BlueHost

Visit BlueHost Visit BlueHost   Write your own BlueHost review. Write your own BlueHost review.
18 out of 42 (or 43% of) people recommend BlueHost.
 › Rating Averages ››
Uptime & Reliability Server & Connection Speed Price Value for Money
7.42 / 10.0 6.84 / 10.0 6.25 / 10.0
Technical Support & Knowledge Customer Service & Billing
5.71 / 10.0 5.76 / 10.0
BlueHost
› Overall Rating ››    57.48% 
How are ratings calculated? 
  • Analyze this Page for Me
Showing 1 to 10 out of 42 reviews.   Filter Reviews
Page Relevancy
Review Quality 100%
What's
this?
« Prev 1 2 3 4 5

BlueHost reviews

uptime & reliability
8.00
server & connection speed
8.00
technical support & knowledge
5.00
customer service & billing
5.00
price value for money
7.00
* ratings are out of 10

Beware money back guarantee

As has been noted on here previously, you need to beware of the Bluehost 30 day money back guarantee as even if you decide to cancel the day after opening you will NOT get a full refund. Also it is difficult to find the terms and conditions regarding the guarantee - I looked and am unable to find them. Pay careful attention to what contract you select as the billing process is deceptive and you will end up paying more than you thought - its not a transparent process by any means.

BlueHost is NOT recommended by Simon Nicholas. This person does NOT recommend BlueHost.
› Overall Rating ››    60.00% 
Reviewed on November 22nd, 2014 at 04:19 EST by Simon Nicholas
Customer for duration of Less than 1 month
IP Address: 2.28.123.218
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Mac   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #1 out of 42 BlueHost reviews
uptime & reliability
9.00
server & connection speed
5.00
technical support & knowledge
3.00
customer service & billing
2.50
price value for money
8.00
* ratings are out of 10

New polices, new pricing, new poor service

I have been with bluehost for over 5 years. Have sold numerous clients on their service. This last month my sites we're suspend due to new database usage rules. After proving to them my usage was not as stated (no where near) what the stated in policy. The still refused to unsuspend my accounts. After trying to talk to support about issue (they could not find issue), they still have not undos ended the accounts.

In short, they held my sites hostage to make me pay more for the same service.

Bluehost also has very poor security so unless you monitor your own site.

Biggest Pro: Quick to get sites up
Biggest Con: Poor service and support if you have any technical issues.

BlueHost is NOT recommended by Mark. This person does NOT recommend BlueHost.
› Overall Rating ››    46.00% 
Reviewed on October 19th, 2013 at 09:12 EST by Mark
Customer for duration of More than 5 years
IP Address: 166.137.88.29
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
16 out of 16 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #2 out of 42 BlueHost reviews
uptime & reliability
9.00
server & connection speed
9.00
technical support & knowledge
9.50
customer service & billing
1.00
price value for money
7.00
* ratings are out of 10

Breach of Privacy

I have been a customer for many years and have many domains with Bluehost. They recently violated my privacy by sending a third party private information without my permission or even knowledge! The third party did not have a valid subpoena yet Bluehost released them ALL my information including private email logs. I am considering taking legal action against them as a result of this breach. I am transferring my domain to another provider.

Biggest Con: if you don't care about your privacy, use bluehost!

BlueHost is NOT recommended by Mike. This person does NOT recommend BlueHost.
› Overall Rating ››    20.00% 
Reviewed on September 16th, 2013 at 19:11 EST by Mike
Customer for duration of More than 5 years
IP Address: 173.247.202.162
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
14 out of 14 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #3 out of 42 BlueHost reviews
uptime & reliability
10.0
server & connection speed
10.0
technical support & knowledge
4.70
customer service & billing
1.50
price value for money
3.00
* ratings are out of 10

Beware of 30 day policy timing & process

I had some issues with getting site hosting set up, and their technical support gave answers that were not valid (and later corrected by other updates to the ticket involved). Hosting seemed to be a mixed bag, servers were fine but getting good answers wasn't so reliable, so I opted to not continue. The cancellation was well within 30 days, and was acknowledged by them, but not processed and they charged my card. So I will have to contest it unless Bluehost honors their original commitment. Also note that they may not give full access until they validate your account, but they seem to consider that part of the 30 days. In any case I cancelled within the time limits and am not happy with the current situations.

