1and1

Visit 1and1 Visit 1and1   Write your own 1and1 review. Write your own 1and1 review.
18 out of 182 (or 10% of) people recommend 1and1.
 › Rating Averages ››
Uptime & Reliability Server & Connection Speed Price Value for Money
4.64 / 10.0 4.98 / 10.0 2.95 / 10.0
Technical Support & Knowledge Customer Service & Billing
2.34 / 10.0 2.03 / 10.0
1and1
› Overall Rating ››    21.17% 
How are ratings calculated? 
  • Analyze this Page for Me
Showing 1 to 10 out of 182 reviews.   Filter Reviews
Page Relevancy
Review Quality 100%
What's
this?
« Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10  ...  18 19

1and1 reviews

uptime & reliability
7.00
server & connection speed
5.00
technical support & knowledge
1.00
customer service & billing
0.00
price value for money
1.00
* ratings are out of 10

I received cold calls and spam emails immediately

After 3 days, I've gotten cold calls and 'web design companies' spamming in my inbox! I've purchased a few domain names over the past few years. 1and1 has been my recent purchase, and in the beginning, everything went off without a hitch. My order was simple - it was a custom domain name pointing to a wordpress site.

First, it started with the cold call. She offered to sell me a 1 year trial and was touting how active her 'Tech Support in the Philippines' were. She told me how great they were, but they don't have twitter support or live chat support. She was then about to bill me but I had to continue to rephrase that I am not ready to make a decision just yet. Incredibly frustrating!

But then the spam emails came in! These spam emails I'm getting are all written like a how hobbyist would write a craigslist ad. They offer a web designer, shows a link to proof, and always come out of nowhere. They're still trickling in!

In summary, 1and1 works as a product. But I've never seen such spam from buying from the other services I purchase from (BlueHost, GoDaddy, Dreamhost, GoGator.) It's only been a few days and I am very upset. I'm strongly considering cancelling the service and getting my money. No one should pay for a service and have them sell your information away to a third party.

Biggest Pro: Easy to set up
Biggest Con: cold calls, email spam, bad customer support

1and1 is NOT recommended by Rocky Kev. This person does NOT recommend 1and1.
› Overall Rating ››    0.00% 
Reviewed on July 19th, 2014 at 08:02 EST by Rocky Kev
Customer for duration of Less than 1 month
IP Address: 73.188.35.104
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
19 out of 19 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #1 out of 182 1and1 reviews
uptime & reliability
10.0
server & connection speed
9.70
technical support & knowledge
0.10
customer service & billing
0.00
price value for money
1.00
* ratings are out of 10

Expect gross incompetence

I added the ecommerce package to my plan and cancelled it 10 minutes later, after finding out that I could add PayPal buttons for free. They charged me $159.10, a year in advance, that I had to fight to get back. When my band took the money back from the nonresponsive morons, they deleted my entire account. I wrote them and they never even gave me the courtesy of an email back. They cost me my website that I had spent several days building, plus all the business I lost as a result.

Biggest Pro: cheap
Biggest Con: Incompetence, Ignorance, Malice

1and1 is NOT recommended by Ricky Jackson. This person does NOT recommend 1and1.
› Overall Rating ››    4.00% 
Reviewed on May 27th, 2014 at 13:42 EST by Ricky Jackson
Customer for duration of 6 - 11 months
IP Address: 24.151.193.162
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
21 out of 21 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #2 out of 182 1and1 reviews
uptime & reliability
0.00
server & connection speed
0.00
technical support & knowledge
0.00
customer service & billing
0.00
price value for money
0.00
* ratings are out of 10

NO CUSTOMER SUPPORT

No one can offer any help with even the very smallest issue. They put you on hold until you hang up. That is their customer support - to be put on hold until you just give up. PLEASE DO NOT GIVE YOURSELF THIS HEADACHE - look for some other company to host your web page!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Biggest Pro: you actually cannot understand their tech support people when they are telling you they cannot help you
Biggest Con: NO ONE CAN HELP AND NO ONE ANSWERS THE PHONE EXCEPT TO PUT YOU ON HOLD

1and1 is NOT recommended by deb genetin. This person does NOT recommend 1and1.
› Overall Rating ››    0.00% 
Reviewed on April 29th, 2014 at 09:33 EST by deb genetin
Customer for duration of More than 5 years
IP Address: 76.243.33.192
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: http://www.johnrbutz.com/   Email: deb@johnrbutz.com
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
21 out of 21 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #3 out of 182 1and1 reviews
uptime & reliability
0.00
server & connection speed
5.00
technical support & knowledge
0.00
customer service & billing
5.00
price value for money
0.00
* ratings are out of 10

