EasyCGI

Visit EasyCGI Visit EasyCGI   Write your own EasyCGI review. Write your own EasyCGI review.
0 out of 23 (or 0% of) people recommend EasyCGI.
 › Rating Averages ››
Uptime & Reliability Server & Connection Speed Price Value for Money
3.72 / 10.0 5.15 / 10.0 2.14 / 10.0
Technical Support & Knowledge Customer Service & Billing
1.36 / 10.0 3.15 / 10.0
EasyCGI
› Overall Rating ››    15.13% 
How are ratings calculated? 
  • Analyze this Page for Me
Showing 1 to 10 out of 23 reviews.   Filter Reviews
Page Relevancy
Review Quality 100%
What's
this?
« Prev 1 2 3

EasyCGI reviews

uptime & reliability
0.10
server & connection speed
5.10
technical support & knowledge
0.20
customer service & billing
3.00
price value for money
0.00
* ratings are out of 10

Easy CGI Hosting From Hell

After 23+ years of service I believe I am pretty qualified to tell you that the newest owners are presently blocking my name servers to serve my website files from Go Daddy. Complete blockage in attempts to extort more money for more space that I do not need. I have plenty of unused space already. If you want to endure this type of activity from them, then sign up for Easy Cgi. I have built websites in past and have the unworking sites stored on my server with them mixed in with four working websites that get a small amount of traffic.

First they accused me of storing lots of photographs and videos on my server. If I had done this, I would not be guilty of any contract I have signed with them. I do not have many photographs at all, few .gif's and few .jpegs. I do not have any videos at all to my knowledge. When I wouldn't move my stored files to another server with them at a cost, they blocked my working websites. They refuse to have their attorney contact me.

By the way, this is the fourth time they have played this game on me. I am now writing reviews and blogging to let others know about their service. They are trying to ruthlessly put me out of business. I am doing the same right back at them. Do you want this treatment? Sign up at easycgi.com they will take you down in the same way. I probably have been their quietest and longest client they have ever had. I started with them many kinder owners, ago. Only objected when they came for me.

Biggest Con: Sites are always offline - won't take responsibility

EasyCGI is NOT recommended by Linda Ramsay. This person does NOT recommend EasyCGI.
› Overall Rating ››    1.00% 
Reviewed on May 13th, 2016 at 18:17 EST by Linda Ramsay
Customer for duration of More than 5 years
IP Address: 107.214.238.130
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #1 out of 23 EasyCGI reviews
uptime & reliability
0.00
server & connection speed
2.00
technical support & knowledge
3.00
customer service & billing
0.00
price value for money
0.00
* ratings are out of 10

distressing

Hi, my experience with easycgi is not good. The found malware on my website and blamed me for not securing my password and my sites. They found the malware conveniently at the 1 of a month and were asking money to fix it. This after continuously trying to sell me more of their features with limited use. I received one email advising me that due to the malware they were taking the sites of the internet and blocking the linked emails. Evidently if one looks for a hosting firm, the safety of a site is paramount, thus all their other features they propose when no safety is given are pointless.My sites have been hosted with other firms prior and never was malware the issue as the security and the customer awareness was understood as vital. If you are reading reviews you are smart enough to stay away from easycgi.

Biggest Pro: fake security
Biggest Con: cosmetic luring

EasyCGI is NOT recommended by christian. This person does NOT recommend EasyCGI.
› Overall Rating ››    17.00% 
Reviewed on March 9th, 2015 at 11:54 EST by christian
Customer for duration of 3 - 5 years
IP Address: 14.201.147.227
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: http://www.etilde.eu/   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #2 out of 23 EasyCGI reviews
uptime & reliability
0.00
server & connection speed
0.00
technical support & knowledge
0.00
customer service & billing
0.00
price value for money
0.00
* ratings are out of 10

Frustrating as hell.

