Aplus

Visit Aplus Visit Aplus   Write your own Aplus review. Write your own Aplus review.
1 out of 22 (or 5% of) people recommend Aplus.
 › Rating Averages ››
Uptime & Reliability Server & Connection Speed Price Value for Money
4.10 / 10.0 4.25 / 10.0 1.74 / 10.0
Technical Support & Knowledge Customer Service & Billing
2.05 / 10.0 3.09 / 10.0
Aplus
› Overall Rating ››    12.59% 
How are ratings calculated? 
  • Analyze this Page for Me
Showing 1 to 10 out of 22 reviews.   Filter Reviews
Page Relevancy
Review Quality 100%
What's
this?
« Prev 1 2 3

Aplus reviews

uptime & reliability
0.00
server & connection speed
4.00
technical support & knowledge
0.00
customer service & billing
3.00
price value for money
0.00
* ratings are out of 10

16 Years of Loyalty - All for Nothing

I have been with APlus through thick and thin since 1998, even recommending at least a dozen clients to them, through 20012. Now, I just want OUT. If I didn't have so many domains on their system, I would have left long ago.

Since Deluxe took over, tech support has gone to the dogs. Completely. Every domain I've purchased in the past two years has been set up wrong. The first action by Deluxe staffers is to blame me for "user inability." Ummm...NO. I've been designing for the web since 1993...since far before many of your tech people were even BORN or out of diapers. I am considered an expert in my field and have led companies at the C-Level. And your tech support is telling me that their problem is mine? Mine, as in the paying customer?

I had one problem that was highly unusual for Wordpress - across all of my WP domains. Text wouldn't appear in the text boxes for input of posts. I troubleshot everything on my end BEFORE calling AP. Then, "You're doing it wrong. We won't help you with Wordpress." I kept telling them it was on their end. "No. User error." TWO WEEKS LATER, they identified that they had a problem with some server changes and "it is affecting Wordpress users." They provided a workaround. TWO WEEKS I lost business time.

Now, I have no email assigned to an operating domain. NO EMAIL. It is 2015. For a week, a trouble ticket has been in for tech support. STILL NO EMAIL. How can I do web-based business with NO EMAIL????

I have no less than one trouble ticket every single month for odd glitches and weird things I've never had issues with on other hosts. Business and life cannot wait for APlus by Deluxe. Deluxe wrote a check they can't cash, in buying APlus. IN OVER YOUR HEAD.

I've had it. This is ludicrous. It is ALWAYS something. Major internal inefficiencies, appear to have too FEW TECH SUPPORT people on staff, current tech support always blames the customer (how mature, in the first place), and even customer svs reps say "we know what you are saying...we understand why you're frustrated...you're right, it has been too long for this ticket..." I feel sorry for customer svs, as they have to deal with irate customers like me, due to BAD TECH SUPPORT.

Biggest Pro: NONE
Biggest Con: TOO MANY TECH ISSUES / TOO LONG TO FIX / BLAME CUSTOMER

Aplus is NOT recommended by Kimberly T. This person does NOT recommend Aplus.
› Overall Rating ››    0.00% 
Reviewed on January 24th, 2015 at 15:02 EST by Kimberly T
Customer for duration of More than 5 years
IP Address: 166.216.165.89
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #1 out of 22 Aplus reviews
uptime & reliability
4.90
server & connection speed
1.10
technical support & knowledge
2.20
customer service & billing
0.10
price value for money
0.20
* ratings are out of 10

Frauduelnt Charges

I called Aplus in November to cancel the entire account as we were switching to a new hosting company, new website with a new designer etc. The woman I spoke with kept trying to make me agree to continue and after like the 6th time I probably yelled at her that we are CANCELLING our account and moving elsewhere.

January 27th we receive an email THANKING us for our charge of $65.45 for the coming year! I spoke to two different operators at Aplus to reverse the charges and both pretended there was nothing they could do to fix it. In other words they refused to acnolwledge they made a mistake and will not solve it. Operator #2 even mumbled over me while I answered his questions which he then claimed he didn't understand: Shut the hell up while a Customer is talking and then you will hear their answer. Unless they trained you to do that?
Shady company guilty of fraud at the moment.

Report is filed with the BBB AND will be with my Bank first thing Monday morning!

