AwardSpace

Visit AwardSpace Visit AwardSpace   Write your own AwardSpace review. Write your own AwardSpace review.
28 out of 34 (or 82% of) people recommend AwardSpace.
 › Rating Averages ››
Uptime & Reliability Server & Connection Speed Price Value for Money
8.39 / 10.0 8.02 / 10.0 8.55 / 10.0
Technical Support & Knowledge Customer Service & Billing
8.51 / 10.0 8.40 / 10.0
AwardSpace
› Overall Rating ››    79.88% 
How are ratings calculated? 
  • Analyze this Page for Me
Showing 11 to 20 out of 34 reviews.   Filter Reviews
Page Relevancy
Review Quality 100%
What's
this?

AwardSpace reviews

uptime & reliability
9.50
server & connection speed
9.50
technical support & knowledge
10.0
customer service & billing
9.50
price value for money
9.50
* ratings are out of 10

Until now, the best one I found

Since the beginning of June I'm a customer of AwardSpace. After having left my old host due to billing reasons I had to find a host that was fast, cheap, that had lots of space for my files and a considerable amount of bandwidth and, above all, reliable.

I had a free account in AwardSpace in which I kept files for back up etc And since I got to know AwardSpace I always found it a good host not only for the space in free accounts but also for the control panel's simplicty.

Now I'm very happy with the service and I hope that it'll continue like that. Just two small issues I cannot hide from the review. At the beginning I was surprised by a suden downtime of my website. I mailed the support and in ten minutes got the answer back telling me that the server had to be fixed due to some problem. I just think that they could have mailed all the customers that had websites hosted in that webserver instead of waitting for a "What's happening to my website?". The other problem is that the control penel is missing an extremly important feature - backup. When I want to back up my files or compress all of them for once in a zip file or something (like we can easily do on CPanel) I have to do it manually.

However, I'm very very happy. I would recommend it to anyone who asks me which host he/she should choose for any type of website.

(Sorry about the language. I'm not a native speaker).

Biggest Pro: Technical suport and price
Biggest Con: Lack of back up feature in control panel

AwardSpace is recommended by Nuno. This person recommends AwardSpace.
› Overall Rating ››    96.00% 
Reviewed on July 27th, 2009 at 13:14 EST by Nuno
Customer for duration of 1 - 2 months
IP Address: 89.180.46.216
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: http://www.linkinparkpt.com/   Email: duarte407d@hotmail.com
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
40 out of 40 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #11 out of 34 AwardSpace reviews
uptime & reliability
9.90
server & connection speed
9.10
technical support & knowledge
9.90
customer service & billing
9.90
price value for money
10.0
* ratings are out of 10

Loudest bang for your buck!

I'm very pleased with awardspace. When I first heard of them, I kept thinking: "What's the catch? Maybe they're really slow, or have restricted CGI access;" etc. Turned out it was, in fact, none of the above: their servers are lightning fast, you get excellent database support, quick and easy shell access, plenty of Perl modules installed, good to high bandwidth, and a fabulous uptime. In fact, I'm sometimes 'worried' about their free accounts, as you get so much for the less than 9 bucks a month (Max Pack Plus), that you wonder why they even bother with the free accounts.

A webhost is as good as its support. Their sales reps aren't really all that technically knowledgeable (e,g. I first inquired about the availability of "Image::Magick" when deciding about webhost, and the sales rep referred me to some other image gallery software they have). Nor do they really need to have much technical know-how, actually, as long as they're willing to connect you to someone who has. And in that department awardspace also scores high with me: you get escalated to a Tier 2 admin (or Tier 3, even) pretty fast. And they are always quite willing to assist you with whatever issue you might be having. For instance, the other day I had a biggie: a spurious upload error when uploading files with a browser (which turned out to be a small misconfiguration on their end). It would have been a deal-breaker, as my client's entire site hinges on being able to upload files in that manner. At first they acknowledged the mishap, but told me they couldn't change it (yet), and that I'd basically had to wait for the outroll of the next Apache release (or get a much more expensive VPS). After I told them that was, of course, not an acceptable solution for me, they fixed the issue after all. The morale of this story? They really DO go out of their way to help you. And it really is golden to have admins behind the scenes waiting to help you. Even with that last issue, it was clear that -- while they can of course not revamp major parts of their infrastructure for just one customer -- the willingness to help me was nonetheless clearly present, and they did come thru for me with flying colors.