I signed up with this company because they had a Windows platform and I was told I could use my MS Access database....NOT! Then, the web developers took over 4 months in finishing the site for me. The site software used was osCommerce which extremely limits the user's ability to change, modify or add anything. A lot of things can only be changed by the web guys at a cost of about $150/hour. On top of that, if you want certain items in a specific order, it will take you "days" to do it....absolutely horrible software! Then, when the site is finally up and running, guess what? It doesn't work properly. So, when you notify the web design team to fix it, they reply it isn't their problem, but a sever problem. You contact the sever guys, they say it isn't their problem, but the web software problem.....back and forth, back and forth, back and forth until the problem was finally fixed 2 months later! The server is very slow, and it is really obvious that none of the support crew know what they are doing. I signed up for 1 year, after that I'm outta there!

Biggest Pro: Can't think of any.
Biggest Con: Everything about them.

EasyCGI is NOT recommended by Rick Lewis. This person does NOT recommend EasyCGI.
› Overall Rating ››    0.00% 
Reviewed on May 13th, 2013 at 17:07 EST by Rick Lewis
Customer for duration of 1 - 2 years
IP Address: 173.24.158.144
Type of Plan: Reseller   Platform: Windows   Domain: http://www.valvetrax.com/   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #3 out of 23 EasyCGI reviews
uptime & reliability
5.00
server & connection speed
4.00
technical support & knowledge
3.00
customer service & billing
0.00
price value for money
3.50
* ratings are out of 10

Unfair Billing Practices and Poor Customer Service

The hosting itself was adequate, if a little pricey. They're billing and customer service are awful. I set my account to not renew before the renewal date and was billed anyway. I made a support request and was told I would have to call in. Called spoke to someone, cancelled the account and was told the amount I was billed would be refunded, received an email from easy cgi saying "Your EasyCGI Account Will Be Canceled Immediately." 2 weeks later I still haven't received a refund so I call in and am told that someone from billing will contact me within 24 hours. 2 weeks later I call and am told that the cancellation is pending and that if I want to cancel it it will cost me $35.

Biggest Pro: They have web servers
Biggest Con: Awful customer support and billing practices

EasyCGI is NOT recommended by Shawn Doucet. This person does NOT recommend EasyCGI.
› Overall Rating ››    0.00% 
Reviewed on April 23rd, 2012 at 12:22 EST by Shawn Doucet
Customer for duration of 1 - 2 years
IP Address: 12.202.16.254
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Windows   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #4 out of 23 EasyCGI reviews
uptime & reliability
9.00
server & connection speed
9.00
technical support & knowledge
0.00
customer service & billing
9.00
price value for money
5.00
* ratings are out of 10

email from hell

Folks,
The only issue that I have had with easyCGI is email down time and their tech support's total incompetence and unconcern, which should be enough to make everyone avoid them like the plague. But I must admit that I do find support's waspy sounding names quite humorous.
Rudy

Biggest Con: email and tech support

EasyCGI is NOT recommended by Rudy Karp. This person does NOT recommend EasyCGI.
› Overall Rating ››    0.00% 
Reviewed on July 14th, 2011 at 11:36 EST by Rudy Karp
Customer for duration of 6 - 11 months
IP Address: 74.109.68.69
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
14 out of 14 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #5 out of 23 EasyCGI reviews
uptime & reliability
9.00
server & connection speed
8.00
technical support & knowledge
6.00
customer service & billing
7.00
price value for money
0.10
* ratings are out of 10

Pretty Awful - then you have to pay to quit

I got stuck with EasyCGI because I was a WebstrikeSolutions customer - and they got bought. Webstrike was great - EasyCGI was awful. Slow tech support / bad tech support / very unclear control panel.

Then, when I decided to leave - they stuck me with a $139 "Cancellation Fee" - so please consider THAT before you give these guys your credit card number.

-Chris

Biggest Con: Cancellation Fee is $139

EasyCGI is NOT recommended by Chris. This person does NOT recommend EasyCGI.
› Overall Rating ››    10.00% 
Reviewed on July 27th, 2010 at 13:20 EST by Chris
Customer for duration of 1 - 2 years
IP Address: 216.230.101.178
Type of Plan: Reseller   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
18 out of 18 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #6 out of 23 EasyCGI reviews
uptime & reliability
7.00
server & connection speed
9.00
technical support & knowledge
0.50
customer service & billing
10.0
price value for money
8.90
* ratings are out of 10

Poor Hosting - Avoid EasyCGI

Extremely poor tech support, frequently rendering website totally inaccessible for 3 or more days!!!!

