Arvixe

Visit Arvixe Visit Arvixe   Write your own Arvixe review. Write your own Arvixe review.
2 out of 42 (or 5% of) people recommend Arvixe.
 › Rating Averages ››
Uptime & Reliability Server & Connection Speed Price Value for Money
2.61 / 10.0 3.60 / 10.0 3.06 / 10.0
Technical Support & Knowledge Customer Service & Billing
1.79 / 10.0 2.64 / 10.0
Arvixe
› Overall Rating ››    15.93% 
How are ratings calculated? 
  • Analyze this Page for Me
Showing 21 to 30 out of 42 reviews.   Filter Reviews
Page Relevancy
Review Quality 100%
What's
this?

Arvixe reviews

uptime & reliability
0.00
server & connection speed
0.10
technical support & knowledge
0.00
customer service & billing
1.90
price value for money
0.00
* ratings are out of 10

Arvixe -- Worst Web Host. Period.

Okay, so I joined arvixe at the recommendation of PCMag. It was super cheap and promised the moon. Unfortunately, everything positive they say about them is a flat out lie.

Arvixe takes incompetence to a whole new level. Their "service" barely functions. When it's not running at slug speed it's returning 404 errors or screwing up the name servers of your domains.

Good luck getting help from customer support. Their "award winning, 24/7" service might get back to you tomorrow. Need immediate assistance? Then be prepared to wait on hold for a half hour, then another 10 minutes while their rude Quality Assurance department "gets familiar with your situation"--a period of weird silence while you wait on the phone for them to read all your emails.

Then, finally, they'll tell you that "they're looking into your problem" and when they can't find anything--and believe me, they won't--they'll say that the problem must be on your end. They can't help you.

I finally called it quits after being unable to access my brand new site for 4 days. All the while being told by Arvixe that nothing was wrong. There was no error. And never once was I given an apology (even a we-don't-really-mean-it Post Office apology). Because of course, it was my fault.

I've been in IT for close to a decade and I've used other hosts before (GoDaddy, and HostMonster), and while they weren't the greatest, I never had any problems like Arvixe. At least they worked.

So yeah, I get that Arvixe is really cheap, but $70 bucks for nothing is still nothing. Not to mention the lost time and frustration.

There are better hosts out there. Save yourself and choose somebody else.

Biggest Pro: They give you a full refund--if you're prepared to argue.
Biggest Con: rude, brainless support, service rarely fuctions

Response by Noah - Customer Relations, who is a staff member of Arvixe:

===== ARVIXE DISCLOSURE ===== To potential Arvixe Customers: WebHostingReviews.com is affiliated with those on the top list and does not approve good reviews for Arvixe. Arvixe is one of the fastest growing companies in the world and has been in business since 2003, there will naturally be complaints. We do our best (such as below) to identify what may have caused the issues for our customers and resolve them. We have partnerships with some of the biggest names in open source (OpenCart, Joomla) which we would not be able to do if we provided a sub-par service. However, this site (WebHostingReviews) has chosen to deceive web hosting customers by only posting bad reviews about our services and discarding the good reviews. As you can also see there has been no new reviews for the top 3 listed hosts in over a year. WebHostingReviews earns a commission off of the higher rated hosts' sales and has completely ignored our communication. ===== ARVIXE DISCLOSURE ===== Hi DCN, I am sorry that you had such a bad experience at Arvixe. For anyone that you talked to, that was rude to you, we would like to know as that is not behavior we want at Arvixe. Please note that our support team did constantly work with you to get your queries solved. Unfortunately the problem was with the DNS servers of your ISP, as they would not read the changes that were set on your domain. The reason the techs said everything was fine, was that the domain was up and always returned the site that was on our servers, even when using a proxy to view it. The techs did explain this and we are sorry that it did not work out. For anyone that has issues with their account, we would like to help. Please e-mail us at QA [at] arvixe.com (this e-mail address also goes to management).

Posted on March 2nd, 2015 at 17:04 EST
Arvixe is NOT recommended by DCN. This person does NOT recommend Arvixe.
› Overall Rating ››    0.00% 
Reviewed on December 8th, 2014 at 16:26 EST by DCN
Customer for duration of 1 - 2 months
IP Address: 23.126.96.12
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: unendingred@gmail.com
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #21 out of 42 Arvixe reviews
uptime & reliability
2.00
server & connection speed
2.00
technical support & knowledge
6.00
customer service & billing
8.00
price value for money
4.00
* ratings are out of 10

So hopeful but so disappointed

Ok, to begin with I found that their reviews are amazing. Whoever is in charge of marketing has done a good job.
But the service itself leaves a lot begging. I have a simple wordpress site and man, it's down 40-50% of the time. And, it's so slow.

