Go Daddy

Visit Go Daddy Visit Go Daddy   Write your own Go Daddy review. Write your own Go Daddy review.
43 out of 107 (or 40% of) people recommend Go Daddy.
 › Rating Averages ››
Uptime & Reliability Server & Connection Speed Price Value for Money
6.99 / 10.0 6.56 / 10.0 5.36 / 10.0
Technical Support & Knowledge Customer Service & Billing
5.30 / 10.0 5.18 / 10.0
Go Daddy
› Overall Rating ››    49.88% 
How are ratings calculated? 
  • Analyze this Page for Me
Showing 41 to 50 out of 107 reviews.   Filter Reviews
Page Relevancy
Review Quality 100%
What's
this?

Go Daddy reviews

uptime & reliability
7.10
server & connection speed
2.00
technical support & knowledge
2.00
customer service & billing
3.40
price value for money
5.90
* ratings are out of 10

Big Name , small service

Godaddy is a huge company, lots of flash and glitter. Unfortunetly they spend allot on crap to advertise their name , rather then passing saving along to the consumer.
Tech support is dismall and knowledge is worse. The response time is so slow that often a person can have a site down two days before even getting started.
And hey you can get a life person, for a long distance fee. this big huge company has no 800.
Total fail. I will leave soon , the company is not what the represent !

Biggest Con: way to confusing to use their site to manage your own.

Go Daddy is NOT recommended by PC. This person does NOT recommend Go Daddy.
› Overall Rating ››    45.00% 
Reviewed on October 28th, 2010 at 21:30 EST by PC
Customer for duration of 6 - 11 months
IP Address: 97.90.125.230
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Windows   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
20 out of 20 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #41 out of 107 Go Daddy reviews
uptime & reliability
0.00
server & connection speed
0.00
technical support & knowledge
0.00
customer service & billing
0.00
price value for money
0.00
* ratings are out of 10

GoDaddy Shared Hosting Cannot Handle WordPress

(1) I found out after signing up with GoDaddy that its shared hosting has severe problems with MySQL - used by WordPress.

If you want to learn more about this issue below is the link to a WordPress.org thread on GoDaddy's problems. My contributions to the thread are on page 3 under tallreed.

http://wordpress.org/support/topic/261977?replies=63

(2) Here some other quibbles I have with GoDaddy (pulled from my post on above thread):

"Lastly, I have had several issues with GoDaddy even before this dealbreaker. I signed up specifically for GoDaddy's PHP 5 and clarified I would get PHP 5 with a representative. After signing up I learned I could not get PHP 5 because they signed me up for grid hosting. So then they signed me up for another 3 months (in addition to the 3 I had just purchased) to make the switch to shared hosting. I have had to call support about half a dozen times at an average wait time of 8 minutes. They are helpful native English speakers but some give the lackadaisical help-guide response and don't appear to know more than I do. I understand this can't be avoided, and would not switch if not for the WP speed dealbreaker."

(3) LASTLY, GoDaddy has no return policy. (I believe GoDaddy says you have to show the problem is on its end for a refund. Good luck getting them to admit that.) This lessens its incentive to provide good service. You are locked in to the contract length.

Biggest Pro: Women in its ads.
Biggest Con: Shared hosting cannot handle WordPress.

Go Daddy is NOT recommended by tallreed. This person does NOT recommend Go Daddy.
› Overall Rating ››    0.00% 
Reviewed on July 21st, 2010 at 22:08 EST by tallreed
Customer for duration of Less than 1 month
IP Address: 68.239.101.241
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
21 out of 21 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #42 out of 107 Go Daddy reviews
uptime & reliability
1.10
server & connection speed
0.00
technical support & knowledge
0.00
customer service & billing
0.50
price value for money
3.00
* ratings are out of 10

Godaddy.com - worst web hosting company!

Godaddy is the worst web hosting company!

BEWARE! Don't get mis-lead by cheap prices... You will end up wasting hours with Godaddy Support!

