Host Gator

Visit Host Gator Visit Host Gator   Write your own Host Gator review. Write your own Host Gator review.
63 out of 66 (or 95% of) people recommend Host Gator.
 › Rating Averages ››
Uptime & Reliability Server & Connection Speed Price Value for Money
9.77 / 10.0 9.57 / 10.0 9.48 / 10.0
Technical Support & Knowledge Customer Service & Billing
9.38 / 10.0 9.43 / 10.0
Host Gator
› Overall Rating ››    95.97% 
How are ratings calculated? 
  • Analyze this Page for Me
Showing 21 to 30 out of 66 reviews.   Filter Reviews
Page Relevancy
Review Quality 100%
What's
this?

Host Gator reviews

uptime & reliability
9.90
server & connection speed
9.90
technical support & knowledge
9.50
customer service & billing
9.50
price value for money
10.0
* ratings are out of 10

It doesnt get any better than Hostgator

I have been hosting websites for over 5 years

I initially signed up with smaller hosts and had all sorts of downtime and reliability issues. One of my early hosts couldnt even reliably BILL ME. I had to remind them.

And then I found HOSTGATOR

Signup was easy (I even got a discount) and I have been with them for over 3 years hosting 20+ websties. They are VERY reliable and whenever I have had a problem - they solved it. Pricing is fair and their packages give you plenty of room to 'grow' your reseller hosting business.

Nobodys perfect (even Hosgator) but my experience with SEVERAL webhosts shows that they are at the very top of the game when it comes to reliable hosting at fair pricing with responsive helpdesk.

Fellas - it just dont get any better than this.

Two thumbs up for HostGator -

Biggest Pro: Reliable - fairly priced - solid helpdesk - room to grow
Biggest Con: website design is old and outdated

Host Gator is recommended by Froggy. This person recommends Host Gator.
› Overall Rating ››    99.00% 
Reviewed on February 7th, 2009 at 17:04 EST by Froggy
Customer for duration of 3 - 5 years
IP Address: 74.44.165.237
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
25 out of 25 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #21 out of 66 Host Gator reviews
uptime & reliability
10.0
server & connection speed
9.70
technical support & knowledge
10.0
customer service & billing
9.90
price value for money
9.00
* ratings are out of 10

Great all round service and fast and reliable

Switched over from mydosty.com to these guys and they are brilliant and the first month at one cent is a great inticement. Have had several site hosted by these guys in the past and never had any down time. recommend to anyone who is hosting video content always find they can delivery pretty much a decent download speed. We are based in New Zealand and even this far away have no real problems apart from our local isp's getting the usual end of day bottlenecks. Also the live chat support is amazing this has helped me many times if needed suport whilst being away from office.

BRILLIANT best hosting company around plus real value for money

Biggest Pro: Service and uptime and nice Cpanel interface (i see they have upgraded recently)
Biggest Con: nothing really to moan about

Host Gator is recommended by Happy Mr. This person recommends Host Gator.
› Overall Rating ››    99.00% 
Reviewed on October 13th, 2008 at 00:46 EST by Happy Mr
Customer for duration of Less than 1 month
IP Address: 202.74.221.91
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: http://www.redlogicnz.com/   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
33 out of 33 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #22 out of 66 Host Gator reviews
uptime & reliability
10.0
server & connection speed
9.80
technical support & knowledge
10.0
customer service & billing
10.0
price value for money
9.50
* ratings are out of 10

Best Service

Great host. The best overall is the customer support, especially the live support. The executives respond well and the token system works great. During the initial months of setting up my website, the customer support was very handy.The uptime is also great. I have never faced any problems with the server going down till now. I felt the pricing to be ok too with the first month being offered at 1 cent using the coupon and for the later months, the billing system works fine. Solving the tension of regular billing upgrades upon expiry. Also, the additional features included in the cpanel are awesome and quite handy.

Biggest Pro: Cool Support and uptime
Biggest Con: Occassional mysql processing speed

Host Gator is recommended by Eclipse. This person recommends Host Gator.
› Overall Rating ››    99.00% 
Reviewed on September 30th, 2008 at 22:00 EST by Eclipse
Customer for duration of 3 - 5 months
IP Address: 122.161.88.112
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: http://www.battleofthelords.com/   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
31 out of 31 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #23 out of 66 Host Gator reviews
uptime & reliability
10.0
server & connection speed
10.0
technical support & knowledge
9.00
customer service & billing
9.00
price value for money
9.50
* ratings are out of 10

Over 7 Months and Never Had to call Support

Last spring I moved from a VPS i had for 8 year with OLM to a dedicated server with Hostgator. I had assisted with my first server transfer to OLM, but this time I was all on my own and It could not have gone more smooth. The dedicated server has CPanel, documentation was really easy to find, and no minor hangups from weird config issues. Since day one we are at 100% uptime and i get .12 avg response and low loads. I had hoped that I was gonna be able to get something for about 125-150, but at 179 i was paying on $4 more than I was for an old, old machine with OLM.