Uploading to their site via FTP and drive-transfer was one of the worst experiences I had. I don't know if their servers are running on dialup modems, but I wouldn't be surprised. 500 byte p\s - 1KBps transfers??Are you kidding me?

Their support seems good so far, but I'm going to have to take the site down. Hopefully they will honour my refund amount.

Response by Noah - Customer Relations, who is a staff member of Arvixe:

===== ARVIXE DISCLOSURE ===== To potential Arvixe Customers: WebHostingReviews.com is affiliated with those on the top list and does not approve good reviews for Arvixe. Arvixe is one of the fastest growing companies in the world and has been in business since 2003, there will naturally be complaints. We do our best (such as below) to identify what may have caused the issues for our customers and resolve them. We have partnerships with some of the biggest names in open source (OpenCart, Joomla) which we would not be able to do if we provided a sub-par service. However, this site (WebHostingReviews) has chosen to deceive web hosting customers by only posting bad reviews about our services and discarding the good reviews. As you can also see there has been no new reviews for the top 3 listed hosts in over a year. WebHostingReviews earns a commission off of the higher rated hosts' sales and has completely ignored our communication. ===== ARVIXE DISCLOSURE ===== Hi Arvind, I am sorry that you had those issues. I do see that you have worked with our support team and it appears you problem has been solved. If there is anything else we can assist you with, or anyone else who reads this review, please e-mail us at QA [at] arvixe.com.

Posted on February 9th, 2015 at 18:04 EST
Arvixe is NOT recommended by Arvind. This person does NOT recommend Arvixe.
› Overall Rating ››    35.00% 
Reviewed on November 8th, 2014 at 12:45 EST by Arvind
Customer for duration of 1 - 2 months
IP Address: 117.202.92.246
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: http://www.playandconquer.com/   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #22 out of 42 Arvixe reviews
uptime & reliability
0.10
server & connection speed
1.00
technical support & knowledge
0.00
customer service & billing
10.0
price value for money
0.10
* ratings are out of 10

Your Better " WITHOUT " Arvixe

I wish I had seen these reviews 7 years ago and "HEEDED" the warnings of stress, frustration and misery hosting with Arvixe.

Unfortunately, I made the choice to host my sites with Arvixe.

It took some time for me to accept the fact that there is literally " NO " knowledgeable tech support to be found within the Arvixe infrastructure. All of the so called "TECHNITIONS" both in the U.S. but mainly abroad (India) are hindered by their inept ability to perform simple technical tasks or customer requests. Their unwillingness to successfully communicate as a technical support team is even more appalling. Arvand claims there are over 50+ tech's, by my count there are about 15 and I have communicated with everyone of them over the years.

All of their shared systems are old, outdated and shared to maximum capacity which constantly causes problems with all of my websites. Application Pools only updating every "29" hours instead of "on command" as one would perceive to be true when applied from within the cpanel {this being one of the bigger offending problems}

In a nutshell, "SALES" and "FAUX SOCIAL MEDIA PROPAGANDA" is the only thing Arvixe does best. They will sell you anything. They will tell you they have everything anyone could ask for. They will sell you everything "UNLIMITED" for one low monthly price and if you buy multiple years at one time the price will be even cheaper. It is unfortunate but true, the only reason I went with Arvixe was because of the price. Seasonal coupons found on the web can make Arvixe final hosting prices one of the cheapest around. I've never added up all of the hours wasted fixing Arvixe bugs, screwups and failures so I changed the value for money from 10 to .1 because Arvixe probably cost me more than a monthly dedicated server over the past years.

There it is, I could probably write a book about how ridiculously bad Arvixe is to include all of the bugs, screwups, anomalies, outages, problems, billing errors, names, dates, times, trouble tickets, the works but all it really boils down to is if you enjoy being miserable then you and Arvixe are made for each other.

Now your probably thinking this guy is an insane hypocrite!