Although their shell hosts do not allow for running the 'uptime' command, their servers do nonetheless not appear to be overloaded (which one might suspect could be a reason for hiding uptime); and going only by 'feel' (the slugginess of the shell prompt; or lack thereof, rather), I'd say they give you a more than decent share of CPU time. Likewise on the reachability of the server: I have yet to experience any real slow-down.

All-in-all, you just get an incredibly good deal for less than 9 bucks a month. I can't tell, of course, how all of this compares to other hosting companies around the globe; but with a service this good, I have no need to find out, either.

AwardSpace is recommended by Mark Kramer. This person recommends AwardSpace.
› Overall Rating ››    96.00% 
Reviewed on June 27th, 2009 at 17:39 EST by Mark Kramer
Customer for duration of 3 - 5 months
IP Address: 194.109.160.70
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: http://www.galeriebelage.com/   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
38 out of 38 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #12 out of 34 AwardSpace reviews
uptime & reliability
10.0
server & connection speed
9.00
technical support & knowledge
10.0
customer service & billing
10.0
price value for money
10.0
* ratings are out of 10

Nice hosting

I am a free lance web designer that signed up for awardspace April 2008. At the beginning it took me some time to get familiar with the control panel but when I managed to do this I discovered that it has a number of great features that I currently enjoy. They recently added asp.NET which I intend to use in the near future, also there is a number of php version which is also an advantage for me. It is not that I use them all but you never know.

The support people are nice and fast in their response. It rarely takes more than an hour to get an issue resolved. Well, sometimes their predefined answers are not as exact as I wish them to be, but that is not a big deal.

In very rare occasions servers have been down. In fact if it was not for their MySQL issue last month I would have given them a 10.

I guess that this is what I could say about awardspace, if you are looking for a hosting provider or want to change your existing one I highly recommend them, for their great value and reasonable prices.

Biggest Pro: Great value
Biggest Con: none

AwardSpace is recommended by Melissa. This person recommends AwardSpace.
› Overall Rating ››    95.00% 
Reviewed on June 16th, 2009 at 06:21 EST by Melissa
Customer for duration of 1 - 2 years
IP Address: 174.34.141.38
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Unix   Domain: http://www.overtype.org/   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
37 out of 37 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #13 out of 34 AwardSpace reviews
uptime & reliability
9.70
server & connection speed
0.10
technical support & knowledge
7.70
customer service & billing
5.00
price value for money
9.20
* ratings are out of 10

Free the Best, Paid the Worse.

They are an excellent free service, I thought that could get a better service if I pay the very reasonable monthly service fee,, I was sadly mistaken.

The control panel is very limited and outdated. I had to spend hours doing simple tasks because they do NOT have a file manager that has simple functions as file upload, install, or uncompress.

Tech department was ok could get a respond in an average of 1 hour..

The server is real slow, that was all the time. There was no difference of speed with the free service.

There is a limit of 50 mb for a db.

Finally I got my account canceled for no real reason, I never did anything against TOS, they claimed that my account activity made their server crash. That was a big excuse to get rid of me because my site had increase traffic over the last months,

I could not get my money back the good thing is that my plan only had 2 months remaining so I did not loose too much...

This is why I DO NOT RECOMMEND AWARDHOST PREMIUM SERVICE

Biggest Pro: Free service
Biggest Con: Slow server and they close high bandwith sites with no warning

AwardSpace is NOT recommended by Reymond. This person does NOT recommend AwardSpace.
› Overall Rating ››    0.00% 
Reviewed on May 31st, 2009 at 12:19 EST by Reymond
Customer for duration of 6 - 11 months
IP Address: 190.152.155.127
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
30 out of 30 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #14 out of 34 AwardSpace reviews
uptime & reliability
10.0
server & connection speed
10.0
technical support & knowledge
10.0
customer service & billing
10.0
price value for money
10.0
* ratings are out of 10

The best webhosting service

I've had AwardSpace for about 3 years now. After 2 years I upgraded too the 200 GB hosting plan (which is the biggest).

Their customer service is really great. They have helped me alot and I got free domain names even I didn't signup for a new account when that offer was. (Really helpful and friendly customer service)

I've recommended AwardSpace to alot of my friends.

