DreamHost

Visit DreamHost Visit DreamHost   Write your own DreamHost review. Write your own DreamHost review.
36 out of 57 (or 63% of) people recommend DreamHost.
 › Rating Averages ››
Uptime & Reliability Server & Connection Speed Price Value for Money
6.86 / 10.0 7.11 / 10.0 7.50 / 10.0
Technical Support & Knowledge Customer Service & Billing
7.41 / 10.0 7.43 / 10.0
DreamHost
› Overall Rating ››    66.58% 
How are ratings calculated? 
  • Analyze this Page for Me
Showing 11 to 20 out of 57 reviews.   Filter Reviews
Page Relevancy
Review Quality 100%
What's
this?

DreamHost reviews

uptime & reliability
9.90
server & connection speed
10.0
technical support & knowledge
10.0
customer service & billing
9.00
price value for money
10.0
* ratings are out of 10

A dream to host.

I've hosted on their site for about a year. They're actually quite legit, despite shit other people say. I hosted my blog along with personal files on their site with no problems. The fact people crying because they can't understand the fact that their site is not a VPS is beyond me.

Overall, the biggest con is the exorbitant prices charged by them. They have promotions going around major holidays with $10/y (plus the domain if you decide not to renew) unlimited hosting plans though so it kind of cancels it out. I don't really know support since I haven't needed it.

Another major con is no cPanel. I think they have an option to import it but I've never adapted to their control panel. Their "advanced" one-click installs are easy and give you access to modify the installed software as you want, unlike the "easy" one-click installs, which lock you out from any modifications.

I stopped using Dreamhost a few weeks short of the domain/hosting expiry date and am expecting a fee for the domain that I hosted with them. No problems other than me being suspicious that the charge is going to pop up whenever it feels like.

Rating: A solid A-. Bonus points for extremely cheap unlimited hosting and points taken off for no cPanel and shitty one-click installs.

Obviously not paid by Dreamhost, and neither paid by any other hosting company. If you want a good host, google one.

Biggest Pro: Great deals going around
Biggest Con: No cPanel

DreamHost is recommended by Jerkface McGee. This person recommends DreamHost.
› Overall Rating ››    90.00% 
Reviewed on January 2nd, 2011 at 04:08 EST by Jerkface McGee
Customer for duration of 6 - 11 months
IP Address: 24.12.63.94
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Windows   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
21 out of 21 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #11 out of 57 DreamHost reviews
uptime & reliability
10.0
server & connection speed
10.0
technical support & knowledge
10.0
customer service & billing
10.0
price value for money
9.90
* ratings are out of 10

I love dreamhost!

I'm not sure why there are so many bad comments about Dreamhost. Since I had very good experience with them, I thought of defending my ex-hosting provider. Though I don't host with them anymore (because I felt they were expensive), my domain is still registered with them.

I use to host my blog with dreamhost for almost 2 years. It's really a dream hosting with them. To be very honest, I never had any downtime nor did I notice any drop in connection speed.

I love them the most because of their Control Panel. It's the best I have experienced so far. (To be honest, I have experience with only 2 hosting companies). Their control panel is simply amazing and you can do most of the stuff without even contacting their support team.

What more, they offer you ssh access, django/rails support which is great if you are web developer. I hardly contacted their support team, but in few times I contacted them, they were very responsive. They also have an extensive knowledge base in the form of wikis and forums.

I made one of the biggest blunder in my life by moving from them to Just Host. Yes, you read it right, Just Host. Like most of them who moved to Just Host, I moved to them because they offered cheap hosting. I was paying around $9/month at Dreamhost and the offer of around $4 was simply irresistible for me.

I use to host just my wordpress blog then and I found I was not effectively using my blog so I thought of saving some money by moving to Just Host. Hmm..now I think I should have moved to Blogger which offers free custom domain hosting.

