DreamHost

Visit DreamHost Visit DreamHost   Write your own DreamHost review. Write your own DreamHost review.
36 out of 57 (or 63% of) people recommend DreamHost.
 › Rating Averages ››
Uptime & Reliability Server & Connection Speed Price Value for Money
6.86 / 10.0 7.11 / 10.0 7.50 / 10.0
Technical Support & Knowledge Customer Service & Billing
7.41 / 10.0 7.43 / 10.0
DreamHost
› Overall Rating ››    66.58% 
How are ratings calculated? 
  • Analyze this Page for Me
Showing 21 to 30 out of 57 reviews.   Filter Reviews
Page Relevancy
Review Quality 100%
What's
this?

DreamHost reviews

uptime & reliability
4.00
server & connection speed
9.00
technical support & knowledge
2.00
customer service & billing
7.20
price value for money
6.00
* ratings are out of 10

Dreamhost is a Nightmare!

Over the past year Dreamhost has become a night mare -- email issues galore and downtown has spiked up... last week my sites were down for over 4 days and customer service was impossible to reach -- apparently thousands of sites were down (again). This is the 5th problem in less than 18 months. We will be moving our sites this week.

DreamHost is NOT recommended by Mickey Parsons. This person does NOT recommend DreamHost.
› Overall Rating ››    58.00% 
Reviewed on November 17th, 2008 at 14:45 EST by Mickey Parsons
Customer for duration of 3 - 5 years
IP Address: 98.192.48.32
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Windows   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
25 out of 25 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #21 out of 57 DreamHost reviews
uptime & reliability
0.00
server & connection speed
5.90
technical support & knowledge
9.90
customer service & billing
9.10
price value for money
1.00
* ratings are out of 10

Don't Waste Your Money

I really wish Dreamhost had good hosting - their customer service is great, I love the control panel, but my sites were down so often it was ridiculous. You're much better off to go with Hostgator or something similarly priced with a decent uptime.

I actually find it hard to believe a hosting company can stay in business with that much downtime. Even their own website was down a lot when I was a customer.

Biggest Pro: Control Panel, Customer Service
Biggest Con: Constant Downtime

DreamHost is NOT recommended by Chris Burdick. This person does NOT recommend DreamHost.
› Overall Rating ››    30.00% 
Reviewed on February 17th, 2008 at 03:04 EST by Chris Burdick
Customer for duration of 6 - 11 months
IP Address: 12.217.223.206
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: http://www.automoblog.net/   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
39 out of 39 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #22 out of 57 DreamHost reviews
uptime & reliability
9.80
server & connection speed
9.80
technical support & knowledge
10.0
customer service & billing
8.00
price value for money
9.00
* ratings are out of 10

A great host

I have been with dreamhost for over a year now, I signed up durning a time when Dreamhost had poor reputation for up time, the reason I signed up with them was because I knew a few sites that had been running with them for a few years and the owners of those sites had said Dreamhost had a great deal going.

So I registered and sure enough they had some down time, but when my site went down I emailed and within a few hours it was running again.

But Dreamhost quickly turned it around, meaning their response time to emails are sometimes counted in minutes rather than hours and so is their fixing time.

Their prices have gone down, while their service and online time has gone up.

The uptime is great and so is the reliability, a normal month sees my site going down... never. I have had one down time in the past few months, because of a scheduled move of my cluster to another server.

Their billing would have gotten a 10 from me, but because they charged me twice for last year's bill (and fixed within 10 hours, I didn't even notice... it's the principle) they get an 8.

Biggest Pro: Customer Service, response time to queries

DreamHost is recommended by Adam McPeake. This person recommends DreamHost.
› Overall Rating ››    98.00% 
Reviewed on February 3rd, 2008 at 17:45 EST by Adam McPeake
Customer for duration of 1 - 2 years
IP Address: 81.157.50.208
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: http://www.wized.net/   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
35 out of 35 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #23 out of 57 DreamHost reviews
uptime & reliability
10.0
server & connection speed
7.00
technical support & knowledge
10.0
customer service & billing
10.0
price value for money
10.0
* ratings are out of 10

Dreamhost Is Great

My experience with Dreamhost has been good so far. The support team is very helpful and I've only had to send about two tickets this whole time I have been with them. The uptime is excellent but the speed of the server is a bit slow. At times it will go great but then there are those days when it is not. The prices are very reasonable, and I do believe they give you for what you pay for. Overall I think this host is great, it's not excellent but it is a good host.