Yes, I question my sanity every day that I continue to host with Arvixe but like I said in the beginning after more than seven years of script, app, SQL and site moves, changes, restores, etc., the sites do work most of the time and some of my clients are relatively happy.

I am currently in the process of transferring domains and rebuilding sites from the ground up with a industry leading service provider. Unfortunately I still have a year or so left on my nonrefundable Pro Plan.

To: Arvand Sabetian (Arvixe Owner) - If this is really "Arvand" (FSMP Team!)
Please refrain from posting your insincere responses in an attempt to vindicate Arvixe. Placating reviewers by pretending to be apologetic and now {after the damage is done) try to pacify customers by promising to " MAKE IT RIGHT " when it should have been addressed by your feeble minded staff and " MADE RIGHT " when customers complained.

Really, its kind of pathetic for a belated response?

Biggest Pro: Coupon Discounted Cheap Price
Biggest Con: So many....where do I begin.....!

Response by Noah - Customer Relations, who is a staff member of Arvixe:

===== ARVIXE DISCLOSURE ===== To potential Arvixe Customers: WebHostingReviews.com is affiliated with those on the top list and does not approve good reviews for Arvixe. Arvixe is one of the fastest growing companies in the world and has been in business since 2003, there will naturally be complaints. We do our best (such as below) to identify what may have caused the issues for our customers and resolve them. We have partnerships with some of the biggest names in open source (OpenCart, Joomla) which we would not be able to do if we provided a sub-par service. However, this site (WebHostingReviews) has chosen to deceive web hosting customers by only posting bad reviews about our services and discarding the good reviews. As you can also see there has been no new reviews for the top 3 listed hosts in over a year. WebHostingReviews earns a commission off of the higher rated hosts' sales and has completely ignored our communication. ===== ARVIXE DISCLOSURE =====

Hi betterwoarvixe, we are sorry that you had issues are sorry you had issues. At the time of this response we have over 80 employees at Arvixe. We hire employees from all over the world to make sure that we can provide the best support possible. We use the best possible hardware to give our customers a solid platform to work on. Our server specs are available for anyone that requests them and also posted all over our website.

I am also sorry for the confusion over our "UNLIMITED" plans. We do provide unlimited DiskSpace and Bandwidth but usage of CPU/RAM/MYSQL is NOT unlimited. We even have a detailed post here: https://support.arvixe.com/index.php?/Knowledgebase/Article/View/129/4/how-limited-is-unlimited and it is also in our tos: http://www.arvixe.com/tos.php

If management or our QA team QA[@]arvixe[.]com is reached out to we are more than happy to address concerns and reach a resolution that is suitable. If a customer complains in a public forum without contacting us first we do what we can there to help that client.

******READERS OF THIS REVIEW: If you have been with Arvixe and are having issues as this clients says they have, you would have heard from Arvand or someone on the management team right away. As mentioned above, the QA address is a direct line to them. To have been at Arvixe for 7 years and not to have heard from anyone in management when trying to resolve issues as described above, is not possible.

Posted on December 2nd, 2014 at 19:00 EST
Arvixe is NOT recommended by betterwoarvixe. This person does NOT recommend Arvixe.
› Overall Rating ››    0.00% 
Reviewed on September 24th, 2014 at 13:26 EST by betterwoarvixe
Customer for duration of More than 5 years
IP Address: 75.117.37.23
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Windows   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #23 out of 42 Arvixe reviews
uptime & reliability
6.40
server & connection speed
7.90
technical support & knowledge
0.50
customer service & billing
1.00
price value for money
5.00
* ratings are out of 10

Total rip off

Arvixe total rip off I never got the chance to make my site live to the public because whilst building my site I got a suspension notice from them saying I had exceeded the c.p.u I have never been able to use the site for anything you would expect without being bombarded with not very friendly email saying I was abusing their server, but the fact is I never got the chance to use it, my account was only a small account but they did promise I could run RMS but every time I tried to use it I had to ask support to reboot the server as there was never a connection available, some of the support team are nice people but they haven't got a clue about anything and pass you on to their senior tec who at best very rude and at their worst blame you for all the problems, in the end I hosted my site on an old PC which is running under my bed at home and can only thank Arvixe for making me so frustrated with their poor service that it forced me to make the decision of using my old PC which has been running for over 2 years now without a problem, I even got my own RMS running on it and everything is 2000 times better than what I got from Arvixe hosting

