247-Host

Visit 247-Host Visit 247-Host   Write your own 247-Host review. Write your own 247-Host review.
1 out of 16 (or 6% of) people recommend 247-Host.
 › Rating Averages ››
Uptime & Reliability Server & Connection Speed Price Value for Money
3.53 / 10.0 5.28 / 10.0 2.71 / 10.0
Technical Support & Knowledge Customer Service & Billing
1.80 / 10.0 3.76 / 10.0
247-Host
› Overall Rating ››    19.94% 
How are ratings calculated? 
  • Analyze this Page for Me
Showing 1 to 10 out of 16 reviews.   Filter Reviews
Page Relevancy
Review Quality 100%
What's
this?
« Prev 1 2

247-Host reviews

uptime & reliability
9.50
server & connection speed
9.50
technical support & knowledge
9.50
customer service & billing
9.50
price value for money
0.00
* ratings are out of 10

suspension without notice

host claimed that it could determine security threat simply from domain name...account suspended without notice or warning...no reference to terms of service violation...unable to log in in order to backup and move website...unable to determine if vital cronjobs were run while suspended...totally unprofessional attitude...move to new host

cheap upfront...expensive in long run due to work required to move websites to new host after problem

Biggest Pro: cheap
Biggest Con: unprofessional

247-Host is NOT recommended by Dana Barish. This person does NOT recommend 247-Host.
› Overall Rating ››    0.00% 
Reviewed on March 1st, 2015 at 09:58 EST by Dana Barish
Customer for duration of 3 - 5 months
IP Address: 71.186.130.29
Type of Plan: Reseller   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #1 out of 16 247-Host reviews
uptime & reliability
9.00
server & connection speed
4.00
technical support & knowledge
0.10
customer service & billing
0.10
price value for money
6.00
* ratings are out of 10

247-Host is disgusting

I chose 247-Host after doing a lot research and saw it getting lots of good reviews. I signed up for shared hosting and proceeded to move several domains to my account.

Almost immediately I had a small issue where the system didn't respond for about 10 minutes every day from about 7am. I assume this is due to backups being performed. Bandwidth was ok, but other hosts have much faster page load times.

My trouble started when I woke up one morning with my entire account suspended. At 2am I had received an email from 247-Host informing me that one of my domains was causing too much load on their servers, CPU usage was 100% and I should sort it out. At 4am I got an email telling me that they had suspended my account due to the issue.

I also had irate people shouting at me because their emails (which are for business) were now not working. This is a big issue. Surely their tech's could have taken down the offending page without suspending everything?

They then accused me of violating their terms of service by running an IRC chat on their server. Their technical knowledge is obviously very limited because they can't tell the difference between running an IRC server and LINKING to an IRC CLIENT in an iframe. They tell me this script was causing the issue:

1. There is no way linking to a script that IS NOT on their server can cause the CPU to run at 100%

2. I moved the site to a new server and the CPU load sits at a constant 0%.

I deduce therefore that their server configuration is screwed up.

I subsequently cancelled my account and asked for a refund of the remaining term which they refused to do, because I violated their term of service.

The obviously have no clue what they are doing.

All I can say is, STAY AWAY FROM THIS HOST!

Biggest Pro: They are cheap ... but you [don't] get what you pay for.
Biggest Con: Service and Quality sucks

247-Host is NOT recommended by Michael. This person does NOT recommend 247-Host.
› Overall Rating ››    0.00% 
Reviewed on February 20th, 2015 at 03:26 EST by Michael
Customer for duration of 3 - 5 months
IP Address: 105.237.130.68
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: http://www.flirtirc.co.za/   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #2 out of 16 247-Host reviews
uptime & reliability
0.40
server & connection speed
4.20
technical support & knowledge
0.20
customer service & billing
0.10
price value for money
0.10
* ratings are out of 10

The Absolute Worst!

First things first . . . Even though they assured me that transferring my large websites would be easy and that they could do it for me quickly with no down time. This was far from the truth. If fact was quite difficult and time consuming for me and had my< and my partners, sites down during the transfer. Very annoying to say the lest.

Once the sites were then established with their hosting servers all seemed fine for the first couple of months. However their 99.99 % Uptime guarantee isn't worth the internet space it was placed on. Our websites seemed to be down more often then up! Of course they gave us a bunch of lame excuses. One right after the other. When we became so frustrated and asked for a refund they became rather mean and rude yelling at us and telling us it was all our fault for any issues and that they would not refund us.