On rating would be all 10 but havent needed support or customer service so i gave those 9, and for price, you always want it for a little less.

Biggest Pro: Perfect for the average web developer.
Biggest Con: Honestly, server or support hasnt been tested yet

Host Gator is recommended by Kirk O'Neal. This person recommends Host Gator.
› Overall Rating ››    95.00% 
Reviewed on September 28th, 2008 at 22:06 EST by Kirk O'Neal
Customer for duration of 6 - 11 months
IP Address: 68.202.185.213
Type of Plan: Dedicated   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
32 out of 32 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #24 out of 66 Host Gator reviews
uptime & reliability
9.70
server & connection speed
9.50
technical support & knowledge
9.00
customer service & billing
9.50
price value for money
9.50
* ratings are out of 10

Happy again!

I am pleased to report that Hostgator has lived up to its reputation as a top hosting solution. Support has redoubled efforts to solve the problems our domain was having, and made a thorough investigation of the possible causes for the hacking attack. Good one!

It's hard to remain at odds with Hostgator support when their top tech guy reaches out to us in such a professional and helpful manner, even offering compensation for the troubles we were experiencing.

And it's pleasing to know that I can once again safely go back to recommending Hostgator to friends and businesses.

Host Gator is recommended by Terry Peck. This person recommends Host Gator.
› Overall Rating ››    95.00% 
Reviewed on September 19th, 2008 at 19:52 EST by Terry Peck
Customer for duration of 3 - 5 years
IP Address: 122.106.90.26
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: http://www.aapress.com.au/   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
33 out of 33 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #25 out of 66 Host Gator reviews
uptime & reliability
9.90
server & connection speed
9.50
technical support & knowledge
10.0
customer service & billing
10.0
price value for money
10.0
* ratings are out of 10

Host Gator Still the Best Shared Host for The Money

I've been using Host Gator for about 6 months and it is the best shared host for the money.

Host Gator offers all of the services & software you need to run a professional site and their customer service is second to none.

Host Gator live chat customer service simply rocks. They have knowledgeable people online. They have always answered my questions right away and accurately.

I will keep using Host Gator. I will upgrade to a dedicated server once my business demands it.

Host Gator Rocks!

Biggest Pro: Customer Service
Biggest Con: Speed of a shared host (my problem for not spending more money)

Host Gator is recommended by Paul D. Guyon. This person recommends Host Gator.
› Overall Rating ››    99.00% 
Reviewed on August 5th, 2008 at 10:08 EST by Paul D. Guyon
Customer for duration of 3 - 5 months
IP Address: 24.231.159.122
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: http://www.innovativemarketingtips.com/   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
34 out of 34 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #26 out of 66 Host Gator reviews
uptime & reliability
10.0
server & connection speed
9.50
technical support & knowledge
9.50
customer service & billing
10.0
price value for money
10.0
* ratings are out of 10

HostGator Review

One of the best affordable web hosts I've used in the past 4 years I've been in this industry. A few things that stand out about HostGator from the rest are as follows:

-- Software/server upgrades: They run the latest stable versions even for the lowest paying shared hosting customers

-- Simplicity: Very simple registration process

-- Community: Great support community, saves me time because I don't need to post support tickets

Biggest Pro: Latest upgrades

Host Gator is recommended by Srirangan. This person recommends Host Gator.
› Overall Rating ››    98.00% 
Reviewed on April 7th, 2008 at 05:53 EST by Srirangan
Customer for duration of 3 - 5 months
IP Address: 61.246.47.32
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
37 out of 37 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #27 out of 66 Host Gator reviews
uptime & reliability
10.0
server & connection speed
9.00
technical support & knowledge
9.00
customer service & billing
7.00
price value for money
10.0
* ratings are out of 10

Host Gator does it for me!

My Host of choice is HostGator. They have the best (read cheapest) starter packages and in my opinion the best services and choices. You’ve gotta love Fantastico Deluxe on the Cpanel. It makes it so easy that even if you make a mistake configuring your blog or whatever, you can always just start over. Very easy to become a veteran webmaster with those kind of tools.

