GreenGeeks

Visit GreenGeeks Visit GreenGeeks   Write your own GreenGeeks review. Write your own GreenGeeks review.
2 out of 11 (or 18% of) people recommend GreenGeeks.
 › Rating Averages ››
Uptime & Reliability Server & Connection Speed Price Value for Money
2.94 / 10.0 3.25 / 10.0 2.82 / 10.0
Technical Support & Knowledge Customer Service & Billing
2.09 / 10.0 2.08 / 10.0
GreenGeeks
› Overall Rating ››    22.18% 
How are ratings calculated? 
  • Analyze this Page for Me
Showing 1 to 10 out of 11 reviews.   Filter Reviews
Page Relevancy
Review Quality 100%
What's
this?
« Prev 1 2

GreenGeeks reviews

uptime & reliability
0.40
server & connection speed
0.00
technical support & knowledge
0.00
customer service & billing
0.00
price value for money
0.00
* ratings are out of 10

Worst host EVER!

I literally have a problem with this host on a daily basis.
Today it was the secure server going down in the middle of the day for no reason.
Yesterday was my access being blocked because I searched for the wrong word on my own site.
The day before it was the security certificate somehow got changed to soemthing incompatible.
The day before I was blocked from editing my own site due to the use of a wrong word.
Each time there is an issue their standard response is that I need to delete my .htaccess file which is total BS and had absolutely nothing to do with the errors.
They lie to cover their own asses whenever there is a problem..
Avoid these people like the plague!!!!

GreenGeeks is NOT recommended by Mike. This person does NOT recommend GreenGeeks.
› Overall Rating ››    0.00% 
Reviewed on September 25th, 2015 at 12:57 EST by Mike
Customer for duration of 1 - 2 years
IP Address: 71.203.12.84
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #1 out of 11 GreenGeeks reviews
uptime & reliability
0.00
server & connection speed
0.00
technical support & knowledge
0.00
customer service & billing
1.00
price value for money
0.00
* ratings are out of 10

Helping to keep GreenGeeks green

I signed up with GreenGeeks.com for web hosting services. I was working with a web designer to create a web page and we had agreed upon a price. When I filled out GreenGeeks web hosting order form, I just assumed that they where the domain registar, Wrong. On this form it states that set up fee is included $15.00 and so is the domain registration fee $13.95. They also offer a 30 day full money back guarantee. A few days later I receive a call from the web designer telling me that the web page project will cost a good deal more than what was agreed upon, so I cancel this project. Then I fill out GreenGeeks cancellation form and I get a email telling me that it has been received and is being processed. About a week later I receive a email telling me that my refund is $104.00 and I wonder what happened to the other $29.00 I had paid. I inquire about this $29.00 and I am told that $15.00 is a set up fee and the other $14.00 is for the domain registration. What happened to these being included as listed on the web hosting order form. A wait a few days to see that my domain info has been taken down from whois and there it is. I see that enom.com is the registrar. I ask them to remove this posting and they did not comply or reply. Then I notice that GreenGeeks.com is listed as a reseller of my domain . Enough already. They would like us to believe that they are being very earth friendly with their wind energy and such, but you and I both know that what is keeping them green is your and my money any way shape of form they can beg, bore or steal it. I would not recommend this company to my very worst enemy.

GreenGeeks is NOT recommended by wes ball. This person does NOT recommend GreenGeeks.
› Overall Rating ››    0.00% 
Reviewed on February 16th, 2015 at 22:20 EST by wes ball
Customer for duration of 1 - 2 years
IP Address: 206.214.50.206
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Windows   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #2 out of 11 GreenGeeks reviews
uptime & reliability
0.00
server & connection speed
0.00
technical support & knowledge
0.00
customer service & billing
0.00
price value for money
0.00
* ratings are out of 10

Don't Loose Your Domain!

Anybody can be a fair weather friend. As long as you don't ask much and pay your bill's things can seem fine.
I thought GreenGeeks was fine... until they lost my domain name.
Only when everything was cut off, did I realize how vulnerable I was.
My domain and related email addresses were my businesses only online presence and contact for the last decade.
And only now have I realized that in promising to ‘pay for my domain for life’, and transfer it to them, that they’d taken total control of it. I found out I’m not even authorized to ask about it any more.
Now anybody can make a mistake, but the way they seemed to be deceptive about it, really seemed shameful to me.
Needless to say, I’d never have anything to do with their company again.