We had to deal with them hanging the phone up on us, multiple times. Screaming at us, throwing blame at us, and insulting us as well. So instead of calling them we tried their chat option where they were still very rude and treated us with childish behavior. Using threats and insults as scare tactics. That far from worked by the way.

After all this they went and completely lost all of our websites all together. It was simply unbelievable! Now lucky for us we are smart enough to make our own website backups. Even though they claim to have Daily Backups they did not.

In short . . . I can not even begin to say enough bad things about this company!!! My suggestion is to save yourself the headache and heartache! Do not give these people anymore business!!! In fact let them go out of business! The only issue here is once they are shut down here they will just establish as a different company with a different look and all the same promises to catch a whole new school of fish looking for affordable servers. Oh they will serve you alright!! Right up to the sharks for supper!

Biggest Pro: Cost less to get screwed over Big TIME!
Biggest Con: They are the BIGGEST CON and play the BIGGEST CON GAMES TOO!

247-Host is NOT recommended by Annie Body. This person does NOT recommend 247-Host.
› Overall Rating ››    0.00% 
Reviewed on April 1st, 2013 at 14:20 EST by Annie Body
Customer for duration of 1 - 2 years
IP Address: 65.32.220.129
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: http://www.anniebody.com/   Email: annie@anniebody.com
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #3 out of 16 247-Host reviews
uptime & reliability
0.00
server & connection speed
0.00
technical support & knowledge
0.00
customer service & billing
0.00
price value for money
0.00
* ratings are out of 10

PICK ANOTHER HOST!!!

Ever wonder how reviews for this company are almost all horrible or excellent? How the range can go from 0 to 10 and never in between? The answer is simple. All of the horrible complaints you read here are from actual paying customers while all the excellent reviews are from the owner of this horrendous hosting company. Then this guy suggests if the service is so bad, why did we stay so long? How about because they tell one lie after the next to string you along for as long as your patience or business can possibly hold out!

One cannot even begin to explain all the faults associated with 247 other then to say you are guaranteed to have just about every option you pay for, fail regularly! They can't keep the old 286 server running more than a few hours at a time without more rubber bands and chewing gum to hold it together. It probably needs some new tubes. They issue outgoing email IP addresses that are blocked for spam from day one. They change the server so often it lowers your ranking with search engines.

Customer service is nearly non existent and always fails to answer the questions you ask in favoring of answering the questions they wished you asked. You can ask several specific questions regarding your service and expect them to completely ignore anything you ask and provide the generic response of " we spotted a hardware issue on the server", " The hard drive on the server was faulty", "The software had issues". The response never addresses your concerns and just asks you to wait.

IF YOU CAN'T AFFORD TO PAY A LEGITIMATE HOSTING COMPANY TO SUPPLY YOU WITH SERVICE, DON'T MAKE THIS MISTAKE!!! Poor service is one thing but 247 takes it to a new low. Moving here will most likely put your business on the same sinking ship as this hosting company and they have no life boats. My advice.....Get swimming lessons before you go here otherwise you'll drown in frustration!

Biggest Pro: Price
Biggest Con: You get what you pay for......NOTHING!

247-Host is NOT recommended by David. This person does NOT recommend 247-Host.
› Overall Rating ››    0.00% 
Reviewed on January 18th, 2013 at 11:35 EST by David
Customer for duration of 1 - 2 years
IP Address: 69.120.117.70
Type of Plan: Reseller   Platform: Windows   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #4 out of 16 247-Host reviews
uptime & reliability
5.00
server & connection speed
8.00
technical support & knowledge
2.00
customer service & billing
6.00
price value for money
0.00
* ratings are out of 10

You should pray nothing happens..

because when things go straight all providers are good, but when you have a problems then you start looking back considering your choises.
I was with 247-host for 3 years. In these years, i had several downtimes in my reseller account (the biggest was for 2 days) resulting all the websites under it to be unaccessible. Everytime i tried to contact them over phone i got a answering machine and when i send them several emails, i was lucky if i had an answer 5-10 hours after the crash, informing me that they had a problem with the server and that a restore procedure was taking place and they needed about 5-10 more hours to complete it. After many hours later, the websites had missing files or the databases where half restored.

247-Host is NOT recommended by Nick Apostolou. This person does NOT recommend 247-Host.
› Overall Rating ››    40.00% 
Reviewed on March 1st, 2012 at 05:27 EST by Nick Apostolou
Customer for duration of 1 - 2 years
IP Address: 46.198.137.155
Type of Plan: Dedicated   Platform: Linux   Domain: http://www.newton.gr/   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #5 out of 16 247-Host reviews
uptime & reliability
3.40
server & connection speed
8.20
technical support & knowledge
0.00
customer service & billing
5.50
price value for money
0.00
* ratings are out of 10

Worst service, No support, and no way are they up 99.9%

This is the worst service I have every used, if you want a reseller and host other peoples websites forget it I am starting to have calls from angry customers who are calling on a regular basis to tell me they are not getting emails or the site is down.

