ByetHost

Visit ByetHost Visit ByetHost   Write your own ByetHost review. Write your own ByetHost review.
4 out of 23 (or 17% of) people recommend ByetHost.
 › Rating Averages ››
Uptime & Reliability Server & Connection Speed Price Value for Money
5.77 / 10.0 6.13 / 10.0 4.19 / 10.0
Technical Support & Knowledge Customer Service & Billing
2.95 / 10.0 2.85 / 10.0
ByetHost
› Overall Rating ››    33.83% 
How are ratings calculated? 
  • Analyze this Page for Me
Showing 1 to 10 out of 23 reviews.   Filter Reviews
Page Relevancy
Review Quality 100%
What's
this?
« Prev 1 2 3

ByetHost reviews

uptime & reliability
1.00
server & connection speed
1.50
technical support & knowledge
0.00
customer service & billing
0.00
price value for money
0.00
* ratings are out of 10

Warning

Hi there,

Byethost free hosting is a pure scam. First you create your website and when it gets some traffic they send you emails to sign for a paid account. If you don't agree, then they suspend your free account but redirect your domain to a parking or to spam sites to earn money. They steal all your hard work and your traffic.

This is not a free hosting because they earn a lot of money at the expense of their old free account customers. As I said, pure scammers, so warning!

Regards.

Biggest Pro: None
Biggest Con: Scam

ByetHost is NOT recommended by Frank. This person does NOT recommend ByetHost.
› Overall Rating ››    0.00% 
Reviewed on July 18th, 2013 at 11:30 EST by Frank
Customer for duration of 3 - 5 years
IP Address: 188.78.206.251
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #1 out of 23 ByetHost reviews
uptime & reliability
9.90
server & connection speed
10.0
technical support & knowledge
10.0
customer service & billing
10.0
price value for money
10.0
* ratings are out of 10

Hosting

IS this a review site for free hosting or paid hosting,, looking at *most* the hosts on here it appears people are revieing paid services !! , yethost have a free and paid service, I think its unfair to suggest that the paid service is going to be anything like the free service.

I have been using byethost for many years, and can not fault their free hosting service, ok, it does sometimes run slowly and ok my account has been suspended once for possible abuse (which was resolved in less than 30 minutes after placing a support ticket) , however these guys must have a hard job policing 'free hosting' , I can only guess how many abusefull contents get uploaded on a daily basis that not only use resources that could slow my site but also cause legal issues (phishing , etc ) so I understand their suspend policy for free hosting accounts.

I also have premium hosting from byethost which is consistently fast and does not have any of the issues that have been explained, they also have cloudfalre railgun for free on paid hosting (normally costs $200 from cloudflare direct ) and many seo tools, all in all I rate byethost highly and think peopel complaining about the free service should check how much they paid before complaining on a paid hosting review site.

Biggest Pro: fast, reliable, railgun for free on paid
Biggest Con: have suspended me once, but such is life.

ByetHost is recommended by Kevin Jonsone. This person recommends ByetHost.
› Overall Rating ››    100.0% 
Reviewed on May 20th, 2013 at 07:38 EST by Kevin Jonsone
Customer for duration of 1 - 2 years
IP Address: 85.158.45.157
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: http://www.tramwaymaroc.byethost14.com/   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #2 out of 23 ByetHost reviews
uptime & reliability
0.00
server & connection speed
0.00
technical support & knowledge
0.00
customer service & billing
0.00
price value for money
0.00
* ratings are out of 10

No Access for Free Hosting

I would have bought hosting through ByetHost, but they can't even get their free hosting to work right. And they failed to provide a way to contact them for help with their free hosting. Their email says to contact them through cPanel, but they don't provide a way to sign in and access cPanel. Their email shows a link, user name and password for cPanel. But the link leads to a VistaPanel log in site. And then the provided user name and password (for cPanel) fails to access anything through the VistaPanel log-in. I reset the password through VistaPanel's lost password option, but that also failed to access cPanel or VistaPanel. It's a run around not worth anyone's time. If ByetHost can't properly operate a free host, I find no reason to trust them with my money.

Biggest Pro: Waste of time.
Biggest Con: Waste of time.

