FreeHostia

Visit FreeHostia Visit FreeHostia   Write your own FreeHostia review. Write your own FreeHostia review.
6 out of 16 (or 38% of) people recommend FreeHostia.
 › Rating Averages ››
Uptime & Reliability Server & Connection Speed Price Value for Money
4.42 / 10.0 5.15 / 10.0 4.77 / 10.0
Technical Support & Knowledge Customer Service & Billing
4.91 / 10.0 5.81 / 10.0
FreeHostia
› Overall Rating ››    44.63% 
How are ratings calculated? 
  • Analyze this Page for Me
Showing 1 to 10 out of 16 reviews.   Filter Reviews
Page Relevancy
Review Quality 100%
What's
this?
« Prev 1 2

FreeHostia reviews

uptime & reliability
0.00
server & connection speed
0.00
technical support & knowledge
0.00
customer service & billing
0.00
price value for money
0.00
* ratings are out of 10

A Cheating Company

We had subscribed for annual subscription to host our website, the hosting did not support drupal features as freehostia was not updated to latest features, so I abandoned the hosting and forgot to cancel the subscription. The next year it was automatically charged for other 1 year, I requested them to cancel the renewal for other one year, they refused and cheated the whole amount.

FreeHostia is NOT recommended by Rajini kanth. This person does NOT recommend FreeHostia.
› Overall Rating ››    0.00% 
Reviewed on September 9th, 2015 at 02:40 EST by Rajini kanth
Customer for duration of 1 - 2 years
IP Address: 122.171.199.55
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #1 out of 16 FreeHostia reviews
uptime & reliability
0.00
server & connection speed
0.00
technical support & knowledge
0.00
customer service & billing
0.00
price value for money
0.00
* ratings are out of 10

Worse company to deal with do not waste your money or time

Our company is in the process of reporting this company to BBB and the Consumer Fraud Unit. After trying to get technical support to reset our password to make some changes with over 10 email they do not have good technical support at all. My advice is take your hosting where you can get a good support.
I will keep everyone informed our our report with BBB and Consumer fraud Unit.

FreeHostia is NOT recommended by Ricardo Morales. This person does NOT recommend FreeHostia.
› Overall Rating ››    0.00% 
Reviewed on July 24th, 2015 at 07:58 EST by Ricardo Morales
Customer for duration of 1 - 2 years
IP Address: 68.205.17.93
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Windows   Domain: http://www.popularrealestate.net/   Email: rickmoralesrealtor@yahoo.com
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #2 out of 16 FreeHostia reviews
uptime & reliability
3.00
server & connection speed
3.00
technical support & knowledge
0.00
customer service & billing
0.00
price value for money
2.00
* ratings are out of 10

terrible service.

Very bad! The free package is totally useless 500k file size limit, cannot send mail via PHP, and cannot hotlink. Decided to give them the benefit of the doubt and upgrade my package, only to be blocked immediately, because I happen to use a different IP addresses to access paypal(!?) and they didn't like my domain name!!? Avoid like the plague!!

FreeHostia is NOT recommended by Jay. This person does NOT recommend FreeHostia.
› Overall Rating ››    20.00% 
Reviewed on November 9th, 2014 at 14:50 EST by Jay
Customer for duration of Less than 1 month
IP Address: 2.91.42.220
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #3 out of 16 FreeHostia reviews
uptime & reliability
1.00
server & connection speed
1.00
technical support & knowledge
5.00
customer service & billing
4.00
price value for money
0.00
* ratings are out of 10

Freehostia, no way to stay hosted.....

I began with the free hosting=>ok
I paid for more service=>ok
They migrated on new server=>ko
Web site hacking=>ko
They wasn'y able to solve the issue=>ko
I quit freehostia for better service and lower price=>ok

FreeHostia is NOT recommended by emmanuel GARZIA. This person does NOT recommend FreeHostia.
› Overall Rating ››    16.00% 
Reviewed on November 6th, 2013 at 14:55 EST by emmanuel GARZIA
Customer for duration of 1 - 2 years
IP Address: 109.217.245.233
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #4 out of 16 FreeHostia reviews
uptime & reliability
6.20
server & connection speed
8.00
technical support & knowledge
9.00
customer service & billing
9.00
price value for money
9.00
* ratings are out of 10

Geting worst each day

Definitely must change -FAST- to other web hosting company, support is exelent, 10-15 minutes ticket answer, everything is ok, BUT TOO MANY DOWN TIMES A DAY, they last from10-15 mins to 45 mins, you get 2 or 3 a day, i have a pingdom account so thats how i know each time mi site gets down.