Cons
- Support people are non technical sales people!
- Any kind of application hosting like ASP.NET OR PHP OR Java is VERY VERY slow
- Technical support or fixes take a very long time
- Support people do not admit issues and not easy to work with
- Support people do not have any technical expertise

Pros
- Godaddy can host static html files...thats it! Do NOT use their service to host any kind web application like ASP.NET, PHP or JAVA

Godady gets NO stars web hosting!

Go Daddy is NOT recommended by Joe. This person does NOT recommend Go Daddy.
› Overall Rating ››    0.00% 
Reviewed on July 10th, 2010 at 19:40 EST by Joe
Customer for duration of 6 - 11 months
IP Address: 24.99.214.149
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Windows   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
19 out of 19 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #43 out of 107 Go Daddy reviews
uptime & reliability
7.50
server & connection speed
7.40
technical support & knowledge
10.0
customer service & billing
10.0
price value for money
8.50
* ratings are out of 10

low uptime, high smut-time

Hosted there since before they went all porno, now my website goes down daily, and in place they play their adds. Not exactly what I want. I'm now looking for a new hosting company and leaving canceling my plan.

Go Daddy is NOT recommended by Mark. This person does NOT recommend Go Daddy.
› Overall Rating ››    80.00% 
Reviewed on May 6th, 2010 at 09:19 EST by Mark
Customer for duration of 3 - 5 years
IP Address: 70.230.8.143
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
20 out of 20 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #44 out of 107 Go Daddy reviews
uptime & reliability
5.00
server & connection speed
3.00
technical support & knowledge
6.00
customer service & billing
8.60
price value for money
2.40
* ratings are out of 10

Go-Daddy Is the worst experience I have had

Yes the telephone technicians are nice to you...but they don't really address the problem, they give some shabby excuse that its not the server etc....The website has been more down than up and I can't easily access it by the backdoor to do my administrative duties. Stay away from godaddy if you want a professionally reliable site

Biggest Con: Unreliable and slow

Go Daddy is NOT recommended by Natacha Sochat. This person does NOT recommend Go Daddy.
› Overall Rating ››    0.00% 
Reviewed on April 29th, 2010 at 11:35 EST by Natacha Sochat
Customer for duration of 3 - 5 months
IP Address: 24.61.227.6
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Windows   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
20 out of 20 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #45 out of 107 Go Daddy reviews
uptime & reliability
2.50
server & connection speed
6.40
technical support & knowledge
3.10
customer service & billing
0.70
price value for money
4.50
* ratings are out of 10

Horrible service & support, even with friendly technicians

Although their technicians are friendly and helpful within the GoDaddy system, I've abandoned GoDaddy for several very critical reasons:

1. Billing: This company is billing-happy. If you have products you haven't set up nor used, you will continue paying for them until the day you die. Yes, it is dumb to order a product and not use it, but because of GoDaddy's *extremely* spammy interface, you often don't even know what you're ordering or what it's for. I can't tell you how many payments I've found on my credit card's account that I've had to investigate and have cancelled, but the number would be more than 30 (no exaggeration!)—and I'm sick of it.

2. Billing II, The Revenge: Oh, by the way, if you're on some sort of GoDaddy hosting account, make sure your credit card info is up to date. If you're using an expired card number and are on some sort of automated payment plan, and something fails billing, expect it to be cut off *immediately*. No warning, no grace period, no phone call. Of course, if you have one or more useless domain names that you've never hosted or set up, GoDaddy will call you endlessly about those—that's easy for them to do, and lots of extra free money for their company, I'm sure. However, if you have a critical service like web hosting, don't expect a phone call, just a leeetle email that says "oh, by the way, your [insert product name here] failed billing." But nowhere does it say, "by the time you read this, your service will be disconnected"—which is exactly the case. I personally never do this to a customer's website until they're at least 1-3 months past billing, because people do not often think about the web hosting payment, and I don't expect them to be on-time to the very second, getting up at midnight in my timezone to furiously enter their new credit card information before the clock strikes zero. Ridiculous. GoDaddy, this is the major reason I'm leaving you.