Don't be fooled by the many features they offer (and they really exist) or the moderate prices--nothing is like sitting there in front of your clients with a broken website with NOBODY to help. Their 24 x 7 support is only for chatting, but never do anything useful--they just relay your request to others through a support ticket that nobody ever reads. They seem to be packing to drop the business completely--but have been like this for over a year now!!!!

Avoid EasyCGI completely.

Biggest Pro: Hosting package full of features
Biggest Con: Website can stay down for several days with nobody to help

EasyCGI is NOT recommended by ME-Admin. This person does NOT recommend EasyCGI.
› Overall Rating ››    5.00% 
Reviewed on June 6th, 2010 at 21:08 EST by ME-Admin
Customer for duration of 1 - 2 years
IP Address: 196.221.57.165
Type of Plan: Reseller   Platform: Windows   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
17 out of 17 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #7 out of 23 EasyCGI reviews
uptime & reliability
2.00
server & connection speed
4.00
technical support & knowledge
1.00
customer service & billing
0.00
price value for money
0.00
* ratings are out of 10

Really disappointed

Like many of the other reviewers, I had been many years by webstrikesolutions and was very happy with them, but since they were bought by EasyCGI, I have had many problems and I am really disappointed.

For instance, they restored a two weeks old Access database containing members posts, making off course many posts disappear. It took me more than one week to make them understand the problem was on their side and resolve it !

The people that respond in the 24/24 chat are really neither competent nor service oriented. I am now clearly looking for another hosting company.

Biggest Pro: No idea...
Biggest Con: Technical support is really bad and not AT ALL service oriented

EasyCGI is NOT recommended by nico. This person does NOT recommend EasyCGI.
› Overall Rating ››    20.00% 
Reviewed on September 13th, 2009 at 11:40 EST by nico
Customer for duration of 6 - 11 months
IP Address: 84.227.1.120
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Windows   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
19 out of 19 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #8 out of 23 EasyCGI reviews
uptime & reliability
2.00
server & connection speed
8.00
technical support & knowledge
0.00
customer service & billing
3.00
price value for money
0.00
* ratings are out of 10

If you end up with EasyCGI Start Packing to Move!

11 Years with Webstrike Solutions as a happy customer. Very few problems but if one did occur their tech's fixed it immediately.

Webstrike was bought out by Easy CGI in March. When they migrated my 14 sites they gave me a manager I could talk to if things weren't going well, also pretty good tech service. Then the migration finished. My GOD! Every day there were sites or part of sites down. It looks good today, tomorrow disaster. PHP support all of a sudden quit working on several sites. Write a ticket and it is answered in 10-12 hours telling you either it's something you did or your imagining a problem! The site manager went away but I could get him back for so much a month! Try to increase the priority on a ticket and they want to charge you several dollars to do that. I have had several sites down for 5-6 days trying to get them to fix them. Easy CGI is totally unconcerned! If you call or go to on line chat to report a problem you just end up with someone writing a ticket for you, but doing such a bad job that the first reply is "What exactly is the problem?"

Easy CGI is the worst place to do business you can find! I'm moving my sites now as fast as I can. I'll eat the cost just to get them back on line where they will work. The servers might have 99.9% up time but the websites seem to have about 60% up time. I could go on but you get the drift. Don't be fooled by their chrome plated web site and 250 meg site spaces. Under that chrome it's brown and smells.