247 hosting does not have 24 hour help that is a load of rubbish and is totally misleading, tech support is just a joke as I have a ticket open now from 2 hours ago and the websites have been down for approx 4 to 5 hours and they don't even know about it because they are still sleeping as they are in Canada and we are in UK.

I would boycott this company at all costs even if it was for fee. It is not worth the hassle you will have customers calling you every other day because of their crap & disgusting service..

Looking for a new service as of right now.

Mark Uk

Biggest Con: No tech support, And uptime is like 75% @ best

247-Host is NOT recommended by Markuk. This person does NOT recommend 247-Host.
› Overall Rating ››    0.00% 
Reviewed on February 29th, 2012 at 08:26 EST by Markuk
Customer for duration of 3 - 5 months
IP Address: 78.150.14.238
Type of Plan: Reseller   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #6 out of 16 247-Host reviews
uptime & reliability
2.00
server & connection speed
5.00
technical support & knowledge
0.10
customer service & billing
5.00
price value for money
5.00
* ratings are out of 10

The worst WebHosting ever!

The uptime is just horrible, the 99%uptime is a big liar.
We always have problem with email box and our website is always down...each month there is a problem.
Think me, go with anything else than them.

And customer service is just not existing, never answered to our call.

Biggest Con: Uptime & Reliability

Response by Scott C., who is a staff member of 247-Host:

Regarding the issue that Michael had,this issue was corrected and we understand the fustrations that can arrise due to network issues. Our technical team worked day and night to have this matter corrected asap. We are happy to say Michael now continues to choose 247-host with a VPS solution. We hope to continue to work with Michael on all his hosting needs.

Posted on February 19th, 2012 at 13:40 EST
247-Host is NOT recommended by Michael. This person does NOT recommend 247-Host.
› Overall Rating ››    5.00% 
Reviewed on February 10th, 2012 at 12:58 EST by Michael
Customer for duration of 6 - 11 months
IP Address: 216.218.29.188
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Windows   Domain: http://www.heliquebec.com/   Email: parem@live.ca
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #7 out of 16 247-Host reviews
uptime & reliability
0.00
server & connection speed
5.00
technical support & knowledge
0.00
customer service & billing
0.00
price value for money
0.00
* ratings are out of 10

Support...?

I had a large number of domains to move, something like 80+ and althought 247 responded quickly and transferred the domains I quickly found problems with mails and websites being unavailable due to blacklisted IPs or network issues.

I then tried to backup these sites using cPanel and CRON. CRON privileges were blocked and the cPanel backups simply did not execute or if they did took hours and even then came back with unspecified errors.

Support...? They blew me off with remarks that the ISP was at fault when the tracert clearly showed the problem to be on their network and I am still trying to trsnafer these domains out to a more responsive reliable host.

Oh, and I calculated uptime in the short time I was with them to be running at about 95%, not the advertised 99.9%...!

I'm hemorrhaging customers because of the bad choice I made, don't do the same...

Biggest Con: Support

Response by Scott C., who is a staff member of 247-Host:

Regarding the issue Michael had: He was a customer with us in Dec and Jan having the Super Plus plan. He had over 15+ tickets opened with us, of which each ticket was answered. His accounts were transferred free of charge and prompty by our techs. Unforatuntly, Michael has many issues changing his nameservers to us and nameserver control is at the registrar end. If we could have changed the nameservers for him, we would have definitly fixed the issue he had. We did ou best to help this client but his registrar was unwilling to first provide access to his domains and had a great difficlty with this. In addition, customer wanted to run crons to backup accounts, we had explained to him that on a shared server, we do the backups via root and to have root access we offer VPS and dedicated machines.

As alwasy 247-host, we stand by our hosting product with a 45 day money back gaurentee and Michael was refunded his payment.

Posted on February 19th, 2012 at 13:56 EST
247-Host is NOT recommended by Michael Mason. This person does NOT recommend 247-Host.
› Overall Rating ››    0.00% 
Reviewed on January 11th, 2012 at 08:56 EST by Michael Mason
Customer for duration of Less than 1 month
IP Address: 212.230.84.124
Type of Plan: Reseller   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #8 out of 16 247-Host reviews
uptime & reliability
2.90
server & connection speed
7.10
technical support & knowledge
4.30
customer service & billing
6.10
price value for money
6.40
* ratings are out of 10

soso

Been with 247 for about 1 year,

speed is okay, downtime is about once every 3-4 months.

support was slow and poor quality, seens always say cannot do this and that.

right now, the server that i am running is being banned by hotmail, and they said nothing can be done other than wait.

