DreamHost

Visit DreamHost Visit DreamHost   Write your own DreamHost review. Write your own DreamHost review.
36 out of 57 (or 63% of) people recommend DreamHost.
 › Rating Averages ››
Uptime & Reliability Server & Connection Speed Price Value for Money
6.86 / 10.0 7.11 / 10.0 7.50 / 10.0
Technical Support & Knowledge Customer Service & Billing
7.41 / 10.0 7.43 / 10.0
DreamHost
› Overall Rating ››    66.58% 
How are ratings calculated? 
  • Analyze this Page for Me
Showing 41 to 50 out of 57 reviews.   Filter Reviews
Page Relevancy
Review Quality 100%
What's
this?

DreamHost reviews

uptime & reliability
10.0
server & connection speed
10.0
technical support & knowledge
10.0
customer service & billing
9.50
price value for money
10.0
* ratings are out of 10

Good while it lasted

During my tenure of hosting from these guys, a total of 2 years, I used their 7.99/domain and 9.99/month hosting. It provided me an absolutely huge amount of bandwidth and storage. Neither of which I could use up and trust me, I tried. The only downfall to this company was when I went back to them after my hosting expired and they refused to provide me a backup copy of my site and everything I had on the site because I had lost all my data previously. They do keep an eye on illegal file hosting such as warez and mp3s because they found some mp3s I had hosted on there. There were only 5 or 6 but since they were using a little bit more bandwidth than the rest of my site they were noticed.

DreamHost is recommended by Riley Pool. This person recommends DreamHost.
› Overall Rating ››    95.00% 
Reviewed on October 10th, 2007 at 19:46 EST by Riley Pool
Customer for duration of 1 - 2 years
IP Address: 69.44.192.107
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: http://www.silvergsx.net/   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
23 out of 23 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #41 out of 57 DreamHost reviews
uptime & reliability
8.00
server & connection speed
8.00
technical support & knowledge
8.00
customer service & billing
9.00
price value for money
10.0
* ratings are out of 10

DreamHost

DreamHost are normally pretty expensive, working out at around $120 a year; however due to their ten-year anniversary they are offering a one year hosting plan for $9.4. As I'm new to the whole hosting business I jumped at the chance, and after a few days of using it am content with their service. They offer unlimited domain addons as well as a free domain with purchase; the one bad thing about them is their panel, which is different from the standard cPanel. Although it looks complicated in the beginning, it is fairly simple to use. As for technical help, I had a problem with their panel so sent off an email to support- it was promptly answered within five hours.

Biggest Pro: Price
Biggest Con: Control Panel

DreamHost is recommended by Jason Pereira. This person recommends DreamHost.
› Overall Rating ››    90.00% 
Reviewed on September 29th, 2007 at 11:23 EST by Jason Pereira
Customer for duration of 1 - 2 years
IP Address: 213.42.21.148
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Windows   Domain: http://www.arseview.com/   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
24 out of 24 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #42 out of 57 DreamHost reviews
uptime & reliability
5.50
server & connection speed
4.50
technical support & knowledge
9.00
customer service & billing
9.00
price value for money
7.00
* ratings are out of 10

DreamHost isn't for Serious People

I've had DreamHost hosting for more than a year now. I have a "Code Monster" account. Well, I did until they changed everything on me again. They're upping the limits of their hosting yet again. 500 GB of space and 5 TB of bandwidth, as if anyone can really use those sort of resources on a shared server hosting anything else.

My experience with them was mediocre. My site often loaded slowly, there were issues when the MySQL server was down, and oftentimes another user on my server was abusing the resources, preventing my site from loading.

Their control panel is unique and quite good, but that's really the highest point. That and you can get shell access to the server your site is on.

They offer a lot for the price you pay, and unfortunately, they can't follow through on some of the most basic aspects of web hosting. All of their bells and whistles try to hide that fact. I ended up getting so disgusted that I went and invested in a dedicated server elsewhere.

Biggest Pro: SSH Access
Biggest Con: Unreliable

DreamHost is NOT recommended by Matt Kennedy. This person does NOT recommend DreamHost.
› Overall Rating ››    65.00% 
Reviewed on September 25th, 2007 at 19:27 EST by Matt Kennedy
Customer for duration of 1 - 2 years
IP Address: 69.251.106.240
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: http://www.mkweb.us/   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
22 out of 22 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #43 out of 57 DreamHost reviews
uptime & reliability
10.0
server & connection speed
8.50
technical support & knowledge
9.00
customer service & billing
7.00
price value for money
9.00
* ratings are out of 10

Dreamhost: A Beginner's Dream

I've noticed that most of the other reviews here have mentioned Dreamhost's reliability, speed, and various issues (though I personally think some may have been a bit overboard), and custom panel. I want to elaborate in this reveiw on one of the best features Dreamhost's panel can offer *anyone* just starting out owning their own sites.