3. Senseless Control Panels & Settings: GoDaddy offers you a "wealth" of control panels, special web pages, settings documents and assorted UI nightmares that give you lots of control, but which are impossible to use half the time. Critical functions you might need to access in a pinch (i.e. quick server reboot, instant product renewal payments) are difficult to find and/or strangely semifunctional: often, changing a setting will result in the link being dimmed out with a notice to the effect of "hold on, we're changing this, and we'll get back to you eventually once it's changed". Often, this "eventually" works out to several hours, days or even weeks. Nice. And because they're clearly embarrassed about how long this change takes to migrate through their 8,523,432 lines of web server code in their website, they won't tell you about the projected amount of time a change takes in their support documents (to be fair, yes, some of the more obvious ones like DNS record updates are well-known and are in fact listed, but I've found that the majority of this kind of thing is not). Also, every product, even if it's extremely similar to another type of product, i.e. different types of hosting plans, offer completely different, incompatible interfaces, so you must learn each one individually. Frankly, I'm tired of learning another new, poorly thought-out GoDaddy interface.

4. Abhorrent DMCA Support: Recently, I had a website that I'd designed copied wholesale by (coincidentally) another GoDaddy customer. About a $10K design, and it was so blatant that even the image files had and have my name embedded into them, as well as the name of my father, who actually owns some of the images. To this day, despite legal threats, numerous DMCA complaints, and a letter from my lawyer to GoDaddy, this site is, once again, back online. If someone is shown to have duplicated another user's website, then hey, what the *(&!@# are you doing putting it back online, GoDaddy? This makes me absolutely hate the company more than any other reason listed here. I suppose that this section should be labeled "Great DMCA Support" because there's a legal loophole that allows this to happen, but as as private company, you have the choice to offer good or horrible support, and in my mind (and the mind of approximately 4,000 other customers you'll find with complaints about GoDaddy DMCA problems on Google) this is a huge problem with their service.

5. Domain Transfers: Once you have a domain in GoDaddy's system, never expect to get it out again. They make transferring domains out of their system as complicated and difficult as possible. Plus, they use every legal trick they can to hang on to whatever you've got. If you have a domain registered with them, the best way to transfer it out of their system into a real service that provides actual support—like, say, 1&1 Internet's domain service—is to initiate the transfer 9 or fewer months into the registration. In other words, don't wait until 30 days before it expires, or you will be completely stuck, and forced to reregister with them. There are a list of about 13 other "gotchas" on this subject alone that I'm too tired to express at the moment, because I'm exhausted from dealing with GoDaddy support this morning for over an hour and a half.

Bottom line is, stay way, stay away, stay away. And I'm not a casual reviewer, I'm a multi-award-winning site architect and designer who has created over 380 websites, both huge and small, and I do completely understand what I'm talking about on each of these subjects, so please heed my advice.

Biggest Pro: I get to completely leave GoDaddy within 1 month!
Biggest Con: Everything.

Go Daddy is NOT recommended by Adam Prall. This person does NOT recommend Go Daddy.
› Overall Rating ››    1.00% 
Reviewed on January 23rd, 2010 at 13:27 EST by Adam Prall
Customer for duration of More than 5 years
IP Address: 66.91.174.134
Type of Plan: Dedicated   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
25 out of 25 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #46 out of 107 Go Daddy reviews
uptime & reliability
9.20
server & connection speed
3.00
technical support & knowledge
4.90
customer service & billing
7.70
price value for money
6.30
* ratings are out of 10

BEWARE Godaddy hosting if you even plan to leave or grow

I had an AWFUL experience with Godaddy. However, I will do my best to write a fair review.

If you are a beginning webmaster of a small website without many images or much need for speed, the shared hosting plan may work for you in the short run. It's certainly cheap.

But proceed with extreme caution should you have any plan to grow your website as a real business in the future or any need to securely backup the contents of your domain, especially if you plan to move to another host in the future.

I did not have any trouble with my shared hosting account on Godaddy, other than slow service at times...until I decided to migrate to a new host. Then, all hell broke loose.

