Arvixe

Visit Arvixe Visit Arvixe   Write your own Arvixe review. Write your own Arvixe review.
2 out of 42 (or 5% of) people recommend Arvixe.
 › Rating Averages ››
Uptime & Reliability Server & Connection Speed Price Value for Money
2.61 / 10.0 3.60 / 10.0 3.06 / 10.0
Technical Support & Knowledge Customer Service & Billing
1.79 / 10.0 2.64 / 10.0
Arvixe
› Overall Rating ››    15.93% 
How are ratings calculated? 
  • Analyze this Page for Me
Showing 1 to 10 out of 42 reviews.   Filter Reviews
Page Relevancy
Review Quality 100%
What's
this?
« Prev 1 2 3 4 5

Arvixe reviews

uptime & reliability
0.00
server & connection speed
0.00
technical support & knowledge
0.00
customer service & billing
0.00
price value for money
0.00
* ratings are out of 10

Arvixe is THE WORST hostting company ever

Before my plan was even due for renewal, I was already having severe problems with Arvixe, so I opened an account with WebHostingHub.com but I kept my account at Arvixe since the account was not yet up for renewal, although it was inactive, since I was using WebHostingHub. Then, when my account came up for renewal, Arvixe renewed the plan automatically and charged my credit card $72.00, although I continued to keep the account inactive. Then I received an email from Arvixe saying that they had to do an emergency migration to new servers, so I presumed that the hosting plan would now be problem free. So I decided to host some of my domains with them again, and transferred the domain names to their new shared servers. That was more than a month ago. Since then, they have not managed to get me to login to my cPanel, and they have passed me on to different people in their tech support, NONE of whom is able to fix the problem. Not a single person in their tech support department has been able to help. I was copying their founder, Armand Sabatien, with all the communcation, hoping he could help me get the problem fixed, but instead of helping, he blocked me from sending him copies of my communication with his tech support staff. Thinking that it was hopeless, I asked for a refund, only to be told that I was not entitled to a refund but that they would be happy to issue a cancellation of the account if I still wanted to cancel. As of this writing, I am still not able to use my account.

Biggest Pro: zero

Arvixe is NOT recommended by Manuel Manapat. This person does NOT recommend Arvixe.
› Overall Rating ››    0.00% 
Reviewed on April 30th, 2016 at 07:27 EST by Manuel Manapat
Customer for duration of 3 - 5 years
IP Address: 121.54.54.57
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
End of Review #1 out of 42 Arvixe reviews
uptime & reliability
2.50
server & connection speed
2.00
technical support & knowledge
3.00
customer service & billing
0.50
price value for money
3.00
* ratings are out of 10

Poor choice for CMS, Awful Support, Suspect Billing Practices

Been a customer for over 4 years, but last six months has been a complete fiasco: constant downtime, slow servers, security issues, and shambolic customer service.

If you have a small simple website with little traffic, it's probably not too bad of a choice given the price and features.

Uptime ranges from month to month. Although they guarantee 99.9%, i get at least five or six pingdom reports a day. Sometimes the site will only be down for a few minutes, occasionally an hour or two. This has only happened since the winter of 2015.

In terms of features, the plans are cheap and good value, however the servers are sluggish and extremely slow if you are using a CMS, so steer clear if you are using wordpress, joomla or drupal.

Support has gone from pretty good to awful.

Live Chat waiting times are around 15 minutes on average, unless it's a busy period, then it could be 30 minutes, which isn't really a big issue. The live chat staff are usually polite enough, but can't solve anything but the most elementary issue. They will just open a support ticket normally, which is where the chaos begins. The time for a ticket to be replied to is abominable. I've had tickets which were never replied to, just ignored and closed. On average, response time for a ticket is at best 3 days, and thats after several live chats to try and escalate the ticket. Even worse than that, the staff member replying doesn't even bother to read the submitted in full, and often answers something completely irrelevant or different than what you asked. When you reply again, you'll be waiting another 3-4 days for a response, meaning that any significant issue can take weeks to resolve. It is a very frustrating experience. All the tickets were very simple issues to resolve, but it just takes forever to get anywhere with them.

The billing practices are suspect too. I never paid by credit card, always using paypal. They begin to automatically charge my credit card via paypal for invoices 2 weeks in advance, despite the fact that i never authorised them to do so.