Now I'm learning python/django and when I checked with Just Host regarding that, they told me they don't support django on shared servers. For SSH access, Just Host asked me to pay $19/year extra. Contrast this with Dreamhost, all of these are bundled in. So in actual sense, the pricing of Dreamhost looks ok for me now.

It was only after moving foolishly (without reading the reviews here) to Just Host, I felt the importance of Dreamhost. I simply love you Dreamhost and looking forward to come back to you after getting rid of Just Host.

Please don't think that I'm paid by "dreamhost" to write this review. I have no affiliation with them except having hosted my blog with them before. I'm not disclosing my current blog address because I still host it with Just Host.

Biggest Pro: Control Panel, Knowledge Base
Biggest Con: None

DreamHost is recommended by James. This person recommends DreamHost.
› Overall Rating ››    100.0% 
Reviewed on November 26th, 2010 at 03:14 EST by James
Customer for duration of 1 - 2 years
IP Address: 175.136.206.163
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
20 out of 20 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #12 out of 57 DreamHost reviews
uptime & reliability
4.10
server & connection speed
4.30
technical support & knowledge
2.60
customer service & billing
0.40
price value for money
4.80
* ratings are out of 10

Never never never use dreamhost

Never in my life have I hated anyone or any business as much as this dreamhost. If just the server down often, it is technical problem, you just move on to do your business elsewhere. With dreamhost, since they provide daily backup I did not do my own backup. One day, they closed my account without warning, saying there was too much load. Ok, I will move my business elsewhere, however they will not give me my own scripts back. Without a live phone support, they do not answer email, so no matter how much you hate them, they are not answering your email. I would curse dreamhost for the rest of my life. If you use them, you are not just warned, you are cursed as well.

DreamHost is NOT recommended by david zhang. This person does NOT recommend DreamHost.
› Overall Rating ››    0.00% 
Reviewed on October 29th, 2010 at 15:40 EST by david zhang
Customer for duration of 1 - 2 months
IP Address: 63.82.82.12
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: http://www.yportal.com/   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
22 out of 22 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #13 out of 57 DreamHost reviews
uptime & reliability
7.00
server & connection speed
8.00
technical support & knowledge
8.50
customer service & billing
7.00
price value for money
5.00
* ratings are out of 10

4 year client review

Read Adam's review - same thing happened to me.
All of the sudden all of my websites went down, I was in a short vacation. People calling in, what's going on, why are all the 100+ websites down? Well, Dreamhost decided to close them all off.
Asked why, they sent me general wikipedia pages on subjects like TOS or host policies. Asked again - "SEO black hat tactics". I still have no idea WHY.

Went through hell to move all my domains (including the actual domain names).

I would not recommend them to ANYONE.

DreamHost is NOT recommended by Loreen. This person does NOT recommend DreamHost.
› Overall Rating ››    0.00% 
Reviewed on October 29th, 2010 at 11:31 EST by Loreen
Customer for duration of 3 - 5 years
IP Address: 79.117.111.145
Type of Plan: Virtual Private Servers   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
24 out of 24 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #14 out of 57 DreamHost reviews
uptime & reliability
1.00
server & connection speed
2.00
technical support & knowledge
6.80
customer service & billing
5.40
price value for money
3.90
* ratings are out of 10

For the sake of your online business, KEEP AWAY from them!

DreamHost would have been the best of cheap webhosting if their servers do not crash and go down so frequently. It's absolutely a nightmare. Their control panel is great, support not bad too, but what do these matter if the server is down for 1/5 of the time?! We need uptime! That's essentially what makes a great web host! But on the contrary, DreamHost is way beyond a bad host in uptime.

Absolutely NOT recommended, even with a small budget you can find better uptime services elsewhere.

