Go Daddy

Visit Go Daddy Visit Go Daddy   Write your own Go Daddy review. Write your own Go Daddy review.
43 out of 107 (or 40% of) people recommend Go Daddy.
 › Rating Averages ››
Uptime & Reliability Server & Connection Speed Price Value for Money
6.99 / 10.0 6.56 / 10.0 5.36 / 10.0
Technical Support & Knowledge Customer Service & Billing
5.30 / 10.0 5.18 / 10.0
Go Daddy
› Overall Rating ››    49.88% 
How are ratings calculated? 
  • Analyze this Page for Me
Showing 31 to 40 out of 107 reviews.   Filter Reviews
Page Relevancy
Review Quality 100%
What's
this?

Go Daddy reviews

uptime & reliability
9.50
server & connection speed
8.00
technical support & knowledge
8.00
customer service & billing
5.00
price value for money
0.00
* ratings are out of 10

In the name of the Elephant - goodbye GoDaddy

I just watched GoDaddy CEO, Bob Parsons, ambush, shoot and kill and African elephant.
So I'm done with GoDaddy.com as my web hosting service.
Below is the video link to Bob's "hunt".
http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2011/03/31/bob-parsons-godaddy-ceo-elephant-hunt_n_843121.html
QUESTION: What else has Bob killed?
I'll tell you one thing Bob killed - and that's any interest I have in being a customer of his business.
In the name of the Elephant...

Biggest Con: Bob Parsons - CEO & Great White Hunter

Go Daddy is NOT recommended by Mark Flynn. This person does NOT recommend Go Daddy.
› Overall Rating ››    0.00% 
Reviewed on April 1st, 2011 at 13:13 EST by Mark Flynn
Customer for duration of 3 - 5 years
IP Address: 63.135.199.173
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Windows   Domain: http://www.markflynn.biz/   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
17 out of 17 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #31 out of 107 Go Daddy reviews
uptime & reliability
7.00
server & connection speed
7.00
technical support & knowledge
0.00
customer service & billing
0.00
price value for money
0.00
* ratings are out of 10

STAY AWAY FROM GODADDY

This company should be banned only for its illicit practices. The main reason I quit was the complete lack of CS especially from the technical side. The only thing GD CS knows is copy-pasting pages that they may think could be relevant to your problem. I send them at least 10 tickets during my first month: it would take them 24h to tell me I needed to submit some security code in order to receive an answer and then another 24 h to copy paste staff irrelevant to my issue. When I would follow up on the same technical issue they would simply recopy-re-paste the same crap without a sign of personal attention. A couple of my tickets were not even answered.

When I decided to quit I naively thought that this company has some refund policy in place. I asked CS and they said they would be happy to request a refund on my behalf as if they were working for another company. They instructed me to cancel my subscription first and then they would request a refund (PAY ATTENTION, they don't offer a refund because in their terms of service all sales are final and not refundable). When I got into the process of cancelling my sad hosting plan of 3 years that I stupidly got myself into, I was presented with an alarm page that if I cancel I am not entitled to a refund !!!!

IMAGINE: CS tells you go cancel your account to qualify for a refund and when you attempt to cancel you are told you are not allowed to a refund !!! YES, THIS IS HOW GD DOES BUSINESS

I am not sure if I will ever get a refund and how skimmed it will be but GD is more of an CON-ARTIST DADDY. Once you are in, you are all by yourself. Unless you are good with server configurations, forget it, it's a Do It Yourself thing.

GD sucks, I mean it, because no matter how good you are with IT, sooner or later you will need tech support and GD doesn't do tech, only sells aggressively to naive folks like me who fall for 4G hype.

Go Daddy is NOT recommended by tassos. This person does NOT recommend Go Daddy.
› Overall Rating ››    40.00% 
Reviewed on March 29th, 2011 at 10:03 EST by tassos
Customer for duration of Less than 1 month
IP Address: 195.193.177.214
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
14 out of 14 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #32 out of 107 Go Daddy reviews
uptime & reliability
8.20
server & connection speed
8.20
technical support & knowledge
6.00
customer service & billing
2.60
price value for money
0.00
* ratings are out of 10

GO DADDY Worse Than Qaddafi

What a tyrant godaddy is. It's not bad enough that they block userts in Syria, etc, etc, etc, from seeing the sites. If you find yourself traveling to these countries you are completly blocked from your web interface, email, hosting, uploads, etc MEANING you are 100 percent OUT OF BUSINESS until you leave the country. Even services like NINja Cloak will nto gain you access. I am ready to SUEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE!