Biggest Pro: forced me to run my own server
Biggest Con: their hosting

Response by Noah - Customer Relations, who is a staff member of Arvixe:

===== ARVIXE DISCLOSURE ===== To potential Arvixe Customers: WebHostingReviews.com is affiliated with those on the top list and does not approve good reviews for Arvixe. Arvixe is one of the fastest growing companies in the world and has been in business since 2003, there will naturally be complaints. We do our best (such as below) to identify what may have caused the issues for our customers and resolve them. We have partnerships with some of the biggest names in open source (OpenCart, Joomla) which we would not be able to do if we provided a sub-par service. However, this site (WebHostingReviews) has chosen to deceive web hosting customers by only posting bad reviews about our services and discarding the good reviews. As you can also see there has been no new reviews for the top 3 listed hosts in over a year. WebHostingReviews earns a commission off of the higher rated hosts' sales and has completely ignored our communication. ===== ARVIXE DISCLOSURE =====

We are sorry you had issues. It looks like WebHostingReviews released this review a few years out of date through. Every e-mail since then there has been a happy resolution. Again we are sorry for any issues that occurred at any time. For anyone reading this review:

For the e-mails sent, they are automated information e-mails of what is happening with the account on the server. We provide details on the processes that are causing the issues.This allows customers to see what is happening with their account so it can be fixed. When automated processes are being run through a users account (such as a cron job) it can increase the usage. That is why we send the e-mails, to work with the customer. These shared plans have other users and we make sure that everyone's account is functioning properly.

We would also like to know if anyone at Arvixe is rude or disrespectful so upper management can discuss that with them. We do not approve of any rudeness to our customers and work to make sure it does not occur. We do have a 24/7 QA team (which can be reached at QA(@)arvixe[.]com) whose only job is to make sure issues are resolved to the customer's satisfaction.

Posted on July 18th, 2014 at 15:43 EST
Arvixe is NOT recommended by relsec. This person does NOT recommend Arvixe.
› Overall Rating ››    1.00% 
Reviewed on June 14th, 2014 at 22:00 EST by relsec
Customer for duration of 1 - 2 years
IP Address: 86.25.155.88
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #24 out of 42 Arvixe reviews
uptime & reliability
7.00
server & connection speed
8.00
technical support & knowledge
1.00
customer service & billing
1.00
price value for money
5.00
* ratings are out of 10

So long as you don't need customer support they are fine...

Its a low price for linux cPanel hosting, but customer service is just awful I had early on figured out that contacting support was an exercise in frustration, but figured I shouldn't really need them for anything. Most of the first level support people are not good for anything other than a password reset, and typical response to get an answer on a ticket is 24 hours.

Then last week they made server changes last week that broke mySQL access.

Tried live chat 10 minutes to get someone to respond, and then another 15 minutes without any type of response.

Tried submitting a ticket....that got a 'we need more information message' 24 hours later.

Starting calling them later that day, hold times of 20 minutes plus, then talk to someone who says they say they will fix it or get back to me and do neither. On a subsequent call get someone who doesn't even understand the problem . Get told it will be fixed in an hour for sure, and next morning its still broken. 36 hours and 5 phone calls later the reported bug is fixed. However, along the way someone reset permissions on all my files, which broke all my scripts.

Still having problems a week later, multiple phone calls, and a manager inadvertently picks up my call. When I describe the problem he says that they made some other changes on the server that are causing things not to run. Not only can't I fix it myself, none of the first level support people have a clue as to what this is about, and if he hadn't picked up the phone I'd still be trying to explain this to the uniformed first level support folks.

Even then, there is no sense of urgency, its now another 6 hours and another 4 phones later and I still don't have a solution, a response, and the ticket shows "normal" priority in spite of the 3 phone calls where the rep said they would make it urgent.

Signing up with them was a BIG mistake, a 2 year deal an ever bigger one. Will be looking for a new hosting company and having a 'interesting' discussion with them about a refund.