Under the "Goodies" section, there is a page for "one-click installs." This is, by far, the easiest automated method I've come across to install any number of applications on your website. The most noteworthy of the available software is, without a doubt, Wordpress. Many first-time site owners are bloggers these days, and there couldn't be a simpler way to "get up and go."

One-click install runners up would be PHPbb (forum software), Gallery (image album software), and Joomla! (for content management).

A few "cons" would be for those used to CPanel, Dreamhost's panel might be a bit confusing at first, their pricing tends to lean towards the higher end, and their help wiki could be a bit more user-friendly.

Regardless, in this reviewer's opinion, the pros far outweigh the cons. Dreamhost is an excellent way to go for the beginner and the intermediate site owner.

Biggest Pro: One-click Install option, perfect for beginners.
Biggest Con: A bit pricey.

DreamHost is recommended by Elijah. This person recommends DreamHost.
› Overall Rating ››    95.00% 
Reviewed on September 5th, 2007 at 23:51 EST by Elijah
Customer for duration of 6 - 11 months
IP Address: 74.38.11.66
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
23 out of 23 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #44 out of 57 DreamHost reviews
uptime & reliability
8.90
server & connection speed
9.00
technical support & knowledge
10.0
customer service & billing
10.0
price value for money
10.0
* ratings are out of 10

Dreamhost, a definite starting point!

I've been using dreamhost for about 2 years and have 3 separate accounts with them.

For anyone looking for shared hosting at a small price, dreamhost is the way to go. You will receive more disk space and bandwidth then you will most likely ever use. You will also get the best customer service that i've come to find.

And the perks! One click installs of many web softwae packages like the infamous blogging/cms platform: wordpress. as well as ActiveCollab and even MediaWiki. Even a Subversion setup!

You also get great benefits when referring other customers ($97!).

And on top of all that... hourly backups. Never loose your website and files to hackers again.

For shared hosting- dreamhost is your best option for the price.

Biggest Pro: Price
Biggest Con: Still Shared Hosting

DreamHost is recommended by Alexander James. This person recommends DreamHost.
› Overall Rating ››    95.00% 
Reviewed on August 3rd, 2007 at 17:04 EST by Alexander James
Customer for duration of 1 - 2 years
IP Address: 24.126.209.43
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
26 out of 26 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #45 out of 57 DreamHost reviews
uptime & reliability
9.50
server & connection speed
8.00
technical support & knowledge
10.0
customer service & billing
10.0
price value for money
10.0
* ratings are out of 10

Great Host

I haven't had a single problem with Dreamhost after using it for almost a full year. I have the basic plan, and it easily handles the traffic I get on my sites that don't get over 100 visitors a day. I host multiple domains through it, which is easy to set up through their control panel. The speeds seem fast, but not quite as fast as I have seen on some other servers. I have only experienced a very tiny amount of down time when they switched the location of my server.

All in all, a great host for small sites. (At least for their smallest plan)

DreamHost is recommended by William Stuart. This person recommends DreamHost.
› Overall Rating ››    98.00% 
Reviewed on July 28th, 2007 at 13:36 EST by William Stuart
Customer for duration of 6 - 11 months
IP Address: 70.103.111.41
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
23 out of 23 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #46 out of 57 DreamHost reviews
uptime & reliability
8.50
server & connection speed
9.50
technical support & knowledge
8.00
customer service & billing
8.00
price value for money
8.90
* ratings are out of 10

Dreamhost Review

My first wehost was/is Dreamhost. I've loved their service, and their panel.

What I like the most about Dreamhost is there http://www.dreamhoststatus.com, which is great for customers who are curious what really happens when their servers go offline.

Dreamhost uses there own custom panel, with even more features than cPanel, it seems. They also just updated there customer support function, and you can see events that happened with your server in the last week, (such as restarts and errors) before you submit your ticket.

The only thing I can complain about for the price is the response time of my webpages that utilize MySQL. They seem to take anywhere from 4-10 seconds to load!

Biggest Pro: Great Panel, Great Support
Biggest Con: Slow Response Time

DreamHost is recommended by Ryan McGaughey. This person recommends DreamHost.
› Overall Rating ››    90.00% 
Reviewed on July 28th, 2007 at 10:03 EST by Ryan McGaughey
Customer for duration of 1 - 2 years
IP Address: 76.16.50.91
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: http://www.codpub.com/   Email: trekryan@gmail.com
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
28 out of 28 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #47 out of 57 DreamHost reviews
uptime & reliability
8.50
server & connection speed
9.50
technical support & knowledge
9.50
customer service & billing
9.00
price value for money
10.0
* ratings are out of 10

Great hosting for personal / media related sites

I've had my site hosted there for almost two years now, and I must say, with exception to last year's crazy string of downtimes, their service is great if you know what you're doing. The shared plan offers tons of bandwidth, so even if you have a site with lots of videos and images, you're unlikely to approach the limit. It also offers ssh access, so you can edit things really quickly on the live site w/o having to download anything via FTP and then re-upload it etc. You can also fine tune a lot of the options from ssh. However, ssh access is a double edged swrod, and down side to that is if you have re***ds on your server, they can easily mess things up or eat lots of resources until the server runs out of resources (and cause your site to go slow). You can, however, ask them to move you to a lower concentrated server, and if you're diligent about it, they will do it for you as they've done for me.