Biggest Con: Seemed incompetent ands deceitful.

GreenGeeks is NOT recommended by ComputerSteve. This person does NOT recommend GreenGeeks.
› Overall Rating ››    0.00% 
Reviewed on October 20th, 2014 at 13:07 EST by ComputerSteve
Customer for duration of 1 - 2 years
IP Address: 104.195.147.126
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Windows   Domain: http://www.computersteve.ca/   Email: positivelysteve@gmail.com
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #3 out of 11 GreenGeeks reviews
uptime & reliability
5.00
server & connection speed
5.00
technical support & knowledge
5.00
customer service & billing
0.00
price value for money
4.00
* ratings are out of 10

Pretty good until the end, then they were *terrible*!!!

I was pretty happy with the service at Greengeeks until the end, when I decided the site wasn't helping our business. Then they turned into the worst kind of shysters. I followed their cancellation policy to the letter, only to find that they put a bunch of hurdles in your way, and kept rejecting my cancellation request. Then I found out why - if you cancel before your 3-year plan is up, you get to leave for free. If you're late cancelling, THEY EXPECT YOU TO PAY FOR THREE MORE YEARS. They think they've set up some kind of subscription. Huh?

It gets worse. Following their cancellation policy isn't enough. They put most of the important details for cancelling in their *renewal* section of their terms. So if you're planning to *cancel*, you need to follow their rules in *renewing* to successfully cancel. In the renewal section they say you have to cancel 5 days before your term is up. The cancellation section says nothing about that.

It gets even worse. If you didn't manage to get your account cancelled more than five days before the term's up, they bill you for the next full three years, and then they start threatening to send your account to a collection agency! That's right, they think it's reasonable to charge you for three years for nothing, and threaten to hit your credit for what you're not going to get.

Biggest Pro: Hosting seemed to work OK.
Biggest Con: Complete A$$@!#%s when you decide not to renew.

GreenGeeks is NOT recommended by KJMClark. This person does NOT recommend GreenGeeks.
› Overall Rating ››    30.00% 
Reviewed on October 17th, 2014 at 10:19 EST by KJMClark
Customer for duration of 3 - 5 years
IP Address: 204.47.182.67
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #4 out of 11 GreenGeeks reviews
uptime & reliability
2.00
server & connection speed
2.00
technical support & knowledge
0.00
customer service & billing
9.80
price value for money
5.00
* ratings are out of 10

Avoid GreenGeeks for WordPress

Avoid GreenGeeks for WordPress websites. They have no clue! This weekend one of my websites was under attack. Instead of going after the culprit, they shut my WordPress website down and sent me an email Saturday night at 10:10PM stating that the website was over the resources limit - Huh? The website hadn't done anything but sit on their servers. It was a program from OUTSIDE of THEIR servers that was eating up the resources.

I communicated with them via email and on the phone. They acknowledged that the website was being attacked... They do not understand that their actions are extreme - It is 36 hours later and they will still not open the website.

I have requested a cPanel backup and I'll move it...Just wanted to warn others. It is commonplace that a WordPress website comes under attack - I deal with 4 other hosting companies that know what they are doing and have other, humane responses.

Biggest Con: Inexpereince and/or laziness

GreenGeeks is NOT recommended by K-Cal. This person does NOT recommend GreenGeeks.
› Overall Rating ››    35.00% 
Reviewed on April 7th, 2014 at 09:20 EST by K-Cal
Customer for duration of 3 - 5 months
IP Address: 24.62.89.49
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #5 out of 11 GreenGeeks reviews
uptime & reliability
0.00
server & connection speed
0.00
technical support & knowledge
0.00
customer service & billing
0.00
price value for money
0.00
* ratings are out of 10

Avoid Green Geeks

This company, despite their hype, is one of the worse on the Internet. Their business practices are so questionable that any reasonable person would just pass them by.
They nickel and dime their customers to death and their support and customer service systems are a joke.
For example, a recent request for a very simple support task took more than five hours to receive a reply, and then the request was simply ignored.
Customer service at GreenGeeks doesn’t exist. They have at least one rude member (Chris F. – never gives his last name for obvious reasons) who is beyond rude, and, well, obviously undereducated).
Located in California, the company boasts it is entirely “green”. It’s their hook to get you to spend far too much on their overpriced services, and frankly, it just isn’t true.
Before you even consider looking at this company talk to some of their customers: Downtime is awful, personal contact just doesn’t happen, and their business model is terrible. We cannot stress enough that you should NEVER select GreenGeeks.