Biggest Pro: None!
Biggest Con: Fraud

Aplus is NOT recommended by Harper . This person does NOT recommend Aplus.
› Overall Rating ››    2.00% 
Reviewed on January 27th, 2013 at 21:08 EST by Harper
Customer for duration of 3 - 5 years
IP Address: 108.49.176.108
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #2 out of 22 Aplus reviews
uptime & reliability
8.00
server & connection speed
8.00
technical support & knowledge
6.00
customer service & billing
1.00
price value for money
2.00
* ratings are out of 10

Billing Incompetence

Nothing but problems with billing. From "holds" being placed on funds in credit card (not being reversed for 30 days), double-billing (then being assessed a chargeback fee 3x amount to be rebated), account locked/suspended for failure to pay chargeback of refund I am due (with no way to repay since account says no invoices are due).

Technically, not much to brag about. Provides standard service with nothing special. However, with the level of incompetence in the billing and customer service departments receiving resolution brings A-Plus to a very sub-par provider. Avoid.

Biggest Pro: None really
Biggest Con: Billing Department and Customer Service incompetence.

Aplus is NOT recommended by Chris. This person does NOT recommend Aplus.
› Overall Rating ››    30.00% 
Reviewed on January 3rd, 2012 at 12:21 EST by Chris
Customer for duration of 1 - 2 years
IP Address: 81.221.217.91
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Windows   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #3 out of 22 Aplus reviews
uptime & reliability
7.50
server & connection speed
9.00
technical support & knowledge
0.00
customer service & billing
7.50
price value for money
0.00
* ratings are out of 10

Cplus I don't Think so try FMinus

When the great migration took place my sight crashed and it took 4 months before I told them what the problem was & they fixed it. On August 8th of this year we had problems with their generic SSL and our customer were unable to check out. We purchased a new certificate and the cart still does not work. We are going on 3 months now and I cannot do business. $0 earned. I have told them where the specific problem is and it is still not fixed. I call everyday and I am told that the senior techs have the ticket but nothing is happening. So either when the tell me the senior techs have it they are referring to their technicians who are 100 years old and move very slowly or they have hired the U.S. Congress to do their tech support, I am not clear on which it is.

My recommendation is to not go with APlus find another company, because that is what I am about to do so I can get my sight back up and running.

Best of luck. If someone from Aplus finds this and reads this my recommendation would be to put some serious money in to tech support because you currently only have customer service with no tech support! You need to fix it before it fixes itself!

Jim

Biggest Pro: Good price but...
Biggest Con: No tech support for the simplest of problems

Aplus is NOT recommended by Jim. This person does NOT recommend Aplus.
› Overall Rating ››    5.00% 
Reviewed on November 8th, 2011 at 15:36 EST by Jim
Customer for duration of 3 - 5 years
IP Address: 68.225.84.136
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: aegeanstore@aeganpools.com
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #4 out of 22 Aplus reviews
uptime & reliability
5.00
server & connection speed
0.60
technical support & knowledge
2.50
customer service & billing
4.40
price value for money
0.00
* ratings are out of 10

Need to change their name to Cminus.net

I have had webhosting with Aplus.net since early 2005. I selected them because they were rated #1 at the time. And they lived up to their rating until mid-2009 when the shared hosting business was sold off. Every single thing about them when from first class to crap almost immediately. The "upgrade" was an utter disaster and there are still things that don't work. I am in agreement with almost all of the other reviews I see here. Lousy operation, slow, unreliable email, lies, slow tech support, on and on and on. PHP is glacially slow and they deny it completely. If it wasn't such an immense task to move I would already have done so.

Biggest Pro: Nothing
Biggest Con: Eveyrthing

Aplus is NOT recommended by Brian Godfrey. This person does NOT recommend Aplus.
› Overall Rating ››    1.00% 
Reviewed on September 30th, 2011 at 12:42 EST by Brian Godfrey
Customer for duration of 1 - 2 years
IP Address: 207.118.70.21
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Unix   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #5 out of 22 Aplus reviews
uptime & reliability
0.10
server & connection speed
3.10
technical support & knowledge
3.10
customer service & billing
1.80
price value for money
0.20
* ratings are out of 10

Constant problems, frustration, lies with aplus.net

I've used them last year at a company and it was good service. I decided to join myself this year and ran into more problems than it was worth. Day after day after day would I receive problems, frustration, and wasted time.

