Go Daddy

Visit Go Daddy Visit Go Daddy   Write your own Go Daddy review. Write your own Go Daddy review.
43 out of 107 (or 40% of) people recommend Go Daddy.
 › Rating Averages ››
Uptime & Reliability Server & Connection Speed Price Value for Money
6.99 / 10.0 6.56 / 10.0 5.36 / 10.0
Technical Support & Knowledge Customer Service & Billing
5.30 / 10.0 5.18 / 10.0
Go Daddy
› Overall Rating ››    49.88% 
How are ratings calculated? 
  • Analyze this Page for Me
Showing 51 to 60 out of 107 reviews.   Filter Reviews
Page Relevancy
Review Quality 100%
What's
this?

Go Daddy reviews

uptime & reliability
10.0
server & connection speed
10.0
technical support & knowledge
0.00
customer service & billing
0.00
price value for money
1.00
* ratings are out of 10

A terrible experience

My first 6 sites went well even though the interface is almost unusable and filled with GoDaddy ads and promos.

This last experience has been extremely unpleasant and I plan to remove all my sites from GoDaddy as soon as they expire.

Despite promises from customer service and their website that my new site would be ready within 24 hours it is still not ready to use four days later.

They promise me and I promised my customer. Now my customer wants to know where his site is and I can't give him a good answer. It's costing him money. It's costing me my cred with a valuable customer and I am super ticked off.

Go Daddy is NOT recommended by Rabbit Marshall. This person does NOT recommend Go Daddy.
› Overall Rating ››    0.00% 
Reviewed on November 6th, 2009 at 18:06 EST by Rabbit Marshall
Customer for duration of 1 - 2 years
IP Address: 4.249.78.49
Type of Plan: Dedicated   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
20 out of 20 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #51 out of 107 Go Daddy reviews
uptime & reliability
2.00
server & connection speed
5.10
technical support & knowledge
0.00
customer service & billing
4.60
price value for money
6.40
* ratings are out of 10

Poor to say the least.

Gave the repeated proof that their infrastructure was blocking my network and multiple others from being able to view my website and they repetitively denied it with completely unintelligent responses.

For example:
They tell me I need to optimize my websites code so it will run faster when I can't connect the website via the BROWSER or FTP. How again exactly do you optimize code in order to login via FTP.

More information:
http://www.dslreports.com/forum/r23275891-Connectivity-Comcast-Not-blocking-Godaddy-site

Honestly. Avoid like the plague.

Biggest Pro: cheap... but getting more expensive
Biggest Con: Support, speed, downtime

Go Daddy is NOT recommended by Par. This person does NOT recommend Go Daddy.
› Overall Rating ››    36.00% 
Reviewed on November 4th, 2009 at 11:43 EST by Par
Customer for duration of 6 - 11 months
IP Address: 173.10.223.81
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: http://www.2leet.com/   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
20 out of 20 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #52 out of 107 Go Daddy reviews
uptime & reliability
10.0
server & connection speed
9.50
technical support & knowledge
8.50
customer service & billing
9.00
price value for money
9.00
* ratings are out of 10

Stick with host that works

I had been with GoDaddy for years but left to find a host with more features. Big mistake. Spent a year going from one to the other before finding a horrible host, (hostnine - I have reviewed them on this site). I am now back with GoDaddy and probably won't move again. They are reliable and have great uptime. They do have their faults, but believe me when I tell you that they aren't nearly as bad as some of the other popular hosts. They give a lot for a little, and I've never had major problems with them.

Biggest Pro: Good price, great uptime
Biggest Con: not enough email storage space or MySql databases

Go Daddy is recommended by Jude. This person recommends Go Daddy.
› Overall Rating ››    95.00% 
Reviewed on October 23rd, 2009 at 14:37 EST by Jude
Customer for duration of 6 - 11 months
IP Address: 68.8.120.162
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
20 out of 20 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #53 out of 107 Go Daddy reviews
uptime & reliability
9.50
server & connection speed
9.30
technical support & knowledge
1.00
customer service & billing
1.00
price value for money
3.00
* ratings are out of 10

Their Spam Logic Makes No Sense!

I have been using GoDaddy to host my simple email needs for 2 years.

