Go Daddy

Visit Go Daddy Visit Go Daddy   Write your own Go Daddy review. Write your own Go Daddy review.
43 out of 107 (or 40% of) people recommend Go Daddy.
 › Rating Averages ››
Uptime & Reliability Server & Connection Speed Price Value for Money
6.99 / 10.0 6.56 / 10.0 5.36 / 10.0
Technical Support & Knowledge Customer Service & Billing
5.30 / 10.0 5.18 / 10.0
Go Daddy
› Overall Rating ››    49.88% 
How are ratings calculated? 
  • Analyze this Page for Me
Showing 11 to 20 out of 107 reviews.   Filter Reviews
Page Relevancy
Review Quality 100%
What's
this?

Go Daddy reviews

uptime & reliability
8.00
server & connection speed
10.0
technical support & knowledge
8.00
customer service & billing
8.00
price value for money
4.00
* ratings are out of 10

Hard to Update

My main complaint about Go Daddy's Website Builder Tool is that it is way too hard to update and format content. We have a couple moderately complex pages with embedded tables. Controlling the formatting of the text seems to be a crap shoot - I have yet to figure out the secret of how different text fonts get determined. At times, I've been unable to override the defaults. Positioning of content on the pages is unwieldy and should be a lot easier to control.

Additionally, linking uploaded content is tedious because the selection box displays only about 5 uploaded files or documents at a time. We have dozens of uploaded files, so searching through the alphabetized list when you've loaded something new is cumbersome.

I'm not sure I've ever gotten the website backup feature to work... it seems to run forever and never complete. I've always ended up canceling the backup and just published the new pages - and hoped for the best.

We have not noticed performance issues, and have been able to work tech support when we had a problem. The overall is pretty low primarily because content maintenance is so cumbersome.

Biggest Pro: Seems to have all the functionality we need.
Biggest Con: Content maintenance is very cumbersome

Go Daddy is NOT recommended by Steve Curulla. This person does NOT recommend Go Daddy.
› Overall Rating ››    30.00% 
Reviewed on July 27th, 2013 at 11:01 EST by Steve Curulla
Customer for duration of 3 - 5 years
IP Address: 108.75.66.115
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: http://www.goldstandardchorus.com/   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
15 out of 15 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #11 out of 107 Go Daddy reviews
uptime & reliability
0.00
server & connection speed
0.00
technical support & knowledge
0.00
customer service & billing
0.00
price value for money
0.00
* ratings are out of 10

realy realy realy bad

Six weeks ago I built my second website, my first with go daddy. It was a terrible experience go daddy's software just doesn't work and when I tried to find a solution on their site the information they had was for older versions of their software. Next I tried calling their tech support but their tech's are also their sales staff and they just read you the same information you found on their sight that didn't work, next they tell You are doing something wrong and email you the same useless information that you read on the site to start with.
Todays great challenge was adding five words to my footer text, here is how it went; First I typed in the text it was the wrong size so I reset the size this time the size was correct but the color was wrong now I change the color and the text moves up to the top of the page. I chased the problem around a few more times but each time I changed one thing something else would also change.
Ok now it is time to call tech support so I go to the bathroom and get myself a cup of tea dial up their number and wait. When tech support answers the phone I explain the problem and they look at the problem (their software will not let me look at what they are doing) but they tell me the problem is solved. Now I must log in again and when I look at the site it looks like I want it to look so I publish and the front is the wrong color, I will not bore you with the rest of todays story but let me say this a very simple site I am trying to publish, http://generatorrepairorlando.com/ is a very basic site and they can not even take care of it.

Biggest Pro: Danica looks good in green
Biggest Con: Nothing works

Go Daddy is NOT recommended by Ken Knapton. This person does NOT recommend Go Daddy.
› Overall Rating ››    0.00% 
Reviewed on May 1st, 2013 at 18:49 EST by Ken Knapton
Customer for duration of 1 - 2 months
IP Address: 71.53.135.6
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Windows   Domain: http://www.generatorrepairorlando.com/   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
17 out of 17 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #12 out of 107 Go Daddy reviews
uptime & reliability
8.00
server & connection speed
8.00
technical support & knowledge
0.90
customer service & billing
0.00
price value for money
0.00
* ratings are out of 10

Be afraid!!! Be VERY afraid!

