Host Gator

Visit Host Gator Visit Host Gator   Write your own Host Gator review. Write your own Host Gator review.
63 out of 66 (or 95% of) people recommend Host Gator.
 › Rating Averages ››
Uptime & Reliability Server & Connection Speed Price Value for Money
9.77 / 10.0 9.57 / 10.0 9.48 / 10.0
Technical Support & Knowledge Customer Service & Billing
9.38 / 10.0 9.43 / 10.0
Host Gator
› Overall Rating ››    95.97% 
How are ratings calculated? 
  • Analyze this Page for Me
Showing 51 to 60 out of 66 reviews.   Filter Reviews
Page Relevancy
Review Quality 100%
What's
this?

Host Gator reviews

uptime & reliability
10.0
server & connection speed
10.0
technical support & knowledge
10.0
customer service & billing
10.0
price value for money
10.0
* ratings are out of 10

Ah HostGator, helping me take over the world.

I had first fancied hostgator in 2005 by creating an account, but mistaking them for another company I was going for - and also making the wrong account. They held true to their 30 day guarantee and I got my cash back right then and there. A year and a few months later the site I had been working on had run its course and I needed a new project, for, you know, taking over the world. Thus I looked around, and remembered about hostgator, and apparently they remembered me still from my email. I popped on their tri monthly billing plan and since then have been building a webpage slowly. It handles phpbb2 (and bb3) just fine, it handles many different sites fine, and seldom does the server load ever get outrageous - in fact most the time my site is faster than others I go to.

There have only been two issues I have ever had with hostgator, one being about a month after I signed up with the server acting sluggish and having multiple server side application failures... which was fixed within an hour, and the other being a month later with the same thing from an upgrade - and in the end there hasn't been a hiccup since. They also have PHP5 support - which is great. Way back when I had another host they had a file system structure that was quite different than the normal (which hostgator has) where the main root folder held a subfolder for every domain and subdomain - listed as the full domain name. It was not a windows server, as I had asked the owner and apparently he'd done some of his own modifications to whatever he used, it made it so much easier to navigate around instead of having one root folder with a billion other folders for other domains and subdomains. Thats the only thing I dislike about HG - and thats mainly because my memory is lacking... yours would be too if you were attempting a total world takeover.

Basically I'd give HG a 9.9/10 - and an 11/10 if they ever changed the way their file system works. Or maybe I just don't know something everyone else knows...

Biggest Pro: Server handles everything fine - not an overused and abused box.
Biggest Con: File organization, on the main account folders can get confusing.

Host Gator is recommended by Yinepu Jackuul. This person recommends Host Gator.
› Overall Rating ››    99.00% 
Reviewed on October 8th, 2007 at 02:45 EST by Yinepu Jackuul
Customer for duration of 3 - 5 months
IP Address: 68.13.90.22
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: http://www.jackuulempire.com/   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
33 out of 33 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #51 out of 66 Host Gator reviews
uptime & reliability
9.90
server & connection speed
9.50
technical support & knowledge
5.00
customer service & billing
5.00
price value for money
7.50
* ratings are out of 10

degradation of technical support

I have used Hostgator as my primary host service for over 3 years, currently hosting over 35 domains with them. For several years I was very pleased with their service, however, over the past 3 to 6 months it seems that their technical support has degraded substantially. I have had numerous simple issues take days to resolve or take several days and still not be resolved.

Unfortunately, I am now having to look for another host service to migrate my domains to because reliable technical support is critical to me.

Host Gator is NOT recommended by Michael. This person does NOT recommend Host Gator.
› Overall Rating ››    75.00% 
Reviewed on September 21st, 2007 at 12:35 EST by Michael
Customer for duration of 3 - 5 years
IP Address: 24.113.12.216
Type of Plan: Reseller   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
35 out of 35 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #52 out of 66 Host Gator reviews
uptime & reliability
10.0
server & connection speed
10.0
technical support & knowledge
10.0
customer service & billing
10.0
price value for money
10.0
* ratings are out of 10

Host Gator - Good Host

So far my experience at HostGator is great. Their prices are reasonable and it is fairly simple to sign up and pay. I was also pleased with the amount of space and bandwidth they give you. My account was set up in no time and so for I have had NO problems with this host. I have heard bad things in the past about this host, but so far I am very satisfied and will continue to do business with them. For only 9.99 I am getting a substantial amount of space and bandwidth and I am allowed to park 1000 sites there.