Biggest Pro: server seemed reliable
Biggest Con: conflicting support answers

BlueHost is NOT recommended by Paul. This person does NOT recommend BlueHost.
› Overall Rating ››    35.00% 
Reviewed on June 30th, 2013 at 23:01 EST by Paul
Customer for duration of Less than 1 month
IP Address: 68.55.11.37
Type of Plan: Dedicated   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
14 out of 14 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #4 out of 42 BlueHost reviews
uptime & reliability
9.50
server & connection speed
5.50
technical support & knowledge
7.50
customer service & billing
8.50
price value for money
7.50
* ratings are out of 10

Large Company with Solid Hosting

As with all "unlimited" shared hosting, speed throttling does occur but is still usable. Online chat is useful for quick support. Pricing is good, not the rock bottom but I have never tried the cheapest companies so cannot compare. Features are limited compared to more expensive hosts and quite a few "partner offers" on the cpanel interface which can be off-putting and confusing to the beginner.

But seems to have very low downtime and is a well established organisation. Not the speediest shared hosting I have experienced but acceptable enough. Better for someone with some experience that want a straightforward hosting at a reasonable price.

Biggest Pro: "Unlimited" basic plan
Biggest Con: Usage throttling does occur

BlueHost is recommended by Vic. This person recommends BlueHost.
› Overall Rating ››    70.00% 
Reviewed on June 1st, 2013 at 12:54 EST by Vic
Customer for duration of 6 - 11 months
IP Address: 71.19.156.29
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: http://www.abcofwebsites.com/   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
14 out of 14 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #5 out of 42 BlueHost reviews
uptime & reliability
4.20
server & connection speed
6.30
technical support & knowledge
9.40
customer service & billing
2.30
price value for money
5.20
* ratings are out of 10

Account Suspended Without Warning

As far as I recall the package was cheap - but if your site is important to you, I'd avoid using Bluehost.com for the following reason.

My sites were suspended without warning.
I was sent an email *after wards* to notify me that a forum was causing spam which as against the T&C. While it may have been a burden on the servers, I think they could have given me a few hours notice at the very minimum, so I could have addressed the issue.

Seriously bad practice imo, which is why I've given low score for "reliability"

Biggest Pro: cheap
Biggest Con: Suspend site without giving warning

BlueHost is NOT recommended by Gordon. This person does NOT recommend BlueHost.
› Overall Rating ››    58.00% 
Reviewed on March 31st, 2012 at 12:48 EST by Gordon
Customer for duration of 6 - 11 months
IP Address: 89.204.248.91
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: http://www.creativelymaladjusted.net/   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
17 out of 17 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #6 out of 42 BlueHost reviews
uptime & reliability
9.90
server & connection speed
5.00
technical support & knowledge
10.0
customer service & billing
10.0
price value for money
5.00
* ratings are out of 10

Ok for personal or Sites with Minimum Traffic

I have been with Blue host for almost 3 years. I just renewed for another year. So far I have not had any problems with them and the service has been excellent. My only complaints are their servers are very slow. 2 years ago they were fast at least for me. But the past few months they have been slow slow. I run 2 wordpress blogs and a smf (simple Machines forum) software for a RV forum and 2 blog sites. None of my sites have a great amount of traffic maybe 5 or 6 people a day. I don't think they are throttling my site, although I really don't know. There price is inline with what over hosting providers charge for the same things. Their Tech support and billing staff have been excellent. For the money They provide a good service for those who want a personal site or a small business with out to much traffic. I gave a low rating on Price for value because the site is slower than a couple of years ago.