Assholes, demons, pigs, tyrants, censors, idiots!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Go Daddy is NOT recommended by JAmes. This person does NOT recommend Go Daddy.
› Overall Rating ››    0.00% 
Reviewed on March 15th, 2011 at 15:28 EST by JAmes
Customer for duration of 1 - 2 years
IP Address: 178.52.156.99
Type of Plan: Dedicated   Platform: Linux   Domain: http://www.saddiqirose.com/   Email: goodproductions@fastmail.fm
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
17 out of 17 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #33 out of 107 Go Daddy reviews
uptime & reliability
9.00
server & connection speed
9.00
technical support & knowledge
5.00
customer service & billing
4.00
price value for money
8.00
* ratings are out of 10

Go Daddy Sucks

My business partner and I fell for the hype. We thought that we would get great service and flexibility with Go Daddy and all we ended up with is nonsense. Go Daddy puts up an advertising banner on your site. If you try to remove it they put it back up and warn you that removing it violates your terms of use. It makes your site look like crap.

They also implemented this thing called website tonight. This only allows you to used the limited templates that they provide, You also can't use raw HTML, and they charge you an additional $4.99 + per month.

Their customer service is rude and doesn't seem to really care about what you have to say. We are looking into transferring our domain and hosting it on our own server.

STAY AWAY FROM GO DADDY,

Tim

Biggest Pro: Great for amatuers or hobbyists
Biggest Con: Bad for people running serious websites

Go Daddy is NOT recommended by Tim . This person does NOT recommend Go Daddy.
› Overall Rating ››    70.00% 
Reviewed on February 26th, 2011 at 18:03 EST by Tim
Customer for duration of 6 - 11 months
IP Address: 75.67.76.140
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Windows   Domain: http://www.masspcrepair.com/   Email: tim@masspcrepair.com
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
18 out of 18 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #34 out of 107 Go Daddy reviews
uptime & reliability
1.00
server & connection speed
1.00
technical support & knowledge
5.00
customer service & billing
0.00
price value for money
1.00
* ratings are out of 10

steer clear if you use mysql

I wish I had read these reviews before I signed up with godaddy. like most who have written reviews, I found that the performance was horrible. My site has been with goddady for a little over a month, and I haven't launched it yet so the only traffic hitting it is me testing it, and I periodically get mysql errors stating it couldn't connect to the mysql database. I guess for $4.99/month you get what you pay for, but I have to wonder why anyone would sell a service that simply doesn't work, regardless of price?

my advice would be to steer clear of godaddy if your site uses dynamic content.

Biggest Pro: cron, ssh, phpmyadmin
Biggest Con: performance sucks!

Go Daddy is NOT recommended by tim howard. This person does NOT recommend Go Daddy.
› Overall Rating ››    10.00% 
Reviewed on January 27th, 2011 at 12:35 EST by tim howard
Customer for duration of 1 - 2 months
IP Address: 96.32.16.225
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
20 out of 20 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #35 out of 107 Go Daddy reviews
uptime & reliability
10.0
server & connection speed
2.00
technical support & knowledge
5.00
customer service & billing
5.00
price value for money
8.00
* ratings are out of 10

GoDaddy not Going very fast..

Had my site hosted here for the past 2 years (up until today)... I run a joomla cms site which uses php and mysql and its not a very popular site, just something I threw together for work. I was getting 20 - 30 second load times per page.. just getting to my site it took almost a full minute to load up everything. I called godaddy's customer service and they recommended I try getting a semi-dedicated account. It seemed my php scripts weren't optimized and I was hitting the cpu governor on my account. That didn't seem right as like I said my site isn't very popular and its joomla, not that cpu intensive, but I went ahead anyway just to see if it made any improvement.. They switched my account to a semi-dedicated hosting solution that had 9 other customers on it. I had full ssh access (which was really nice!) and could monitor my scripts cpu usage and all. They even gave me a big discount on the hosting solution ($120 a year where normally it was $33 a month, but I was paying $89 a year for delux hosting)..

This however did not resolve the problem, it did give me slightly faster load times 5 - 10 seconds per page and 25 seconds on the initial load of my site (note my site does not have a lot of graphics or anything major going on so there is no reason why it should take this long to do anything with it).. Aggravated, I didn't bother calling back their customer service, I shouldn't have had to after upgrading.