First, I called them to get a full backup of my domain. Since the only way to guarantee a seemless transfer is to have a tar zip file of the entire contents, that is what I requested.

Godaddy does not offer this service with shared hosting accounts. In fact, I found out this is impossible because they stored my database and files on separate servers. (This is practice may cause performance issues, by the way.)

The customer service rep proceeded to walk me through the process of backing up the database and downloading my files through their hosting control manager. However, I couldn't even create a zip archive of all my files, since the maximum size was 20 mb.

I proceeded to transfer my database and files to the new server. It turned out that the database was corrupted due to the way Godaddy stores it on their server. When it was restored, the data was there but it was not accessible. I ended up rebuilding my entire website (with over 80 articles and multiple custom applications) from scratch.

All of this could have been prevented if Godaddy had provided me with a tar zip file containing the contents of my domain. This is a normal request for experienced webmasters, but customer service treated me like I was nuts for requesting it. "No one has ever asked for that before," one rep told me.

Yes, it is true that you receive 24 hour support. But my experience with their support was that they had only entry level experience and were trained to repeat what they were told. They are instructed to focus on the upsell and cross sell, to help you renew any expiring domains, and to get as much money out of you as possible.

I went through 3 levels of management and still could not find satisfaction. They refused to acknowledge that their way of storing my domain was a problem; if any issues arose, they insisted it could only be caused by different directory structure on the new server.

The last rep I spoke to "made an exception" for me and had the server support "do him a favor" by zipping up all my files together. He told me that I could call and ask for him by name (even though I would be told they could not connect me and even managers do not have extensions, Godaddy's policy) but that I could leave him a message. Of course, this made no difference since the database itself was corrupt and unable to be restored.

I believe that Godaddy deliberately stores data on their servers in such a way that it makes transfer to a new domain disastrous for its contents. If you move from their shared hosting to another server you WILL have problems. This is an intentional act that pressures people to stay with them or risk losing their entire domain. For many, it's simply easier to stay.

Godaddy is deceptive and misleading, despite their perky entry level support staff. Just try to navigate their purchasing menus and you'll see how easy it is to accidentally buy one of their "recommended" upsells. The confusing setup is designed to make money by offering suggested options at every level with the "No Thanks" button all but faded out.

The verdict? I strongly suggest that you DO NOT host with Godaddy. The price may be cheap, but the price I paid in sleepless nights and stress-filled days made it way too expensive.

If your website is used for a business or if you wish to protect its contents and preserve them into the future, seek hosting elsewhere with a provider who provides full cpanel backup of your domain. It may be a bit more expensive, but it will save you much pain in the long run.

Biggest Pro: Cheap
Biggest Con: Risk losing your domain upon transfer

Go Daddy is NOT recommended by Stephanie. This person does NOT recommend Go Daddy.
› Overall Rating ››    37.00% 
Reviewed on January 17th, 2010 at 22:05 EST by Stephanie
Customer for duration of 1 - 2 years
IP Address: 69.206.235.212
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: http://www.besthudsonvalleyweddingever.com/   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
23 out of 23 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #47 out of 107 Go Daddy reviews
uptime & reliability
9.00
server & connection speed
7.00
technical support & knowledge
5.00
customer service & billing
10.0
price value for money
6.00
* ratings are out of 10

20 countries will not see your site !!!

My First host provider Was Godaddy.
the reason to use it was the ability to pay them monthly.
I shocked when i knew that visitors from Syria, Iran, Sudan, north Korea, Mozambique ..etc unable to access my web site.!! i discovered it by coincidence when a friend from syria were unable to access my website. i went to Google analytic and it said that there were just 20 visitors cam from these countries. i searched for that issue and i found article confirmed that. !! and you will find that now in godaddy tos.
if you have business in middle east it will be destroyed by godaddy and you will not discover that unless you have a (terrorist) friend.!!!!!
then i went to ixwebhosting and it is very very bad and i am searching now for a new host respecting their customers.