Biggest Pro: I haven't noticed any
Biggest Con: Unstable servers and the worst tech support

EasyCGI is NOT recommended by Tom Thomas. This person does NOT recommend EasyCGI.
› Overall Rating ››    5.00% 
Reviewed on August 5th, 2009 at 15:07 EST by Tom Thomas
Customer for duration of 3 - 5 months
IP Address: 208.100.140.86
Type of Plan: Reseller   Platform: Windows   Domain: http://www.nafts.com/   Email: snipe@nafts.com
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
19 out of 19 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #9 out of 23 EasyCGI reviews
uptime & reliability
7.00
server & connection speed
1.00
technical support & knowledge
3.00
customer service & billing
3.00
price value for money
1.00
* ratings are out of 10

Incompetent, Evil, or Both

Like other reviewers here, I signed up for a Webstrike Solutions account and received great service until EasyCGI bought it in March. After the move, nothing ever seemed to work right. The stats page, for example, didn't even show due to an error in the configuration file. For a while, however, things were ok ... my low traffic php-based website worked, albeit slowly (my MediaWiki installation did and still takes anywhere from 10-30 seconds to load a single page).

Then in May, my site went kaput. Nothing. My site refused to show up at all, any request for a PHP page resulting in an HTTP 500 (internal server error) status code instead of the page. When I contacted online chat support, I realized that the live chat techs aren't allowed to type their own messages! It looks to me like they are forced to choose from a list of predefined messages when speaking to you, and simply open a support ticket if your question can't be answered with one of the predefined responses. After a week, my site was back up but not working because the 'fix' involved switching from php 5 to php 4, breaking my scripts. Halfway through rewriting my site's scripts to be php4 compatible, I discovered the problem: their php.ini had an open_basedir restriction preventing php from accessing files in my site's folder. Of course php wasn't working!

They have since fixed my site's php installation, and things are slower than ever. Logging into the control panel a month ago, I was greeted instead with an ad telling me that site loading speed is what makes or breaks the experience for my users and I should pay EasyCGI an extra $5 a month to put my account on a 'preferred' server, lest potential customers get impatient and leave. That's when it hit me -- the servers are most likely being throttled on purpose, holding users' websites ransom for this $60 a year charge.

Overall, EasyCGI smells bad. It looks to me like one of 'those' companies, where the people that know the technology and understand what they're doing are not the people in charge. I give the service 12 thumbs down and strongly encourage anyone looking into EasyCGI's services to look elsewhere.

-Dave

Biggest Pro: Lots of space and monthly bandwidth; PHP works when it works
Biggest Con: General incompetence, malfeasance, or both

EasyCGI is NOT recommended by Dave Kilian. This person does NOT recommend EasyCGI.
› Overall Rating ››    10.00% 
Reviewed on July 30th, 2009 at 16:18 EST by Dave Kilian
Customer for duration of 3 - 5 months
IP Address: 69.143.26.243
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: http://www.peebleslab.com/   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
20 out of 20 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #10 out of 23 EasyCGI reviews
« Prev 1 2 3
link to this page   |   tell a friend about this web host
Host Gator - Host Unlimited Web Sites
Reseller Hosting - 50% Off
Host Unlimited Sites
Free Dedicated IP & Backups
90 Day Money Back Guarantee
Try it out for just $13.99/mo.
InMotion Hosting

Read what users say about InMotion Hosting!


For Users
Web Hosting Reviews
Submit Review
Advanced Search
All Web Hosts
Top Rated

Our Difference
Contact


Free Newsletter
For Hosts
Host Log-in
Create Account
Generate Links
Get More Exposure


New Reviews
Go Daddy
000webhost
Just Host
WebHostingPad
EasyCGI
BlueFur
SkyNet Hosting
Arvixe
HostSo
VPSDepot
ADDR
Lunarpages
Quick2Host
WebIntellects
KVC Hosting
SiteGround
A Small Orange
ServerSea
StoresOnline
HostPapa


Other
Website Thumbnails
This site is powered by Host Gator.
Copyright © 1999-2016 WebHostingReviews.com. All Rights Reserved.
All reviews, content, graphics, logos, design, and scripts, are the sole property of WebHostingReviews.com, and
may not be used without prior written consent from us. All violations will be prosecuted to the maximum extent possible under the law.
Last Update: June 20th, 2016 at 15:01 EST / This site has a total of 3,441 web hosting reviews, based on 529 different web hosting companies.