I do not have a website - I purchased my domain names in order to have my own permanent email addresses.

Their Spam setting consist of what to do if they decide an email is spam - move it to the Bulk Folder or leave it in the Inbox with [SPAM] inserted at start of Subject Line

If you want to download your emails from the server to you local pc, I would suggest you select the second option -that way you can check the emails they treated as Spam for accuracy.

As an example of their poorly designed system and bad support that I have seen over the 2 years....

Yesterday I received 2 emails from the same sender, about 2 hours apart.

The first email was marked Nonspam - IP Whitelist but when the second email was processed, it was treated as Spam -Statistical 62%

Since a Whitelist was used for the first one , why didn't it come in to play for the second one?

When I queried where the Whitelist came from I was told by support it was not from GoDaddy but when I did a reverse look up on the IP address, it was indeed owned by GoDaddy.

Support also told me that the spam filters do not tag messages based on the email address on the message. The contents of the message (keywords, links, etc). are what decide Spam outcomes.

I am sure you would all agree that is totally wrong, unless I wasted all my effort to build up entries in the ALLOWED list and BLOCKED list.

And speaking of the ALLOWED and BLOCKED lists - an even bigger complaint is that when you look at the contents of the lists it displays in some random order - I guess they have never heard of an alphabetical list to make life simpler for users.

When you add an entry to the list, they do not even validate if it is already there, and even more disturbing is that you can add the same email address to both the ALLOWED and BLOCKED lists. That's some bit of coding they have.

I worked for a software company for 17 years and I know the pressures that support and development folk are under and so I always try to provide as much information as possible when I contact a support department and it is annoying when the reply back answers a question that was not asked and the ones that were asked are ignored

Biggest Pro: When The Contract Ends
Biggest Con: Whoever Designed Their Spam Logic Failed Badly

Go Daddy is NOT recommended by JJ. This person does NOT recommend Go Daddy.
› Overall Rating ››    20.00% 
Reviewed on August 11th, 2009 at 04:56 EST by JJ
Customer for duration of 1 - 2 years
IP Address: 75.35.113.182
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Windows   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
21 out of 21 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #54 out of 107 Go Daddy reviews
uptime & reliability
9.00
server & connection speed
9.00
technical support & knowledge
3.00
customer service & billing
3.00
price value for money
2.00
* ratings are out of 10

Email is badly broken, unusable for a business

The basic webhosting is OK. MIght not have the latest version of PHP or anything like that, but for the most part the hosting is reasonably fast and gets the job done.

The big problem is email. Email on GoDaddy is screwed, and close to unusable for a business.

For starters, although they claim to give you six gigazillion bytes of storage, that's not for email. Email is only 10 MB, unless you pay (just more) additional money, so even a couple of large attachments will result in the inbox overflowing & the emails being rejected.

But a far larger problem is their incoming email filter. GoDaddy has 2 layers of email "spam" filtering. The first layer is hidden from you; the second is controllable via some spam filter settings in your webmail controls. The first layer, the one you have no control over, has a nasty habit of rejecting perfectly good emails from valid domains. I've had this occur on multiple occasions, with emails sent to me from several different customers. I've passed these on to godaddy & told them to remove this "email pre-filter" on my account, but they've said "no".

For a business, this is a disaster. Emails from customers or potential customers are sporadically rejected, and you'll never never know. It'll cost you business. It's costing me business. And GoDaddy couldn't care less.

Biggest Con: Email is broken

Go Daddy is NOT recommended by Frank. This person does NOT recommend Go Daddy.
› Overall Rating ››    20.00% 
Reviewed on June 4th, 2009 at 13:10 EST by Frank
Customer for duration of 3 - 5 years
IP Address: 24.80.65.65
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: http://www.frankvh.com/   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
21 out of 21 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #55 out of 107 Go Daddy reviews
uptime & reliability
9.00
server & connection speed
8.00
technical support & knowledge
1.00
customer service & billing
1.00
price value for money
1.00
* ratings are out of 10

Go Daddy consistently bounces blocks forwards and legit email

After about 40 hours of phone and email time, I gave up, I work on 24 different domains...I inheritied one that was hosted on Go Daddy. After I finished the .gov site that their previous vendor didn't finish, I then put forwarding from their old server and pointed towards Go Daddy. Go Daddy kept bouncing the legit emails, not matter what we did or who we spoke with they kept saying it isn't their problem. Just Google "Go Daddy bounces emails" and decide if you think it is Go Daddy or everyone else.

