A Small Orange

Visit A Small Orange Visit A Small Orange   Write your own A Small Orange review. Write your own A Small Orange review.
8 out of 12 (or 67% of) people recommend A Small Orange.
 › Rating Averages ››
Uptime & Reliability Server & Connection Speed Price Value for Money
7.09 / 10.0 9.28 / 10.0 7.97 / 10.0
Technical Support & Knowledge Customer Service & Billing
7.83 / 10.0 8.40 / 10.0
A Small Orange
› Overall Rating ››    71.08% 
How are ratings calculated? 
  • Analyze this Page for Me
Showing 1 to 10 out of 12 reviews.   Filter Reviews
Page Relevancy
Review Quality 100%
What's
this?
« Prev 1 2

A Small Orange reviews

uptime & reliability
2.00
server & connection speed
9.00
technical support & knowledge
2.00
customer service & billing
9.00
price value for money
4.00
* ratings are out of 10

Polite, friendly, technically unable to make email work reliably

Many, many emails sent to me at my ASO site bounced back to the senders as timed-out or undeliverable. I sent copies of the error messages to the techies at ASO and they always found a reason having to do with some server other than theirs. People would resend the same message within an hours of getting the bounce back and the message would go through.

Banks and other businesses send bills from unmonitored mailboxes. If the message doesn't make it they don't resend. Bills from credit card companies got returned, late charges were incurred, credit scores were affected.

The thing is I've had my own domain since 1990 and never had email problems like this.

I don't think the support staff knows much about email.

Biggest Pro: cheap
Biggest Con: technically very weak

A Small Orange is NOT recommended by George. This person does NOT recommend A Small Orange.
› Overall Rating ››    20.00% 
Reviewed on February 9th, 2016 at 23:29 EST by George
Customer for duration of 6 - 11 months
IP Address: 67.189.111.62
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
End of Review #1 out of 12 A Small Orange reviews
uptime & reliability
4.00
server & connection speed
10.0
technical support & knowledge
8.00
customer service & billing
8.00
price value for money
1.00
* ratings are out of 10

A SMALL ORANGE HAS A BIG PROBLEM

I run a startup news site and when a website is in its incubation period, reliable hosting matters. I signed up an got a business hosting under A Small Orange thinking they have the capacity to deliver but unfortunately, in less than a month of being with them, I have experienced terrible downtimes. In fact, as I am writing this review, my site is experiencing downtime. and it has been down for more than an hour already (going two).

One thing that attracted me to their hosting services is the load of the servers. According to them, they have 'lesser' load per server that's why the efficiency and speed won't get compromised.

YES. Their hosting is pretty fast, they have a clean cPanel and really professional support BUT not of those can compensate an UNACCESSIBLE website. as I write, i am losing readers clicking my social links, organic searches and referrals.

I think A Small Orange is a good hosting company for personal blog sites who have 1-10 readers a month as they need not worry about downtimes. But for startup companies, SME's and bloggers, STAY AWAY FROM THIS HOSTING COMPANY.

Biggest Pro: features and support
Biggest Con: DOWNTIMES

A Small Orange is NOT recommended by josh modano. This person does NOT recommend A Small Orange.
› Overall Rating ››    10.00% 
Reviewed on May 25th, 2015 at 00:19 EST by josh modano
Customer for duration of Less than 1 month
IP Address: 114.108.216.98
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #2 out of 12 A Small Orange reviews
uptime & reliability
1.00
server & connection speed
9.00
technical support & knowledge
0.00
customer service & billing
2.00
price value for money
9.00
* ratings are out of 10

Great service in the beginning

I had terrible service from a previous web host and decided to make the switch after going to a message board where people raved about A Small Orange. I made the switch and got a very friendly welcome greeting and some truly great support. Everything was fine. Their prices were more than reasonable and their techs were first rate. Anytime I had a problem they would help out within minutes.

That all changed a couple of years ago. I am wondering if the original company was bought out or something because I didn't recognize any of the names of the new techs. I had to change something on my website quickly. My site was showcasing my graphic design work and I needed to put up some quick updates. Something was wrong. I was not able to upload the new pages. I quickly entered a ticket. No response. The next day when I came in to work I saw a quick response but it wasn't very detailed and it didn't give me the answers I needed. There is something seriously wrong with their "ticket" system. They send a response to your e-mail and state that if you want to respond, put your response above their response. Make sense? Anyway, that's not too difficult to understand so I did that. Only I didn't get a response. So I had to go their website and issue a new "ticket". This was very frustrating because I needed to be able to go back and forth with them. But they claimed they were not receiving my e-mails. This never happened before so I'm wondering if it's a hardware issue on their end. I never got the help I needed. Finally I complained to "Amanda" who insisted that it was a problem on my end, that maybe their e-mails to me were going in my "spam" folder. This wasn't the case. Their new techs were either too lazy to respond to my issues or their e-mail/ticket setup wasn't doing it's job. I actually lost out on a couple of design bids simply because I couldn't update my site in time. ASO wasn't apologetic or anything and they never admitted any wrong. This was a far cry from their previous administration. I finally quit, and even that was a real pain to rid myself of this company. I still get the occasional e-mail from them even though my two sites are long gone.