Yesterday was my renewal date for my contract, I decided to test out my own server at home with the site I had hosted on godaddy... I loaded up my content and database, and used my tethered cell phone connection to test access (testing it locally through my lan wouldn't have been a fair test). My local server (an old semprion 1.4ghz with 512mb of ram running win7, IIS + php and mysql) loaded my page in about 8 seconds flat (compaired to godaddy's 25+ seconds) and page loads were 4 - 5 second load times.. My net connection my home server is on is only cable and doesn't have a static ip.

So I payed an extra 30 a year for a few seconds quicker load time.. yeah I won't be going back to godaddy and I don't recommend anyone else use them either. (Oh another bad thing all their adds on their login page are soo friggin annoying hard to navigate and get to stuff you need to manage your account)

Biggest Pro: Customer service was friendly enough, ssh access
Biggest Con: Slow load times on even a basic html page.. ads, ads and more ads good luck finding your management area after you login

Go Daddy is NOT recommended by Ralph Cross. This person does NOT recommend Go Daddy.
› Overall Rating ››    60.00% 
Reviewed on January 22nd, 2011 at 01:30 EST by Ralph Cross
Customer for duration of 1 - 2 years
IP Address: 206.53.11.78
Type of Plan: Semi Dedicated   Platform: Linux   Domain: http://www.kermitspad.com/   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
20 out of 20 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #36 out of 107 Go Daddy reviews
uptime & reliability
9.00
server & connection speed
8.50
technical support & knowledge
2.50
customer service & billing
2.00
price value for money
2.00
* ratings are out of 10

poor customer service

what was once one of the best is now one of the worst hosting sites available. I signed a long term agreement with them, and it was a big mistake. Their price is good, but the service is BAD! Avoid at all cost, you get what you pay for. remember I told you so.

Biggest Pro: price,uptime
Biggest Con: everything else

Go Daddy is NOT recommended by Chris Murphy. This person does NOT recommend Go Daddy.
› Overall Rating ››    30.00% 
Reviewed on January 11th, 2011 at 14:22 EST by Chris Murphy
Customer for duration of More than 5 years
IP Address: 97.82.243.55
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Windows   Domain: http://www.oldehickorywoodworks.com/   Email: crmurphy714@hotmail.com
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
17 out of 17 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #37 out of 107 Go Daddy reviews
uptime & reliability
1.00
server & connection speed
5.00
technical support & knowledge
1.10
customer service & billing
1.00
price value for money
1.00
* ratings are out of 10

Support line

I signed up with these people based on a recommendation
There support line has been down for 2 days!
I get email to call the number and I get a "not accepting calls at this time"
I think this firm does not have adequate support resources. I am

Biggest Con: You get what you pay for,,,

Go Daddy is NOT recommended by Bryan. This person does NOT recommend Go Daddy.
› Overall Rating ››    20.00% 
Reviewed on January 7th, 2011 at 02:33 EST by Bryan
Customer for duration of 1 - 2 months
IP Address: 97.94.102.167
Type of Plan: Virtual Private Servers   Platform: Windows   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
18 out of 18 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #38 out of 107 Go Daddy reviews
uptime & reliability
0.00
server & connection speed
3.00
technical support & knowledge
1.00
customer service & billing
1.00
price value for money
4.00
* ratings are out of 10

Go Daddy -POOR web hosting. Stay away

They show no mercy to me when they kept my site down for 48+ hours. I made 8 phone calls asking for the ETA. Each one would say a different time but the promises were never met.

My visitors were getting error "Forbidden" error.

Speaking to the supervisor, he spoke to me like a cop, asking what did I put on their machine? Heck!! I am getting the hell out of godaddy.com. If you care about uptime and reliability, stay away from GoDaddy.

Go Daddy is NOT recommended by Alr Sab. This person does NOT recommend Go Daddy.
› Overall Rating ››    0.00% 
Reviewed on December 8th, 2010 at 13:47 EST by Alr Sab
Customer for duration of 3 - 5 years
IP Address: 64.125.80.160
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
18 out of 18 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #39 out of 107 Go Daddy reviews
uptime & reliability
9.90
server & connection speed
8.50
technical support & knowledge
9.50
customer service & billing
9.50
price value for money
9.60
* ratings are out of 10

Guess I was one of the lucky ones.