ByetHost is NOT recommended by Bradley Sanderson. This person does NOT recommend ByetHost.
› Overall Rating ››    0.00% 
Reviewed on October 2nd, 2012 at 14:14 EST by Bradley Sanderson
Customer for duration of Less than 1 month
IP Address: 184.6.159.90
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #3 out of 23 ByetHost reviews
uptime & reliability
4.00
server & connection speed
8.10
technical support & knowledge
0.00
customer service & billing
0.00
price value for money
0.00
* ratings are out of 10

Free Service Sucks

With Byet for a few weeks. I noticed when I signed on sometimes I would be redirected to upgrade. When I hit the back button I'd go to my original direction. Then I would be flagged because the server was getting overloaded. Come on I've only been on their server a couple of days. The site not even done. Now I get a message that the server maybe misconfigured or down for maintenance. This has been for the last few days. Byethost lost a potential paying consumer. I'm glad I found out this way. What really burns me up though is the information lost.

ByetHost is NOT recommended by Bryant. This person does NOT recommend ByetHost.
› Overall Rating ››    0.00% 
Reviewed on June 30th, 2012 at 20:58 EST by Bryant
Customer for duration of Less than 1 month
IP Address: 69.183.23.37
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: http://www.papa.byethost22.com/   Email: bryntrollins@gmail.com
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #4 out of 23 ByetHost reviews
uptime & reliability
0.00
server & connection speed
0.00
technical support & knowledge
0.00
customer service & billing
0.00
price value for money
0.00
* ratings are out of 10

Free websites taken down without notice!

I just lost my website on this host!

I googled for web22.net (one of their free subdomains) and visited several random websites and they are all down! An ad is displayed instead of the web page.

I posted a couple of hints on what can be done on http://web22-problem.netne.net

Stay away from this free server!!!

Biggest Con: free websites taken down without notice

ByetHost is NOT recommended by Unhappy Admin. This person does NOT recommend ByetHost.
› Overall Rating ››    0.00% 
Reviewed on May 8th, 2012 at 01:36 EST by Unhappy Admin
Customer for duration of 1 - 2 years
IP Address: 76.183.85.233
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #5 out of 23 ByetHost reviews
uptime & reliability
8.00
server & connection speed
7.00
technical support & knowledge
1.00
customer service & billing
0.40
price value for money
7.50
* ratings are out of 10

Run away from them

I am now in the third year with them. Most of time were ok, but when your site get trafic they suspend it without notify. Their suport agents are idiots. I asked canceling some hosting services in order to move them in a reseller account and they canceled my domains. I can't wait to escape from there. No contact info except their lousy tiket sistem. They are fraud.

Biggest Pro: Price and speed
Biggest Con: The tech suport. Suspention without warning

ByetHost is NOT recommended by Costin. This person does NOT recommend ByetHost.
› Overall Rating ››    10.00% 
Reviewed on February 13th, 2012 at 18:18 EST by Costin
Customer for duration of 1 - 2 years
IP Address: 95.77.199.31
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #6 out of 23 ByetHost reviews
uptime & reliability
3.70
server & connection speed
1.90
technical support & knowledge
7.10
customer service & billing
1.30
price value for money
0.00
* ratings are out of 10

I dont like this hosting

I have free plan for years. Recently, they made changes and my account had been suspended, after i kick off from the site and i move it my second site to other hosting, they still keep sending me email.

They say...

Congratulations, we see by your account usage that you have made your site successful.

This mail is to let you know that your site has used over 30% of its daily CPU Quota.

We would suggest you should consider upgrading your account to a premium (paid) account where the resource limits are MASSIVLY upgraded, where your site can continue to grow....

Funny....

ByetHost is NOT recommended by devi. This person does NOT recommend ByetHost.
› Overall Rating ››    0.00% 
Reviewed on December 5th, 2011 at 13:30 EST by devi
Customer for duration of 1 - 2 years
IP Address: 139.194.193.138
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #7 out of 23 ByetHost reviews
uptime & reliability
5.00
server & connection speed
8.30
technical support & knowledge
0.00
customer service & billing
0.00
price value for money
4.60
* ratings are out of 10

You get what you pay for...

So I have been with byethost for MANY MANY years on a shared host. It started off great because at the time their $36 per year hosting was the best deal out there. I recommended them due to their awesome support and cheap prices.

However, when the time came to upgrade to a dedicated server about 5 months ago things started getting bad. Their support went crazy, and not even helpful. They DON'T have 24/7 support, and only answer questions at 2 AM, and no other time. Their payment system is what really ticked me off. I never set up automatic payments but yet they were withdrawing money from my PayPal account. I was okay with it untill what I saw... All my records indicate that it was $32.00 a month. Once checking with paypal, they have been withdrawing $99 a month. This is theft and have been going on for months. I've lost almost around $300 due to this. This is NOT okay. I contact them about the issue and just made up excuses... And I also had about a 7 hour downtime which they couldn't explain so they did a full system restore. However when doing so, half of my scripts no longer work... GREAT!