Host Gator is recommended by Tom Swanson. This person recommends Host Gator.
› Overall Rating ››    100.0% 
Reviewed on September 9th, 2007 at 14:56 EST by Tom Swanson
Customer for duration of Less than 1 month
IP Address: 69.132.210.11
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: http://www.myriderating.com/   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
30 out of 30 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #53 out of 66 Host Gator reviews
uptime & reliability
8.50
server & connection speed
8.00
technical support & knowledge
7.00
customer service & billing
7.50
price value for money
6.00
* ratings are out of 10

Mildly disatisfying

I had spent quite a while drifting from host to host before deciding to give in to the temptation of using a bigger and somewhat better known host. I think everyone has heard of Host Gator before and that was the first host that popped into my head. I setup an account and as soon as my nameservers had updated I began playing with the Control Panel and such... Just to see what (if anything) was new. My package uses CPanel X which is pretty much the norm for most web hosts. With that you can expect such liberties as 3 click script installation, advanced website statstics, phpmyadmin access and so much more. At first I was happy to pay the few dollars extra to what I was used to but that feeling soon faded as I began to notice a significant drop in the loading times of my website. I decided to weather the storm and see if the guys at Host Gator would fix it, and they did. That is, for a week or so before I noticed the drop in speed again. This time I was working on my website - and half way through my website went down. I was shocked. I spent the rest of the evening, the entire next day and the morning after constantly refreshing my browser hoping that I would see my website load up. And eventually it did. Since then I haven't had any trouble whatsoever and I think the problem with the speed was due to the fact that i'm using their shared hosting package, which is fine for some websites... But as I found, it's not fine for mine.

Host Gator is NOT recommended by Neville Ellis. This person does NOT recommend Host Gator.
› Overall Rating ››    73.00% 
Reviewed on September 5th, 2007 at 21:39 EST by Neville Ellis
Customer for duration of 1 - 2 months
IP Address: 213.249.232.24
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
31 out of 31 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #54 out of 66 Host Gator reviews
uptime & reliability
0.00
server & connection speed
0.00
technical support & knowledge
0.00
customer service & billing
0.00
price value for money
0.00
* ratings are out of 10

Nothing but problems getting signed up.

I recently tried signing up for hosting with Hostgator. I submitted my order, and the next page showed:

Your order has been received by our billing system and has been approved.

It went on to give me an Authorization Code and Transaction ID for my credit card processing.

A couple of minutes later I received a call from Hostgator saying that I needed to verify some information before they would give me an account. Since they called and their name didn't show up on caller ID, I was reluctant to give out personal information over the phone. They told me I could handle it by answering an e-mail. I checked my e-mail, and to verify this is what they wanted:

"respond to this ticket with a scanned copy of a Photo ID such as as a passport, or drivers license. Also please include a scanned copy of the credit card that was used in purchase, if you purchased a hosting account with a credit card"

So, they screwed up my order, and now they wanted pictures of my DL and CC. There was no way I was going to send them that information, so I called them again.

I was told that my order had been flagged because My IP address showed to be located 150 miles from my billing address, which is odd since I was ordering the service from a computer AT my billing address. I also learned that they had canceled the first order, after charging my credit card. They then created a new order that I was supposed to pay for. So, my debit card had already been charged once, and they wanted to charge it again. Most people know that when your debit card has been charged, the money is taken out immediately, and if the charge is voided, the money gets credited back in a few days. I was already out $119.40, and they wanted that amount again.

I asked to speak to a supervisor, and was transfered to a person who said his name was Fred. He wouldn't give me a last name, employee number, extension, or anything that could be used to identify him, even though they though it was perfectly OK for them to require personal information from me, including my driver's license number. We spoke for some time, and I asked him to send me an e-mail saying that my first order was canceled and that I would be receiving a refund for the charge. He said he would be happy to do that. I also explained that I wasn't comfortable paying for the second order until I made sure the money from the first order was put back into my bank account. He said he understood, and that the second invoice would stay on file for 10 days, after which it would be deleted if not paid. He also told me that I could call and ask for him anytime, and he would be glad to help me.