Biggest Pro: There are no pros
Biggest Con: Flat out poor business management

GreenGeeks is NOT recommended by Dave W.. This person does NOT recommend GreenGeeks.
› Overall Rating ››    0.00% 
Reviewed on July 1st, 2012 at 17:22 EST by Dave W.
Customer for duration of 1 - 2 years
IP Address: 72.161.4.245
Type of Plan: Virtual Private Servers   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
15 out of 15 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #6 out of 11 GreenGeeks reviews
uptime & reliability
0.00
server & connection speed
5.00
technical support & knowledge
2.00
customer service & billing
2.00
price value for money
2.00
* ratings are out of 10

Avoid Greengeeks for business web sites

I have some relatives that host their small business web site with a Dreamhost shared hosting plan and almost never in four years had their system down.

Looking for a drupal-friendly and ecologically conscious similar option, I decided for GreenGeeks shared hosting.

After less than one year I decided to cancel their service because their server had a downtime of around 1% (which means one potential customer of ever 100 will never get to see your site, no matter how much he want to wait for it to load) and they had an "average" response time (which doesn't include the time spent downloading the web page) of more than double from the other sites hosted at Dreamhost. That also means many customers loss that simply don't want to wait more than the usual time.

All the attempts to solve the issue with technical support were usless. I had no interest in making the effort to migrate my site. But they always gave me excuses and didn't make any effort to improve those response times.

I have been monitoring my website with serviceuptime.com and all the response times and outages come from those statistics (which are very reliable)

Now that I finally moved my site to Linode, the response times had decreased to around half of what I had with GreenGeeks.

To sum up, if you want to run a business (no matter how small) don't trust GreenGeeks.

Biggest Con: Response times excessively high (specially outside of US)

GreenGeeks is NOT recommended by Rodolfo. This person does NOT recommend GreenGeeks.
› Overall Rating ››    20.00% 
Reviewed on January 27th, 2012 at 08:46 EST by Rodolfo
Customer for duration of 6 - 11 months
IP Address: 217.14.40.189
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: http://www.artisticbandb.com/   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
15 out of 15 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #7 out of 11 GreenGeeks reviews
uptime & reliability
9.90
server & connection speed
9.90
technical support & knowledge
0.10
customer service & billing
0.10
price value for money
10.0
* ratings are out of 10

Website suspended non-payment. Restored only shows blank screen.

My site was working perfectly. My site was suspended for non-payment. Once it was paid and this was paid within six (6) hours of it being suspended. Once I learned that the credit card on file for the last five (5) years had been closed by the bank for fraud activity. I updated the card with GreenGeeks. Now my site only displays a blank page. My telephone call today was all mumble jumble. The technician was very unwilling to speak english. He talked as if everyone should be as intelligent about websites and design as he is. When you ask to speak with a supervisor he beats around the bush and say he will give you the same answer I am giving you and he never puts him on the phone. Thanks for hearing me out. Please restore my site to where it was prior to the suspension. A simple phone call before the suspension to update my credit card information could of avoided this. When I received your invoice as always every year you just draft the check directly from my account. Do we get any recognition of being a customer for five (5) years. This should let you know we are not just a fly by night operation. Now we have over 350 clients who depend on the Law Office web site in just one case alone who do not have a way to stay in touch with us in all parts of the world.