Recently I contacted host gator, and they have FANTASTIC helpful support! I recently switched and left byethost in the dust... Best decision in my life! NEVER GO WITH BYETHOST (unless you want to be stolen from).

Biggest Pro: cheap
Biggest Con: terrible service

ByetHost is NOT recommended by Coulton Vento. This person does NOT recommend ByetHost.
› Overall Rating ››    47.00% 
Reviewed on November 6th, 2011 at 16:22 EST by Coulton Vento
Customer for duration of More than 5 years
IP Address: 71.52.83.13
Type of Plan: Dedicated   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #8 out of 23 ByetHost reviews
uptime & reliability
8.40
server & connection speed
8.50
technical support & knowledge
0.00
customer service & billing
0.00
price value for money
0.00
* ratings are out of 10

pain in the neck

I have free plan for years. Recently, they made changes and my account had been suspended for weeks until I had php scripts.

They say I violated usage policy. I didn't touch the site for 2 years. Eventually I was told my site overuse the processor. They do not give you info why they suspend your pages they just do.

Note if you have some php scripts on your free plan your site it will be down 99.9 % of the time.

THEY WANT YOU TO HAVE ONLY 5 PLAIN HTML PAGES IF YOU HAVE FREE PLAN. GOING BACK 10 YEARS :) FORGET IT

Biggest Pro: free
Biggest Con: changings come without giving info to custumers, forcing money

ByetHost is NOT recommended by aaron. This person does NOT recommend ByetHost.
› Overall Rating ››    0.00% 
Reviewed on September 7th, 2011 at 05:05 EST by aaron
Customer for duration of 3 - 5 years
IP Address: 94.169.40.52
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #9 out of 23 ByetHost reviews
uptime & reliability
7.40
server & connection speed
8.30
technical support & knowledge
4.60
customer service & billing
4.90
price value for money
9.30
* ratings are out of 10

A bit flaky

I have free service, no special services.

Often, they go down for short periods of time, and redirect to an ifastnet page.

About once a year, they run some scanner to look for violations, and it's really stupid. It found the word "kids" on one of my pages, "picture" on another page, and turned off my site as a child-porn site. No email to me, no human looked at the pages involved, just turned everything off. And they were completely unapologetic when I pointed out that this was a bad practice. Has happened to my site twice now.

Biggest Pro: free
Biggest Con: flaky

ByetHost is NOT recommended by Bill Dietrich. This person does NOT recommend ByetHost.
› Overall Rating ››    63.00% 
Reviewed on March 10th, 2011 at 15:23 EST by Bill Dietrich
Customer for duration of 1 - 2 years
IP Address: 208.84.204.84
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: http://www.billdietrich.byethost8.com/   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
14 out of 14 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #10 out of 23 ByetHost reviews
« Prev 1 2 3
link to this page   |   tell a friend about this web host
Host Gator - Host Unlimited Web Sites
Reseller Hosting - 50% Off
Host Unlimited Sites
Free Dedicated IP & Backups
90 Day Money Back Guarantee
Try it out for just $13.99/mo.
InMotion Hosting

Read what users say about InMotion Hosting!


For Users
Web Hosting Reviews
Submit Review
Advanced Search
All Web Hosts
Top Rated

Our Difference
Contact


Free Newsletter
For Hosts
Host Log-in
Create Account
Generate Links
Get More Exposure


New Reviews
Go Daddy
000webhost
Just Host
WebHostingPad
EasyCGI
BlueFur
SkyNet Hosting
Arvixe
HostSo
VPSDepot
ADDR
Lunarpages
Quick2Host
WebIntellects
KVC Hosting
SiteGround
A Small Orange
ServerSea
StoresOnline
HostPapa


Other
Website Thumbnails
This site is powered by Host Gator.
Copyright © 1999-2016 WebHostingReviews.com. All Rights Reserved.
All reviews, content, graphics, logos, design, and scripts, are the sole property of WebHostingReviews.com, and
may not be used without prior written consent from us. All violations will be prosecuted to the maximum extent possible under the law.
Last Update: June 20th, 2016 at 15:01 EST / This site has a total of 3,441 web hosting reviews, based on 529 different web hosting companies.