Biggest Pro: connectivity has been mostly decent
Biggest Con: customer service is beyond terrible

Response by Noah - Customer Relations, who is a staff member of Arvixe:

===== ARVIXE DISCLOSURE ===== To potential Arvixe Customers: WebHostingReviews.com is affiliated with those on the top list and does not approve good reviews for Arvixe. Arvixe is one of the fastest growing companies in the world and has been in business since 2003, there will naturally be complaints. We do our best (such as below) to identify what may have caused the issues for our customers and resolve them. We have partnerships with some of the biggest names in open source (OpenCart, Joomla) which we would not be able to do if we provided a sub-par service. However, this site (WebHostingReviews) has chosen to deceive web hosting customers by only posting bad reviews about our services and discarding the good reviews. As you can also see there has been no new reviews for the top 3 listed hosts in over a year. WebHostingReviews earns a commission off of the higher rated hosts' sales and has completely ignored our communication. ===== ARVIXE DISCLOSURE =====
Hello,

I'm sorry to hear about the frustrations you've experienced with our services. Unfortunately the nature of your issue was particularly complex; we were however happy to get our server management involved all the way to upper management and I'm glad that we're well on our way to resolution at this point.

I'm not completely sure why you had so much trouble getting through to our support as that's certainly not typical but I can assure you that it will be looked into and perhaps more urgently important, you're in direct contact with our management team so should you have any further issues, please do not hesitate to work with us.

I am glad we were able to reach out to you in an effort to resolve the issues you've been having, and we really do appreciate you working with us on getting things resolved. Should you need anything from us though, please do let us know.

Posted on April 16th, 2013 at 15:39 EST, Last Edited on August 21st, 2013 at 12:18 EST
Arvixe is NOT recommended by Ralph Mayer. This person does NOT recommend Arvixe.
› Overall Rating ››    30.00% 
Reviewed on April 11th, 2013 at 22:44 EST by Ralph Mayer
Customer for duration of 6 - 11 months
IP Address: 108.81.55.193
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #25 out of 42 Arvixe reviews
uptime & reliability
0.00
server & connection speed
0.00
technical support & knowledge
0.00
customer service & billing
0.00
price value for money
0.00
* ratings are out of 10

Worse Technical Support I have Ever Used (in over 10 years)

What a joke - you take out a hosting plan to build a business upon - and then you have to speak to Arvixe support!

DONT WASTE YOU TIME OR MONEY? READ THE REVIEWS HERE - I WISH I HAD!!

The technical support are clearly uneducated (technically), fail to read questions and answer honestly, giving you half the solution you need.

If this wasn't bad enough, when they take 'action' such as a CPanel/WHM upgrade - they don't tell you - oh no.

Instead they let you carry doing what you are doing, in my case SQL updates, and yes half way through Mysql and PhpMyadmin "fall over" - the result? Inconsistent data in the Database!!

They're response? It was a bad user on the server that we have terminated.. Really! Its funny how all the Cpanel/WHM graphics have suddenly updated and version number is greater!!! Welcome to Arvixe support!

The usual way they support people is like this:

"we cant see the problem" (E.G. Go away)

Biggest Pro: Nothing because everything is based on things working, and support
Biggest Con: Support, Technical Ability, Lies, etc...

Response by Noah - Customer Relations, who is a staff member of Arvixe:

===== ARVIXE DISCLOSURE ===== To potential Arvixe Customers: WebHostingReviews.com is affiliated with those on the top list and does not approve good reviews for Arvixe. Arvixe is one of the fastest growing companies in the world and has been in business since 2003, there will naturally be complaints. We do our best (such as below) to identify what may have caused the issues for our customers and resolve them. We have partnerships with some of the biggest names in open source (OpenCart, Joomla) which we would not be able to do if we provided a sub-par service. However, this site (WebHostingReviews) has chosen to deceive web hosting customers by only posting bad reviews about our services and discarding the good reviews. As you can also see there has been no new reviews for the top 3 listed hosts in over a year. WebHostingReviews earns a commission off of the higher rated hosts' sales and has completely ignored our communication. ===== ARVIXE DISCLOSURE =====

Hello,

I am sorry you had issues with the service. When a problem occurs on a server, Arvixe works to fix it. If the Arvixe staff can not see the exact problem we ask the customer that is experiencing the issue to provide all the steps they took to create the problem. Sending us all the information and including screenshots can help us locate the issues faster.

For our Linux servers we use cPanel which is set to automatically update. The auto update is for the most stable release version. This is to ensure that our customers get the best of what cPanel has to offer but with stability. cPanel does not push out updates that would cause instability of the server. Whenever a server is in need of an update that would affect user's performance we send out an e-mail in advance to let them know what will happen.