Biggest Pro: Ease of use.
Biggest Con: Personal contact

GreenGeeks is recommended by Bentley A. Brown. This person recommends GreenGeeks.
› Overall Rating ››    59.00% 
Reviewed on January 12th, 2012 at 13:08 EST by Bentley A. Brown
Customer for duration of More than 5 years
IP Address: 70.183.109.3
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Windows   Domain: http://www.lawofficeofdanzeidman.com/new/   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
13 out of 13 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #8 out of 11 GreenGeeks reviews
uptime & reliability
5.00
server & connection speed
4.00
technical support & knowledge
6.00
customer service & billing
0.00
price value for money
0.00
* ratings are out of 10

Unethical Business, Stay away!!

I hosted with them for a while, they were pretty bad, and would lie about their down time. The typical stuff-- they say that your computer or network is the problem. That doesn't fly when it won't open on 2 distinct networks, or a smartphone....
So, I let my contract wind down with them. My Cancellation deadline was the 29, I cancelled on the 27. They billed me anyway and refuse to refund my money. The customer services reps say they will pass it up to billing to give me the refund, and then I get a message saying I didn't cancel in time and will not get a refund. I have filed a transaction dispute with my bank and the better business bureau. Stay away from these guys- they do dirty business.

Biggest Pro: Green
Biggest Con: They basically stole 95 dollars from my bank account without authorization

GreenGeeks is NOT recommended by Mikal Giancola. This person does NOT recommend GreenGeeks.
› Overall Rating ››    0.00% 
Reviewed on November 19th, 2011 at 19:11 EST by Mikal Giancola
Customer for duration of 1 - 2 years
IP Address: 184.190.83.214
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
15 out of 15 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #9 out of 11 GreenGeeks reviews
uptime & reliability
9.90
server & connection speed
9.90
technical support & knowledge
9.90
customer service & billing
9.90
price value for money
9.90
* ratings are out of 10

I'm loving GreenGeeks

With almost no computer skills other than basic Word and Excel (not even an internet connection within the past 6 years), I have formed my page structure, created my own template, and completed about 30% of my 26 pages in about 40 hours. My biggest hold up is not being able to find my picture cd that used to be in my drawer...no fault to GreenGeeks for that. Otherwise I would be done by now.

I called customer support a couple of times, always got an answer, with very little wait time. The reps were polite, knowledgeable, listened to my "problems" and then settled my confusion. My phone calls always lasted less than ten minutes. (thank you GreenGeeks for humoring me)

GreenGeeks uses Cpanel with RVsitebuilder. RVsitebuilder is releasing a new version (V5) within a couple of months, so making changes should be even easier! I would recommend, and am recommending GreenGeeks to anyone for webhosting.

I would have given them a "ten", but there is always room for improvement.

GreenGeeks is recommended by Brian. This person recommends GreenGeeks.
› Overall Rating ››    99.00% 
Reviewed on November 16th, 2011 at 17:44 EST by Brian
Customer for duration of Less than 1 month
IP Address: 166.248.38.11
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: http://www.integritycontracting.co/   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
15 out of 15 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #10 out of 11 GreenGeeks reviews
« Prev 1 2
link to this page   |   tell a friend about this web host
Host Gator - Host Unlimited Web Sites
Reseller Hosting - 50% Off
Host Unlimited Sites
Free Dedicated IP & Backups
90 Day Money Back Guarantee
Try it out for just $13.99/mo.
InMotion Hosting

Read what users say about InMotion Hosting!


For Users
Web Hosting Reviews
Submit Review
Advanced Search
All Web Hosts
Top Rated

Our Difference
Contact


Free Newsletter
For Hosts
Host Log-in
Create Account
Generate Links
Get More Exposure


New Reviews
Go Daddy
000webhost
Just Host
WebHostingPad
EasyCGI
BlueFur
SkyNet Hosting
Arvixe
HostSo
VPSDepot
ADDR
Lunarpages
Quick2Host
WebIntellects
KVC Hosting
SiteGround
A Small Orange
ServerSea
StoresOnline
HostPapa


Other
Website Thumbnails
This site is powered by Host Gator.
Copyright © 1999-2016 WebHostingReviews.com. All Rights Reserved.
All reviews, content, graphics, logos, design, and scripts, are the sole property of WebHostingReviews.com, and
may not be used without prior written consent from us. All violations will be prosecuted to the maximum extent possible under the law.
Last Update: June 20th, 2016 at 15:01 EST / This site has a total of 3,441 web hosting reviews, based on 529 different web hosting companies.