DreamHost

Visit DreamHost Visit DreamHost   Write your own DreamHost review. Write your own DreamHost review.
36 out of 57 (or 63% of) people recommend DreamHost.
 › Rating Averages ››
Uptime & Reliability Server & Connection Speed Price Value for Money
6.86 / 10.0 7.11 / 10.0 7.50 / 10.0
Technical Support & Knowledge Customer Service & Billing
7.41 / 10.0 7.43 / 10.0
DreamHost
› Overall Rating ››    66.58% 
How are ratings calculated? 
  • Analyze this Page for Me
Showing 1 to 10 out of 57 reviews.   Filter Reviews
Page Relevancy
Review Quality 100%
What's
this?
« Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6

DreamHost reviews

uptime & reliability
6.10
server & connection speed
8.30
technical support & knowledge
4.00
customer service & billing
0.50
price value for money
6.70
* ratings are out of 10

Terrible, Slow Support, Downtimes, relay switches, etc.

Terrible, I have been with them for a very long time. Probably about 8 years. They used to be good but now they are TERRIBLE. Customer service gives you answers 2 days later. No phone support. I lost about $8K in one month because of their response to simple solutions. Every email said: SORRY. I stop giving crap about the apology a year ago. Also, hackers love messing with dream host all the time. All my sites got hacked couple of times. You get what you pay for - whatever is cheap - its bad. Unless you have a 5 page HTML site - dont bother.

Biggest Pro: cheap and its all unlimited
Biggest Con: everything else especially LACK OF TECH support

DreamHost is NOT recommended by Mark. This person does NOT recommend DreamHost.
› Overall Rating ››    11.00% 
Reviewed on September 30th, 2012 at 23:42 EST by Mark
Customer for duration of 3 - 5 years
IP Address: 173.77.213.44
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Unix   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
13 out of 13 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #1 out of 57 DreamHost reviews
uptime & reliability
5.00
server & connection speed
7.00
technical support & knowledge
5.00
customer service & billing
6.00
price value for money
6.00
* ratings are out of 10

service level degrading continuously

Hi,
I've been hosting with Dreamhost for long time and off lately noticed lot of network outages and downtime (You can check frequency on http://dreamhoststatus.com). Seems like dreamhost is not able to handle the load with its old infrastructure and their technical team is not competent enough to upgrade hardware successully even with long network maintenance window.
On another note, my site very frequntly gets all those network error and support says, the server process is being killed because of overload. If a host can't support a wordpress site (without any scheduled cron job/processes) then I don't know what else it can handle, probably a static site with few html pages.
I use to be big dreamhost supporter but not any more and will strongly discourage people from signing up with them until they fix all their and hardware and network issues.
Thanks,
Mansoor

Biggest Pro: cheap, nice control panel (IMO)
Biggest Con: Frequent downtime, not enough resources to support website running wordpress

DreamHost is NOT recommended by Mansoor Seikh. This person does NOT recommend DreamHost.
› Overall Rating ››    50.00% 
Reviewed on June 11th, 2012 at 17:53 EST by Mansoor Seikh
Customer for duration of 1 - 2 years
IP Address: 198.176.189.201
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
16 out of 16 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #2 out of 57 DreamHost reviews
uptime & reliability
0.00
server & connection speed
0.00
technical support & knowledge
0.00
customer service & billing
0.00
price value for money
0.00
* ratings are out of 10

Bad news - 4 thumbs down

Their service is hard to wade through, and not user friendly at all. It's very difficult to figure out how to manage your url, your database, and your server space. It's all very gambled up and you can't tell one service from the other. Also, the way their system manages ftp users is ridiculous. So convoluted that you can't tell who's naming what. Also, lots of down time, of with seems to mess everything up. It's difficult to even get just a regular ftp connection working. Their customer service is so bad, you can only communicate with them through their email ticking system. No live chat, no phone. You're often left with searching through their crappy forums. To top it off, they are a rip off. I don't know how they stay in business.

Biggest Pro: none
Biggest Con: lack of customer service

DreamHost is NOT recommended by Josh. This person does NOT recommend DreamHost.
› Overall Rating ››    0.00% 
Reviewed on June 5th, 2012 at 08:55 EST by Josh
Customer for duration of 3 - 5 months
IP Address: 173.164.50.49
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: http://www.joshcoast.com/   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
14 out of 14 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #3 out of 57 DreamHost reviews
uptime & reliability
9.00
server & connection speed
8.00
technical support & knowledge
8.00
customer service & billing
8.00
price value for money
9.00
* ratings are out of 10

No serious problems

I surprised to see so many very negative reviews. For inexpensive, no-limits web-hosting they seem OK to me. A little slow, and a little more down-time than would be ideal, but not a major issue, there. I'll probably move when my current term expires unless they bring the price down to match the best of their competitors - they used to be cheap but are now only average.. Also my previous web-hosting, too limited in other ways, had cPanel, and I really miss that. Not sure why they don't use it, as their own web-panel is very basic in comparison. (You listening Dreamhost guys?) Overall, though, I'm a reasonably satisfied customer.