I never received the e-mail he promised me, and I woke up the next day to find that they had charged my debit card for the second order without my authorization. So, I called and asked to speak to Fred. I was told that I needed to explain everything to the first person I talked to, before they could transfer me to Fred. So, I went through the whole story, and after some time, I was transfered to him.

I told him that the second charge was posted to my debit card without my authorization, and I asked why. He said "Oh, I forgot to mention that if your credit card number is on file, and you have an open invoice, it will automatically be batched out the next day", even though this was in direct contradiction to what he had told me the day before. So, not only was I lied to about the e-mail he was going to send me, I was also lied to about the the invoice being kept open for 10 days.

At this point, I asked that my account be closed and my money refunded. He told me I would have to fill out a form and that he would take care of it. I filled out the form and submitted it. He asked that I hold for a couple of minutes while he took care of it. He then came back on the phone and said that the account has been closed, and the credit card purchases had been voided. He said that since the credit card purchases showed as pending in their system, that voiding them would stop me from being charged, and that no refund would be issued, even though my bank shows that I was charged twice from their company.

At this point, I have no idea whether I will get my money back. I can only wait and hope.

I would advise anyone interested in using this company not to do so, and if you must, make sure you don't give them a credit card, which they believe gives them free reign to charge whatever they feel like charging, whenever they feel like charging it.

Biggest Pro: None
Biggest Con: Everything

Response by hostgator, who is the owner of Host Gator:

Hello,

What was your domain you signed up with? I'm sure you got your money back as we aren't that kind of company. I do apologize you had problems during the verification process. Is there anything I can do for you to make up for this?

Posted on November 3rd, 2007 at 19:37 EST
Host Gator is NOT recommended by Big Chief. This person does NOT recommend Host Gator.
› Overall Rating ››    0.00% 
Reviewed on August 22nd, 2007 at 10:42 EST by Big Chief
Customer for duration of Less than 1 month
IP Address: 70.232.92.26
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
40 out of 40 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #55 out of 66 Host Gator reviews
uptime & reliability
9.80
server & connection speed
9.00
technical support & knowledge
8.00
customer service & billing
7.00
price value for money
9.00
* ratings are out of 10

Overall A Good Service

I have been with many hosts over the past 4 years or so and have found that there is one host I always live by and that is HostGator, they provide around the clock support 24/7 and always solve any issues I may be having.

You get an amazing amount of bandwidth and disk space for the money you pay which is great value for money.

My only small complaint is that there are quite a few restrictions which do not apply to all users such as not being able to run scripts like top sites.

I think I would suggest HostGator to anyone starting out or even for those who take web building more seriously.

Biggest Pro: Plenty of bandwidth and disk space
Biggest Con: Slightly too many restrictions for some users

Host Gator is recommended by Shane. This person recommends Host Gator.
› Overall Rating ››    90.00% 
Reviewed on August 7th, 2007 at 20:05 EST by Shane
Customer for duration of 1 - 2 years
IP Address: 80.6.187.218
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: http://www.web-building.net/   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
34 out of 34 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #56 out of 66 Host Gator reviews
uptime & reliability
10.0
server & connection speed
10.0
technical support & knowledge
10.0
customer service & billing
10.0
price value for money
9.90
* ratings are out of 10

HostGator Review

I considered many different hosts before choosing HostGator. None of the ones I looked at could match HostGators low price. They provide all the services you ever need, a very clean easy to use admin control panel and all the space/bandwidth you'll ever need. This is my 2nd year on Hostgator and so far there has been no downtime that I am aware of. I highly recommend this host. A++

Biggest Pro: Uptime, reliability, and professionalism.
Biggest Con: I have seen hosts that offer more disk space/bandwith for a lower price but I find HostGator the most professional/reliable.

Host Gator is recommended by Jason. This person recommends Host Gator.
› Overall Rating ››    99.00% 
Reviewed on July 26th, 2007 at 19:51 EST by Jason
Customer for duration of 1 - 2 years
IP Address: 98.196.130.232
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
35 out of 35 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #57 out of 66 Host Gator reviews
uptime & reliability
10.0
server & connection speed
10.0
technical support & knowledge
9.00
customer service & billing
10.0
price value for money
9.00
* ratings are out of 10

Great Host!