There are some cons with the free hosting plan, but the paid is awesome! You can change your php.ini file and set your own settings and everything. I'm impressed how well everything is, it's even easy to set up your own email accounts and alot of features.

AwardSpace is recommended by Arne. This person recommends AwardSpace.
› Overall Rating ››    100.0% 
Reviewed on February 15th, 2009 at 08:30 EST by Arne
Customer for duration of 3 - 5 years
IP Address: 85.165.117.199
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: http://www.zeav.net/   Email: zeav@zeav.net
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
27 out of 27 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #15 out of 34 AwardSpace reviews
uptime & reliability
10.0
server & connection speed
10.0
technical support & knowledge
10.0
customer service & billing
10.0
price value for money
10.0
* ratings are out of 10

The Best Hosting Service Ever

I've been with awardspace for almost two years now (and surely for many more years to come)and in this two years I couldn't find another hosting provider on the net that offers the same level of service like awardspace. I've used the support ticket a couple of times and the guys there were great. The uptime is great, and also all the other services. My site never down and also I can truly recommend the paid or free account on awardspace to anyone out there who wants a reliable and excellent website hosting service.

Than You

Pieter Coetzee

Biggest Pro: Uptime, MySQL DB, Everything Else...
Biggest Con: Certain file types not allowed in free account, custom error 404 page only in paid hosting accounts.

AwardSpace is recommended by Pieter Coetzee. This person recommends AwardSpace.
› Overall Rating ››    100.0% 
Reviewed on February 6th, 2009 at 03:52 EST by Pieter Coetzee
Customer for duration of 1 - 2 years
IP Address: 198.54.202.110
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: http://www.phcoetzee.co.za/   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
24 out of 24 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #16 out of 34 AwardSpace reviews
uptime & reliability
10.0
server & connection speed
10.0
technical support & knowledge
10.0
customer service & billing
10.0
price value for money
10.0
* ratings are out of 10

Great free web hosting service.

I have researched many web hosting services since I first created my web presence back in 1999 and so far AwardSpace is the best free web host I have seen. They offer a moderate amount of space, an exorbitant amount of traffic, and are one of the few to offer any database services on their free access accounts. The only reason I didn't give them a perfect 10 score on all categories is because the free account doesn't allow uploading of any files that are not ascii files. All archive files (zip, rar, tar, etc...) are not allowed. This isn't too big of a deal due to the fact that there are a number of free file hosting services out there that can be used.

Biggest Pro: MySQL DB on free account
Biggest Con: Free account doesn't allow archive (zip, rar, tar, etc...) files.

AwardSpace is recommended by Thomas Sapp. This person recommends AwardSpace.
› Overall Rating ››    95.00% 
Reviewed on January 4th, 2009 at 07:17 EST by Thomas Sapp
Customer for duration of 1 - 2 months
IP Address: 204.99.19.150
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: http://www.azarena.com/   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
33 out of 33 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #17 out of 34 AwardSpace reviews
uptime & reliability
10.0
server & connection speed
10.0
technical support & knowledge
9.50
customer service & billing
10.0
price value for money
10.0
* ratings are out of 10

The best free webhost

I have been with AwardSpace for over a year and have found them to be the best hosting provider I've tried. The free hosting plan looks too good to be true with no forced ads or complicated set up steps. The file manager is good, it includes multiple file uploading and moving files to other (sub)domains and I've had no problems with the connection speed. I transferred my domain last year, and AwardSpace handled it perfectly. There is also great support for PHP, MySQL etc. and the control panel is very easy and simple to use. The only slightly annoying thing for me is that custom 404 pages can only be added with paid hosting packages, although that (and much more) can be accessible for $3.99/month. If anyone needs web hosting, whether for their first website or an advanced one, AwardSpace is ideal.

Biggest Pro: Great free hosting package
Biggest Con: No custom 404 pages in with free hosting

AwardSpace is recommended by Ideaz. This person recommends AwardSpace.
› Overall Rating ››    99.00% 
Reviewed on December 10th, 2008 at 13:28 EST by Ideaz
Customer for duration of 1 - 2 years
IP Address: 90.240.62.178
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Windows   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
30 out of 30 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #18 out of 34 AwardSpace reviews
uptime & reliability
10.0
server & connection speed
8.00
technical support & knowledge
10.0
customer service & billing
10.0
price value for money
10.0
* ratings are out of 10

Almost perfect

Basically I am new to web hosting industry, but I have tried several hosting sites and in my opinion, this is one (host-ed.net) is very good. It was very easy to set up my website although the panel is unfamiliar to me. I have had no serious down time yet.

