Host Gator

Visit Host Gator Visit Host Gator   Write your own Host Gator review. Write your own Host Gator review.
63 out of 66 (or 95% of) people recommend Host Gator.
 › Rating Averages ››
Uptime & Reliability Server & Connection Speed Price Value for Money
9.77 / 10.0 9.57 / 10.0 9.48 / 10.0
Technical Support & Knowledge Customer Service & Billing
9.38 / 10.0 9.43 / 10.0
Host Gator
› Overall Rating ››    95.97% 
How are ratings calculated? 
  • Analyze this Page for Me
Showing 41 to 50 out of 66 reviews.   Filter Reviews
Page Relevancy
Review Quality 100%
What's
this?

Host Gator reviews

uptime & reliability
9.90
server & connection speed
10.0
technical support & knowledge
9.70
customer service & billing
9.90
price value for money
9.50
* ratings are out of 10

Hostgator, the best in host!

I have been using this hosting service for more than two years. In this two years I have never felt bad for subscribing to their service. I say this since I am happy with their service, no frequent server down. The main thing is their server speed it is extremely fast. I have never felt like this in past. My site is a dedication to actor, Ajith Kumar, contains lots of picture and news about him. The pictures are loading at a very good speed.

The only thing I don't like with them is the price. They are some what higher than the other hosting services. As well as they are better in service than others. Overall they are the best in hosting service.

Host Gator is recommended by Ramarajan. This person recommends Host Gator.
› Overall Rating ››    99.00% 
Reviewed on December 18th, 2007 at 03:59 EST by Ramarajan
Customer for duration of 1 - 2 years
IP Address: 59.92.49.170
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
31 out of 31 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #41 out of 66 Host Gator reviews
uptime & reliability
10.0
server & connection speed
9.90
technical support & knowledge
9.80
customer service & billing
9.80
price value for money
10.0
* ratings are out of 10

Reviewing The Gator , HostGator

I have been looking for a reliable hosting which would guarantee me high speed and uptime and finally I found the right host , HostGator. I have been using them for 2 months now and I have never had a single downtime which means they are professional and they are taking care for their clients

Everytime I have had any problem (coding problems or php problems which are not related to the host provider ) i asked the live support and they have always helped me

Regarding to the price , I am using Baby Package right now and I'm paying like $10 which is really cheap compared to the quality and the space (600 GB) and the speed of the hosting.

Personally I am really satisfied with them and I think I will continue hosting at Hostgator as they are simply what I have been looking for. At the beginning many webmasters told me not to go with big companies as they are overselling but its better using a big company as you will be more secure

HostGator seems to be the ideal choice for all new webmasters. I consider myself a new webmaster and I wanted a professional hosting so choosing Hostgator was a challenge for me.

Another advantage of HostGator are the endless coupons they are providing for different promotions which you can use to save some earnings (you can get first month hosting at 0.01$)

It is natural that a company will also have some negative parts but luckily those cons are not related with the hosting. They are using a out-dated template which I believe , as a big company , they must have had another new - looking template

Also I would say they are using a great billing software which is easy to navigate and its really understandable.

If you want to look professional , I would strongly recommend you to use one of the big hosting companies and in this case i would recommend you HostGator

Biggest Pro: support , uptime , billing

Host Gator is recommended by Olgi. This person recommends Host Gator.
› Overall Rating ››    99.00% 
Reviewed on November 21st, 2007 at 15:41 EST by Olgi
Customer for duration of 1 - 2 months
IP Address: 217.24.240.80
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: http://www.goldposter.net/   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
29 out of 29 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #42 out of 66 Host Gator reviews
uptime & reliability
10.0
server & connection speed
9.40
technical support & knowledge
9.00
customer service & billing
10.0
price value for money
10.0
* ratings are out of 10

Hostgator is a Bloggers dream come true.

If you are in the blogger niche, hostgator is the place to host your domains, with 10 second wordpress installs and a whole host of back end utilities it can not be beat. Speed is comparable with most high end hosts i've used and there has never been a moment of downtime. 24/7 live customer service available (though complex issues has to be emailed in). Plans are decently cheap. AWSTATS and Webalizer on every domain, custom error pages and easy to configure .htacess. Also has hotlink protection for you image hosting.

Now the one downfall: Hostgator uses phpsuexe. Which is great for blogging and various scripts. Upload your script and go. 99% of the time no chmodding required. But this is a downfall for TGP users that use scripts that upload and install files during installation since most do not support phpsuexe you will have to go back and redo the chmodding after install and it just seems not to work right after that (forget one file during your re chmodding and your screwed).

Biggest Pro: phpsuexe
Biggest Con: phpsuexe

Host Gator is recommended by Mark. This person recommends Host Gator.
› Overall Rating ››    99.00% 
Reviewed on November 10th, 2007 at 20:29 EST by Mark
Customer for duration of 6 - 11 months
IP Address: 12.216.91.205
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: http://www.gallerynut.com/   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
30 out of 30 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #43 out of 66 Host Gator reviews
uptime & reliability
10.0
server & connection speed
10.0
technical support & knowledge
10.0
customer service & billing
10.0
price value for money
9.80
* ratings are out of 10

The best one so far

Looking for the best host suitable for my site took much longer than I thought, godaddy failed to provide a decent service for dynamic sites such as this. They'll only do fine serving up static html files & sell domain registration.

