AwardSpace

Visit AwardSpace Visit AwardSpace   Write your own AwardSpace review. Write your own AwardSpace review.
28 out of 34 (or 82% of) people recommend AwardSpace.
 › Rating Averages ››
Uptime & Reliability Server & Connection Speed Price Value for Money
8.39 / 10.0 8.02 / 10.0 8.55 / 10.0
Technical Support & Knowledge Customer Service & Billing
8.51 / 10.0 8.40 / 10.0
AwardSpace
› Overall Rating ››    79.88% 
How are ratings calculated? 
  • Analyze this Page for Me
Showing 1 to 10 out of 34 reviews.   Filter Reviews
Page Relevancy
Review Quality 100%
What's
this?
« Prev 1 2 3 4

AwardSpace reviews

uptime & reliability
2.40
server & connection speed
3.00
technical support & knowledge
0.10
customer service & billing
1.00
price value for money
2.50
* ratings are out of 10

Worst Support and bad down times

I used awardspace.net for 4 years because I never felt like actually going through the effort of switching hosts. Throughout the 4 years they had pretty bad downtime relative to other hosts. What got me was last night I noticed all of my sites were down. I tried to login to my account and kept getting a message about invalid user. If you call up you get connected to another company that provides support and they are located in India which made it very hard to understand what was going on. They deleted my account even though I had been paying for it for years now and have not gotten back to me in over a day now about my issue. My account was deleted because they said I was sending spam emails, however, the only email scripts I had were the ones that were set up for the contact forms on my sites and all emails were sent directly to me.

They are by far the worst at dealing with support. They do have some good features but overall I would avoid them.

Biggest Con: Terrible customer support

AwardSpace is NOT recommended by George Flammer. This person does NOT recommend AwardSpace.
› Overall Rating ››    25.00% 
Reviewed on March 11th, 2014 at 14:05 EST by George Flammer
Customer for duration of 3 - 5 years
IP Address: 76.116.68.71
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
15 out of 15 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #1 out of 34 AwardSpace reviews
uptime & reliability
2.80
server & connection speed
7.00
technical support & knowledge
8.20
customer service & billing
9.50
price value for money
8.00
* ratings are out of 10

Always Down

We can't argue with the price of Awardspace, they are very cheap and affordable. We do have a problem with the downtime however. It is shocking. It will be down almost every day for an hour or two, which really annoys the people that want to use our site. There's only so many times we can apologise to them.

The downtime is horrendous but the customer service is top. They respond to trouble tickets within 20 minutes

Biggest Pro: Value and Customer Service
Biggest Con: Down Time - Awful

AwardSpace is recommended by Andrew. This person recommends AwardSpace.
› Overall Rating ››    55.00% 
Reviewed on June 10th, 2013 at 00:45 EST by Andrew
Customer for duration of 1 - 2 months
IP Address: 82.35.224.56
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Windows   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
13 out of 13 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #2 out of 34 AwardSpace reviews
uptime & reliability
9.00
server & connection speed
7.00
technical support & knowledge
10.0
customer service & billing
10.0
price value for money
9.00
* ratings are out of 10

great customer service, but rather slow

The customer support was amazing... I would write a ticket and have an answer in about ten minutes or less. It's that great.
I upgraded partially because of customer support :)

WARNING: the free hosting is so SLOW. The file manager will take fifteen seconds to open, and your website (if complicated) with take quite some time to load. If you're looking for free hosting, you can chose Awardspace IF your site is simple and no connections. If not, look somewhere else or upgrade.

The paid hosting is superb, but occasionally they have server errors. It's not that often though, so don't hold your breath for it.

Amazing customer support, good prices, I like and you should too :)

Biggest Pro: customer service
Biggest Con: slow speed for free hosting

AwardSpace is recommended by tinash. This person recommends AwardSpace.
› Overall Rating ››    90.00% 
Reviewed on January 15th, 2013 at 22:35 EST by tinash
Customer for duration of Less than 1 month
IP Address: 108.64.56.84
Type of Plan: Dedicated   Platform: Windows   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
18 out of 18 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #3 out of 34 AwardSpace reviews
uptime & reliability
0.00
server & connection speed
0.00
technical support & knowledge
9.50
customer service & billing
0.00
price value for money
0.00
* ratings are out of 10

Service did not work renewed me without my permission

Last year I used their summer plan. I could never get my website up and running. Also, a some point, I could not even access my account.

