DreamHost

Visit DreamHost Visit DreamHost   Write your own DreamHost review. Write your own DreamHost review.
36 out of 57 (or 63% of) people recommend DreamHost.
 › Rating Averages ››
Uptime & Reliability Server & Connection Speed Price Value for Money
6.86 / 10.0 7.11 / 10.0 7.50 / 10.0
Technical Support & Knowledge Customer Service & Billing
7.41 / 10.0 7.43 / 10.0
DreamHost
› Overall Rating ››    66.58% 
How are ratings calculated? 
  • Analyze this Page for Me
Showing 31 to 40 out of 57 reviews.   Filter Reviews
Page Relevancy
Review Quality 100%
What's
this?

DreamHost reviews

uptime & reliability
10.0
server & connection speed
8.50
technical support & knowledge
7.50
customer service & billing
8.00
price value for money
10.0
* ratings are out of 10

Dreamhost - Pretty good if your just starting out

I am about half way through my first year of Dreamhost's inexpensive "Crazy Domain Insane" program. This offers an amazing amount of features for the price they ask for. You can host unlimited domains, mysql databases, email addresses, etc. It offers one click installs of services such as wordpress, phpbb, joomla and more. They give you more disk space and bandwidth than you could even think of using.

I have only two sites hosted on this package at the moment, but plan on hosting more as time goes by. The uptime has always been good, I havn't noticed my site being down at all.

The server speed isn't a high point of the service, unless you are on one of their dedicated servers that is. It isn't bad compaired with what you are paying. You pay for what you get really.

Technical support seems to be a wiki (which I havn't really used as it is easy to figure out what to do on your own anyway). They have a support phoneline but I wouldn't like to contact them because I am not a US resident and it would cost me too much.

This all sounds good so far, but they do have one problem I would like to highlight. I don't host sites which attract huge traffic, but I hear from other users of this service that they will close your site if it is causing their server to slow down and advise you to buy a dedicated server from them which won't ever be closed down. I can understand them doing this, but then I asked myself "Why offer so much bandwidth if you shut a site down before someone can even use half of it?" and I couldn't find the answer. This seems to be their only downfall as far as I can see.

Overall I am quite happy with the service they have provided and I will stay with them until I find a better plan or have a problem. I would recomend this hosting to anyone just starting out as it is cheap and has all the features you will need (along with a lot of features you probably won't need).

Biggest Pro: You will never run out of disk space/bandwidth
Biggest Con: It seems they shut down your site if you are getting too much traffic

DreamHost is recommended by Nicholas Edwards. This person recommends DreamHost.
› Overall Rating ››    85.00% 
Reviewed on November 12th, 2007 at 14:28 EST by Nicholas Edwards
Customer for duration of 3 - 5 months
IP Address: 82.2.113.92
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: http://www.freedivs.com/   Email: nick_edwards69@hotmail.com
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
28 out of 28 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #31 out of 57 DreamHost reviews
uptime & reliability
9.50
server & connection speed
10.0
technical support & knowledge
10.0
customer service & billing
7.00
price value for money
10.0
* ratings are out of 10

Satisfied After a Slow Start

When I was shopping for a host, I asked several Webmasters for opinions. Dreamhost was in the top three and, and seemed to provide the bast value for the money. After signing up and paying, it took almost an entire week, and several phone calls to have my account approved. Once it was, however, I was incredibly impressed by the ease of the web panel, the one click installs (I use Wordpress, but there ore a lot of them), and easy domain transfers.

Since my initial bad experience, the Dreamhost hasn't let me down at all. Though there are cheaper companies out there, they definitely provide the best value.

Biggest Pro: One click installs, Employee owned
Biggest Con: Slow to activate account

DreamHost is recommended by Kari. This person recommends DreamHost.
› Overall Rating ››    95.00% 
Reviewed on November 12th, 2007 at 14:24 EST by Kari
Customer for duration of 3 - 5 months
IP Address: 68.40.171.59
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Unix   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
22 out of 22 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #32 out of 57 DreamHost reviews
uptime & reliability
8.50
server & connection speed
8.80
technical support & knowledge
9.00
customer service & billing
9.00
price value for money
10.0
* ratings are out of 10

Dream Host - inexpensive and full of features

I am going to complete my first year with Dreamhost on their inexpensive "Crazy Domain Insane" program. All these months Dreamhost has been great for me. I do not host huge traffic pulling websites. If you are looking out for PHP, MYSQL and high bandwidth needs Dream host could be one of the best choices for you.