Biggest Pro: Carbon offset, seem like nice geeks, not corporate.
Biggest Con: Unexciting pricing now, lack of cPanel

DreamHost is recommended by Jon Foscolo. This person recommends DreamHost.
› Overall Rating ››    85.00% 
Reviewed on May 2nd, 2012 at 17:55 EST by Jon Foscolo
Customer for duration of 3 - 5 years
IP Address: 88.111.3.104
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
15 out of 15 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #4 out of 57 DreamHost reviews
uptime & reliability
5.00
server & connection speed
7.50
technical support & knowledge
5.00
customer service & billing
2.00
price value for money
9.00
* ratings are out of 10

Issues out of the blue, they always assume it's not their problem

Encountered numerous issues after their recent security breach. Support blames everything else, and issues continue even after following their suggestions. IMHO, they have a lot of internal issues they can't or won't address. I'm moving my hosted sites elsewhere, really have no choice.

DreamHost is NOT recommended by Kevin H. This person does NOT recommend DreamHost.
› Overall Rating ››    33.00% 
Reviewed on March 13th, 2012 at 08:16 EST by Kevin H
Customer for duration of More than 5 years
IP Address: 74.76.11.12
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
15 out of 15 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #5 out of 57 DreamHost reviews
uptime & reliability
0.00
server & connection speed
0.00
technical support & knowledge
0.00
customer service & billing
0.00
price value for money
0.00
* ratings are out of 10

Don't do it, you'll be sorry....

First off, I don't typically become motivated to do a review but this has been a lesson in disaster.
To recount;
Signed up only to get the third degree on my credit card to where I was required to send in a rubbing of it as well as a copy of my DL (then it was rejected because they could not read it.
Contacted customer service to "nicely" complain and was told it was a error on their part and it would be fixed.
Was assured that DH was the place to be and they were dedicated to make me happy.
Went ahead and registered and set up the domain name (on their dime) only to find out the system was down and had accrued 83 complaint tickets in that day alone. No resource or customer support was available at this time or any time you need them.
Decided to discontinue service and was (and still am) caught in a loop with their automated system that will not let me complete service shutdown.
My domain is locked out for 60-90 days now (can't use it or transfer)
Contacted customer support and left detailed email of problem only to find out my email was undeliverable (through their generated "help" address).
I hesistate to say it but have become of the opinion that their website is set up with "traps and loops" designed to specifically keep you tied up while they bill you for a service they cannot provide.
Please note: I'm not even pissed (yet!) just seriously disappointed

Biggest Pro: NONE
Biggest Con: ALL!!!

DreamHost is NOT recommended by MJOLNIR. This person does NOT recommend DreamHost.
› Overall Rating ››    0.00% 
Reviewed on February 8th, 2012 at 09:35 EST by MJOLNIR
Customer for duration of Less than 1 month
IP Address: 69.149.43.202
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Windows   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
15 out of 15 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #6 out of 57 DreamHost reviews
uptime & reliability
2.00
server & connection speed
4.00
technical support & knowledge
3.00
customer service & billing
3.00
price value for money
3.00
* ratings are out of 10

Terrible performance and service

Just look at http://dreamhoststatus.com

almost DAILY outages, sometimes multiple outages per day. This last outage on all VPS servers lasted more than a day!

'Nuff said?

NO, there is still more. I'm on a shared server with very minimal Wordpress install with few plugins. Very light, a couple of 2 dozen posts. Their server kills some of my processes because they exceed the permitted memory. That's what they say anyway, and continuously say I should upgrade to a more expensive service.

Their shared servers can't even handle small installations.

Not as advertised.

Biggest Pro: Cheap
Biggest Con: Very slow servers with low memory can't handle minimal Wordpress installs.

DreamHost is NOT recommended by SimpleSite. This person does NOT recommend DreamHost.
› Overall Rating ››    40.00% 
Reviewed on January 31st, 2012 at 01:16 EST by SimpleSite
Customer for duration of 6 - 11 months
IP Address: 14.198.102.169
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
15 out of 15 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #7 out of 57 DreamHost reviews
uptime & reliability
0.10
server & connection speed
0.10
technical support & knowledge
5.60
customer service & billing
9.40
price value for money
0.00
* ratings are out of 10

13 hours and 30 minutes...

That's how long 3 of my sites have been down since early this morning. When i signed on in 2006 everything was smooth as butter. But as grew so did dreamhost. last year they convinced me to sign up with VPS service to kill the errors my database was receiving. since then i've had frequent downtime. and when i mean downtime, i mean down for hours.

I could type forever. the rests of the reviews will sum up the details. i'm off to find a new host.