Go Daddy is NOT recommended by Osama. This person does NOT recommend Go Daddy.
› Overall Rating ››    60.00% 
Reviewed on January 11th, 2010 at 04:48 EST by Osama
Customer for duration of 3 - 5 months
IP Address: 84.36.131.222
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
20 out of 20 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #48 out of 107 Go Daddy reviews
uptime & reliability
9.50
server & connection speed
9.40
technical support & knowledge
8.20
customer service & billing
0.00
price value for money
0.00
* ratings are out of 10

Go Daddy sucks!

After renewing for several years with Go Daddy, I was stunned that my "new" renewal rate was about $40 for one year. No way, Jose. I went through all sorts of crap trying to move my domain name to another host. It seemed like they were trying to make it as difficult as possible. I finally was able to change to domainsite.com, where I have another web site hosted. $9.95 per year. I still keep getting all sorts of spam from Go Daddy, despite the fact that I've emailed them several times, asking them to remove me from their email list, and telling them that the only thing they're accomplishing is to annoy me to the max.

In addition, Go Daddy's web site is so cluttered with junk that it's difficult to find what you want. I'm glad to be rid of them. Never again!

Biggest Con: They don't tell you that your renewal fee will increase BIG TIME!

Go Daddy is NOT recommended by Dottie Atwater. This person does NOT recommend Go Daddy.
› Overall Rating ››    0.00% 
Reviewed on December 9th, 2009 at 12:12 EST by Dottie Atwater
Customer for duration of 3 - 5 years
IP Address: 201.226.27.110
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Windows   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
23 out of 23 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #49 out of 107 Go Daddy reviews
uptime & reliability
9.00
server & connection speed
10.0
technical support & knowledge
10.0
customer service & billing
10.0
price value for money
10.0
* ratings are out of 10

Good is probably the best word

I've been with GoDaddy for the past year and am overall pleased with them. Initially I had a problem with my webpage not loading but after firing a few emails at them everything was sorted and now my webpage is fast and has never been down. However, their web interface is TERRIBLE and I mean Sony sonicstage type terrible! It's slow, confusing and a plain mess, but once you found what you want it works well enough; it's just a pain finding what you want. I like GoDaddy, especially for my small private site and they're relatively cheap too.

Biggest Pro: Fast
Biggest Con: Awful user interface

Go Daddy is recommended by Christopher Hall. This person recommends Go Daddy.
› Overall Rating ››    100.0% 
Reviewed on November 11th, 2009 at 09:31 EST by Christopher Hall
Customer for duration of 6 - 11 months
IP Address: 93.96.57.50
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: http://www.cyclefrance.co.uk/   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
21 out of 21 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #50 out of 107 Go Daddy reviews
link to this page   |   tell a friend about this web host
Host Gator - Host Unlimited Web Sites
Reseller Hosting - 50% Off
Host Unlimited Sites
Free Dedicated IP & Backups
90 Day Money Back Guarantee
Try it out for just $13.99/mo.
InMotion Hosting

Read what users say about InMotion Hosting!


For Users
Web Hosting Reviews
Submit Review
Advanced Search
All Web Hosts
Top Rated

Our Difference
Contact


Free Newsletter
For Hosts
Host Log-in
Create Account
Generate Links
Get More Exposure


New Reviews
Go Daddy
000webhost
Just Host
WebHostingPad
EasyCGI
BlueFur
SkyNet Hosting
Arvixe
HostSo
VPSDepot
ADDR
Lunarpages
Quick2Host
WebIntellects
KVC Hosting
SiteGround
A Small Orange
ServerSea
StoresOnline
HostPapa


Other
Website Thumbnails
This site is powered by Host Gator.
Copyright © 1999-2016 WebHostingReviews.com. All Rights Reserved.
All reviews, content, graphics, logos, design, and scripts, are the sole property of WebHostingReviews.com, and
may not be used without prior written consent from us. All violations will be prosecuted to the maximum extent possible under the law.
Last Update: June 20th, 2016 at 15:01 EST / This site has a total of 3,441 web hosting reviews, based on 529 different web hosting companies.