About two weeks ago, June 2012, they emailed me about renewing. I would have logged onto my account to let them know not to bother but again I could not access my account information. So I ignored the email since it was asking me to renew and not informing me of a renewal. Well, ironically was trying to set myself up with another hosting company and it would not go through. I checked my bank account and was livid that I was billed anyway. It overdrew my account and the email said it would take 7-10 days which is unacceptable even if it did not overdraw my account.

So I give this company basically all zeroes. The only bright spot is their ticket center to resolve website problems. This team was tops and answered in a timely manner no matter how many tickets I created.

Biggest Pro: Technical support
Biggest Con: Billing me without permission/ too technical to setup

AwardSpace is NOT recommended by Tasha. This person does NOT recommend AwardSpace.
› Overall Rating ››    23.00% 
Reviewed on July 19th, 2012 at 15:07 EST by Tasha
Customer for duration of 1 - 2 years
IP Address: 98.27.22.49
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
21 out of 21 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #4 out of 34 AwardSpace reviews
uptime & reliability
0.00
server & connection speed
5.00
technical support & knowledge
9.50
customer service & billing
9.00
price value for money
0.00
* ratings are out of 10

SLOW SLOW SLOW SLOW AND you guessed it . . . . SLOW!

could awardspace be any slower? i can't even log in and if by chance i actually get the privilege of being able to do so, i can't load a singe page!

thanks AWARDSPACE!

you DON'T rock!

seriously, you have to speed up the service.

i get slow, but awardspace is dead, as in not moving, not loading, not logging in, etc etc etc.

get it together, mate!

Biggest Pro: free i guess, but with such aggrevation . . . who needs it?
Biggest Con: slow slow slow slow can't even load a page or log in

Response by Bob Ronson, who is a staff member of AwardSpace:

Hello Lester and WebHostingReviews Visitors,

At first we have to stress that the review is about our FREE hosting. As of today we have over 2 million users to go through our systems and they are all doing this for FREE. The system might have been slow, or even rarely down, however our free hosting is compared to paid hosting plans in terms of >> Uptime up to 99.8 >> Can SEND Emails + Webmail, IMAP & POP3 email Account >> Email Filter >> Email Alias >> MySQL Database Support >> Joomla & Wordpress Automated Installer.

Research on the search engines, AwardSpace.com has excellent reputation. We offer FREE Hosting, Shared Hosting, Semi-Dedicated Hosting & VPS Hosting at unbelievable low prices can check at www.awardspace.com

Bob Ronson
AwardSpace Customer Support Supervisor

Posted on June 13th, 2012 at 10:08 EST
AwardSpace is NOT recommended by lester. This person does NOT recommend AwardSpace.
› Overall Rating ››    20.00% 
Reviewed on June 11th, 2012 at 15:58 EST by lester
Customer for duration of 1 - 2 years
IP Address: 69.201.190.246
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
20 out of 20 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #5 out of 34 AwardSpace reviews
uptime & reliability
0.00
server & connection speed
0.00
technical support & knowledge
0.10
customer service & billing
0.00
price value for money
0.00
* ratings are out of 10

DO NOT PURCHASE AWARDSPACE PREMIUM.

I have been reciting emails stating my account will expire in X days time. My account panel states my account will expire in X days time.

However, come the day, they charge me MORE than double the original cost of my 1 year account. They simply scammed me into thinking I do not need to cancel my account as they stated everywhere it is going to expire. Then go and charge me and state I CANNOT HAVE A REFUND!

There service is so so so poor, their servers are down on a weekly or even daily basis. I DO NOT RECOMMEND AT ALL. Very slow servers.

Horrible, horrible experience. I do hope this puts people of, as they simply do not deserve to be a business. Absolute scam.

They may be cheap but they are not worth it still.

Biggest Con: Absolute scam who will keep your card details.

Response by Bob Ronson, who is a staff member of AwardSpace:

Hello WebHostingReviews Visitors,

We have been in touch with the client in regards the matter he describes, and kindly found a way to resolve the issue for both sides. He agreed and also wrote a post-review over email to @webhostingreviews stating the issue was promptly settled and he wishes webhostingreviews to remove his bad review.

In general what happened is recurring (automated renewal) has been setup as a standard service, which on annual basis renews his hosting account and domain. The emails we are sending are just a reminder of the account expiration and in case client wants to renew earlier without taking risks of expired credit card we had on file or other payment transaction failure, which may cause website inaccessibility and all the consequences of that for a high traffic website. We offered full refund although domain has been renewed and this is in general not reversible as per ICANN rules.