The best host on earth, never seen a better host.Its Uptime for the last 8 months has been a fantastic 100.00%. Its Customer Support is great although its LIVE support is not so good. The speed of server is pretty good. Value for money is great. I'm on 10$/month for 100GB space and 1000GB bandwidth. It also has support for unlimited Sub Domains, Parked domains and Addons Domains.

I recommend this host very much :)

Biggest Pro: Uptime 100.00%
Biggest Con: LIVE customer support not so good.

Host Gator is recommended by Utkarsh Kukreti. This person recommends Host Gator.
› Overall Rating ››    99.00% 
Reviewed on July 12th, 2007 at 21:35 EST by Utkarsh Kukreti
Customer for duration of 1 - 2 months
IP Address: 61.0.5.64
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: www.qprojects.org@gmail.com
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
30 out of 30 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #58 out of 66 Host Gator reviews
uptime & reliability
10.0
server & connection speed
10.0
technical support & knowledge
10.0
customer service & billing
10.0
price value for money
9.00
* ratings are out of 10

Hostgator Review

I'm not even sure if the first host I ever used is still in business. All I was concerned with was the absolute cheapest deal. I learned the hard way that by making price your main factor you are dooming yourself to get exactly what you paid for. By paying very little, you get very little. I experienced constant downtime until the host lost complete control of their server to hackers. The one redeeming point was they did eventually, after weeks of me nagging, come through with my refund.

My next host, and only since, is Hostgator. I only have one other to compared it against so take my recommendation for what it is worth. I chose them by asking others what host they had the best experience with. All I know is that I've never noticed a single problem to complain about in 8 months of using them. The total minutes of downtime can be counted on my hand. Any time I have requested help from support they have been quick to respond.

The fact that I have no complaints, is what I think says the most. In order for your site to be a success you need to rely on the fact that it will run smoothly. Having a good host saves you from all of the stresses a poor host causes. Piece of mind is the most important thing that you can buy.

Biggest Pro: No Problems!

Host Gator is recommended by LennyP. This person recommends Host Gator.
› Overall Rating ››    99.00% 
Reviewed on July 9th, 2007 at 21:38 EST by LennyP
Customer for duration of 6 - 11 months
IP Address: 149.159.3.153
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: http://www.best-general-directory.com/   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
33 out of 33 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #59 out of 66 Host Gator reviews
uptime & reliability
10.0
server & connection speed
10.0
technical support & knowledge
9.60
customer service & billing
10.0
price value for money
9.90
* ratings are out of 10

So far so good...

Been with hostgator for 2 months now, and its been great. The email support has been amazing and with quick response times. 100% uptime so far. Overall +++.

Biggest Pro: support

Host Gator is recommended by Logy Laps. This person recommends Host Gator.
› Overall Rating ››    99.00% 
Reviewed on July 6th, 2007 at 14:02 EST by Logy Laps
Customer for duration of 1 - 2 months
IP Address: 208.176.157.127
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: http://www.topsitelist.org/   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
28 out of 28 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #60 out of 66 Host Gator reviews
link to this page   |   tell a friend about this web host
Host Gator - Host Unlimited Web Sites
Reseller Hosting - 50% Off
Host Unlimited Sites
Free Dedicated IP & Backups
90 Day Money Back Guarantee
Try it out for just $13.99/mo.
InMotion Hosting

Read what users say about InMotion Hosting!


For Users
Web Hosting Reviews
Submit Review
Advanced Search
All Web Hosts
Top Rated

Our Difference
Contact


Free Newsletter
For Hosts
Host Log-in
Create Account
Generate Links
Get More Exposure


New Reviews
Go Daddy
000webhost
Just Host
WebHostingPad
EasyCGI
BlueFur
SkyNet Hosting
Arvixe
HostSo
VPSDepot
ADDR
Lunarpages
Quick2Host
WebIntellects
KVC Hosting
SiteGround
A Small Orange
ServerSea
StoresOnline
HostPapa


Other
Website Thumbnails
This site is powered by Host Gator.
Copyright © 1999-2016 WebHostingReviews.com. All Rights Reserved.
All reviews, content, graphics, logos, design, and scripts, are the sole property of WebHostingReviews.com, and
may not be used without prior written consent from us. All violations will be prosecuted to the maximum extent possible under the law.
Last Update: June 20th, 2016 at 15:01 EST / This site has a total of 3,441 web hosting reviews, based on 529 different web hosting companies.