Spanish practices overdose

I've been developing websites since 14 years ago. I've got some bad experiences in the early 2000 (easyCGI) but since several years I've been hosted in a US datacenter, with american support. The euro-dollar rate exchange is still a "pros" for an european customer. Then I used it (automatedVPS.com) but unfortunately this reseller is not available anymore then I migrated to 1and1.es on april'13.
I did not need any support till now because I easily mount a Windows 2008 R2 (no Plesk needed) for ASP, ASP.net and PHP apps.
Since 1 month ago, my server was under attack, my IP pirated and now my servers are down during 5 days!!! The IP is not responding and the RDP is not working anymore... but they arer still invoicing for this "blank time". Unbelieveble!
Support they only say that they are working on it. LoL!!!!! Really it sucks and now I'm affraid i'll loose the most pretty websites I've built these last 3 years.
I'm still trying to save my work and I maybe prepare some legal actions against (99% time up garanteed) for the money I've lost during the Xmas campaign (1 website is cooking recipes related).
Conclusion: Strongly NOT recommended

Biggest Pro: Nothing
Biggest Con: It Sucks

1and1 is NOT recommended by Jaime Rubio. This person does NOT recommend 1and1.
› Overall Rating ››    0.00% 
Reviewed on December 29th, 2013 at 08:52 EST by Jaime Rubio
Customer for duration of 6 - 11 months
IP Address: 79.150.173.193
Type of Plan: Virtual Private Servers   Platform: Windows   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
22 out of 22 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #4 out of 182 1and1 reviews
uptime & reliability
5.00
server & connection speed
3.00
technical support & knowledge
0.10
customer service & billing
0.10
price value for money
0.10
* ratings are out of 10

One of the worst experiences in my life! Never use them ever!

1and1 has repeatedly "accidentally" charged me for domain name renewal costs in the past. This time, when two of my domain names were coming due for renewal, I made sure that the auto-renewal feature was turned OFF. Mysteriously, within a week or so before the expiration date, the auto-renew feature was turned back on.

I initiated a support ticket to their Customer Service group and made it clear that the domain names were NOT to be renewed, and that the auto-renewal feature should not "accidentally" happen again. After back and forth discussions, with proof shown (screenshots, prior emails, etc), I was assured that the domain names would not be renewed.

Two days after expiration, one of the domain names was renewed, and an invoice generated, along with a charge to my credit card. I notified 1and1 of the error and gave them 24 hours to resolve it, but they didn't even bother to reply. I have kept copies of all email traffic between the company and I, as well as screenshots of their control panel where I turned off the auto-renewal (multiple times!).

I have filed a complaint with the Better Business Bureau's local office in Washington, DC, and the complaint has been accepted and sent to 1and1. I have also sent copies of my problem to their support group, their sales group and their Press and Public Relations contacts. No answer, and no satisfaction.

I am now in the process of painfully paying to transfer away ALL of my domains (even the ones I don't want to renew) so that 1and1 cannot fraudulently charge me for more renewals that "somehow" just "mysteriously" turned on. Their actions border on criminal; to purposefully charge me for services that I explicitly denied and told them not to renew, is criminal in my book.

A simple google search for "1and1 complaints" will show that 1and1 has done this same bait-and-switch process many times, to many customers. I wish I had done that kind of search before I registered my domain names with them. If I had, I would have run away very fast and very far. Clearly, this is an evil company, with a history of unethical business practices and absolutely no remorse or interest in resolving customer complaints. DO NOT DO BUSINESS WITH 1AND1.COM.

Biggest Con: Fraudulent business practices, bordering on criminal activity

1and1 is NOT recommended by Bruce Bergman. This person does NOT recommend 1and1.
› Overall Rating ››    0.00% 
Reviewed on October 15th, 2013 at 16:07 EST by Bruce Bergman
Customer for duration of 1 - 2 years
IP Address: 199.73.44.10
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Domain name registration   Domain: http://www.rcclans.com/   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
28 out of 28 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #5 out of 182 1and1 reviews
uptime & reliability
0.00
server & connection speed
0.00
technical support & knowledge
0.00
customer service & billing
0.00
price value for money
0.00
* ratings are out of 10

Charge on my credit card without authorization

I called 1and1 and talked to someone about looking at their website templates. I did not want to put in my credit card info. But after talking to a rep and being told that "don't worry, we won't charge anything to you without authorization" I put in my credit card info, looked around on the site -- did not sign up, purchase, build a site, or any in way use their service. They not only charge the credit card that I used, they kept charging on it month after month, says I have a contract. We've asked for a copy of this contract and have not received it and now they've turned us for collection.

Do not use this service and do not give them your credit card info under any circumstances. They are a ripoff!

This site made me put in a website address to be able to post this review but I never used any services from 1and1 -- they have just charged my credit card without authorization.

Biggest Pro: They have good ads to suck you into their service.
Biggest Con: They are a rip off and they lied.