I have hosted more that 10 sites on my dream host package and the Uptime has generally been good. The best way to start hosting on dream host is to search for discount coupons, and with a free domain included with their basic package you can get your first year of hosting discounted even up to 90%. or more.

Dreamhost has a well categorized nice control panel with toll tips. most of the things automated and configuring domain, email, MySQL takes only a few minute.

Jabber for my site, Flash media streaming integration., Full shell account, cron, perl scripts, full .htaccess support -- everything I wanted to do I could do. You want CPAN perl module installed, and they will install it quickly with no questions.

If something I really like so much about dream host is their automated “Goodies” section in the control panel where you can find “One Click Installs”. Most of the open source PHP scripts you can install on click right from your control panel , Joomla, Zen Cart and Wordpress are to name a few.

Over all I am quite satisfied – I would call Dreamhost an inexpensive and full with feature instead of cheap.

Biggest Pro: Pice

DreamHost is recommended by Raj Kumar. This person recommends DreamHost.
› Overall Rating ››    90.00% 
Reviewed on November 8th, 2007 at 16:09 EST by Raj Kumar
Customer for duration of 3 - 5 months
IP Address: 59.93.52.30
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: http://www.graphicband.com/   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
23 out of 23 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #33 out of 57 DreamHost reviews
uptime & reliability
8.00
server & connection speed
8.60
technical support & knowledge
8.40
customer service & billing
8.30
price value for money
9.00
* ratings are out of 10

dreamhost review.

First off, tt is advisable to sign up for the site with one of the many available coupons, which allows you to save some serious money on your first bill. Without this, the prices won't be nearly as attractive.

Their basic plan already offers 20 GB of Webspace, a traffic limit of 1000GB, plus lots of neat goodies such as a personal Subversion server, Quicktime Streaming support, free domain registration for a year, unlimited domains and sub-domains, the list goes on. The advanced plans add on top of that. Check out their site for the details.

Hpwever there uptime is around 90%.they say its 99% but thats not the case.if there is too much traffic or too much queries the server will go down and they will down your site without even contacting you.However customer support is pretty decent.You ask them to restart the server and it will be done within 5 mins and your site will be running up again.

Overall, I am quite content so far. On the one occasion that I needed it, support feedback has been quick. The panel, while it is not CPanel, is still easy to use and offers all crucial features decently organized.

DreamHost is recommended by Ashok. This person recommends DreamHost.
› Overall Rating ››    85.00% 
Reviewed on October 31st, 2007 at 21:07 EST by Ashok
Customer for duration of 6 - 11 months
IP Address: 67.159.5.52
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
22 out of 22 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #34 out of 57 DreamHost reviews
uptime & reliability
8.00
server & connection speed
9.10
technical support & knowledge
8.50
customer service & billing
8.60
price value for money
9.00
* ratings are out of 10

dreamhost rocks!

I am with them for more than 6 months.

Giveing the devil his due, they are stable and have a nice uptime.

It is happy to stay with them when you are running a small site. but when uniques ip grows it is not fit with them as they will limited CPU usage.

my sites are about 2500 uniques ip in total,

the CPU use time

Process CPU seconds user machine count average
php.cgi 5203.2300 99.999% 21.680% 29487 0.176

the mysql error would happen sometimes

Error: Lost connection to MySQL server during query
Errno.: 2013

It is really a large plan for me (20gb space and 1tb bandwidth). it is hardly for me to use over unless all pages are static or just for storing.

there is a small problem when you create mysql database in their control panel. you have to create a new mysql host when create a new mysql database which is rather discommodious.