Response by Scott C., who is a staff member of 247-Host:

Regarding the issue Stanley had, we understand your concerns. We are available 24/7 by ticket and phone and have corrected teh issues you were facing. You can always call our sales line should you have an urgent issue and our staff will page a tech for you to make sure the ticket you open gets answered. We strive to provide the best support possible.

Stanley continues to choose 247-host and is now a VPS customer with us. Thank you Stanley and we hope to work with you many years to come.

Posted on February 19th, 2012 at 13:48 EST
247-Host is NOT recommended by Stanley. This person does NOT recommend 247-Host.
› Overall Rating ››    61.00% 
Reviewed on March 14th, 2011 at 17:15 EST by Stanley
Customer for duration of 6 - 11 months
IP Address: 96.49.202.96
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
15 out of 15 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #9 out of 16 247-Host reviews
uptime & reliability
0.00
server & connection speed
0.00
technical support & knowledge
0.00
customer service & billing
0.00
price value for money
0.00
* ratings are out of 10

If you read one review today, make it this one. Seriously.

I opened my first hosting account in 1994, so I do know what I'm talking about.

This company of approximately 10 employees (their CS told me) is incredibly unknowing, rude, etc.

I was told by their CS today (when I could finally get through to a real live person, and after an entire night of no ticket response, online CS chat, and their phones going to voicemail, regardless of the department) that a 24 hour response to a critical support ticket is the industry standard. When I asked about the lack of support availability, the coding errors on their website, and the response time, the answer was 'come on, what do you expect for the price you're paying'.

Well, 247-host, I expect to get what is advertised that I'm paying for, nothing more, nothing less.

I checked into signing up for these guys, and went to put in the coupon code clearly advertised on their website. It didn't work. I called them, and spoke to a woman who said she'd check with the 'tech' in the 'data center'. I could hear her cover up the phone and start talking to someone, which really made me wonder if she and 'tech support' were actually in the same room! I suppose she realized then that I could hear her because I heard a 'click' and then got elevator music. Five minutes later she came back on and said the tech had fixed one link and was working on the others, and that I should try it again. I did, still no worky.

Eventually we got it to accept a code, and I asked her how long from payment received to account activation. What a joke. See paragraph 2 of the email I sent them (below). After signing (eventually) I waited for activation. It didn't happen. I signed into one of their site sections and got around to the status page (if you've been around servers long enough you get to know the 'default' location of certain things). Up to 3:00 a.m. Pacific time, 6.5 hours after PayPal payment received, my account creation status was still saying 'Pending'. Also, during this time I received automated support ticket receipts, saying that my ticket had been received, then that someone was looking at it, etc. (auto-generated when someone accesses the support ticket system) This directly contradicts what their support told me in their response email this morning, and I quote: "Your account was activated within a few minutes of your sign up however the email is bouncing back hence you did not get the login info..."

RIGHT! The support ticket system can email me using my account info, and the same servers the account system uses, yet the email with my account information 'bounced' (meaning my server rejected it). I checked my email server, no problems with it. the 247-host rep simply straight out lied to me. NOT COOL.

So, here's the email I sent to them at 2:07 a.m. Pacific Time, January 23, 2011:

"Hello,
Please forward this email to the company directors, who can open a dialogue on the following issues with me if they wish.
I have been with my current host for 6 years. I have to move due to data security issues. I signed up for an account with 247-host.com this evening after talking to your staff, at around 8:30 PT. This was of course after it took half an hour or so to get the promo link fixed on the signup page. I also require information about where the location of the data centers are, and what sort of physical access security there is, as I host physician websites which contain patient data. According to BC law I have to ensure this data is secured by being on Canadian soil, and also by having restricted physical access, the minimum standard of which is keycards. The woman I talked to didnít know the answers to some of my questions, and told me that for some of the other questions (like what kind of physical access restrictions there are) they wouldnít tell me for security purposes. This didnít bother me too much because maybe a customer service rep isnít knowledgeable about security protocols.