I've used many webhosts over the years for different sites, and in terms of downtime, value and features, Arvixe are far from the worst i've experienced, but the support and customer service is, by far, the slowest and most frustrating i've experienced with any hosting company, especially one that used to have a good reputation for support. That reputation is built on experiences prior to summer 2015

Biggest Pro: Price, Monthly payment option, Account Features
Biggest Con: Awful Support/Customer Service, Slow for CMS, Excessive downtime, suspect billing

Arvixe is NOT recommended by LN. This person does NOT recommend Arvixe.
› Overall Rating ››    10.00% 
Reviewed on April 4th, 2016 at 18:24 EST by LN
Customer for duration of 3 - 5 years
IP Address: 86.42.164.164
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
End of Review #2 out of 42 Arvixe reviews
uptime & reliability
0.00
server & connection speed
7.00
technical support & knowledge
7.00
customer service & billing
5.00
price value for money
3.00
* ratings are out of 10

Was great at first, but has been a giant headache since

The first couple of years were great. 99.9% uptime and great support. The last 5 months have been hell. There have been long and I mean week long lengths where my site was down and I lose customers. That is HUGE when it comes to some businesses. I'm not talking a few hours...were talking days! And support just gives you basic polite answers of why. It's a bunch of crap if you ask me. The site has been down for hours here and there a few times and a couple of times down for days in just last few months. I just have no idea where to go to handle asp.net site...sigh...and I dont want to lose all my data in my database.

Arvixe is NOT recommended by Colin. This person does NOT recommend Arvixe.
› Overall Rating ››    3.00% 
Reviewed on March 9th, 2016 at 21:34 EST by Colin
Customer for duration of 3 - 5 years
IP Address: 111.238.18.168
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Windows   Domain: http://www.colinkozik.com/   Email: greenkhan@hotmail.com
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
End of Review #3 out of 42 Arvixe reviews
uptime & reliability
1.00
server & connection speed
7.50
technical support & knowledge
0.10
customer service & billing
3.30
price value for money
6.00
* ratings are out of 10

Hero to Zero

Cant believe such a great hosting service provider gone to the dogs...
Have been with arvixe for 5 years and its time to move on. Their support used to be really good but its the worst ever now. Looks like their support crew is bunch of high school kids. Cant diagnose a simple issue. Keep reply a the same message from a template.
Avoid at all costs. Would not recommend them. Not even for my enemy.

Biggest Pro: Price
Biggest Con: Support

Arvixe is NOT recommended by Saj. This person does NOT recommend Arvixe.
› Overall Rating ››    30.00% 
Reviewed on February 23rd, 2016 at 05:15 EST by Saj
Customer for duration of More than 5 years
IP Address: 118.209.134.69
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Windows   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
End of Review #4 out of 42 Arvixe reviews
uptime & reliability
2.00
server & connection speed
9.00
technical support & knowledge
0.00
customer service & billing
10.0
price value for money
6.00
* ratings are out of 10

Gone disastrously downhill

Atrocious support, even with an expensive VPS hosting plan. I'm sitting here after SEVEN DAYS still waiting for an SSL cert to be renewed. Wait times to chat online with support people (who can't do anything but submit a ticket to more senior folks) are between 10 minutes and 30 minutes. And phone support is gone.

Arvixe USED to be great. Once EIG bought them, it went to hell in a handbasket. I've got a number of regular shared hosting sites with them as well, and they've been unstable since then.

Oh, and their email server for my VPS site is on a blacklist with Microsoft and they can't get it off.

AVOID AT ALL COSTS!

Biggest Pro: Price
Biggest Con: Catastrophically bad support

Arvixe is NOT recommended by Michael Cottam. This person does NOT recommend Arvixe.
› Overall Rating ››    0.00% 
Reviewed on February 17th, 2016 at 13:18 EST by Michael Cottam
Customer for duration of 3 - 5 years
IP Address: 216.170.136.190
Type of Plan: Virtual Private Servers   Platform: Windows   Domain: http://www.visualitineraries.com/   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
End of Review #5 out of 42 Arvixe reviews
uptime & reliability
6.50
server & connection speed
9.00
technical support & knowledge
7.00
customer service & billing
0.50
price value for money
6.00
* ratings are out of 10

Whats up with Arvixe!!! Really gone down hill and fast.

I've been with Arvixe for years and man have they gone down hill recently. I cant reach anyone by phone, their website is terrible, and they just don't seam to care. I tried to register two new domains and was lost for where to pay - shopping cart nowhere. Then I tried to call for help - forget that. I attempted to get through with IM - 30 minutes later and I'm still waiting. This company will go down the tubes if they don't get their act together soon. I have a hosting account and 50+ domains and they could care less if I'm having a problem.
Thanks Arvixe!