Godaddy's site is terrible, it's slightly slow and full of ads. I can't believe I took the bait of choosing price over quality. I asked for a refund anyway and they accepted it.

After looking around http://webhostingtalk.com/ , sitepoint and devshed, I found the right host I was looking for. Hostgator. They provide less than competitors, less bandwidth, less storage... no ssh access or other bells and whistles of a typical webhost company. Why did I choose this? well, based on reports and customer complaints... those sites giving out large amount of storage and bandwidth is overselling. They could not possibly provide full terabytes & 10000GB's of storage for each client, they are expecting that not all will use them up anyway. The problem with these hosts is that... in one occasion or more, one of the customers will DO use up all the bandwidth for their shared hosting, affecting all others. Hostgator didn't oversell, they provided honest specifications for their plans and you can be sure the service will be much more reliable than those who oversell their plans.

So, expect better performance for my site from now on. Also for future sites I plan to make :-)

Host Gator is recommended by Elijah. This person recommends Host Gator.
› Overall Rating ››    99.00% 
Reviewed on October 30th, 2007 at 20:07 EST by Elijah
Customer for duration of 1 - 2 years
IP Address: 58.69.193.184
Type of Plan: Reseller   Platform: Linux   Domain: http://www.pinoguin.com/   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
32 out of 32 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #44 out of 66 Host Gator reviews
uptime & reliability
9.90
server & connection speed
9.50
technical support & knowledge
10.0
customer service & billing
10.0
price value for money
8.50
* ratings are out of 10

hostgator review

its a very good web-host with a number of packages available I had tried many other hosting services but since I joined them their service and support has been excellent.

I advise you not to use their cheapest option forget cost I found out that it lacks most of the key features you would need for a good website, Their customer service is great they provide live support even on sunday or late in the night and most issues I have had with them regarding my site had been resolved almost like the same day,

my site has never been down since I have been using hostgator and the connection speed is fast at least by my standards, though I am not too happy with their pricing I think it is a bit high but thats the price to pay for superb quality.

I recommend them to anyone looking for a good web-host

Biggest Pro: your website uptime is guaranteed and their customer service is superb

Host Gator is recommended by Eyinsan Agbeyegbe. This person recommends Host Gator.
› Overall Rating ››    96.00% 
Reviewed on October 30th, 2007 at 19:51 EST by Eyinsan Agbeyegbe
Customer for duration of 1 - 2 months
IP Address: 99.227.112.218
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
31 out of 31 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #45 out of 66 Host Gator reviews
uptime & reliability
10.0
server & connection speed
8.00
technical support & knowledge
5.00
customer service & billing
5.00
price value for money
10.0
* ratings are out of 10

Solid Beginner Hosting Platform on Shoestring Budget

I decided to try out Host Gator's mini croc shared hosting plan after reading many good reviews on Digital Point and various other webmaster forums. With a coupon code that I was able to find I got my first month of hosting for only a penny. The prices definitely cannot be beat.

So far after two months my sites have been performing reliably and have not had any problems with speed even under high traffic conditions. It's not as fast as other providers but it's also less than half the price so I'm not complaining.

The only major gripe that I have with these guys is that their technical support department is TERRIBLE. I had a php script that was using too many filehandles and they suspended my account pending investigation and told me to investigate the issue and get back to them. I got back to them within 10 minutes of the email and they then took 10 hours to respond and reenable my account. As I make money from my sites this was not acceptable. If they would reduce response times for support I would rate them a 10, but until then they stay solid at a 9. If you need cheap hosting with no setup costs and that accepts paypal give them a shot.

Biggest Pro: Super affordable
Biggest Con: Slow tech support responses

Host Gator is recommended by Casey. This person recommends Host Gator.
› Overall Rating ››    90.00% 
Reviewed on October 21st, 2007 at 01:10 EST by Casey
Customer for duration of 1 - 2 months
IP Address: 68.3.64.210
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
32 out of 32 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #46 out of 66 Host Gator reviews
uptime & reliability
10.0
server & connection speed
9.80
technical support & knowledge
10.0
customer service & billing
10.0
price value for money
10.0
* ratings are out of 10

My Experience with Host Gator

Since being with host gator, I really cannot find fault with them, After having my website hosted with them for around 5 months. I had my website hacked through a very unsecure script which I had installed, I got straight on to live support and they responed very quickly with getting the tech guys involved, They managed to stop the hacker and even gave me his IP address, They even went as far as going through my cgi-bin files and various other files to delete any ones that was letting the hacker get into my website, because my website had been deleted and they had the latest back up of my website they had it reinstalled within around 2 hours, The speed at which they responed I really can not fault, I really was a pain in the butt with all the emails which I sent to them while all of this was going on, as I had paid ads on my website so needed the website back up quickly, they understood this completly, and they always responded in a polite and professional way. The only real very small down fall of hosting at Host Gator is sometimes the speed of the server can be a little slow, I have never had any downtime through hostgators fault, and I have never had any biling problems with them. For my small website the shared hosting is good value and the support which I have recieved from them in the past 5 months has been very good indeed.