AwardSpace.com free web hosting, premium(paid) web hosting, VPS web hosting, domain & SSL services are still considered to be on a very high level in a matter of service / price comparison. Anybody can search and read hundreds of positive reviews for our web hosting services over the Internet. Thank you for reading.

AwardSpace Customer Support Supervisor
Bob Ronson

Posted on February 24th, 2012 at 05:34 EST
AwardSpace is NOT recommended by Peter T. This person does NOT recommend AwardSpace.
› Overall Rating ››    0.00% 
Reviewed on February 22nd, 2012 at 05:24 EST by Peter T
Customer for duration of 1 - 2 years
IP Address: 90.214.140.253
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: http://www.taitstudios.com/   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
23 out of 23 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #6 out of 34 AwardSpace reviews
uptime & reliability
10.0
server & connection speed
9.90
technical support & knowledge
6.00
customer service & billing
8.00
price value for money
9.50
* ratings are out of 10

It has it's downsides

When I was first looking for a host, AwardSpace was the only one that stuck out to me. It seemed to have a good deal with enough features for me to start a website.

At this point the technical support and customer service was great! I couldn't figure out why something wasn't working, so I sent a 'trouble ticket' and they got back to me in less than a half and hour!

The billing was okay, and the prices were pretty good. There were no hidden fees or sneaky required payments.

And they had all the features I needed...
But then I got a new website. One that was going to be a lot more powerful for my audience.

Things were going smoothly at first. I asked one of the support team if I could make a webpage accessible but without the need for a file extension. They simply said "I don't think so."
I figured out that in order to do that, you can make a directory with the page title, and inside that directory, the index.html will serve as the main page. They could have told me that.

My website was getting more popular. I realized that my traffic plan was too small for the traffic I was getting. Before I reached my traffic limit, I sent an trouble ticket, e-mail, and tried to post on their Facebook page about how I can upgrade my traffic. No answers at all! I even tried calling them, but after the third ring, I got the dial tone. They ignored my call.

After 3 days, they responded to my trouble ticket. They gave me a link to upgrade my account, but the link didn't work.
My website was suspended for over traffic!

The error message told my I could upgrade my traffic from the "Upgrades" section of their website (See here: http://zanzlanz.com/notes/). I went to the upgrades section and there wasn't anything about updating traffic.
And it's 3 weeks later, and I still haven't found an answer.

I still recommend this hosting service, but be careful, because taking the wrong turn at any step can lead you to fall into mud.

Biggest Pro: Very reliable for any website.
Biggest Con: Not very helpful for changing plans

AwardSpace is recommended by Alex Lanzetta. This person recommends AwardSpace.
› Overall Rating ››    90.00% 
Reviewed on February 4th, 2012 at 09:52 EST by Alex Lanzetta
Customer for duration of 3 - 5 years
IP Address: 71.227.8.99
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: http://www.zanzlanz.com/   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
21 out of 21 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #7 out of 34 AwardSpace reviews
uptime & reliability
6.30
server & connection speed
5.00
technical support & knowledge
2.00
customer service & billing
0.00
price value for money
5.00
* ratings are out of 10

They are incompetant.

Did free hosting for nearly a year, paid to have registration transfered. Original registrar sent me electronic key to unlock domain which I forwarded to them, Awardspace. After two weeks, no transfer and my website is still down.

Customer service sucks and is virtually non-existant. I submitted 4 tickets and no response. I am in process of disputing charge with credit card company for non-service and no good provided.

Needless to say, I'm looking for another provided and NOT going with a 'free' hosting.

They are often hit with DNS attacks and my sites has been up and down. It seems like two/four weeks up, two/three days down. They rarely admit it though, when my simple site takes more than 30 seconds to load, I know something is wrong.

IMHO, Awardspace sucks donkey balls.

Biggest Pro: free (caveat emptor)
Biggest Con: no customer service

AwardSpace is NOT recommended by g alexander. This person does NOT recommend AwardSpace.
› Overall Rating ››    2.00% 
Reviewed on March 11th, 2011 at 16:22 EST by g alexander
Customer for duration of 1 - 2 years
IP Address: 64.208.41.254
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: http://www.alexanderglen.com/   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
33 out of 33 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #8 out of 34 AwardSpace reviews
uptime & reliability
9.90
server & connection speed
10.0
technical support & knowledge
10.0
customer service & billing
10.0
price value for money
10.0
* ratings are out of 10

Brilliant!

Normally, I am not given to spending time reviewing things just for the sake of it. Some things, however, are so good, you feel the whole world should know.