While I don't technically own the plan, my buddy and I have been hosting at Go Daddy for over a year now. The uptime is great and the speed is pretty quick also. Nothing totally ridiculous, but our site loads up in a little over two seconds on a good high speed connection. The home page of the domain attached queries two separate databases and displays them in a reasonable time with PHP. The guy that funds the operation initially signed up for a Website Tonight (their super-basic web design program) plan which I recommend you all stay away from. They're overpriced and do not offer much storage, something I taught him through example that we needed. Also, they cap the amount of data transfered and do not offer you databases. Those plans are really designed for static HTML pages, which hardly anyone uses anymore. Besides, you can design a better website in Microsoft Word. Go for the raw hosting plan and you should be just fine, especially since they recently released the data cap on all of them! The control panel is easy to use, but a bit redundant between the navigation bar up top and the javascript navigation below. Deleting one of these would make the load a bit lighter.

This is more of a limitation of shared hosting instead of just Go Daddy's shared hosting plans, but I initially wanted to set up a live audio stream via Shoutcast. Well, turns out Go Daddy blocks all the ports except those required by standard website loading (port 25 (or 22, I always forget) for FTP, 80 for standard HTTP access, and 443 for HTTPS, once you install shopping cart software, and the port required for mail serving), for very good security reasons. I also tried their relay servers, but I forgot that the Shoutcast software should probably run on those servers to relay our original feed; and as such, self-hosted Shoutcast is an impossibility. They're pretty big on security too, understandably so. If you call and ask, they won't open up any ports for you or install extra software on their relay servers. They will recommend that you upgrade to VPS or dedicated hosting however, without any form of hestitation! Go figure... Free SSH access is always nice.

I have been a "fix issues yourself" guy for quite some time, but the few times I called the support line, I always got good support. They were native English speakers and simple to understand, and phrase things rather simply. I noted above they are sticklers for security. Before you even get help, you have to list off a domain you own as well as your credit card number. Since I don't finance the operation; I was able to scrape by with just listing off a few domains, as more than one are hosted off the same account.

Billing I have a little issue with. I recently found out my partner has yet to point an unused domain to a folder on our server. As a result, he kept paying for a product he never used and never actually had a clue he was not using it. Go Daddy wouldn't tell him. Rolling through the configuration panel helped me figure this out.

Overall it's pretty good for the money. I have seen cheaper hosting plans but many of their customers gripe about support, uptime, not honoring their money-back guarantees, speed, etc. The more "expensive" shared hosting plans were actually on par with these plans, except when you go one or six months at a time. That's when your value goes down the drain. While I'm sure Go Daddy isn't without flaws (the advertising budget, primarily), most of the bad customer support complaints come from the 2008-2009 era. I have yet to encounter bad support.

Biggest Pro: Uptime, reliability, support, speed

Go Daddy is recommended by Brandon Backlin. This person recommends Go Daddy.
› Overall Rating ››    97.00% 
Reviewed on November 30th, 2010 at 20:35 EST by Brandon Backlin
Customer for duration of 1 - 2 years
IP Address: 198.209.163.239
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: http://www.wearechangebranson.com/   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
17 out of 17 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #40 out of 107 Go Daddy reviews
link to this page   |   tell a friend about this web host
Host Gator - Host Unlimited Web Sites
Reseller Hosting - 50% Off
Host Unlimited Sites
Free Dedicated IP & Backups
90 Day Money Back Guarantee
Try it out for just $13.99/mo.
InMotion Hosting

Read what users say about InMotion Hosting!


For Users
Web Hosting Reviews
Submit Review
Advanced Search
All Web Hosts
Top Rated

Our Difference
Contact


Free Newsletter
For Hosts
Host Log-in
Create Account
Generate Links
Get More Exposure


New Reviews
Go Daddy
000webhost
Just Host
WebHostingPad
EasyCGI
BlueFur
SkyNet Hosting
Arvixe
HostSo
VPSDepot
ADDR
Lunarpages
Quick2Host
WebIntellects
KVC Hosting
SiteGround
A Small Orange
ServerSea
StoresOnline
HostPapa


Other
Website Thumbnails
This site is powered by Host Gator.
Copyright © 1999-2016 WebHostingReviews.com. All Rights Reserved.
All reviews, content, graphics, logos, design, and scripts, are the sole property of WebHostingReviews.com, and
may not be used without prior written consent from us. All violations will be prosecuted to the maximum extent possible under the law.
Last Update: June 20th, 2016 at 15:01 EST / This site has a total of 3,441 web hosting reviews, based on 529 different web hosting companies.