Biggest Pro: support
Biggest Con: none

Host Gator is recommended by Paul. This person recommends Host Gator.
› Overall Rating ››    99.00% 
Reviewed on October 20th, 2007 at 17:32 EST by Paul
Customer for duration of 3 - 5 months
IP Address: 82.30.10.241
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
30 out of 30 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #47 out of 66 Host Gator reviews
uptime & reliability
9.70
server & connection speed
8.50
technical support & knowledge
7.80
customer service & billing
10.0
price value for money
10.0
* ratings are out of 10

Host Gator Chomps The Competition!

The initial reason I chose to host my websites with Host Gator is simply due to the fact that you can host UNLIMITED domains for one low price. Not only that but they also offer one click wordpress installs, cpanel, and great statistic traffic software. Furthermore, I was actually late with my first payment but a couple of weeks and they still allowed my sites to stay up and running and I appreciate that from a hosting company. Their affiliate program is equally impressive and Iíve made some nice extra dough promoting them. Definitely worth your time!

Host Gator is recommended by Jay. This person recommends Host Gator.
› Overall Rating ››    99.00% 
Reviewed on October 14th, 2007 at 14:24 EST by Jay
Customer for duration of 6 - 11 months
IP Address: 75.186.51.205
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Unix   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
28 out of 28 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #48 out of 66 Host Gator reviews
uptime & reliability
9.40
server & connection speed
9.50
technical support & knowledge
8.60
customer service & billing
9.10
price value for money
8.90
* ratings are out of 10

Hostgator: Extremely Reliable

In the few months that I've had with Hostgator as my host, I've never been let them. If there were any indications of downtime, I haven't had any. This may be because the websites that I have aren't huge, nor are the resources that I take up. I pay about $10/month for hosting, and I have several websites so it's quite a deal. The customer service is responsive and you do get your questions answered. All in all, I would recommend Hostgator to friends and family.

Biggest Pro: Uptime, customer service, price for money

Host Gator is recommended by Milton Young. This person recommends Host Gator.
› Overall Rating ››    94.00% 
Reviewed on October 12th, 2007 at 12:55 EST by Milton Young
Customer for duration of 6 - 11 months
IP Address: 68.122.33.130
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: http://www.miltonyoung.com/   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
28 out of 28 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #49 out of 66 Host Gator reviews
uptime & reliability
10.0
server & connection speed
10.0
technical support & knowledge
9.50
customer service & billing
10.0
price value for money
9.50
* ratings are out of 10

Hostgator - you get what you pay for

I started my forum with a free service and let's just say, "you get what you pay for." After lots of downtime and unplanned outages, I decided that the only way my site was going to prosper was to move to a new host. After doing some research, I settled on www.Hostgator.com.

While their prices and packages are reasonable, they are not the cheapest around. I've already been down that road and decided that features and more reliability are more important than price.

I have been with Hostgator for over 6 months and have had ZERO down time. Also, the site runs much faster, with no noticable slowdowns or load lag. When you are trying to get a new site off the ground, you don't need the added burden of having to explain to users about extended down-time. Do yourself a favor and start out with a reliable, reputable host in the first place. Hostgator is certainly one to consider.

Biggest Pro: ZERO downtime!
Biggest Con: Not the cheapest host around

Host Gator is recommended by Sean. This person recommends Host Gator.
› Overall Rating ››    97.00% 
Reviewed on October 9th, 2007 at 02:44 EST by Sean
Customer for duration of 6 - 11 months
IP Address: 67.98.46.226
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
32 out of 32 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #50 out of 66 Host Gator reviews
link to this page   |   tell a friend about this web host
Host Gator - Host Unlimited Web Sites
Reseller Hosting - 50% Off
Host Unlimited Sites
Free Dedicated IP & Backups
90 Day Money Back Guarantee
Try it out for just $13.99/mo.
InMotion Hosting

Read what users say about InMotion Hosting!


For Users
Web Hosting Reviews
Submit Review
Advanced Search
All Web Hosts
Top Rated

Our Difference
Contact


Free Newsletter
For Hosts
Host Log-in
Create Account
Generate Links
Get More Exposure


New Reviews
Go Daddy
000webhost
Just Host
WebHostingPad
EasyCGI
BlueFur
SkyNet Hosting
Arvixe
HostSo
VPSDepot
ADDR
Lunarpages
Quick2Host
WebIntellects
KVC Hosting
SiteGround
A Small Orange
ServerSea
StoresOnline
HostPapa


Other
Website Thumbnails
This site is powered by Host Gator.
Copyright © 1999-2016 WebHostingReviews.com. All Rights Reserved.
All reviews, content, graphics, logos, design, and scripts, are the sole property of WebHostingReviews.com, and
may not be used without prior written consent from us. All violations will be prosecuted to the maximum extent possible under the law.
Last Update: June 20th, 2016 at 15:01 EST / This site has a total of 3,441 web hosting reviews, based on 529 different web hosting companies.