Arvixe is NOT recommended by Ran. This person does NOT recommend Arvixe.
› Overall Rating ››    30.00% 
Reviewed on February 4th, 2016 at 14:51 EST by Ran
Customer for duration of 3 - 5 years
IP Address: 50.133.115.127
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
End of Review #6 out of 42 Arvixe reviews
uptime & reliability
3.90
server & connection speed
7.70
technical support & knowledge
0.10
customer service & billing
0.10
price value for money
8.00
* ratings are out of 10

Fraudulent company - Warning!!! Keep away from reach of anyone

I decided not to continue with one of my domains I had with this company and I did not renewed it on the expiration date 11/29/2015 (of course they suspended the services since then). After a month this people charged my credit card without my authorization for webhosting renewal even when the account was not set for doing it automatically. I submitted a ticket to have the refund for more than a month now and so far I only got from them non-sense excuses without admitting they did this unauthorized charge to my credit card, it is like asking them for pears and they answering about a moon walk. Maybe this was a good webhosting company in the past, I used to have five or six domains with them, but it is a nightmare at present time. Of course having this experience I moved all of my other domains from them. Wish you luck if you continue with them.

Arvixe is NOT recommended by R Rodriguez. This person does NOT recommend Arvixe.
› Overall Rating ››    30.00% 
Reviewed on February 1st, 2016 at 21:35 EST by R Rodriguez
Customer for duration of 3 - 5 years
IP Address: 73.139.163.159
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
End of Review #7 out of 42 Arvixe reviews
uptime & reliability
0.50
server & connection speed
1.00
technical support & knowledge
1.00
customer service & billing
0.00
price value for money
0.00
* ratings are out of 10

Worst Webhosting in My 20-Year Experience

I climbed up the ladder along with the Web since the mid '90s. I've used a score of webhosting services in that time. Realistically, I have to discount the garage-service experiences that were the only things available in the '90s when DARPA morphed into the Web.

But webhosting became a monetized commodity in the 21st century and we all began expecting a minimum level of performance and service.

I built a website on spec for a non-profit organization. I opened it up for their consideration late last year, and the Arvixe server was up and down more frequently than a kid's bouncy jump-house. The 501(c)(3) completely lost trust in the Arvixe, and I only retained their business by moving the site to a different host. Dealing with that on-spec domain and hosting service is my current dilemma.

Sometime in 2015, Arvixe seemed to have decided it would squeeze every penny out of every sucker it could and provide as little service as possible. Mark my words: look for these hucksters to declare bankruptcy soon and abscond with whatever they have already billed to your credit card.

Thankfully, my CC on file was replaced by the card issuer with a new chipped one, one that had a new number. The old one was supposed to become invalid on January 15, but guess what? I'd been trying since December 29 to cancel that spec account I'd created on Arvixe and, to no avail, they charged my card on January 16 anyway. Over 23 days after that initial cancellation request, it still has not been resolved despite hours of ticket updates, online support chat, and a 60-minute-plus telephone call. They still have the payment I attempted to cancel, and it seems now my only recourse is to contest the charge as fraudulent through the issuing bank. Thank goodness I kept meticulous, detailed records of all communications...even have a voice recording of a useless, antagonistic, one-hour long telephone call with Arvixe "support."

FYI, on that front, when you dial Arvixe's support number, option "3" is for Billing. The agent told me Billing would have to address my issues. I told her I had pressed "3" for Billing. "Oh," she said, "Billing doesn't speak to customers on the phone."

I have two other domain names registered with Arvixe via ENOM that I am desperately trying to move out of Arvixe's grasp. For one of them Arvixe provides me no interface at all for management. I've emailed ENOM with no response. I registered and own the domain name, but Arvixe is essentially holding it hostage.

Stay away. Stay very, very far away from Arvixe. I have one webhosting account paid through August 2017, and I fully expect that to become a total write-off.

Biggest Pro: It's cheap
Biggest Con: It's a flat-out rip-off

Arvixe is NOT recommended by Bill Williams. This person does NOT recommend Arvixe.
› Overall Rating ››    0.00% 
Reviewed on January 21st, 2016 at 20:42 EST by Bill Williams
Customer for duration of 1 - 2 years
IP Address: 70.241.65.209
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
End of Review #8 out of 42 Arvixe reviews
uptime & reliability
0.10
server & connection speed
0.10
technical support & knowledge
0.00
customer service & billing
0.00
price value for money
0.00
* ratings are out of 10

How the great have fallen- AVOID ARVIXE!