Biggest Pro: control panel
Biggest Con: uptime

DreamHost is NOT recommended by js. This person does NOT recommend DreamHost.
› Overall Rating ››    10.00% 
Reviewed on August 30th, 2009 at 04:54 EST by js
Customer for duration of 6 - 11 months
IP Address: 64.56.70.69
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
25 out of 25 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #15 out of 57 DreamHost reviews
uptime & reliability
5.00
server & connection speed
7.50
technical support & knowledge
6.00
customer service & billing
7.00
price value for money
4.00
* ratings are out of 10

Used to be good. Not anymore

I have been a customer with DreamHost for 5 years. My lead Web site has been online since 2000 and gets about 1000 visitors per day. I presently use the account to host five minor domains.

Dreamhost used to be great. I looked forward to Josh's monthly newsletter, and loved the ease of use of the admin panel, which is clearer and more user-friendly than cPanel.

But about a year ago, the company had major downtime problems. Because they had been so good before, and because of the pain of transferring domains, I stuck with them.

But overall, the service has generally deteriorated.

I've had significant problems with Dreamhost recently. In particular, the site has been down because of server throttling. Dreamhost claims that the throttling automatically kicks in once traffic exceeds certain thresholds to avoid compromising service for other domains on the shared server. But I see no increase in traffic, either on the hosted stats or on Google Analytics. The throttling began very suddenly. One day everything was fine, next day throttling hit my site, down, down, down. If the traffic theory is correct, wouldn't it be gradual? And even if I was linked to by Huffington Post causing a buttload of traffic, why isn't that in my stats?

Generally support had not been very helpful in getting me to the source of the problem.

Dreamhost's first suggestion I try a private server. I was annoyed that they tried to upsell me rather than solving the problem.

I am not looking for perfection, just reliable service and reasonable value.

As I have only used Dreamhost, my comparisons may not be fair. But I wanted to share this experience with anyone considering Dreamhost as a hosting option.

Biggest Pro: Admin panel
Biggest Con: Downtime

DreamHost is NOT recommended by Roger. This person does NOT recommend DreamHost.
› Overall Rating ››    60.00% 
Reviewed on June 1st, 2009 at 14:42 EST by Roger
Customer for duration of More than 5 years
IP Address: 66.193.5.226
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Unix   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
29 out of 29 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #16 out of 57 DreamHost reviews
uptime & reliability
0.00
server & connection speed
2.00
technical support & knowledge
2.00
customer service & billing
10.0
price value for money
5.00
* ratings are out of 10

Down, down, always down.

I have lost vastly more money from downtime with this host than I have ever paid them for their service. There is no telephone support and email support is spotty. I've had times where they don't even respond.

I initially liked their irreverent attitude, but that approach only works if one is at the top of their game. I can't count how many times I have been down for an hour or more without warning and sometimes without admitting anything is wrong. I double-check remotely before contacting support and they had the audacity to tell me nothing was wrong and it must be something on my end. This puts them in one of two categories; igorant or liar. Either one means a new host for me.

Biggest Con: downtime, less-than-professional approach

DreamHost is NOT recommended by Cliff Deputy. This person does NOT recommend DreamHost.
› Overall Rating ››    30.00% 
Reviewed on May 14th, 2009 at 16:22 EST by Cliff Deputy
Customer for duration of 3 - 5 years
IP Address: 75.165.18.248
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
26 out of 26 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #17 out of 57 DreamHost reviews
uptime & reliability
8.00
server & connection speed
7.00
technical support & knowledge
6.00
customer service & billing
2.00
price value for money
3.50
* ratings are out of 10

fatal flaw - they shut down all your websites!

I had no problems other than slow/poor service for over a year - then suddenly one day all 10 of my websites stopped working! It turns out I had violated one tiny section of their "spam policies" (I NEVER sent any spam) but the real reason is one of their support people was getting revenge because I asked to speak to his manager.

They cut off my entire business without warning.

They cut off access to all my data.

There was no way to talk to a supervisor or get it back.

If you can't trust your host to be on your side, what good is the rest of their promises? AVOID LIKE THE PLAGUE.