Because I had a police department trying to rely on this rediculous service, I just dropped Go Daddy and went to another provider. All of our issues magically disappeared, imagine that.

Biggest Pro: Nothing worth writing because the biggest con will erase it
Biggest Con: Could never get email from another server accepted by Go Daddy

Go Daddy is NOT recommended by Garry. This person does NOT recommend Go Daddy.
› Overall Rating ››    10.00% 
Reviewed on May 19th, 2009 at 10:43 EST by Garry
Customer for duration of 1 - 2 years
IP Address: 206.63.82.202
Type of Plan: Dedicated   Platform: Windows   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
19 out of 19 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #56 out of 107 Go Daddy reviews
uptime & reliability
8.80
server & connection speed
9.80
technical support & knowledge
9.90
customer service & billing
10.0
price value for money
9.90
* ratings are out of 10

Cheap hosting and good supports

About 6 months ago i purchased 2 years domain and hosting plan from Godaddy. I was so confusing while selecting hosting plan and about hosting performance, i went to many public forums and asked better hosting company which really be good for my business without any disturbance, some was unsatisfied & some satisfied. along with good hosting i was looking a cheap hosting price. then i have decided to move to Godaddy and bought. I am satisfied with all godaddy's products and their prompt customer services always presence.

Go Daddy is recommended by Mr. Alim. This person recommends Go Daddy.
› Overall Rating ››    99.00% 
Reviewed on April 30th, 2009 at 11:56 EST by Mr. Alim
Customer for duration of 6 - 11 months
IP Address: 110.37.48.101
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: http://www.diolt.com/   Email: webmasterdiolt@gmail.com
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
17 out of 17 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #57 out of 107 Go Daddy reviews
uptime & reliability
0.00
server & connection speed
0.00
technical support & knowledge
0.00
customer service & billing
0.00
price value for money
0.00
* ratings are out of 10

email support is REALLY REALLY BAD!!!

If you want to use a pop3 email program, this really sucks. They claim that the client side program (MS Outlook, etc.) are at fault. However, I've never had a problem with any other email hosting service.

They claim you need to change the ports but this has no affect. They also make you go through a time-wasting reconfiguration of your account, but this has not effect. Then they say they just don't support whatever client-side software you have.

It would be minor for them to fix their problem so I'm assuming that they really just want you to use their crappy web-email so you buy more storage from them.

What else could it be?

I'm switching as soon as I figure out what other vendor to go to.

Biggest Pro: basic hosting is fine
Biggest Con: email

Go Daddy is NOT recommended by Ric Sing. This person does NOT recommend Go Daddy.
› Overall Rating ››    0.00% 
Reviewed on April 27th, 2009 at 12:22 EST by Ric Sing
Customer for duration of 3 - 5 months
IP Address: 68.165.0.43
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
21 out of 21 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #58 out of 107 Go Daddy reviews
uptime & reliability
10.0
server & connection speed
10.0
technical support & knowledge
10.0
customer service & billing
0.10
price value for money
6.00
* ratings are out of 10

Vicious Circle...

It was impossible to cancel this service. We had forgotten our password. They wouldn't give it to us and we couldn't cancel without it. We wrote several letters demanding cancellation and even wrote to the attorney general. After many months of billing us for service we did not need, they finally cancelled. We will NEVER use them again.

Go Daddy is NOT recommended by Dan Rouse. This person does NOT recommend Go Daddy.
› Overall Rating ››    10.00% 
Reviewed on April 22nd, 2009 at 12:25 EST by Dan Rouse
Customer for duration of 6 - 11 months
IP Address: 167.230.104.95
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
16 out of 16 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #59 out of 107 Go Daddy reviews
uptime & reliability
0.40
server & connection speed
0.20
technical support & knowledge
0.80
customer service & billing
8.60
price value for money
1.60
* ratings are out of 10

If You RequirePHP and mySQL Stay Away from Go Daddy!!!!