And they don't offer any web statistics but analog which don't offer uniques ip statistics and I can't tell my customers how many uniques ip I got

Now I am considering to move some of my sites to a new host.

But overall good experience.

Biggest Pro: cheap
Biggest Con: mysql databases

DreamHost is recommended by Chirag. This person recommends DreamHost.
› Overall Rating ››    70.00% 
Reviewed on October 30th, 2007 at 14:13 EST by Chirag
Customer for duration of 6 - 11 months
IP Address: 67.159.5.52
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: http://www.bornmad.com/   Email: chiky_cin@yahoo.com
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
22 out of 22 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #35 out of 57 DreamHost reviews
uptime & reliability
5.00
server & connection speed
6.00
technical support & knowledge
9.00
customer service & billing
10.0
price value for money
6.00
* ratings are out of 10

Dreamhost... A mixed bag

Good feature list. Lots of storage. Reasonable price. SSH accesss. All of these are good, but downtime problems are a super buzzkill. What good are all these dreamy features when you can't really count on them????

Summary:
Dreamhost is cool if you really don't care of your site (or your customer's) is available at all time. Tell your clients that their site will be down for a couple of days now and then. In other words, Dreamhost is a satisfactory for amateur projects.

Biggest Pro: SSH access
Biggest Con: Downtime is a buzzkill

DreamHost is NOT recommended by Douglas Putnam. This person does NOT recommend DreamHost.
› Overall Rating ››    60.00% 
Reviewed on October 30th, 2007 at 11:49 EST by Douglas Putnam
Customer for duration of 3 - 5 years
IP Address: 70.143.93.54
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
21 out of 21 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #36 out of 57 DreamHost reviews
uptime & reliability
7.80
server & connection speed
8.00
technical support & knowledge
9.50
customer service & billing
9.50
price value for money
9.00
* ratings are out of 10

Dreamhost... pretty good huh?? :D

I had a site that took up quite a bit of space and even more bandwidth, and basically nothing else. I needed a host that could support it (for cheap) and I found DreamHost. DreamHost gives you an insanely huge amount of space and bandwidth for not very much money. I signed up with them and so far, I’ve been pleasantly surprised.

First impression of DreamHost is “Wow, this is a lot of space and bandwidth, for cheap.” Once you navigate through DreamHost.com’s slightly 2000-esque web site that’s kind of hard to navigate, you’ll find out that it’s true.

For $9.95 per month, you can get 200 GB of storage and 2 Terabyte (2,000 GBs) of bandwidth (per month). The resource quotas also increase by 160 MB (storage) and 8 GB (bandwidth), weekly. It’s basically as insane as fully unmetered bandwidth, but without as much legal stuff they try and hide. All of the other features (email, subdomains, FTP, etc.) are also quite plentiful and more than any average person would ever use. Their plans do have a $49.95 setup fee, but it’s not that big of a deal if you intend to keep your site simple.

DreamHost’s activation process is somewhat clunky and definitely not streamlined. Though the actual process is simple for a customer, when you throw in the free domain registration (included with most accounts), prepare your inbox! I think by the time I was up and running, they had sent me about 10 emails with various information about billing, passwords, control panels, and what not. Once you digest all of it, it does make sense and is helpful, but it’s not streamlined. It doesn’t taken very long for you to get up and running so DreamHost can be forgiven.

By far my least favorite thing about them is their control panel. It has the basics and a few nice extra features, but it’s clunky and difficult to figure out right away. The terminology is different than what a lot of web hosts use, but once you figure it out, it isn’t too bad. I’d definitely pick cPanel over this, but you can’t always pick. From their control panel you can view and manage all of your billing, domains, usage details, pre-installed scripts, emails, users, and all of that jazz. There’s a few nice addons like an ad-free version of DreamBook (a fancy guestbook application), a nifty affiliate system dubbed “Rewards” that lets you create your own promo codes and decide your payout, and quite a few other things.

Uptime and support has been good enough. For my simple needs, I only had to contact DreamHost once and I received a reply within a few hours. Uptime hasn’t been bad at all (I haven’t noticed any downtime, but I don’t pro-actively monitor it). All in all, DreamHost is great for a simple site that isn’t mission critical.