Biggest Pro: cost and speed are fine
Biggest Con: terrible customer service and technical support

A Small Orange is NOT recommended by Charles Doran. This person does NOT recommend A Small Orange.
› Overall Rating ››    20.00% 
Reviewed on August 8th, 2012 at 12:30 EST by Charles Doran
Customer for duration of 3 - 5 years
IP Address: 149.142.103.94
Type of Plan: Dedicated   Platform: Windows   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #3 out of 12 A Small Orange reviews
uptime & reliability
9.80
server & connection speed
10.0
technical support & knowledge
9.80
customer service & billing
9.80
price value for money
9.50
* ratings are out of 10

Highly recommended

I've been with ASO for quite a while now and I've had no issues. The odd server reboot with outages of no more than a few minutes. Customer (Tech) support is great. They are really responsive. Tickets are picked up in minutes and actioned really quickly. They've even assisted with config stuff that's outside the normal hosting, and updated software versions etc just for asking. SSH access is really useful for me. The only things I'd like are more disk space and full DNS control. I could pay more for these, but don't need the other features that come with those packages. I know several other people on ASO who are really pleased with the service too, and I've just signed up another account for someone too.

Biggest Pro: Reliability, support and price
Biggest Con: Disk space a little small

A Small Orange is recommended by Adrian Edwards. This person recommends A Small Orange.
› Overall Rating ››    98.00% 
Reviewed on September 24th, 2009 at 18:20 EST by Adrian Edwards
Customer for duration of 3 - 5 years
IP Address: 88.96.21.90
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
18 out of 18 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #4 out of 12 A Small Orange reviews
uptime & reliability
2.00
server & connection speed
7.00
technical support & knowledge
7.00
customer service & billing
5.00
price value for money
5.00
* ratings are out of 10

Move on - don't settle for A Small Orange.

This company once had a great name - reliable, great support and a great price. This hasn't been true for the last year and it's only getting worse. The reliability is the main problem, with our site / email being down almost every day for an hour or more at a time. Having a look around, this seems to be the trend for their customer complaints and the support offered provides no light at the end of the tunnel. This company/host has lost it and as soon as possible I'll be finding an alternate one (we're currently locked into a year with their prepaid no refunds 'deal').

A Small Orange is NOT recommended by Franco. This person does NOT recommend A Small Orange.
› Overall Rating ››    30.00% 
Reviewed on September 12th, 2008 at 12:14 EST by Franco
Customer for duration of 3 - 5 years
IP Address: 79.64.138.245
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
25 out of 25 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #5 out of 12 A Small Orange reviews
uptime & reliability
9.90
server & connection speed
9.50
technical support & knowledge
10.0
customer service & billing
10.0
price value for money
10.0
* ratings are out of 10

Quickest Support!

I am a formmer systems administrator for another web hosting company and I am here to say that I have enjoyed my self at A Small Orange. Their support team is great.

Even though they don't have a way to call them or chat live (which if you aren't someone who is new to this and is a self learner...and you should be in this business....then you will not need phone support or live chat) they do answer all technical questions on there wiki and have a great forum comunity. But you don't need to worry because as I said before there E-Mail support is wicked fast.

Biggest Pro: Support Turnaround Time (not ticket responce time, they solve your issue not ask stupid questions)
Biggest Con: I don't really have one. Read my review.

A Small Orange is recommended by Jason. This person recommends A Small Orange.
› Overall Rating ››    100.0% 
Reviewed on July 29th, 2008 at 10:06 EST by Jason
Customer for duration of 1 - 2 years
IP Address: 24.233.178.22
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: http://www.theprogrammerswiki.com/   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
24 out of 24 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #6 out of 12 A Small Orange reviews
uptime & reliability
9.60
server & connection speed
9.90
technical support & knowledge
10.0
customer service & billing
10.0
price value for money
9.80
* ratings are out of 10

A Small Orange but a Big host

I have been with asmallorange for over 3 years and have two accounts with them, asmallorange was the first the 1st international web host that I tried and I never had to look any further, they have been providing excellent service in all aspects. The support has been very helpful and responsive, whenever I have dropped any mail to help@asamllorange.com I have got a response within 30 minutes, they also helped my out of the way by manually moving a sub-domain from one account to other. Price is great as compared to the features the are offering , the plans are only limited in terms of bandwidth and disk space, all other features like ad-on domains, sql dbs etc are unlimited, they also give you shell access on their cheap shared hosting plans. Price of extra bandwidth and disk space is also very reasonable, I would strongly suggest aso as a solid and economical host.