Biggest Pro: uptime
Biggest Con: speed

DreamHost is recommended by Priscilla. This person recommends DreamHost.
› Overall Rating ››    98.00% 
Reviewed on January 21st, 2008 at 18:53 EST by Priscilla
Customer for duration of 3 - 5 months
IP Address: 75.54.104.6
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: http://www.antiyou.org/   Email: scenegirl@gmail.com
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
33 out of 33 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #24 out of 57 DreamHost reviews
uptime & reliability
9.70
server & connection speed
8.70
technical support & knowledge
9.90
customer service & billing
9.80
price value for money
9.80
* ratings are out of 10

Great Host, Just A Few Problems

Well, Dreamhost has a generally negative reputation among long time webmasters ....(this is really more for beginners-mid level webmasters) it's brilliant for everything else. They do have some extra features that really want to make you go for the plan, like jabber, however, they do lack a few features compared to cPanel (I can't exactly tell what, but you get to understand it after a while). Generally they're pretty good. ESPECIALLY if you're new or want cheap, reliable hosting. I don't think I ever experienced that much downtime. Overall, if you want every sing feature and you're a long time webmaster, Dreamhost isn't recommended, but for beginners to intermediate, it's fine.

Biggest Pro: Very flexable...
Biggest Con: Not the fastest at doing things.....some problems.....perhaps non-standard

DreamHost is recommended by dex. This person recommends DreamHost.
› Overall Rating ››    95.00% 
Reviewed on January 1st, 2008 at 20:54 EST by dex
Customer for duration of 6 - 11 months
IP Address: 68.197.93.237
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
29 out of 29 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #25 out of 57 DreamHost reviews
uptime & reliability
10.0
server & connection speed
9.30
technical support & knowledge
10.0
customer service & billing
10.0
price value for money
9.00
* ratings are out of 10

Dreamhost and why I took it.

I am a very happy customer of Dreamhost. My websites I have hosted there are targeted for the US and so they run with very good speed. The connection to Europe is not always that fast. All in all I am very happy with the provided service. They have nice applications for 1 click install. It is also possible to share one account with multiple users you define.

Bandwith and Quota is awesome. You can't run out of it at all and the best, it is increasing continuously.

The reasion why I chose Dreamhost among others was, that they are reliable and that they support svn which is very important for dev teams.

Biggest Pro: ssh, possible to install additional software, fast support, space, bandwith

DreamHost is recommended by schoash. This person recommends DreamHost.
› Overall Rating ››    97.00% 
Reviewed on December 17th, 2007 at 06:12 EST by schoash
Customer for duration of 6 - 11 months
IP Address: 80.121.105.169
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
30 out of 30 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #26 out of 57 DreamHost reviews
uptime & reliability
9.00
server & connection speed
8.50
technical support & knowledge
9.50
customer service & billing
9.50
price value for money
10.0
* ratings are out of 10

DreamHost, Pros and Cons

I am a satisfied client of Dreamhost for 3 months now.

On my whole three months of hosting with them, I have only experienced one long downtime which was two hours. Aside from that, they were up and running. They also keep a third-party hosted DreamHost status site in which they post advisories regarding downtimes.

Regarding server and connection speed, they are sort of slow but still at par to what is expected.

They also have a huge support knowledgebase wiki, which turns out to be very helpful when I ran into problems. It contains info from cron jobs, automated installs up to media streaming.

On customer service, they are quick. There was a time when I contacted support team, and got a reply in 15 minutes. Most of the time, they reply in less than 6 hours but there was one instance in which I still had to wait for 24 hours for their reply.

I got my one year hosting plan with 500GB webspace and 5.00TB bandwidth just for $22.40. The original price was $119.40 or $9.95 per month but I got a $97.00 off coupon.

Biggest Pro: They host files in different servers. Downtimes usually happen server by server.

DreamHost is recommended by Conrad Miguel E. Gozalo. This person recommends DreamHost.
› Overall Rating ››    93.00% 
Reviewed on December 16th, 2007 at 10:35 EST by Conrad Miguel E. Gozalo
Customer for duration of 3 - 5 months
IP Address: 125.212.111.187
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: http://www.conradmiguel.com/   Email: admin@conradmiguel.com
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
30 out of 30 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #27 out of 57 DreamHost reviews
uptime & reliability
10.0
server & connection speed
10.0
technical support & knowledge
10.0
customer service & billing
10.0
price value for money
10.0
* ratings are out of 10

DreamHost

Dreamhost is a great hosting provider for many reasons, but the three most poignant would have to be their uptime and reliability, their support, and their speed. Dream host is one of the fastest host that I have even been on, when you do something, it happens very quickly. They have very responsive DNS servers and all their other services update quickly. Dreamhost has never went down for me and I have been hosted for over two months. Their support is incredible, they have live chat standing by and they have a wiki filled with the answers to every question, just waiting for you to read. Even if the answer is in the wiki, they will still help you out on chat and not just tell you to read the wiki. I also like the way they do their "one-click installs" where you can install a script through the admin panel. It is done much better than fantastico does it in my experience because it gives you more control over the database and other things. I am loving Dreamhost and would gladly recommend them to someone else.