Biggest Pro: customer support
Biggest Con: TOO many down times

FreeHostia is NOT recommended by Angello. This person does NOT recommend FreeHostia.
› Overall Rating ››    70.00% 
Reviewed on July 17th, 2013 at 19:05 EST by Angello
Customer for duration of 1 - 2 years
IP Address: 187.149.229.9
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #5 out of 16 FreeHostia reviews
uptime & reliability
1.00
server & connection speed
1.40
technical support & knowledge
0.20
customer service & billing
0.10
price value for money
1.40
* ratings are out of 10

Avoid like a cyst.

Started as a free user. Decent enough, let me host a domain and have a mysql database with it ... unfortunately email was smtp only, (only receiving) and you couldn't use php ... after a year I upgraded ... worst mistake of my life ... all the small problems (only able to have one ftp upload connection at a time, massive downtimes, delayed and slow hosting speeds, etc, etc, etc) still remained. Use for free service, never pay . .... ALSO, should note, when I asked the support if they could stop sending me 2 to 3 e-mails DAILY for a month to renew my account, they suspended the account with 2 days remaining.

Biggest Pro: free is free
Biggest Con: everything else.

FreeHostia is NOT recommended by A customer no longer. This person does NOT recommend FreeHostia.
› Overall Rating ››    4.00% 
Reviewed on December 30th, 2011 at 18:47 EST by A customer no longer
Customer for duration of 3 - 5 years
IP Address: 184.79.135.245
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #6 out of 16 FreeHostia reviews
uptime & reliability
0.10
server & connection speed
4.00
technical support & knowledge
0.00
customer service & billing
7.40
price value for money
6.50
* ratings are out of 10

Stay far away from Freehostia

" I've been a customer for two years and pay for their middle lier plan. There have always been frustrating downtimes but the latest one finally did it. Around a month ago they posted a banner saying that they were upgrading MySql and we should expect downtimes to not exceed 15 minutes.

Well, the banner is still there. I've had daily downtimes and now my site is down for good. While trying to access it three days ago I got an error saying that there were capacity problems (my website sells pigs and I get around 600 hits per month; never used more than two percent of my traffic capacity). Right after that I got a 500 error. I contacted Support and they admitted that an error on their side brought the site down and they were working on it.

Three days later, my site is still down and I can't access the database through phpMyAdmin; won't accept my password. Their first response was a tutorial on how to log into phpMyAdmin. I told them, "Did you read the part where I can't log in?" Their next response was, "Everything looks fine on our side. Try emptying your browser cache".

So, instead of helping me to restore my site, they are giving me their pat noob responses.

Goodbye, Freehostia. "

Biggest Con: Downtime

FreeHostia is NOT recommended by Brian Wright. This person does NOT recommend FreeHostia.
› Overall Rating ››    10.00% 
Reviewed on November 10th, 2010 at 15:24 EST by Brian Wright
Customer for duration of 1 - 2 years
IP Address: 75.121.130.111
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
16 out of 16 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #7 out of 16 FreeHostia reviews
uptime & reliability
1.00
server & connection speed
1.00
technical support & knowledge
8.00
customer service & billing
8.00
price value for money
1.00
* ratings are out of 10

Oh My God! Freehostia Free Service

I as using their free hosting service ,and its so true what they say "you get what you pay for" i payed for nothing and thats pretty much reflected in the hosting service.

So whats was wrong you asl?!