Biggest Pro: shell access
Biggest Con: none

A Small Orange is recommended by John. This person recommends A Small Orange.
› Overall Rating ››    98.00% 
Reviewed on June 5th, 2008 at 12:48 EST by John
Customer for duration of 3 - 5 years
IP Address: 116.71.170.47
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
25 out of 25 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #7 out of 12 A Small Orange reviews
uptime & reliability
10.0
server & connection speed
10.0
technical support & knowledge
9.00
customer service & billing
9.20
price value for money
10.0
* ratings are out of 10

Great hosting

I have been with a small orange for a bit over a month now and I must say it has been great so far. I haven't experienced any downtime or any problems at all. The speeds have been very fast for me for both http and ftp. Furthermore, the prices are very cheap too and there are even coupons availible (search for them and you will probably find some) which make it even cheaper. By the way, I am currently on their shared hosting. They have several packages which in my opinion are all very cheap for what they offer. A Small Orange use cpanel and if your old host had cpanel they will transfer the files over for you too.

A Small Orange is recommended by Miraj Patel. This person recommends A Small Orange.
› Overall Rating ››    96.00% 
Reviewed on February 16th, 2008 at 22:01 EST by Miraj Patel
Customer for duration of 1 - 2 months
IP Address: 162.84.49.95
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
24 out of 24 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #8 out of 12 A Small Orange reviews
uptime & reliability
9.00
server & connection speed
9.00
technical support & knowledge
10.0
customer service & billing
10.0
price value for money
10.0
* ratings are out of 10

A Small Orange = A Big Win!

I first joined A Small Orange after hearing alot of good things on several forums. I took a look at there website and was impressed as it didn't appear to be a overly popular web host that let people slip through the gaps when it comes to support. I decided to give it a try and why not with prices so low! I must say i wasn't expecting to have to wait to get approval for my website which i wasn't to happy with as i was eager to get my blog online that day. 2 minutes later i received an email - yep my site account was activated within two minutes. Since then i have really had to contact support and when i had it was because of problems i was occurring with a 3rd party script which needed certain features to be activated which they gladly did for me.

Biggest Pro: Price!
Biggest Con: Can't think of one

A Small Orange is recommended by Michael. This person recommends A Small Orange.
› Overall Rating ››    95.00% 
Reviewed on November 10th, 2007 at 07:39 EST by Michael
Customer for duration of 3 - 5 months
IP Address: 202.161.64.97
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: http://www.pklz.net/   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
29 out of 29 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #9 out of 12 A Small Orange reviews
uptime & reliability
9.80
server & connection speed
9.50
technical support & knowledge
9.80
customer service & billing
9.70
price value for money
10.0
* ratings are out of 10

A Small Orange (ASO) Review

I have had several websites hosted at A Small Orange (ASO). I decided to go because I had heard about their competitive rates and good customer service.

I have used Shared hosting only and haven't had any major problems with them. Their have had no major outages that have affected my websites. Obviously they have been down sometimes but it's nothing major and is an extreme rarity.

In terms of customer support, ASO resp honds fairly quickly and has always resolved any issue that I had. For example, I needed the main domain of my account switched several times and they quickly modified it.

Another time I inquired on a script that they no longer used (a CGI mail form script) and they were able to give me a copy. Customer support has been very smooth.

Even the one time I thought I wasn't accessing my Cpanel (when in fact is was the firewall that was blocking me from getting in).

I would recommend this host to anyone who wants to host a website on a shared server. My experience has been completely satisfactory and ASO offers great bang for the buck.

A Small Orange is recommended by Jonathan. This person recommends A Small Orange.
› Overall Rating ››    100.0% 
Reviewed on November 5th, 2007 at 19:23 EST by Jonathan
Customer for duration of 1 - 2 years
IP Address: 76.66.15.183
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
27 out of 27 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #10 out of 12 A Small Orange reviews
« Prev 1 2
link to this page   |   tell a friend about this web host
Host Gator - Host Unlimited Web Sites
Reseller Hosting - 50% Off
Host Unlimited Sites
Free Dedicated IP & Backups
90 Day Money Back Guarantee
Try it out for just $13.99/mo.
InMotion Hosting

Read what users say about InMotion Hosting!


For Users
Web Hosting Reviews
Submit Review
Advanced Search
All Web Hosts
Top Rated

Our Difference
Contact


Free Newsletter
For Hosts
Host Log-in
Create Account
Generate Links
Get More Exposure


New Reviews
Go Daddy
000webhost
Just Host
WebHostingPad
EasyCGI
BlueFur
SkyNet Hosting
Arvixe
HostSo
VPSDepot
ADDR
Lunarpages
Quick2Host
WebIntellects
KVC Hosting
SiteGround
A Small Orange
ServerSea
StoresOnline
HostPapa


Other
Website Thumbnails
This site is powered by Host Gator.
Copyright © 1999-2016 WebHostingReviews.com. All Rights Reserved.
All reviews, content, graphics, logos, design, and scripts, are the sole property of WebHostingReviews.com, and
may not be used without prior written consent from us. All violations will be prosecuted to the maximum extent possible under the law.
Last Update: June 20th, 2016 at 15:01 EST / This site has a total of 3,441 web hosting reviews, based on 529 different web hosting companies.