Biggest Pro: Cpanel Customer Support Good for Beginners
Biggest Con: Slow Servers (shared account) maybe overloaded

BlueHost is recommended by Melvin Bell. This person recommends BlueHost.
› Overall Rating ››    80.00% 
Reviewed on February 25th, 2012 at 14:30 EST by Melvin Bell
Customer for duration of 3 - 5 years
IP Address: 76.178.125.231
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
15 out of 15 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #7 out of 42 BlueHost reviews
uptime & reliability
9.90
server & connection speed
5.00
technical support & knowledge
5.00
customer service & billing
10.0
price value for money
6.00
* ratings are out of 10

Good for beginners with one website which has little traffic

I signed up with bluehost after seeing it ranked number 1 on the wordpress site.

Prior to them, I had used 1&1, and compared to that host, bluehost is like night and day.

It was really easy to setup the site, and they have plenty of tutorials to help you along the way. Also, if you have problems, customer support is really fast to get a hold of, specially if you got a basic problem.

When I first started, I was getting barely any visitors to my site, and thus, never had any problems with bluehost. As the months went by and the number of visitors increased, I realized that my website was not loading as fast, and come to find out, bluehost had throttled my website.

They give you a generic page on how to troubleshoot what might be causing the problem , and after following all the recommended guidelines, I figured problem wouldn't happen anymore.

Unfortunately, that was not the case. I continued to have my website throttled, and that means that my site went from loading in 3-4 seconds, to loading up in 15 seconds up to 35 seconds. Obviously that caused my bounce rate to go up, and I had not done anything additional to my site. In other words, I didn't add any new plugins, or change my wordpress theme, and only change I did was add 3 more posts for a total of 16 total pages on the site.

Bluehost gave me the same generic link and I told them I had already adjusted the site to follow their guidelines, and their response was, then it must be a plugin on your site, or your wordpress theme. I have minimum plugin sites, but I thought, maybe is the theme, so i changed it to a basic wordpress theme.

I let that theme run for 8 days, and in that time frame i got throttled twice.

Bottom line is this: If you have one website with a traffic of 50-100 visitors a day, bluehost might be a great host; however, as your traffic starts to go up, and mine doesn't even reach 500 a day, then troubles might start.

Also, my site was down 2 times and they said it was because of server upgrades, but I never got any advanced notice about it. Then the 2nd time they said it was a server problem they were trying to fix. Fortunately that happened at a time when I have the least visitors, but not good if your website caters also to other continents.

Overall, I'm highly dissapointed with Bluehost. I get throttled at least once a week, and my website is down to bare minimals.

I'm looking to change host, and in all fairness, bluehost is easy to setup, and it might be great if yo u're starting out with a website, but if you have more than one site, and it gets at least 200 visitors a day, good luck with them. Find another host.

The biggest problem I see is that they throttle your account and you don't get to find out the exact reason as to why that is happening; if they were to say, we throttled your account because of xyz reason, and here is how to fix it, then the continuing throttling would stop, and then i would be a happy customer. Obviously, you can get the dedicated server, but if you're starting out on a website, that's not really the best option.

Biggest Pro: If you're a beginner in setting up a website, bluehost has plenty of video tutorials and their cpanel is easy to use.
Biggest Con: They throttle your accounts and you can never really find out the exact reason as to why the throttling happens.

BlueHost is NOT recommended by Jordan Brown. This person does NOT recommend BlueHost.
› Overall Rating ››    70.00% 
Reviewed on January 24th, 2012 at 05:09 EST by Jordan Brown
Customer for duration of 6 - 11 months
IP Address: 212.76.239.178
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Windows   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
16 out of 16 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #8 out of 42 BlueHost reviews
uptime & reliability
7.50
server & connection speed
7.50
technical support & knowledge
0.00
customer service & billing
0.00
price value for money
9.00
* ratings are out of 10

Do Not Use BlueHost for Business Sites

If you're hosting a hobby site or personal homepage, BlueHost is OK. If you need hosting for your business site, look elsewhere.