The only problem and their weakness according to me is MySQL database. But this would probably be solved in the near future.

Let me tell you why I think so: It was a week or two ago when I could not connect to the MySQL database and I thought "Oh not again!" Anyway I decided to contact the support and they told me that they are performing an upgrade of their MySQL servers in order not to have any more problems with it. Well for now everything with the databases is working better than ever. I am almost sure that they have fixed the problem.

Apart from the MySQL everything is working just fine the support is friendly and will answer you no matter whether you ask for some simple DNS setting or have serious issue with PHP and they are fast and accurate in their replies. The prices for that service are reasonable. I think the over all service is terrific! I would definitely recommend it to anyone looking for an inexpensive and reliable host. Thanks Awardspace!

Biggest Pro: Customer oriented company
Biggest Con: MySQL database server had some problems

AwardSpace is recommended by Bill. This person recommends AwardSpace.
› Overall Rating ››    90.00% 
Reviewed on December 5th, 2008 at 11:43 EST by Bill
Customer for duration of 6 - 11 months
IP Address: 74.63.75.131
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: http://www.billwardphotography.com/   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
22 out of 22 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #19 out of 34 AwardSpace reviews
uptime & reliability
10.0
server & connection speed
9.80
technical support & knowledge
10.0
customer service & billing
10.0
price value for money
10.0
* ratings are out of 10

Too good to be true or just too good and true

The first time when I saw awardspace it did not say anything about having to put banners, or forums posting, or any other forced type of advertisement that you have to comply with in order to get the free hosting. Like probably most of us I said to my self if it is too good to be true then it is too good to be true. Well I was wrong! Not only that there were no requirements to get the free hosting and no banners, adds or whatsoever, but the features I got were plenty, the uptime was rock solid and the support were friendly and prompt in their replies. Right now of course I am on a pro account because there are some restricted features on the free account. The other thing that made a good impression to me was that they have PHP 4 5 and 6 which is quite an advantage for me. It also supports perl and MySQL so it has it all. Well it is simply great for me!!! So at the end it turns out that it is too good and it is true.

Biggest Pro: Technical stability
Biggest Con: Very few but still some restrictions on the free account

AwardSpace is recommended by Julie. This person recommends AwardSpace.
› Overall Rating ››    99.00% 
Reviewed on November 27th, 2008 at 04:12 EST by Julie
Customer for duration of 1 - 2 months
IP Address: 66.90.103.130
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: http://www.myfelicidade.com/   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
23 out of 23 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #20 out of 34 AwardSpace reviews
link to this page   |   tell a friend about this web host
Host Gator - Host Unlimited Web Sites
Reseller Hosting - 50% Off
Host Unlimited Sites
Free Dedicated IP & Backups
90 Day Money Back Guarantee
Try it out for just $13.99/mo.
InMotion Hosting

Read what users say about InMotion Hosting!


For Users
Web Hosting Reviews
Submit Review
Advanced Search
All Web Hosts
Top Rated

Our Difference
Contact


Free Newsletter
For Hosts
Host Log-in
Create Account
Generate Links
Get More Exposure


New Reviews
Go Daddy
000webhost
Just Host
WebHostingPad
EasyCGI
BlueFur
SkyNet Hosting
Arvixe
HostSo
VPSDepot
ADDR
Lunarpages
Quick2Host
WebIntellects
KVC Hosting
SiteGround
A Small Orange
ServerSea
StoresOnline
HostPapa


Other
Website Thumbnails
This site is powered by Host Gator.
Copyright © 1999-2016 WebHostingReviews.com. All Rights Reserved.
All reviews, content, graphics, logos, design, and scripts, are the sole property of WebHostingReviews.com, and
may not be used without prior written consent from us. All violations will be prosecuted to the maximum extent possible under the law.
Last Update: June 20th, 2016 at 15:01 EST / This site has a total of 3,441 web hosting reviews, based on 529 different web hosting companies.