I have been a GoDaddy user for several years. I signed up for their online web storage and their support was almost nonexistent. I emailed them to cancel the service and they sent back a set of instructions that I had to do myself to cancel the service. BUT when I signed up for the online storage all I did was call them, but when I wanted to stop it they make me work for them! I followed the instructions and a few days later I tried going onto my web site and all I got was the ‘parked domain’ display screen from GoDaddy. I emailed them and they said there was no web site online because I had cancelled my hosting services with them. BTW – I am fully paid with them for all my hosting services through the end of 2013 so why would anyone at GoDaddy think I would want to cancel all my services when I had just emailed them to cancel only their useless Online storage!!?? They have no direct phone support and their email support has been just a series of scripted ‘canned’ responses almost every time I have needed assistance. Now with this monumental screw up where they totally took down my web site I am positive the place is run by a total group of IDIOTS! I am looking for another web hosting company and my lawyer will deal with the money I lost by them taking down my site etc. My suggestion… stays as far away from GoDaddy as you can unless you like being ‘screwed by idiots’!!!

Biggest Pro: there is no biggest pro point for Go Daddy
Biggest Con: their nonexixstent customer service

Go Daddy is NOT recommended by Digital San Diego. This person does NOT recommend Go Daddy.
› Overall Rating ››    0.00% 
Reviewed on October 6th, 2012 at 12:26 EST by Digital San Diego
Customer for duration of 3 - 5 years
IP Address: 68.7.8.235
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Windows   Domain: http://www.digitalsandiego.com/   Email: digitalsandiego@gmail.com
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
21 out of 21 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #13 out of 107 Go Daddy reviews
uptime & reliability
0.00
server & connection speed
0.00
technical support & knowledge
0.00
customer service & billing
0.00
price value for money
0.00
* ratings are out of 10

Incompetent Service @ GoDaddy

They took down the website without proper & thorough investigation of a "competitor's" complaint letter. Godaddy sent a notification to contact them after the website had been taken down. Contacted customer service and was instructed to write an explanation based on complaint. Request was fulfilled immediately; but they still kept the website down. 48 hours later, they did not restore the service until letter was sent giving Go Daddy an ultimatum of restoring service at noon or legal action would ensue. Website went up at noon.
This company is unreliable, untrustworthy & has pathetic customer service.
See for yourself. Check out "Carl", a bragging godaddy employee; probably the same guy who sent notification after the fact; bragging about this type of abuse on his twitter page: https://twitter.com/GoDaddy/statuses/218197158191579137

Response by Mike, who is a staff member of Go Daddy:

Lisa,

I do not have the full details of your particular situation in order to determine exactly why your account was suspended. However, it sounds like it may have been suspended due to a DMCA (Digital Millennium Copyright Act) notice. In accordance with the DMCA, Go Daddy is obligated to restrict all access to disputed materials in an expeditious manner. As such, it would be necessary for us to suspend the hosting account in question to ensure the copyrighted materials could not be further distributed or viewed. All hosting providers who wish to remain DMCA compliant will disable access for a site that is the subject of a complete copyright notification. Your concerns have already been addressed directly by our Copyright Department. However, I hope that this helps to clarify any remaining confusion with respect to DMCA process.

Posted on July 17th, 2012 at 16:19 EST
Go Daddy is NOT recommended by Lisa. This person does NOT recommend Go Daddy.
› Overall Rating ››    0.00% 
Reviewed on July 13th, 2012 at 17:09 EST by Lisa
Customer for duration of 3 - 5 years
IP Address: 74.115.208.59
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Windows   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
17 out of 17 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #14 out of 107 Go Daddy reviews
uptime & reliability
2.00
server & connection speed
5.00
technical support & knowledge
1.00
customer service & billing
2.00
price value for money
1.50
* ratings are out of 10

Godaddy.com is fine for getting domains, but useless at hosting

Hosting at godaddy.com is extremely frustrating. I have had web site hosting for over fifteen years and this is one of the worst sites if you have anything but a simple five page site. For those, this site might be OK.
Their tools crash more often than Evil Knievel. Hosting complex sites should be eliminated from their offerings, because they cannot handle complex sites. Their only interest is to extract as much money from you in the shortest period of time with the least amount of effort on their part.