Biggest Pro: Fantastico
Biggest Con: some rude techs on live support chat

Host Gator is recommended by John Melanson. This person recommends Host Gator.
› Overall Rating ››    85.00% 
Reviewed on March 4th, 2008 at 21:47 EST by John Melanson
Customer for duration of 1 - 2 months
IP Address: 66.31.122.86
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: http://www.wp.therisingpath.com/   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
36 out of 36 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #28 out of 66 Host Gator reviews
uptime & reliability
9.80
server & connection speed
9.80
technical support & knowledge
9.40
customer service & billing
9.00
price value for money
10.0
* ratings are out of 10

Host Gator Are Excellent

I have used Host Gator for a multitude of websites over the years and their service never ceases to amaze me. All packages are excellent value for money and are backed by supreme uptime and speedy and knowledgeable customer service; whenever I have a problem - which is a rare occurrence - or question, a live rep is generally online to help me out instantly. In the cases where one isn't online, I only usually have to wait about half an hour or so before I receive a reply to my e-mail.

Their shared plans afford you a fair amount of space and bandwidth and their policies are such that you could host almost any type of site you wanted with them (save for illegal sites, but that goes without saying). I have run media heavy websites with them before and have never really had to spend over $25 a month to support myself.

All in all, my experience with Host Gator has been an overwhelmingly positive one and I would recommend them to anybody looking to run a small to medium-sized website. You will not be disappointed.

Biggest Pro: Uptime and Customer Service

Host Gator is recommended by David Gerrard. This person recommends Host Gator.
› Overall Rating ››    95.00% 
Reviewed on February 29th, 2008 at 19:55 EST by David Gerrard
Customer for duration of 1 - 2 years
IP Address: 143.167.244.147
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: http://www.freshvisual.co.uk/   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
36 out of 36 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #29 out of 66 Host Gator reviews
uptime & reliability
10.0
server & connection speed
10.0
technical support & knowledge
9.50
customer service & billing
10.0
price value for money
10.0
* ratings are out of 10

HostGator Review

I think Host Gator may be one of the best hosts out there. I am currently using their shared hosting plan and it's just amazing the amount of disk space and bandwidth they offer. For under $10 I get 600gb of storage and 6,000gb of bandwidth per month. Thats just crazy, its like a whole hard drive of storage basically. They even send you a reminder to pay your monthly payment. Sometimes I forget and they still let me pay when it was like 10 days after the due date. If it gets too late though, you need to pay a fee for a late fine. As of now, I am running two websites and both work flawlessly. Once you login, the control panel is simple and easy to use. There are also tons of other features like PHP support, mySQL, email, SSI, CGI, you name it they have it. I have been with Host Gator for about two years now and I have never experienced ANY down time. The download speed is also very fast. Since my Internet connection has a limited upload speed, I cant comment on how their upload speeds are. There is also a Live Chat/Support which Ive used before. I thought that service was ok. I do not remember it being much help when trying to resolve a problem I had though. Other than that, I think this host would be great for anyone. It is reliable and it gets the job done.

Biggest Pro: speed, pricing, hardly any downtime
Biggest Con: not really a con but their live customer support isnt that good

Host Gator is recommended by Jason. This person recommends Host Gator.
› Overall Rating ››    99.00% 
Reviewed on February 25th, 2008 at 17:55 EST by Jason
Customer for duration of 1 - 2 years
IP Address: 98.199.179.199
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
34 out of 34 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #30 out of 66 Host Gator reviews
link to this page   |   tell a friend about this web host
Host Gator - Host Unlimited Web Sites
Reseller Hosting - 50% Off
Host Unlimited Sites
Free Dedicated IP & Backups
90 Day Money Back Guarantee
Try it out for just $13.99/mo.
InMotion Hosting

Read what users say about InMotion Hosting!


For Users
Web Hosting Reviews
Submit Review
Advanced Search
All Web Hosts
Top Rated

Our Difference
Contact


Free Newsletter
For Hosts
Host Log-in
Create Account
Generate Links
Get More Exposure


New Reviews
Go Daddy
000webhost
Just Host
WebHostingPad
EasyCGI
BlueFur
SkyNet Hosting
Arvixe
HostSo
VPSDepot
ADDR
Lunarpages
Quick2Host
WebIntellects
KVC Hosting
SiteGround
A Small Orange
ServerSea
StoresOnline
HostPapa


Other
Website Thumbnails
This site is powered by Host Gator.
Copyright © 1999-2016 WebHostingReviews.com. All Rights Reserved.
All reviews, content, graphics, logos, design, and scripts, are the sole property of WebHostingReviews.com, and
may not be used without prior written consent from us. All violations will be prosecuted to the maximum extent possible under the law.
Last Update: June 20th, 2016 at 15:01 EST / This site has a total of 3,441 web hosting reviews, based on 529 different web hosting companies.