#1. My account was marked as fraud. Anyone with half of a brain would know my account wasn't fraudulent. I used the billing address of my credit card. Matching Phone number, etc. If they had half of that brain they could've called me, looked up the whois on my domain and noticed all the information was the same again. But instead, they froze my account for 3 days. FIRST sign of waste of time for aplus

#2 Constant backend items wouldn't function /work properly. The Mysql DB manager would tell me 'error making database, please try again later', but in fact the DB did get created.

#3 Same with creating username. Then trying to delete the username or DB? Same problem. LAME

#3 Directories constantly changing / files ghosting / etc. They're going through data mirroring problems or something. MORE PROBLEMS
Your files/directory will appear somewhere else unexpectedly.

#4 Constant mysql problems. (They're using v5.0) My wordpress stopped working. I call them to get them problem fixed. They say they fixed it but my site still doesnt work properly. Says error 'connecting to database'. I ddin't make any modifications to the wordpress.

#5 The lady in the fraud dept I spoke to sounded like she had no idea what she was doing. Sounded like she wanted to be at home knitting.

Well, it's been a NIGHTMARE. What a waste of a couple weeks for me to try and wait for all the problems to be fixed. I wouldn't wish this on anyone.

Biggest Con: admins there think they know what they're doing.

Aplus is NOT recommended by s. This person does NOT recommend Aplus.
› Overall Rating ››    10.00% 
Reviewed on August 10th, 2011 at 13:20 EST by s
Customer for duration of 1 - 2 months
IP Address: 108.23.185.197
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #6 out of 22 Aplus reviews
uptime & reliability
0.00
server & connection speed
0.10
technical support & knowledge
0.10
customer service & billing
0.10
price value for money
0.10
* ratings are out of 10

Worst hosting I've ever experienced

Aplus.net was acquired by MarketJuice and it has since gone downhill. I've worked with more than 25 different other providers and I've been in IT for over 20 year. In my personal experience no one has been so horrible in providing a web hosting service! My site has been down for more than several weeks due to database & server issues and they have not even started to resolve them. For months before this I've had the worst performance of any account I've ever used. Stay away and go with just about anyone else!

Biggest Pro: There are other choices?
Biggest Con: They are horrible!

Aplus is NOT recommended by James. This person does NOT recommend Aplus.
› Overall Rating ››    1.00% 
Reviewed on July 19th, 2011 at 11:43 EST by James
Customer for duration of 3 - 5 months
IP Address: 24.34.72.205
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
14 out of 14 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #7 out of 22 Aplus reviews
uptime & reliability
8.50
server & connection speed
1.40
technical support & knowledge
1.50
customer service & billing
6.60
price value for money
0.70
* ratings are out of 10

Stats exploded once I moved my client's site off APlus

I'm a web designer and I created a custom WordPress theme for this client in 2009, making numerous improvements since. For about a year the client comlained that the site was slowing down. When they talked to APlus, the customer service reps suggested that it was WordPress, that the pages were too large, etc. PageSpeed plugin in FireBug showed 85% load speed, there just seemed to be this incredible (5-8 second) lag loading each page. I still don't know what it was. Four days ago we moved the site to HostGator.com, where stats have expoded, jumping over 35% to levels that they haven't seen since April. Bonus: They don't have to wait a minute or more to get into the dashboard to post to their blog.

TL;DR: APlus either didn't know what was wrong or didn't care, but once we moved to HostGator, visits jumped 35% in four days.

STL;DR: Don't use APlus.

Biggest Pro: Nice customer service
Biggest Con: Can't manage to serve a web site competently.

Aplus is NOT recommended by Josh Rickabaugh Rich. This person does NOT recommend Aplus.
› Overall Rating ››    20.00% 
Reviewed on July 13th, 2011 at 10:53 EST by Josh Rickabaugh Rich
Customer for duration of 3 - 5 years
IP Address: 24.22.122.231
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
15 out of 15 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #8 out of 22 Aplus reviews
uptime & reliability
2.00
server & connection speed
2.00
technical support & knowledge
0.00
customer service & billing
0.00
price value for money
0.00
* ratings are out of 10

The Worst Hosting Company in the Universe?