On our shared plans there are multiple users on each server. That is why every single technical staff member (of which we have over 50, 24/7) has a nagios system which updates every minute on their browser. We also have a 24/7 QA team as well as a 24/7 server management team whose sole purpose is to improve the stability of servers and our services. We make sure that if someone is abusing the servers they are handled quickly and correctly. If customers feel they have not been treated correctly by staff then we encourage an e-mail to QA [at] arvixe.com so that issue can be handled.

Posted on April 5th, 2012 at 17:05 EST, Last Edited on August 21st, 2013 at 12:18 EST
Arvixe is NOT recommended by chris. This person does NOT recommend Arvixe.
› Overall Rating ››    0.00% 
Reviewed on April 5th, 2012 at 14:51 EST by chris
Customer for duration of 3 - 5 months
IP Address: 86.6.156.233
Type of Plan: Reseller   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #26 out of 42 Arvixe reviews
uptime & reliability
9.00
server & connection speed
9.50
technical support & knowledge
2.00
customer service & billing
0.00
price value for money
0.10
* ratings are out of 10

Worst Web Host I Ever Had

My main problem with Arvixe was email spam on a Windows account. They say they have emails bumped against a list, etc. and that there are also email filters for their Windows WebMail service. The filters are there but they don't work. I was badgered by SPAM with titles like "Penis Enlargement", "Make Her Moan with an Incredible Erection" and other worst possible filth you can possibly imagine.

SPAM email started trickling in slow at first then it got to the point I was deleting over 200 SPAM emails a day. Arvixe's technical support first told me over the phone they would have better spam filtering for Windows accounts in about two weeks just short of the end of my 60 days mark. Later I did some more web searches and found out on various blogs and posts from their own support people they have been making this promise for about a year.

I waited, deleted SPAM and then three weeks past still no new filtering. I even tried a third party filtering solution, didn't work and then they tried to get me to purchase an additional email service on Linux that had email filtering. I wasn't giving them any more money and by that time my trust level with them was gone.

I am a systems developer with over 22 years of experience, and I've never encountered a hosting group as bad as this one.

In trying to get a partial refund from them for the months not used when I canceled my account, I was told they don't give partial refunds and they would give me a credit for additional Arvixe purchases. Since I was never going to do business with Arvixe again, I told them that was unsatisfactory and when I wrote their sales division I was going to take action and contact the Better Business Bureau and my credit card company, the sales rep. wrote me back and accused me of extortion. I'm still going to report them to the Better Business Bureau and contact my credit card company.

"BUYER BEWARE", Arvixe is terrible to do business with and in the future, I wouldn't let them host a tea party. They lure you in with low prices but spending a little more elsewhere will save you a lot of time on the phone and on their support ticketing site with issues.

My strong advice is DO NOT PURCHASE THIS SERVICE.

Biggest Pro: Web Control Panel very simple.
Biggest Con: Terrible customer service, spammy email and weak technical support

Response by Noah - Customer Relations, who is a staff member of Arvixe:

===== ARVIXE DISCLOSURE ===== To potential Arvixe Customers: WebHostingReviews.com is affiliated with those on the top list and does not approve good reviews for Arvixe. Arvixe is one of the fastest growing companies in the world and has been in business since 2003, there will naturally be complaints. We do our best (such as below) to identify what may have caused the issues for our customers and resolve them. We have partnerships with some of the biggest names in open source (OpenCart, Joomla) which we would not be able to do if we provided a sub-par service. However, this site (WebHostingReviews) has chosen to deceive web hosting customers by only posting bad reviews about our services and discarding the good reviews. As you can also see there has been no new reviews for the top 3 listed hosts in over a year. WebHostingReviews earns a commission off of the higher rated hosts' sales and has completely ignored our communication. ===== ARVIXE DISCLOSURE =====

Hello,

I am sorry you had issues with our support and the hosting account. Our Windows hosting provides mail services through the hmailserver service which uses several different checks for spam such as checks against Spamhaus and spamcop RBLs. While this is enough for 99% of our customers, those who receive large amounts of spam require heavy third party spam protection which we always recommend.

As far as webmail, Arvixe currently offers 2 for Window servers, one is Afterlogic and another is myWebmail. Due to issues with Afterlogic, Afterlogic has been discontinued and this is clearly outlined. myWebmail is a stable webmail with all features properly working and is fully supported. Any and all issues that our customers may find is quickly reported to the developer and rectified.