In a word, AwardSpace hosting is absolutely brilliant. I am a free user, using a sub-domain of AwardSpace. I hopped over at least five different free web hosts before settling on this one. Each of the ones I rejected had show stopping reasons for rejection: speed or reliability issues, lack of critical features, forced ads or something else. AwardSpace has no such problem.

My site is a personal blog - not at all mission critical. It's a self-installed WordPress platform, which comes with plenty of niggles on other services: missing PHP modules, misplaced CGI folders, draconic file size limits and some file format blocked altogether. On AwardSpace, it was a breeze.

AwardSpace offers excellent tech support. Replies are quick, to the point, and resolved more quickly than most companies even register a support request.

The feature offerings themselves are extremely generous: a fair amount of webspace and bandwidth. Even these are not set in stone - I remember going over my monthly bandwidth limit due to an influx, and AwardSpace admins very kindly reset my limit.

There are two slight blemishes on an otherwise perfect system: the hosting control panel does not feature very sophisticated file managers or back up methods, and they have a fancy (and un-published) list of 'bad words' which causes 404 errors to appear when present on a particular page. While I understand that the second of the two helps prevent abuse of the free hosting system, I do wish they would, sometimes in the near future, implement a system of 'trusted' users for whom they could waive that issue.

Conclusion: I've been on AwardSpace since July 2008. And I have yet to see a reason to persuade me to look elsewhere.

Biggest Pro: Brilliant support eco-system
Biggest Con: The 'bad words' filtering system

AwardSpace is recommended by Muhammad Fahd Waseem. This person recommends AwardSpace.
› Overall Rating ››    99.00% 
Reviewed on December 5th, 2009 at 08:57 EST by Muhammad Fahd Waseem
Customer for duration of 1 - 2 years
IP Address: 119.153.66.167
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Unix   Domain: http://superphysics.awardspace.com/   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
45 out of 45 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #9 out of 34 AwardSpace reviews
uptime & reliability
10.0
server & connection speed
10.0
technical support & knowledge
10.0
customer service & billing
10.0
price value for money
10.0
* ratings are out of 10

Service and support is fantastic

I am not some professional in building web sites. I just have my own site that has 2 domain names hosted at awardspace.com (the 2 different domains lead to the same site). The site I use is just for my hobby in fact my son helped me build the site and I maintain it during the last 9-10 months.

I've been with them for just under a year and only had 2 downtimes for about 5-10 mins each. If you know anything about hosting, you know that is AWSOME. I am really happy with AwardSpace hosting, costumer service very fast to solve the problem. I would recommend them to anyone.

The really go over and beyond the call of duty at all times. I already renewed my hosting for 3 years this instead of just the year I currently have. I even paid a discounted price on that.

Biggest Pro: Good service
Biggest Con: So far none

AwardSpace is recommended by Eric Lauzon. This person recommends AwardSpace.
› Overall Rating ››    100.0% 
Reviewed on August 4th, 2009 at 06:31 EST by Eric Lauzon
Customer for duration of 6 - 11 months
IP Address: 209.44.123.4
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Unix   Domain: http://www.groupe-mod-quad.com/   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
56 out of 56 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #10 out of 34 AwardSpace reviews
« Prev 1 2 3 4
link to this page   |   tell a friend about this web host
Host Gator - Host Unlimited Web Sites
Reseller Hosting - 50% Off
Host Unlimited Sites
Free Dedicated IP & Backups
90 Day Money Back Guarantee
Try it out for just $13.99/mo.
InMotion Hosting

Read what users say about InMotion Hosting!


For Users
Web Hosting Reviews
Submit Review
Advanced Search
All Web Hosts
Top Rated

Our Difference
Contact


Free Newsletter
For Hosts
Host Log-in
Create Account
Generate Links
Get More Exposure


New Reviews
Go Daddy
000webhost
Just Host
WebHostingPad
EasyCGI
BlueFur
SkyNet Hosting
Arvixe
HostSo
VPSDepot
ADDR
Lunarpages
Quick2Host
WebIntellects
KVC Hosting
SiteGround
A Small Orange
ServerSea
StoresOnline
HostPapa


Other
Website Thumbnails
This site is powered by Host Gator.
Copyright © 1999-2016 WebHostingReviews.com. All Rights Reserved.
All reviews, content, graphics, logos, design, and scripts, are the sole property of WebHostingReviews.com, and
may not be used without prior written consent from us. All violations will be prosecuted to the maximum extent possible under the law.
Last Update: June 20th, 2016 at 15:01 EST / This site has a total of 3,441 web hosting reviews, based on 529 different web hosting companies.