Here's my cancellation letter, it explains why this hosting company should be avoided. I'm so disgusted with them that I'm signing up for this review site just so I can post a bad reveiw. Given the experience, they wouldn't even refund the remaining 3 months I've paid for!

"I need to cancel my account. I also want to let you know how deeply disappointed I am with aplus. II have been a customer for many years starting with Cedant and recently lost a client because of the problems I've had with your service. Every 4-5 months or so, a problem crops up between your databases and server. I run 8 wordpress based sites and it becomes impossible to update the sites, I've lost so many hours trying to wait for things to update and with technical support. Every time I've been through this with tech support they claimed that the sites loaded fine and there was no problem. "

No response for 7 days on this, ugh

Biggest Con: Database issues, bad customer service

Aplus is NOT recommended by gina kay. This person does NOT recommend Aplus.
› Overall Rating ››    0.00% 
Reviewed on June 14th, 2011 at 13:12 EST by gina kay
Customer for duration of 3 - 5 years
IP Address: 71.234.35.174
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: http://www.pixeltoon.com/   Email: ginak@pixeltoon.com
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
14 out of 14 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #9 out of 22 Aplus reviews
uptime & reliability
0.10
server & connection speed
0.10
technical support & knowledge
0.00
customer service & billing
0.10
price value for money
0.00
* ratings are out of 10

Run, Don't Just Walk Away From Aplus

I launched my first domain and website, profitable-pen.com with Aplus.net a few years ago, which was the biggest mistake of my life. Recently, I found a better, more knowledgeable webhost and ocntacted Aplus about cancelling my account. They refused to cooperate and to keep my domain and hosting, I paid them 124.40 which I was led to believe would cover everything. It never happened. Aplus sold my domain name to someone else and never bothered to tell me to renew it before its expiration. They lie and deliberately mislead frrequently, so that you can't accept them at their word.

Trying to cancel their service is even more frustrating. I was given an email address to use which AOL refused to accept. I went to the control panel, and discovered that its cancellation icon no longer worked. I spoke to a rep via Live Chat, who kept stalling and didn't do anything to help me, other than to say he was sorry I felt that way. I told him I'm letting my hosting expire and not paying Aplus any more money. He said that I still needed to officially cancell my account, but how??? Never again. They aren't worth the money and refuse to refund what you have paid. They are the WORST webhost in the entire world. Run, don't walk away, from them.

Aplus is NOT recommended by Dorothy. This person does NOT recommend Aplus.
› Overall Rating ››    0.00% 
Reviewed on February 13th, 2011 at 10:53 EST by Dorothy
Customer for duration of More than 5 years
IP Address: 205.188.116.137
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Windows   Domain: http://www.profitable-pen.com/   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
17 out of 17 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #10 out of 22 Aplus reviews
« Prev 1 2 3
link to this page   |   tell a friend about this web host
Host Gator - Host Unlimited Web Sites
Reseller Hosting - 50% Off
Host Unlimited Sites
Free Dedicated IP & Backups
90 Day Money Back Guarantee
Try it out for just $13.99/mo.
InMotion Hosting

Read what users say about InMotion Hosting!


For Users
Web Hosting Reviews
Submit Review
Advanced Search
All Web Hosts
Top Rated

Our Difference
Contact


Free Newsletter
For Hosts
Host Log-in
Create Account
Generate Links
Get More Exposure


New Reviews
Go Daddy
000webhost
Just Host
WebHostingPad
EasyCGI
BlueFur
SkyNet Hosting
Arvixe
HostSo
VPSDepot
ADDR
Lunarpages
Quick2Host
WebIntellects
KVC Hosting
SiteGround
A Small Orange
ServerSea
StoresOnline
HostPapa


Other
Website Thumbnails
This site is powered by Host Gator.
Copyright © 1999-2016 WebHostingReviews.com. All Rights Reserved.
All reviews, content, graphics, logos, design, and scripts, are the sole property of WebHostingReviews.com, and
may not be used without prior written consent from us. All violations will be prosecuted to the maximum extent possible under the law.
Last Update: June 20th, 2016 at 15:01 EST / This site has a total of 3,441 web hosting reviews, based on 529 different web hosting companies.