We also encourage all customers to email us at qa [at] arvixe.com with any such issues so that our senior management staff can assist them 24/7.

Again, I am very sorry that you had issues with our service.

Posted on March 30th, 2012 at 11:21 EST, Last Edited on August 21st, 2013 at 12:18 EST
Arvixe is NOT recommended by Sidney Vaught. This person does NOT recommend Arvixe.
› Overall Rating ››    0.00% 
Reviewed on March 30th, 2012 at 05:35 EST by Sidney Vaught
Customer for duration of 3 - 5 months
IP Address: 98.185.26.5
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Windows   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
13 out of 13 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #27 out of 42 Arvixe reviews
uptime & reliability
1.70
server & connection speed
1.70
technical support & knowledge
1.70
customer service & billing
1.70
price value for money
0.00
* ratings are out of 10

Worst company I've had the displeasure of being a customer of

Arvixe looks like a professional company that will deliver quality service at a great price. In my experience, though, this could not be further from the truth.
Here is what Arvixe promises that they have not been able to follow through on:

1 Free install of XenForo forum hosting within 48hrs. It took more than 72 hours for Arvixe to install XenForo and when we tried to access we saw they had install an upgrade, instead of full version. Thanks to their work, we had to completely wipe the install directory and install from scratch oursleves. Thankfully it turnout out to be easy and took less than 1 hour to do properly, with no former experience.

99% uptime and availability. This couldn't be further from the truth. In the 43 days I've been a customer of Arvixe, I have had to open well over 50 trouble tickets about the site either being exceptionally slow to load (20+ seconds) or just not available at all. We have averaged well over 1 ticket a day as I have not always been available to check the site and others have had to do so too.

Even with all of the issues listed above, I tried to work with Arvixe to see if they were able to find permanent solutions to these ongoing and systemic issues in their infrastructure. Not once have I received any indication that any root cause has been found or that any ongoing work is being done to improve reliability. I have been far more patient than the other 60 people in our community who have been clamoring for us to find another host for weeks now. I assure you that Arvixe is a well known name in our community now and will certainly not be recommended by anyone we know.

This has been, by far, the worst company I have ever had the displeasure to be associated with. I would not use their service even if it were free.

Biggest Pro: They have a 60 day money back guarantee
Biggest Con: Simply can not provide stable service

Response by Arvand Sabetian, who is the owner of Arvixe:

Hello,

I am extremely sorry for the trouble you had at Arvixe. Please understand this is not the normal way we do business. I was unable to look up your account from the information provided so I can not provide any insight on to what happened or what we can fix. Would you please e-mail qa@arvixe.com with this information?

Please note that we are a web host. Our job is not to install scripts. But we do so and we appreciate customers' patience. We also always suggest the customer to install the scripts themselves because it is a simple process and most scripts can be installed automatically through our control panel.

In regards to the uptime every single technical staff member (of which we have over 50, 24/7) has a nagios system which updates every minute on their browser. We also have a 24/7 QA team as well as a 24/7 server management team whose sole purpose is to improve the stability of servers and our services.

We do understand if you would no longer want to have us as a hosting provider but we would like to fix the issues at their source. Again I am very sorry you had this experience with Arvixe and we would like to make it right.

Posted on March 29th, 2012 at 18:03 EST, Last Edited on March 30th, 2012 at 10:05 EST
Arvixe is NOT recommended by David Edwards. This person does NOT recommend Arvixe.
› Overall Rating ››    10.00% 
Reviewed on March 29th, 2012 at 10:29 EST by David Edwards
Customer for duration of 1 - 2 months
IP Address: 143.166.255.65
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: krazbek@gmail.com
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
13 out of 13 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #28 out of 42 Arvixe reviews
uptime & reliability
2.00
server & connection speed
3.00
technical support & knowledge
0.00
customer service & billing
5.00
price value for money
0.00
* ratings are out of 10

Arvixe Reseller pack is just not working!