Biggest Pro: They are very good at selling their domains
Biggest Con: They are horrible at hosting

Go Daddy is NOT recommended by Arthur Tafero. This person does NOT recommend Go Daddy.
› Overall Rating ››    15.00% 
Reviewed on March 25th, 2012 at 07:10 EST by Arthur Tafero
Customer for duration of 3 - 5 months
IP Address: 110.87.0.66
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: http://www.askmrmovies.com/   Email: atafero@gmail.com
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
19 out of 19 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #15 out of 107 Go Daddy reviews
uptime & reliability
7.90
server & connection speed
5.00
technical support & knowledge
3.00
customer service & billing
6.00
price value for money
3.00
* ratings are out of 10

Go away from godaddy

The uptime is not as advertised.
The support sucks. I have to send at least 3 emails referring to the same issue. I do not know if those people are being paid by the emails they send. Rarely the support team solve the problem.

I seriously think to change hosting company.

Biggest Con: not essential support

Go Daddy is NOT recommended by christos. This person does NOT recommend Go Daddy.
› Overall Rating ››    40.00% 
Reviewed on March 17th, 2012 at 04:25 EST by christos
Customer for duration of 6 - 11 months
IP Address: 180.112.64.120
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Windows   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
14 out of 14 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #16 out of 107 Go Daddy reviews
uptime & reliability
0.10
server & connection speed
2.50
technical support & knowledge
1.00
customer service & billing
2.00
price value for money
2.00
* ratings are out of 10

You be the judge

You be the Judge - here is my experience, Feb 17, 2012

Bought multiple domains & deluxe hosting plan on GoDaddy in 2007. Since then I was a loyal customer knowing that there are better hosting options. In the past 4 years I have opened roughly 9 incident tickets, out of those tickets 7 were opened between Jan 28, 2012 and Feb 12, 2012.For recent isssues
I was told:
1. It is your code problem (not changed since 2007)
2. It is your incorrect htaccess file (nochange 2009)
3. It is the mysql database design that is causing the problem
4. The server may be having traffic issues 5. WE CANT HELP YOU AS WE CANNOT REPRODUCE THE ISSUE
6. SORRY to hear about the problem but our tests indicate no issue
7. It is your ISP (I tried Comcast, Verizon, ATNT)
8. Move to our new servers I took the advice#8 - opened a new hosting account with GoDaddy - could not login as the server was in a lock down mode and was not available for 72 hours - so I had a down site & new hosting account that I could not access.

Moved to a new hosting vendor - ALL good Now

AVOID GODaddy at all cost to save yourself from the kind of aggravation I have gone through - In all 15 hours of holding on the phone we NO result.

Go Daddy is NOT recommended by Raj S.. This person does NOT recommend Go Daddy.
› Overall Rating ››    20.00% 
Reviewed on February 17th, 2012 at 09:27 EST by Raj S.
Customer for duration of 3 - 5 years
IP Address: 24.0.91.194
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
16 out of 16 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #17 out of 107 Go Daddy reviews
uptime & reliability
2.00
server & connection speed
3.00
technical support & knowledge
7.00
customer service & billing
7.00
price value for money
6.90
* ratings are out of 10

Avoid Godaddy

I've been hosting with Godaddy for several years. Each time we've had a problem ie web site crash, I've ended up upgrading to a more expensive option. When our site went down for over 24 hours, they had not answer except they are working on it. This is inexcusable for such a large corporation. I ended up upgrading again to a dedicated server and this still was slow! They have very friendly customer service reps but TERRIBLE technology, in my experience. I have spent hours with them on the phone and all because of problems they are subjected us to (including blacklisted sites on the same server which caused us issues). We still use Godaddy for our email server and that too has awful track record and we at times are not able to login to Webmail and there are traffic spikes which means that our emails are not delivered for hours. Such a disappointment overall, and I will be switching mail servers once we find something good. We are now with Catalyst2 for web hosting which has proved to be excellent. I would say avoid Godaddy if at all possible.