We suffered a DDoS attack on our main site. BlueHost promptly closed the account. I went to live support wanting to know what a "DDoS" attack was and what I could do. The chat operator said he'd give me 60 seconds. In my 60 seconds he told me that it was basically my fault, that I violated their terms of service (huh?) and that they had every right to terminate the service. With that, my 60 seconds were up. Chat operator closed the chat. Web site gone.

I still use BlueHost to host some of my "throwaway" sites, but the sites I depend on for an income are all with professional hosts now.

By the way, if you have trouble with a sustained DDoS attack, Black Lotus Hosting helped me with mine. They are xpensive, but excellent.

Biggest Pro: Low prices
Biggest Con: Dishonest, mean, pathetic support.

BlueHost is NOT recommended by J Mitchell. This person does NOT recommend BlueHost.
› Overall Rating ››    50.00% 
Reviewed on October 17th, 2011 at 19:22 EST by J Mitchell
Customer for duration of 3 - 5 years
IP Address: 41.133.2.216
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
21 out of 21 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #9 out of 42 BlueHost reviews
uptime & reliability
3.00
server & connection speed
1.00
technical support & knowledge
2.00
customer service & billing
2.00
price value for money
2.00
* ratings are out of 10

Poor reliability and very slow

I was a customer for several years and rarely used the account. I hosted approximately 6 domains through them.

Over the years, I did have several random reliability issues. At one point, they disabled my account for "excessive CPU usage". At the time, I barely had anything running and very little site activity. I received no warning ahead of time.

What finally made me leave was the mysteriously deletion of my files. First all of my email accounts were removed. Then, the content in my home directory vanished (the only content that existed were the files that you would expect to see the first time you logged in).

I've been doing web development and systems administration for almost 10 years, professionally. I've never had any problem like they've described. I suspect they did a system upgrade, lost off all my stuff, and blamed user error.

In any event, I'm going to be looking for a new hosting service. If you're looking for hosting service, I suggest you avoid bluehost.

Biggest Pro: SSH Access
Biggest Con: Too many to list.

BlueHost is NOT recommended by AS. This person does NOT recommend BlueHost.
› Overall Rating ››    25.00% 
Reviewed on August 27th, 2011 at 03:52 EST by AS
Customer for duration of 3 - 5 years
IP Address: 98.255.15.117
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
19 out of 19 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #10 out of 42 BlueHost reviews
« Prev 1 2 3 4 5
link to this page   |   tell a friend about this web host
Host Gator - Host Unlimited Web Sites
Reseller Hosting - 50% Off
Host Unlimited Sites
Free Dedicated IP & Backups
90 Day Money Back Guarantee
Try it out for just $13.99/mo.
InMotion Hosting

Read what users say about InMotion Hosting!


For Users
Web Hosting Reviews
Submit Review
Advanced Search
All Web Hosts
Top Rated

Our Difference
Contact


Free Newsletter
For Hosts
Host Log-in
Create Account
Generate Links
Get More Exposure


New Reviews
Go Daddy
000webhost
Just Host
WebHostingPad
EasyCGI
BlueFur
SkyNet Hosting
Arvixe
HostSo
VPSDepot
ADDR
Lunarpages
Quick2Host
WebIntellects
KVC Hosting
SiteGround
A Small Orange
ServerSea
StoresOnline
HostPapa


Other
Website Thumbnails
This site is powered by Host Gator.
Copyright © 1999-2016 WebHostingReviews.com. All Rights Reserved.
All reviews, content, graphics, logos, design, and scripts, are the sole property of WebHostingReviews.com, and
may not be used without prior written consent from us. All violations will be prosecuted to the maximum extent possible under the law.
Last Update: June 20th, 2016 at 15:01 EST / This site has a total of 3,441 web hosting reviews, based on 529 different web hosting companies.