I made a big mistake and I transferred all my 30 websites from a reseller pack in UK (because of low speed) to Arvixe! Among others, if you buy a reseller pack you will come into these problems all the time:
1. application pool stopped all the time even if you use dedicated app poll (they said that there is a memory limit of 150MB but sites with 50-60MB memory usage are down all the time)
2. Terrible e-mail problem: All my domains could not receive or send any e-mail for four days. Chat was concluded to tickets and tickets were replied after 1 day, informing me that the problem was solved. After one minute the problem was back again. We lived a nightmare for 4 days with no support and no hope
3. Very slow load time

So, I wonder: 250$/year is cheap for hosting that simple does not work!
PS: to Arvixe people - Do not reply to my post. I know the answer ...."we are sorry, send e-mail to qa ..bla bla bla"
PS2: I am hiding my domain name and e-mail address because I do not trust Arvixe and I still have my sites there.

Response by Arvand Sabetian, who is the owner of Arvixe:

Hello,
While I understand your frustration, I can assure you that this is not a common occurrence with Arvixe.
Most often, the application you are running is causing the app pool to crash.
I don't have any details regarding you mail server issue(s), however It's been a very long time since we've had a mail server down for any significant time.
We would love the opportunity to look into this further, please feel free to contact us directly qa [at]arvixe.com

Posted on March 13th, 2012 at 01:23 EST
Arvixe is NOT recommended by George Papadopoulos. This person does NOT recommend Arvixe.
› Overall Rating ››    10.00% 
Reviewed on March 11th, 2012 at 06:46 EST by George Papadopoulos
Customer for duration of 6 - 11 months
IP Address: 46.198.58.126
Type of Plan: Reseller   Platform: Windows   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #29 out of 42 Arvixe reviews
uptime & reliability
1.00
server & connection speed
4.00
technical support & knowledge
2.00
customer service & billing
5.00
price value for money
5.00
* ratings are out of 10

Great Price! Horrible Uptime!

STAY AWAY FROM THIS PLACE! I have been with this company for 2-3 years. The first year or so was great! After that, everything went to hell. Must have been a change in management or ownership. Support went down the drain along with server uptime.

They guarantee 99.9% up-time. This is laughable! Especially with some of their older servers. At one point I managed 3 separate accounts on 3 different servers(server names were LEAF, GALL, and MAPLE). LEAF was by far the worst. One hour of downtime a month was about average on LEAF. I've had to contact support about downtime on this server at least a dozen times over the past year or so. The most recent being yesterday.

Yesterday the LEAF server went down at 1:30PM EST due to both hardware and software issues. Something that could have been addressed a long time ago when the server kept having problems. Instead they wait for a major system crash to take action. The server has now been down for almost 20 hours. We were told in a forum post last night that it could be down for another 24-72 hours.

Don't expect their support team to respond to your issues in a timely manner either. Especially if you start a support ticket. It usually takes a min of 24 hours before you get a response. I've had some support tickets go on for weeks(SSRS setup).

On a more positive note their pricing is great!

Biggest Pro: pricing
Biggest Con: uptime and support

Arvixe is NOT recommended by mike. This person does NOT recommend Arvixe.
› Overall Rating ››    15.00% 
Reviewed on March 5th, 2012 at 09:41 EST by mike
Customer for duration of 1 - 2 years
IP Address: 76.222.32.245
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Windows   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #30 out of 42 Arvixe reviews
link to this page   |   tell a friend about this web host
Host Gator - Host Unlimited Web Sites
Reseller Hosting - 50% Off
Host Unlimited Sites
Free Dedicated IP & Backups
90 Day Money Back Guarantee
Try it out for just $13.99/mo.
InMotion Hosting

Read what users say about InMotion Hosting!


For Users
Web Hosting Reviews
Submit Review
Advanced Search
All Web Hosts
Top Rated

Our Difference
Contact


Free Newsletter
For Hosts
Host Log-in
Create Account
Generate Links
Get More Exposure


New Reviews
Go Daddy
000webhost
Just Host
WebHostingPad
EasyCGI
BlueFur
SkyNet Hosting
Arvixe
HostSo
VPSDepot
ADDR
Lunarpages
Quick2Host
WebIntellects
KVC Hosting
SiteGround
A Small Orange
ServerSea
StoresOnline
HostPapa


Other
Website Thumbnails
This site is powered by Host Gator.
Copyright © 1999-2016 WebHostingReviews.com. All Rights Reserved.
All reviews, content, graphics, logos, design, and scripts, are the sole property of WebHostingReviews.com, and
may not be used without prior written consent from us. All violations will be prosecuted to the maximum extent possible under the law.
Last Update: June 20th, 2016 at 15:01 EST / This site has a total of 3,441 web hosting reviews, based on 529 different web hosting companies.