Biggest Pro: Cheap
Biggest Con: Web servers crashed

Go Daddy is NOT recommended by Sheri Jacobson. This person does NOT recommend Go Daddy.
› Overall Rating ››    30.00% 
Reviewed on January 4th, 2012 at 14:06 EST by Sheri Jacobson
Customer for duration of 3 - 5 years
IP Address: 173.199.208.137
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
16 out of 16 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #18 out of 107 Go Daddy reviews
uptime & reliability
0.90
server & connection speed
0.90
technical support & knowledge
0.00
customer service & billing
0.00
price value for money
0.00
* ratings are out of 10

Go Daddy is a waste of time

Cannot get anything done except wait on the phone
All they do is try to sell you more stuff and waste your time supporting what you already paid for.
Submitted 2 small changes and guess what, never got done.
Last time I use Go Daddy

Biggest Pro: None
Biggest Con: Dream Team cannot get anything done right

Go Daddy is NOT recommended by Keith Novak. This person does NOT recommend Go Daddy.
› Overall Rating ››    1.00% 
Reviewed on December 12th, 2011 at 18:24 EST by Keith Novak
Customer for duration of 1 - 2 years
IP Address: 24.125.166.131
Type of Plan: Dedicated   Platform: Windows   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
14 out of 14 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #19 out of 107 Go Daddy reviews
uptime & reliability
5.80
server & connection speed
4.90
technical support & knowledge
1.10
customer service & billing
4.50
price value for money
2.00
* ratings are out of 10

They changed and they don't even know it.

Over the last few days/weeks, access to my hosted files has slowed more each day. Today I accessed the ftp File Manager to upload revisions to my web pages. I was faced with a changed File Manager. ONE FILE AT A TIME! I called to see what was going on. The Tech Support guy said, "I've been here over a year now and it has always been that way." WRONG!! (Unless one of us woke up in a new purple sky-ed world today.) I tried to transfer my files with their JAVA FTP client. When it loaded on my computer, an error message popped up. I followed the Tech Support guy's instructions and over-rode the warning. I went on in, transferred a few files, I thought. they never transferred. Then my computer locked up. I had to reboot. They suddenly were seen as a large black hole in the hosting universe. That is to say they now suck.

Good uptime. Poor reliability of file transfer. Poor Support Tech knowledge of product\/service. NO problem with billing, I was on auto-renew by Credit card. Price is OK, but value suddenly tanked.

Biggest Pro: Quick phone service.....IF they are not busy.
Biggest Con: Changes to protocols withour advising client (me).

Go Daddy is NOT recommended by Mike. This person does NOT recommend Go Daddy.
› Overall Rating ››    30.00% 
Reviewed on October 14th, 2011 at 11:34 EST by Mike
Customer for duration of More than 5 years
IP Address: 67.6.25.165
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: http://www.rankandfile.org/   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
14 out of 14 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #20 out of 107 Go Daddy reviews
link to this page   |   tell a friend about this web host
Host Gator - Host Unlimited Web Sites
Reseller Hosting - 50% Off
Host Unlimited Sites
Free Dedicated IP & Backups
90 Day Money Back Guarantee
Try it out for just $13.99/mo.
InMotion Hosting

Read what users say about InMotion Hosting!


For Users
Web Hosting Reviews
Submit Review
Advanced Search
All Web Hosts
Top Rated

Our Difference
Contact


Free Newsletter
For Hosts
Host Log-in
Create Account
Generate Links
Get More Exposure


New Reviews
Go Daddy
000webhost
Just Host
WebHostingPad
EasyCGI
BlueFur
SkyNet Hosting
Arvixe
HostSo
VPSDepot
ADDR
Lunarpages
Quick2Host
WebIntellects
KVC Hosting
SiteGround
A Small Orange
ServerSea
StoresOnline
HostPapa


Other
Website Thumbnails
This site is powered by Host Gator.
Copyright © 1999-2016 WebHostingReviews.com. All Rights Reserved.
All reviews, content, graphics, logos, design, and scripts, are the sole property of WebHostingReviews.com, and
may not be used without prior written consent from us. All violations will be prosecuted to the maximum extent possible under the law.
Last Update: June 20th, 2016 at 15:01 EST / This site has a total of 3,441 web hosting reviews, based on 529 different web hosting companies.