Pros: lots of space and bandwidth, cheap, some nifty addon features, awesome affiliate program

Cons: clunky control panel, lack of good statistics programs, phone support is limited to certain amount of calls per month, only shared hosting (no reseller or dedicated)

Bottomline: For a simple site that needs lots space and bandwidth, and not much else, DreamHost is probably as good as it gets.

DreamHost is recommended by Suyash Gupta. This person recommends DreamHost.
› Overall Rating ››    87.00% 
Reviewed on October 22nd, 2007 at 04:16 EST by Suyash Gupta
Customer for duration of 6 - 11 months
IP Address: 220.224.31.107
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Windows   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
21 out of 21 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #37 out of 57 DreamHost reviews
uptime & reliability
9.00
server & connection speed
9.00
technical support & knowledge
8.00
customer service & billing
8.00
price value for money
9.00
* ratings are out of 10

Dreamhost review

A lot of people tend to get over emotional after having a bad experience and start writing really bad comments or vice versa based on their experience.

I would however like to present a hopefully helpful review of this host for everyone to decide upon.

I have had my hosting account with Dreamhost.com for the past 2 years on their basic shared hosting plan which has been more than sufficient. I have hosted several websites, both live as well as test sites.

The Pros of this host are undeniably the huge amount of webspace that you get and the amount of bandwidth and unlimited SQL databases, subdomains and domains. This was extremely helpful for me since I was able to set up multiple websites with ease, each using its own database. It also allowed me to be able to test differen free scripts from around the net with ease.

Another good feature is the one click installs available which allow you to install popular web scripts with ease. Apart from this they offer streaming media options from your server and also allow you to be in full control of you DNS and MX (mail server) settings.

As far as the cons are concerned, there is quite a bit of downtime at different intervals. Dont get me wrong, its not like they are down all the time. But to give you an estimate, in a period of 6 months, expect atleast 3 to 4 days of downtime in total. Various reasons including power outages, attacks on servers, hardware failure are presented as the excuses. Overall it is not as bad as one would expect really, but it can be pretty frustrating at times. Especially when it coincides with the launch of a new site or produce on your website.

The customer support is over all OK. It takes up to a day for them to reply in most cases but you can expect an occaisional reply within the hour. But over all they do reply every single ticket and in majority cases present you with the solution. They also offer a support forum where you can ask questions. All that being said, I would also like to say that one of my queries was never solved however, in which case their reply was simply that they cannot figure it out at all. I let it go eventually because atleast they were honest about it. One thing I will say is that they are honest in their replies to you and dont make stuff up just to cover up.

Anyways, My over all rating for dreamhost is: Good

I would recommend it to anyone looking for a good cheap host offering tonnes of features, space, bandwidth and databses.

DreamHost is recommended by Tushar. This person recommends DreamHost.
› Overall Rating ››    85.00% 
Reviewed on October 21st, 2007 at 17:53 EST by Tushar
Customer for duration of 6 - 11 months
IP Address: 59.178.60.104
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Unix   Domain: http://www.aveola.com/   Email: gabriel.quaker@gmail.com
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
21 out of 21 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #38 out of 57 DreamHost reviews
uptime & reliability
10.0
server & connection speed
9.00
technical support & knowledge
10.0
customer service & billing
10.0
price value for money
10.0
* ratings are out of 10

Dreamhost - web hosting provider for my own blog

I used paid web hosting services from Bulgaria and free web hosting services from around the world until I created my Dreamhost account with a promo code. I have no more downtime problems, since I got my account at Dreamhost about 5 months ago. I am impressed by their easy-to-use and advanced web admin interface.

Dreamhost offers three different servers for web hosting, mail exchange and MySQL databases. What about the technical support, I've received almost immediate support for all the difficulties that I experienced since my first day with their services. The offer toll free 24/7 online support via web form.

The only thing that makes me a little bit unhappy is that Dreamhost does not offer WHM and CPanel for easier reseller hosting administration, but their own admin panel seems to be more feature-rich than CPanel.