Biggest Pro: They have a wiki, makes finding things easy without bothering other people.
Biggest Con: The control panel is kind of awkward.

DreamHost is recommended by Aonxe. This person recommends DreamHost.
› Overall Rating ››    100.0% 
Reviewed on December 8th, 2007 at 02:48 EST by Aonxe
Customer for duration of 1 - 2 months
IP Address: 24.214.143.66
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: http://www.aonxe.com/   Email: stevenholder1@gmail.com
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
27 out of 27 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #28 out of 57 DreamHost reviews
uptime & reliability
9.90
server & connection speed
10.0
technical support & knowledge
10.0
customer service & billing
10.0
price value for money
10.0
* ratings are out of 10

Dreamhost Review

I'm Extremely Happy With Dreamhost. I Would Rather Say I Found this as best Hosting for me.

Disappointed with other hosts i was searching for reviews this time and found them to be good in other sites

Planned to start hosting with them.

Im Happy Because of the following reasons :

1) Their speed servers
2) Their Fast Customer Support(Infact one guy helped me a lot. The Server load for mySQL went to 70% for my site. We had discussion on that and we were able to reduce the sql load) I would rate them A++ for Customer Support
3) Cheap Hosting
4) Latest version One Click installs
5) good Cpanel

Cant say more than this

I recommend everyone to go for this

Biggest Pro: Speed Servers, Cheap Hosting and excellent Customer Support
Biggest Con: None in particular

DreamHost is recommended by Rahul. This person recommends DreamHost.
› Overall Rating ››    100.0% 
Reviewed on November 21st, 2007 at 14:32 EST by Rahul
Customer for duration of 1 - 2 months
IP Address: 117.199.224.5
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
27 out of 27 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #29 out of 57 DreamHost reviews
uptime & reliability
9.80
server & connection speed
9.90
technical support & knowledge
10.0
customer service & billing
9.90
price value for money
9.90
* ratings are out of 10

Awesome Service

Hi.. i am a webmaster and i own several sites but i concentrate more on my site www.exambell.com i have been maintaining the sites since last few months. i am using dreamhost service for hosting the site . I really find the service awesome and the best thing about the service is the way the site is managed. I ahve never had problems in regards to hosting and i always felt the price was a bit higher but the service is really cool. The support they provide is note worthy i remember days when they called me to fix a problem and worked for hours with phone in line

i really like DreamHost

Biggest Pro: Service
Biggest Con: Price

DreamHost is recommended by Rickson. This person recommends DreamHost.
› Overall Rating ››    100.0% 
Reviewed on November 12th, 2007 at 20:50 EST by Rickson
Customer for duration of 6 - 11 months
IP Address: 122.164.188.138
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
26 out of 26 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #30 out of 57 DreamHost reviews
link to this page   |   tell a friend about this web host
Host Gator - Host Unlimited Web Sites
DreamHost Coupon
Use coupon code SAVE60OFF to save $60 when you pay yearly with DreamHost. This code only works if you pay yearly, and it gives you an entire 50% off.

Apply coupon at DreamHost.


For Users
Web Hosting Reviews
Submit Review
Advanced Search
All Web Hosts
Top Rated

Our Difference
Contact


Free Newsletter
For Hosts
Host Log-in
Create Account
Generate Links
Get More Exposure


New Reviews
Go Daddy
000webhost
Just Host
WebHostingPad
EasyCGI
BlueFur
SkyNet Hosting
Arvixe
HostSo
VPSDepot
ADDR
Lunarpages
Quick2Host
WebIntellects
KVC Hosting
SiteGround
A Small Orange
ServerSea
StoresOnline
HostPapa


Other
Website Thumbnails
This site is powered by Host Gator.
Copyright © 1999-2016 WebHostingReviews.com. All Rights Reserved.
All reviews, content, graphics, logos, design, and scripts, are the sole property of WebHostingReviews.com, and
may not be used without prior written consent from us. All violations will be prosecuted to the maximum extent possible under the law.
Last Update: June 20th, 2016 at 15:01 EST / This site has a total of 3,441 web hosting reviews, based on 529 different web hosting companies.