When I signed up, I was paying $3.72 monthly for really excellent service. The support was good, not great, but adequate. Beginning in about June of 2015, things started to go downhill fast. I noticed that eMail wasn't as quick and reliable as before. I didn't know it but neither were my three websites. Then things got really bad. My eMail was very unreliable for a few weeks while Arvixe gave me several different reasons for the trouble, then I lost the ability to use eMail for several days before switching to another provider. I cancelled my Arvixe account.

But I have since gotten invoices for domain renewal for 2002-2003, 2003-2004 for $0.00 each. Yes, that was in 2015! Then I got payment notifications for those invoices. Since my account wasn't charged I didn't care much. Now Arvixe has sent me another invoice, this time for $72.00 to renew my service. That invoice first says that they will bill Paypal (they don't have my account info to do that), then it says that the card on file will be charged. Fortunately our bank just sent us new SmartCards with a different card number, so Arvixe can't charge us.

I tried to cancel again, and got an error from Arvixe's website. They can't even make their own site work reliably. And this isn't the first time their site has had issues, it has even disappeared completely for a couple of days. Arvixe has no business being in the web hosting business!

I noted that someone from Arvixe (Noah) claims that this site is pwned. I don't know if that's so (they sure have lots of reviews). I know that I am a real person, a former Arvixe customer, and am posting the truth under my real name. So- what's the difference between Arvixe and toenail fungus? Toenail fungus can be cured.

Biggest Pro: You can leave them (but they won't leave you)
Biggest Con: So useless you'll be forced to switch. When you do they don't go away.

Arvixe is NOT recommended by Bill Keeler. This person does NOT recommend Arvixe.
› Overall Rating ››    0.00% 
Reviewed on January 15th, 2016 at 18:57 EST by Bill Keeler
Customer for duration of 1 - 2 years
IP Address: 68.3.131.33
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
End of Review #9 out of 42 Arvixe reviews
uptime & reliability
9.00
server & connection speed
5.00
technical support & knowledge
1.00
customer service & billing
9.50
price value for money
9.80
* ratings are out of 10

Good Products, Bad Customer Service and Support

While the staff act very polite over chat or phone if you can find one, the level of support (meaning fixing your problem) is zero. All they do is tell you the same thing "I escalated the ticket someone will contact you" we are talking their response time is between 3 to 10 days. This year 2015 they have a complete server crash that messed up all my sites and it took me almost 3 weeks to have them fix them for me. Customers were not happy since I have a reseller account. If you are going to host a very important website or business sites DON'T, if is just a personal or project, go ahead. But I don't recommend this hosting provider.

Biggest Pro: Good Price, Nice Hosting Features, Latest cPanel and WHM
Biggest Con: Customer service and support unreliable

Arvixe is NOT recommended by Emmanuel Reyes. This person does NOT recommend Arvixe.
› Overall Rating ››    60.00% 
Reviewed on December 24th, 2015 at 10:08 EST by Emmanuel Reyes
Customer for duration of 6 - 11 months
IP Address: 72.238.66.197
Type of Plan: Reseller   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
End of Review #10 out of 42 Arvixe reviews
« Prev 1 2 3 4 5
link to this page   |   tell a friend about this web host
Host Gator - Host Unlimited Web Sites
Reseller Hosting - 50% Off
Host Unlimited Sites
Free Dedicated IP & Backups
90 Day Money Back Guarantee
Try it out for just $13.99/mo.
InMotion Hosting

Read what users say about InMotion Hosting!


For Users
Web Hosting Reviews
Submit Review
Advanced Search
All Web Hosts
Top Rated

Our Difference
Contact


Free Newsletter
For Hosts
Host Log-in
Create Account
Generate Links
Get More Exposure


New Reviews
Go Daddy
000webhost
Just Host
WebHostingPad
EasyCGI
BlueFur
SkyNet Hosting
Arvixe
HostSo
VPSDepot
ADDR
Lunarpages
Quick2Host
WebIntellects
KVC Hosting
SiteGround
A Small Orange
ServerSea
StoresOnline
HostPapa


Other
Website Thumbnails
This site is powered by Host Gator.
Copyright © 1999-2016 WebHostingReviews.com. All Rights Reserved.
All reviews, content, graphics, logos, design, and scripts, are the sole property of WebHostingReviews.com, and
may not be used without prior written consent from us. All violations will be prosecuted to the maximum extent possible under the law.
Last Update: June 20th, 2016 at 15:01 EST / This site has a total of 3,441 web hosting reviews, based on 529 different web hosting companies.