The rep told me that if I purchased with a credit card my account would be set up the following day due to fraud checks. I mentioned that I needed an account up and running immediately. She told me that if I paid by PayPal the account would be set up right away, so thatís what I did. However, 5+ hours later, itís now almost 2:00 a.m. here, I still donít have an account set up. I have tried to call all three extensions (Sales, Tech, and Billing) and all of a sudden no one is answering. So much for 24/7 support, as the online chat was also showing Ďofflineí. I tried to send in a support ticket, which apparently went in three times according to the emails I have. Of course, my email is the only way I have of tracking the ticket, as I canít log into the ticket site. I donít have permission. Why would I not have permission to log into a ticket system that I had already created a ticket on???

In short, I have had to scramble around at midnight to find a decent web host that could have me up and running immediately, which I did find. CanadaResellerHosting staff was available at 4:00 a.m. ET, was extremely knowledgeable about their systems and sold me a plan that fit my needs. On top of that I was logging onto my new server exactly ELEVEN MINUTES after placing the order. 247-host.com just lost my business.

Please refund my PayPal account the amount shown below. I would also say to delete my account, but that point is moot because it STILL hasnít been created yet (as of 2:07 a.m. PT, January 23rd).

Regards,

Brian S..."

My PayPal payment was refunded at 6:14 a.m.

I didn't know this because I received no notification from them, so I called them to confirm they'd received my email and inquire as to the status. (That's the convo that got the 'what do you expect for the price you're paying' comment.) This Customer Mis-Service rep says to me, "Maybe you should check your PayPal account before you start ****ing at people."

Are they seriously a company in the SERVICE industry???????

Convo (btw, I have most of this stuff recorded, my system does it automatically. You know, just in case 247-host wants to challenge me on this.):

Me: "Whatever. Is there an address I can write to so I can make a complaint?"
CS: "No, you're not one of our clients so we don't care what you think."
Me: "Excuse me? I thought maybe the company would like to be aware of the issues so they can fix them."
CS: "We have thousands of customers, no one cares about your problems." (sic)
Me: "Well, maybe they will care if I have to go post on review sites or the BBB so no one else gets this kind of treatment."
CS: "No, we don't. You got your refund, what else do you want?"
Me: "Look, at this point it's not about the money, it's about the service, the false advertising on support and stuff" (This triggered his comment about how 24 hours on a ticket is the 'industry standard'.

There was more, but you can get the idea of how much these guys care about clients.

And hey, I hope 247-host staff read this. Deal with the issues guys, get it together or get out of what is a very competitive business sector. Comment if you like, prove that I'm mistaken and I'll gladly retract what I've said here. Represent yourselves factually, you'll be in existence longer.

To the reader looking for a host, stay away from this one unless/until they fix their problems and start getting consistent good consumer rating reviews.

Thanks.

Biggest Pro: Can't think of any, really. Well, they did refund, but it was PayPal so if they didn't I'd just reverse it anyway.
Biggest Con: Seriously??? Everything!!!

247-Host is NOT recommended by Brian S. This person does NOT recommend 247-Host.
› Overall Rating ››    0.00% 
Reviewed on January 24th, 2011 at 00:34 EST by Brian S
Customer for duration of Less than 1 month
IP Address: 174.1.157.223
Type of Plan: Reseller   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
18 out of 18 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #10 out of 16 247-Host reviews
« Prev 1 2
link to this page   |   tell a friend about this web host
Host Gator - Host Unlimited Web Sites
Reseller Hosting - 50% Off
Host Unlimited Sites
Free Dedicated IP & Backups
90 Day Money Back Guarantee
Try it out for just $13.99/mo.
InMotion Hosting

Read what users say about InMotion Hosting!


For Users
Web Hosting Reviews
Submit Review
Advanced Search
All Web Hosts
Top Rated

Our Difference
Contact


Free Newsletter
For Hosts
Host Log-in
Create Account
Generate Links
Get More Exposure


New Reviews
Go Daddy
000webhost
Just Host
WebHostingPad
EasyCGI
BlueFur
SkyNet Hosting
Arvixe
HostSo
VPSDepot
ADDR
Lunarpages
Quick2Host
WebIntellects
KVC Hosting
SiteGround
A Small Orange
ServerSea
StoresOnline
HostPapa


Other
Website Thumbnails
This site is powered by Host Gator.
Copyright © 1999-2016 WebHostingReviews.com. All Rights Reserved.
All reviews, content, graphics, logos, design, and scripts, are the sole property of WebHostingReviews.com, and
may not be used without prior written consent from us. All violations will be prosecuted to the maximum extent possible under the law.
Last Update: June 20th, 2016 at 15:01 EST / This site has a total of 3,441 web hosting reviews, based on 529 different web hosting companies.