you the number of times they have helped me with situations. Even some that I don't think really had anything to do with them. I have a dedicated server with close to 80 websites on it. Whenever I have a problem, I simply send a ticket and within a very short time the problem is addressed.

A couple years ago, the servers went down due to a problem with The Planet. They did everything they could to help even though most of it was out of their control. I delt a great deal with a gentleman named Josh, who gave me advice that really saved me a lot of time and money.

Anyone interested in hosting sites can not go wrong with Host Gator.

Host Gator is recommended by Greg Grabowski. This person recommends Host Gator.
› Overall Rating ››    100.0% 
Reviewed on April 2nd, 2010 at 11:20 EST by Greg Grabowski
Customer for duration of More than 5 years
IP Address: 76.97.192.102
Type of Plan: Dedicated   Platform: Linux   Domain: http://www.cbsontheweb.com/   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
51 out of 51 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #7 out of 66 Host Gator reviews
uptime & reliability
9.80
server & connection speed
9.80
technical support & knowledge
9.50
customer service & billing
10.0
price value for money
9.90
* ratings are out of 10

Longtime HostGator client still happy

I had a reseller account with HG for about 3 years and have recently upgraded to a dedicated server.

All in all I'm very happy with HG. Tech support is generally very good and reasonably fast - having the live chat capability is a big plus for less complex problems. There's a pretty good community of support available on the forums and HG is not afraid to post bad reviews - to me that says they care what people think.

The only major issue I've had with my hosting in the last year was an emergency drive replacement that resulted in basically 4 days of downtime while the RAID array was rebuilt - that was really difficult to explain to clients and I think that could have been handled better, possibly by scheduling the rebuiliding at night, which did help when they decided to do that on the last day. However, this was an isolated incident.

I still recommend HG to clients who don't go through my hosting company. I have no qualms about those recommendations.

Biggest Pro: Chat support, thorough technicians
Biggest Con: Slower support times for ticketing lately

Host Gator is recommended by Debbie. This person recommends Host Gator.
› Overall Rating ››    98.00% 
Reviewed on April 2nd, 2010 at 10:17 EST by Debbie
Customer for duration of 3 - 5 years
IP Address: 71.196.238.171
Type of Plan: Dedicated   Platform: Linux   Domain: http://www.nocohosting.com/   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
42 out of 42 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #8 out of 66 Host Gator reviews
uptime & reliability
10.0
server & connection speed
10.0
technical support & knowledge
10.0
customer service & billing
10.0
price value for money
10.0
* ratings are out of 10

Host Gator is #1

I've had my website hosted on them for only about a week and I have encountered no problems so far. It was all fairly straight forward I decided to choose the hatchling plan which is pretty much like the baby plan but you don't get unlimited domains and it lacks a few e-commerce features which is not what I need anyway. By the way you can easily update your plan without ANY fees of any sort you just get put on the new payment scheme so that's good to know, If I ever decided that I need more domains or if I want to make e-commerce websites!

The whole purchase process is really fast and everything was done and set up within like 20 minutes. I can see why Host Gator is rated so highly all over the internet it really is THAT good. I always see really popular websites hosted by Host Gator and that was one of the main reasons why I decided to go with them. You just don't get all these cool features and reliability anywhere else for this kind of price. I am yet to try out their Live technical support as I am pretty tech savvy and their documentation is really thorough so I have not had any need to. I assume they are just as knowledgeable as people have been saying.

I highly recommend Host Gator!

Biggest Pro: Feature Rich and the ability to pay month by month with NO contract or disconnection Fees!
Biggest Con: None

Host Gator is recommended by Rebel. This person recommends Host Gator.
› Overall Rating ››    100.0% 
Reviewed on March 21st, 2010 at 15:57 EST by Rebel
Customer for duration of Less than 1 month
IP Address: 90.219.193.231
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
42 out of 42 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #9 out of 66 Host Gator reviews
uptime & reliability
10.0
server & connection speed
10.0
technical support & knowledge
10.0
customer service & billing
10.0
price value for money
10.0
* ratings are out of 10

Dont look at any other hosting company!!

Dont waste your time with all these other hosting companies who have people leaving bogus positive reviews. HostGator is the ONLY company you need to host your website. I recent;y moved my website from a nightmare experience with Justhost.com to HostGator. I was very reluctant to believe any of the positive reviews i read about Hostgator especially after reading the same for Justhost. After moving my site in 7 hours, and the great customer support from HostGator, i am happy to say that I am here to stay for good!! This is the most stable, fastest, most reliable hosting service i have ever experienced. Their servers are high power and not oversubsribed. I even had comments from people overseas accessing my site asking what had changed since the overall performance skyrocketed!!

Dont bother with any other service. Use HostGator for your hosting needs.

Sincerely 1 BIG HAPPY CUSTOMER!!!

Biggest Pro: Reliability, speed, stability, customer service is US based.
Biggest Con: They dont offer a backup service i can use to automatically backup my directories and databases.

Host Gator is recommended by Elio Gerardi. This person recommends Host Gator.
› Overall Rating ››    100.0% 
Reviewed on March 9th, 2010 at 20:27 EST by Elio Gerardi
Customer for duration of 3 - 5 months
IP Address: 72.89.136.32
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
43 out of 43 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #10 out of 66 Host Gator reviews
« Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
link to this page   |   tell a friend about this web host
Host Gator - Host Unlimited Web Sites
Reseller Hosting - 50% Off
Host Unlimited Sites
Free Dedicated IP & Backups
90 Day Money Back Guarantee
Try it out for just $13.99/mo.
InMotion Hosting

Read what users say about InMotion Hosting!


For Users
Web Hosting Reviews
Submit Review
Advanced Search
All Web Hosts
Top Rated

Our Difference
Contact


Free Newsletter
For Hosts
Host Log-in
Create Account
Generate Links
Get More Exposure


New Reviews
Go Daddy
000webhost
Just Host
WebHostingPad
EasyCGI
BlueFur
SkyNet Hosting
Arvixe
HostSo
VPSDepot
ADDR
Lunarpages
Quick2Host
WebIntellects
KVC Hosting
SiteGround
A Small Orange
ServerSea
StoresOnline
HostPapa


Other
Website Thumbnails
This site is powered by Host Gator.
Copyright © 1999-2016 WebHostingReviews.com. All Rights Reserved.
All reviews, content, graphics, logos, design, and scripts, are the sole property of WebHostingReviews.com, and
may not be used without prior written consent from us. All violations will be prosecuted to the maximum extent possible under the law.
Last Update: June 20th, 2016 at 15:01 EST / This site has a total of 3,441 web hosting reviews, based on 529 different web hosting companies.