Well,

1. constant down times throughtout the day almost everyday.
2. Ftp transfer "we are talking snail pace here" and diconections
3. No outgoing mail even by php, so if you want to run a forum or classifieds site or something simular which depends on outgoing mail for varification emails and signups, you simply cant do it so don`t try.
4. Outgoing mail prices!! smtp mail will cost you as much as the average hosting package purchased anywhere else. ripoff!
5. Blocks outside connections to things like rssfeed, and google adsense. Although you can add adsense the ads will never update to relevent content due to them blocking connections.
6. Did i mention constant down times.!
7. When your site is up you will notice how incredibly slow it loads and difficult to navigate around your pages due to their server overloads.
8. Free hosting is on the same servers as payed hosting (people pay for this)!?

This to my knowledge is my experience of freehosatia hoting based on roughly 12 months period, I frankly could not take it any longer and decided to go and pay elsewere and im so glad i did.

Bottom line " If you don`t use mail on your site and want some hosting to get your site started ,then i`d go ahead and use it for a while "

When you get your first website hit " MOVE ON!!! "

FreeHostia is NOT recommended by shaun. This person does NOT recommend FreeHostia.
› Overall Rating ››    10.00% 
Reviewed on July 20th, 2010 at 04:56 EST by shaun
Customer for duration of 6 - 11 months
IP Address: 80.229.6.229
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
16 out of 16 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #8 out of 16 FreeHostia reviews
uptime & reliability
4.00
server & connection speed
4.00
technical support & knowledge
0.00
customer service & billing
0.00
price value for money
0.00
* ratings are out of 10

Absolutely brutal.

Customer service is virtually non-existent and when it does show its face, it is an ugly one. Very disappointed.... look elsewhere for free or paid hosting services!!

FreeHostia is NOT recommended by craphostia. This person does NOT recommend FreeHostia.
› Overall Rating ››    4.00% 
Reviewed on February 22nd, 2010 at 21:44 EST by craphostia
Customer for duration of 1 - 2 years
IP Address: 68.145.113.161
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: OSX   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
19 out of 19 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #9 out of 16 FreeHostia reviews
uptime & reliability
9.00
server & connection speed
9.20
technical support & knowledge
5.50
customer service & billing
10.0
price value for money
10.0
* ratings are out of 10

Freehostia...they were good.

Within an 4 hours, I had my whole plan setup.

They were great, customer service and everything, slow tech support though =/

They were great, with very nice prices, I liked them very much.

But I needed cronjobs done. They do not allow cronjobs on their server because of ''security issues" which was very sad for me, and I sadly asked to get my money back.

FreeHostia is recommended by Bob. This person recommends FreeHostia.
› Overall Rating ››    96.00% 
Reviewed on March 21st, 2009 at 23:29 EST by Bob
Customer for duration of Less than 1 month
IP Address: 67.190.135.159
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
20 out of 20 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #10 out of 16 FreeHostia reviews
« Prev 1 2
link to this page   |   tell a friend about this web host
Host Gator - Host Unlimited Web Sites
Reseller Hosting - 50% Off
Host Unlimited Sites
Free Dedicated IP & Backups
90 Day Money Back Guarantee
Try it out for just $13.99/mo.
InMotion Hosting

Read what users say about InMotion Hosting!


For Users
Web Hosting Reviews
Submit Review
Advanced Search
All Web Hosts
Top Rated

Our Difference
Contact


Free Newsletter
For Hosts
Host Log-in
Create Account
Generate Links
Get More Exposure


New Reviews
Go Daddy
000webhost
Just Host
WebHostingPad
EasyCGI
BlueFur
SkyNet Hosting
Arvixe
HostSo
VPSDepot
ADDR
Lunarpages
Quick2Host
WebIntellects
KVC Hosting
SiteGround
A Small Orange
ServerSea
StoresOnline
HostPapa


Other
Website Thumbnails
This site is powered by Host Gator.
Copyright © 1999-2016 WebHostingReviews.com. All Rights Reserved.
All reviews, content, graphics, logos, design, and scripts, are the sole property of WebHostingReviews.com, and
may not be used without prior written consent from us. All violations will be prosecuted to the maximum extent possible under the law.
Last Update: June 20th, 2016 at 15:01 EST / This site has a total of 3,441 web hosting reviews, based on 529 different web hosting companies.