Biggest Pro: Cheap distributed hosting with 24/7 online support
Biggest Con: There is no WHM/CPanel ot Plesk

DreamHost is recommended by Krasimir Panayotov. This person recommends DreamHost.
› Overall Rating ››    99.00% 
Reviewed on October 15th, 2007 at 17:49 EST by Krasimir Panayotov
Customer for duration of 3 - 5 months
IP Address: 212.25.41.116
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: http://www.krassyo.info/   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
22 out of 22 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #39 out of 57 DreamHost reviews
uptime & reliability
9.80
server & connection speed
8.00
technical support & knowledge
9.00
customer service & billing
10.0
price value for money
10.0
* ratings are out of 10

DreamHost, best host!

As the company has expanded rapidly, they've gone through their share of growing pains and made some changes... there have been some unexpected hiccoughs... and maybe it takes a little longer for tech support to get back to you.

But that's why they have the most amazing WIKI. Having administered sites on other hosts, I can say that no one has the quality forum and WIKI that Dreamhost provides. If it doesn't have your answer, then you can contact them. I've always had relatively quick and courteous responses. These guys get back to you, and not route the call to some center around the world! So a little patience is required.

I can honestly say that I have not had a single major problem (knock on wood), and certainly none of the near catastrophes that some of the reviewers seem to imply here.

My email has been consistent, and I have more problems with mail service on my cable-account (cablevision). The few times that emails have been slow are spotty. Based on my research, it seems to come down to how other servers treat email from a dreamhost SMTP... Because of the sheer amount of spam out there, some of the bigger companies like AOL or Verizon may treat your email as a spam source. It is, after all, your own email server and not one of their mega-providers. A simple email to the ISPs tech support will correct that. And again, the very informative WIKI explains why there may be mail delays due to some ISPs. People should do their own research and work before complaining.

A great page is simply called "Improving Mail Performance for Everyone!"

which explains why there may be delays in mail delivery (more often than not a user problem!)

And that's the basic point. There may be issues, and some may be valid - I haven't seen any. But in the end, many of the problems listed here could possibly be solved by doing a little homework and trying different things.

Dreamhost is not a service that does it for you. It is a service that provides low-cost hosting with all the bells and whistles. But as a trade-off, you have to actually play your own site-admin (imagine that!) rather than allowing some faceless entity to baby you through it.

DreamHost is recommended by Simon. This person recommends DreamHost.
› Overall Rating ››    92.00% 
Reviewed on October 12th, 2007 at 05:06 EST by Simon
Customer for duration of 6 - 11 months
IP Address: 89.233.204.104
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
21 out of 21 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #40 out of 57 DreamHost reviews
link to this page   |   tell a friend about this web host
Host Gator - Host Unlimited Web Sites
DreamHost Coupon
Use coupon code SAVE60OFF to save $60 when you pay yearly with DreamHost. This code only works if you pay yearly, and it gives you an entire 50% off.

Apply coupon at DreamHost.


For Users
Web Hosting Reviews
Submit Review
Advanced Search
All Web Hosts
Top Rated

Our Difference
Contact


Free Newsletter
For Hosts
Host Log-in
Create Account
Generate Links
Get More Exposure


New Reviews
Go Daddy
000webhost
Just Host
WebHostingPad
EasyCGI
BlueFur
SkyNet Hosting
Arvixe
HostSo
VPSDepot
ADDR
Lunarpages
Quick2Host
WebIntellects
KVC Hosting
SiteGround
A Small Orange
ServerSea
StoresOnline
HostPapa


Other
Website Thumbnails
This site is powered by Host Gator.
Copyright © 1999-2016 WebHostingReviews.com. All Rights Reserved.
All reviews, content, graphics, logos, design, and scripts, are the sole property of WebHostingReviews.com, and
may not be used without prior written consent from us. All violations will be prosecuted to the maximum extent possible under the law.
Last Update: June 20th, 2016 at 15:01 EST / This site has a total of 3,441 web hosting reviews, based on 529 different web hosting companies.