Perhaps because I work with Jelsoft/vBulletin support so I have high standards for response time; but I feel that their support is a bit slow... Whenever I had serious problems and need to get a hold of them, I usually get a response from them anywhere between 24 hours to 48 hours. Most of the time, the problems I've contacted them -- high loads, ftpd process down, etc. -- are long resolved by the time I get back from them. I haven't had the need to contact them for other reasons and so I guess you'd probably need to know what you're doing before hosting with them.

Generally speaking, they're pretty well rounded host, especially with them polishing up their downtime issues this year, I'd say they're pretty good.

Biggest Pro: Lots of resources available for use
Biggest Con: Downtimes, not so much now...

DreamHost is recommended by Andy Huang. This person recommends DreamHost.
› Overall Rating ››    93.00% 
Reviewed on July 24th, 2007 at 23:55 EST by Andy Huang
Customer for duration of 1 - 2 years
IP Address: 24.81.247.12
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
23 out of 23 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #48 out of 57 DreamHost reviews
uptime & reliability
9.90
server & connection speed
8.00
technical support & knowledge
8.00
customer service & billing
9.50
price value for money
10.0
* ratings are out of 10

Dreamhost Review

Dreamhost are one of those companies where i always feel there has to be something wrong..maybe it's there presentation..but it just feels cheap.

However saying that i have been generally pleased over the last few months especially since i'm currently running more than one site on my server.

From what i can remember here hasn't been any downtime however there is the odd slow response. Another thing that i'm not too fond of either is there cpanel..it just seems too tacky, but i guess it's all about preferance.

If you're not too bothered about presentation and just want a place for hosting dreamhost is great..there pricing is superb, that's if you use a voucher of course ;D. Can get a large chunk off for quite a good server with large space and bandwidth that's updated weekly!

Biggest Pro: Price

DreamHost is recommended by Jason Waite. This person recommends DreamHost.
› Overall Rating ››    90.00% 
Reviewed on July 21st, 2007 at 06:44 EST by Jason Waite
Customer for duration of 3 - 5 months
IP Address: 81.106.84.51
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
24 out of 24 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #49 out of 57 DreamHost reviews
uptime & reliability
8.50
server & connection speed
9.00
technical support & knowledge
9.80
customer service & billing
9.90
price value for money
9.50
* ratings are out of 10

Great Marketing, Great Prices, Not-so-great Hosting

Dreamhost is really popular, and I figured that getting virtually unlimited storage and transfer for about 20 bucks per year, including a free domain, was worth a shot.

So I took the plunge, and have been relatively happy. It's not great. My e-mail won't connect a lot of the time, my site takes a while to load, but for the price it's pretty good.

Their support wiki is easy to read, and I'd prefer cPanel, but their own panel isn't too bad.

Overall, I'd give them a 9/10, though if I were paying full price it would be more like a 2.

Biggest Pro: cheap with lots of bandwidth/storage
Biggest Con: slow to load pages

DreamHost is recommended by Hannah. This person recommends DreamHost.
› Overall Rating ››    90.00% 
Reviewed on July 7th, 2007 at 15:39 EST by Hannah
Customer for duration of 1 - 2 months
IP Address: 38.119.107.79
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
22 out of 22 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #50 out of 57 DreamHost reviews
link to this page   |   tell a friend about this web host
Host Gator - Host Unlimited Web Sites
DreamHost Coupon
Use coupon code SAVE60OFF to save $60 when you pay yearly with DreamHost. This code only works if you pay yearly, and it gives you an entire 50% off.

Apply coupon at DreamHost.


For Users
Web Hosting Reviews
Submit Review
Advanced Search
All Web Hosts
Top Rated

Our Difference
Contact


Free Newsletter
For Hosts
Host Log-in
Create Account
Generate Links
Get More Exposure


New Reviews
Go Daddy
000webhost
Just Host
WebHostingPad
EasyCGI
BlueFur
SkyNet Hosting
Arvixe
HostSo
VPSDepot
ADDR
Lunarpages
Quick2Host
WebIntellects
KVC Hosting
SiteGround
A Small Orange
ServerSea
StoresOnline
HostPapa


Other
Website Thumbnails
This site is powered by Host Gator.
Copyright © 1999-2016 WebHostingReviews.com. All Rights Reserved.
All reviews, content, graphics, logos, design, and scripts, are the sole property of WebHostingReviews.com, and
may not be used without prior written consent from us. All violations will be prosecuted to the maximum extent possible under the law.
Last Update: June 20th, 2016 at 15:01 EST / This site has a total of 3,441 web hosting reviews, based on 529 different web hosting companies.