Biggest Con: a 13 hour outage in 2012, is unacceptable

DreamHost is NOT recommended by docfu. This person does NOT recommend DreamHost.
› Overall Rating ››    1.00% 
Reviewed on January 29th, 2012 at 19:39 EST by docfu
Customer for duration of More than 5 years
IP Address: 98.251.86.39
Type of Plan: Virtual Private Servers   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
14 out of 14 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #8 out of 57 DreamHost reviews
uptime & reliability
6.00
server & connection speed
5.00
technical support & knowledge
10.0
customer service & billing
10.0
price value for money
8.00
* ratings are out of 10

I switched to dreamhost from pair because of cost

For a while I had my main site on pair.com (and I can't say too many nice things about pair.com, but it was expensive, I'd just lost my job, and our websites don't make money) and throwaway domains hosted on godaddy. Godaddy was absolutely horrible.

dreamhost offers unlimited everything (within reason) and the price was right, so I moved everything over to dreamhost. I'm a programmer, but I don't do much web-based business, so I didn't really care that much about how fabulous my site was as long as it was there.

Fast forward a few years and I found out about a really neat new service called cloudflare (I strongly recommend it). Cloudflare essentially sits between your server and the rest of the internet (using DNS magic) and optimizes your site on-the-fly. Among its many cool features is that it provides free and painless integration with pingdom, which keeps tabs on when your site is up or down and emails you notifications.

I'd always known dreamhost wasn't rock solid in terms of reliability, but it's ridiculous. My dreamhost sites all go down, often multiple times in one day, with no warning from, notification by, or apology from dreamhost. They just hope you don't notice, I guess.

Now, I've frequently made use of their tech support and they're fast, friendly, and helpful. But it doesn't matter if the site is falling over constantly. I'll send in a support request and they'll tell me that yup, sorry, it's down. Blah blah. And then it will be back up in half an hour or an hour.

Lots of stuff about dreamhost are good. They claim to offset carbon emissions, their control panel is great (if a bit slow), and when I've had to restore stuff from backup it Just Worked. That's all great. But the sites keep falling over.

Back when I switched, dreamhost was, for what it offered, pretty cheap. Now it's not even especially well-priced.

I'm figuring out which site to switch to, and I wanted to provide a balanced review rather than rate them all zeroes because I'm in a bad mood or I tried to use them to host my porn site and got banned, which is what I take away from the idiotically negative reviews.

Biggest Pro: Control Panel
Biggest Con: Downtime

DreamHost is recommended by Tonio Loewald. This person recommends DreamHost.
› Overall Rating ››    70.00% 
Reviewed on July 21st, 2011 at 20:11 EST by Tonio Loewald
Customer for duration of 3 - 5 years
IP Address: 68.62.116.69
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: http://www.loewald.com/   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
20 out of 20 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #9 out of 57 DreamHost reviews
uptime & reliability
0.20
server & connection speed
0.20
technical support & knowledge
0.20
customer service & billing
0.20
price value for money
0.20
* ratings are out of 10

Hosting Review of Dreamhost

I am very upset with their hosting services. They delete my complete account with giving me reason and they never refund my payment of remaining 2.5 years .. i was hosted on their host first time for 1 year and i was happy after that i submit payment for 3 year and after few months they start telling me you need to remove zip files then i remove all files and after that they send me email that they are going to remove my service and they told me that i accept term and condition that they can remove my account any time.

So my recommendation please not this account they make you frustrated and eta your money.

Thanks

DreamHost is NOT recommended by Hitesh. This person does NOT recommend DreamHost.
› Overall Rating ››    2.00% 
Reviewed on July 14th, 2011 at 01:05 EST by Hitesh
Customer for duration of 3 - 5 years
IP Address: 98.210.248.217
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
21 out of 21 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #10 out of 57 DreamHost reviews
« Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6
link to this page   |   tell a friend about this web host
Host Gator - Host Unlimited Web Sites
DreamHost Coupon
Use coupon code SAVE60OFF to save $60 when you pay yearly with DreamHost. This code only works if you pay yearly, and it gives you an entire 50% off.

Apply coupon at DreamHost.


For Users
Web Hosting Reviews
Submit Review
Advanced Search
All Web Hosts
Top Rated

Our Difference
Contact


Free Newsletter
For Hosts
Host Log-in
Create Account
Generate Links
Get More Exposure


New Reviews
Go Daddy
000webhost
Just Host
WebHostingPad
EasyCGI
BlueFur
SkyNet Hosting
Arvixe
HostSo
VPSDepot
ADDR
Lunarpages
Quick2Host
WebIntellects
KVC Hosting
SiteGround
A Small Orange
ServerSea
StoresOnline
HostPapa


Other
Website Thumbnails
This site is powered by Host Gator.
Copyright © 1999-2016 WebHostingReviews.com. All Rights Reserved.
All reviews, content, graphics, logos, design, and scripts, are the sole property of WebHostingReviews.com, and
may not be used without prior written consent from us. All violations will be prosecuted to the maximum extent possible under the law.
Last Update: June 20th, 2016 at 15:01 EST / This site has a total of 3,441 web hosting reviews, based on 529 different web hosting companies.