DreamHost is NOT recommended by Adam. This person does NOT recommend DreamHost.
› Overall Rating ››    0.00% 
Reviewed on January 30th, 2009 at 18:48 EST by Adam
Customer for duration of 1 - 2 years
IP Address: 66.31.43.55
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
34 out of 34 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #18 out of 57 DreamHost reviews
uptime & reliability
0.00
server & connection speed
0.00
technical support & knowledge
0.00
customer service & billing
0.00
price value for money
0.00
* ratings are out of 10

Dreamhost nightmare. Strongly recommend against using it.

I initially joined Dreamhost because they were offering a heavily discounted plan. As the saying goes, you get what you pay for and it was one of my worse decisions in my life. The website was initially plagued by excessive downtime and there is no telephone customer service support. Customer service is non existent and a constant merry go round of endless e-mails. I have wasted a lot of my precious time trying to get things fixed that should be done right in the first place.

When I went to renew, my payment went to a wrong account and it took endless e-mails to try to sort it out and my billing still isn't correct as they charged me for services that I did not request. I just sent an e-mail requesting to close my account immediately and I got back an e-mail with a link to do it myself. It is customer service at it's worst!

Biggest Pro: none
Biggest Con: customer service, excessive downtime.

DreamHost is NOT recommended by Doug. This person does NOT recommend DreamHost.
› Overall Rating ››    0.00% 
Reviewed on December 30th, 2008 at 01:35 EST by Doug
Customer for duration of 1 - 2 years
IP Address: 24.22.110.7
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
33 out of 33 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #19 out of 57 DreamHost reviews
uptime & reliability
0.00
server & connection speed
0.00
technical support & knowledge
0.00
customer service & billing
0.00
price value for money
0.00
* ratings are out of 10

Worst Host Ever

The worst hosting company in the HISTORY of mankind. PLEASE stay away. It only gives you headaches. They never answer your email, they never fix the problem and your website will just not work. Nothing ever works.

Did you ever want to use a hosting company and have it just, work? That's not Dream Host. Dream Host is known as Dream Disgrace. Possibly the worst hosting company on the face of this earth. I'm losing to other Yankee bloggers because I couldn't post anything for 5 hours. NEVER use Dream Host.

Biggest Con: support, uptime, mysql

DreamHost is NOT recommended by Patrick. This person does NOT recommend DreamHost.
› Overall Rating ››    0.00% 
Reviewed on November 26th, 2008 at 17:30 EST by Patrick
Customer for duration of 6 - 11 months
IP Address: 70.177.17.251
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
30 out of 30 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #20 out of 57 DreamHost reviews
link to this page   |   tell a friend about this web host
Host Gator - Host Unlimited Web Sites
DreamHost Coupon
Use coupon code SAVE60OFF to save $60 when you pay yearly with DreamHost. This code only works if you pay yearly, and it gives you an entire 50% off.

Apply coupon at DreamHost.


For Users
Web Hosting Reviews
Submit Review
Advanced Search
All Web Hosts
Top Rated

Our Difference
Contact


Free Newsletter
For Hosts
Host Log-in
Create Account
Generate Links
Get More Exposure


New Reviews
Go Daddy
000webhost
Just Host
WebHostingPad
EasyCGI
BlueFur
SkyNet Hosting
Arvixe
HostSo
VPSDepot
ADDR
Lunarpages
Quick2Host
WebIntellects
KVC Hosting
SiteGround
A Small Orange
ServerSea
StoresOnline
HostPapa


Other
Website Thumbnails
This site is powered by Host Gator.
Copyright © 1999-2016 WebHostingReviews.com. All Rights Reserved.
All reviews, content, graphics, logos, design, and scripts, are the sole property of WebHostingReviews.com, and
may not be used without prior written consent from us. All violations will be prosecuted to the maximum extent possible under the law.
Last Update: June 20th, 2016 at 15:01 EST / This site has a total of 3,441 web hosting reviews, based on 529 different web hosting companies.