This is the feedback they asked me to give when I canceled my hosting account.

Deluxe hosting package on shared service had atrocious performance with respect to communicating with the sql database. I dealt with performance issues for weeks thinking I was doing something wrong before someone at godaddy actually told me that the shared hosting server wasnt able to execute the PHP script completely before the SQL connection timed out (probably to prevent denial of service situations)

Support told me that they don't support the mysql commands and scripts to test for connectivity from the web server to the DB?? I have another account with grid hosting where currently, I cannot even execute the following commands in a php script:

<?php
phpinfo();
?>

The individuals that I have spoken to today about 3 so far have been unable to understand that there is a problem with the grid hosting account and PHP. They think that because they can access files like UPDATE.txt that there is no problem with the webserver.

Finally I reached a supervisor (misty) whom has actually validated my problem for the first time (It's 1:30pm now, I've been on and off the phone since about 9:30am) saying that there have been issues with PHP on the grid hosting.(FIANLLY! I'm getting somewhere!)

One of the people (about 12:45pm 4/11/09PM)told me that they don't support any of the scripts I'm trying to use (its a Drupal installation) and that "it's a problem with your application" the guy repeated this several times, to which I enlightened him that he may not know what he is talking about, and after he lied about somethign as obsured as stating that godaddy doesnt support PHP I enlightened him: "you're full of it" to which he hung up the phone instead of getting me to someone who actually understands PHP and mySQL and could realize that in fact, PHP is a fundamental part of LAMP hosting that has failed!

I mean c'mon, really...

If I was to venture a guess, I would have to say that the people maintain the databases and the people maintaining the web servers are at odd with each other because they don't want to deal with complaints. For example, the DB guys would set timeouts to very strict to make the web servers responsible for the connection failure during high traffic times, and the people at the web server side get shafted with issues because they need a fast server to execute the sql commands before the timeout, which is hard to account for in a shared environment with different loads at different times.

I really like the interfaces, I've been using them for a long time, they have gone down hill fast recently, I would have rated them high a couple years ago, the support is usually good, the anomaly of getting lame sounding, un-knowledgeable, and know-it-all types is unusual with GoDaddy, it happened twice in one day tho... for the first time really, but coupled with the poor performance over the past 3 Weeks, I would be the fool to stay with them.

Biggest Pro: Friendly Support Staff (usually)
Biggest Con: All of their hosting products are poor.

Go Daddy is NOT recommended by Jeremy Turner. This person does NOT recommend Go Daddy.
› Overall Rating ››    10.00% 
Reviewed on April 11th, 2009 at 13:01 EST by Jeremy Turner
Customer for duration of 1 - 2 years
IP Address: 70.101.74.158
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
17 out of 17 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #60 out of 107 Go Daddy reviews
link to this page   |   tell a friend about this web host
Host Gator - Host Unlimited Web Sites
Reseller Hosting - 50% Off
Host Unlimited Sites
Free Dedicated IP & Backups
90 Day Money Back Guarantee
Try it out for just $13.99/mo.
InMotion Hosting

Read what users say about InMotion Hosting!


For Users
Web Hosting Reviews
Submit Review
Advanced Search
All Web Hosts
Top Rated

Our Difference
Contact


Free Newsletter
For Hosts
Host Log-in
Create Account
Generate Links
Get More Exposure


New Reviews
Go Daddy
000webhost
Just Host
WebHostingPad
EasyCGI
BlueFur
SkyNet Hosting
Arvixe
HostSo
VPSDepot
ADDR
Lunarpages
Quick2Host
WebIntellects
KVC Hosting
SiteGround
A Small Orange
ServerSea
StoresOnline
HostPapa


Other
Website Thumbnails
This site is powered by Host Gator.
Copyright © 1999-2016 WebHostingReviews.com. All Rights Reserved.
All reviews, content, graphics, logos, design, and scripts, are the sole property of WebHostingReviews.com, and
may not be used without prior written consent from us. All violations will be prosecuted to the maximum extent possible under the law.
Last Update: June 20th, 2016 at 15:01 EST / This site has a total of 3,441 web hosting reviews, based on 529 different web hosting companies.