1and1 is NOT recommended by Susan Coman. This person does NOT recommend 1and1.
› Overall Rating ››    0.00% 
Reviewed on October 2nd, 2013 at 22:15 EST by Susan Coman
Customer for duration of Less than 1 month
IP Address: 72.192.72.159
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Windows   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
28 out of 28 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #6 out of 182 1and1 reviews
uptime & reliability
1.00
server & connection speed
1.00
technical support & knowledge
1.00
customer service & billing
0.50
price value for money
1.00
* ratings are out of 10

Corrupt Criminal Practices STAY AWAY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

This company is corrupt and should be sued. They do not allow you to cancel or downgrade your service. Meaning, if you call to do so...you will be on hold forever. They will also continue charging you if you cancel your service or over charge you if you downgrade your service.
I lost years worth of e-mails and business due to their service being down.
Very few of their customer service agents speak clear english.. I believe they are in Asia somewhere.
This company SUCKS.

Biggest Pro: None
Biggest Con: unprofessional and corrupt

1and1 is NOT recommended by Justyne. This person does NOT recommend 1and1.
› Overall Rating ››    45.00% 
Reviewed on September 1st, 2013 at 09:59 EST by Justyne
Customer for duration of 3 - 5 years
IP Address: 108.18.168.35
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
30 out of 30 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #7 out of 182 1and1 reviews
uptime & reliability
9.00
server & connection speed
9.00
technical support & knowledge
5.80
customer service & billing
0.00
price value for money
7.80
* ratings are out of 10

1and1 Internet has an internal security leak

Don't use this host as they have someone on the inside or someone with direct access to customer accounts whereas e-mail addresses customers create in their control panels are being leaked to spammers.

I created 20 e-mail addresses and 3 days later, 4 of them all of different domains were spammed at the same time by the same entity. None of these e-mail addresses are published and have never had spam. 2 of the 4 were created brand new.

I complained to several departments, and a guy named Michael in the Fraud department took my call and couldn't care less anything I had to say. This may be the rudest person I have ever talked to regarding a tip to them to investigate a possible major problem.

STAY AWAY FROM 1and1

1and1 is NOT recommended by Jimmy Mack. This person does NOT recommend 1and1.
› Overall Rating ››    1.00% 
Reviewed on July 1st, 2013 at 02:19 EST by Jimmy Mack
Customer for duration of Less than 1 month
IP Address: 50.155.200.169
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
31 out of 31 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #8 out of 182 1and1 reviews
uptime & reliability
0.00
server & connection speed
0.00
technical support & knowledge
0.00
customer service & billing
0.00
price value for money
0.00
* ratings are out of 10

1and1

I can't believe that I have been fighting with them for 5 days to pay my bill as I had a change in my email. By the time they sent me the link so I could pay my bill they sent it to collections. Since then I have tried to transfer my nomain and it has been an absolute nightmare. Do not use these people as they have no idea what they are doing. I am still awaiting my transfer code. They told me my emails/website would be up and running by Saturday it is now Monday and I am no closer to getting this issue resolved. I have litterally spoken with over a dozen people there and each one has a different answer.

1and1 is NOT recommended by Laura. This person does NOT recommend 1and1.
› Overall Rating ››    0.00% 
Reviewed on April 15th, 2013 at 15:10 EST by Laura
Customer for duration of 1 - 2 years
IP Address: 173.165.146.165
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
30 out of 30 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #9 out of 182 1and1 reviews
uptime & reliability
0.00
server & connection speed
0.00
technical support & knowledge
0.00
customer service & billing
0.00
price value for money
0.00
* ratings are out of 10

Be wary of 1and1.com (and their hosted Exchange services)

I had previously used 4smartphone.net for my hosted Exchange service, but unfortunately after dealing with numerous issues and problems from that provider, I was forced to switch elsewhere. I did some further research before making the switch (although the switch had to occur pretty quickly due to circumstances beyond my control – i.e. 4smartphone.net completely crashing and therefore removing my ability to send/receive email or access my mailbox data), and finally settled on 1&1 (1and1.com) for my new hosted Exchange provider. One of the reasons I chose them was because I figured they were a much larger, more established company, so not only would I hopefully get better service and support, but the chances of a repeat of what happened with 4smartphone occurring again were slim. While I was right that an exact repeat didn’t occur, I was wrong to think I would get better service and support from them!

Almost immediately after signing up for their service, I encountered what would be the first of many problems with their service. After moving all my mailbox data over to 1&1, I changed my phone (at the time a Windows Mobile device) to sync with 1&1. Right away, my phone requested that I accept some security policies that were required by 1&1’s Exchange servers. Figuring that it wouldn’t really impact me (since I already was using a passcode/PIN to secure my device), I went ahead and accepted them. Immediately after doing that, my phone pretty much died (couldn’t connect to anything via Bluetooth without a reset, couldn’t receive incoming calls, no reminders appeared any longer, and more), ultimately requiring that I rebuild it from scratch. After talking to Palm level 3 technical support (yes, my phone was a Palm Treo), we all came to the conclusion that somehow the enforcement of 1&1’s security policies on my device had caused the issue (especially since all of the issues began occurring right after I accepted 1&1’s security policies and I hadn’t made any other changes to my device). I attempted to contact 1&1 customer/technical support for assistance, but all I got was the run-around and rude responses (one even culminating in them hanging up the phone on me). At one point, I was told that the security policy could be disabled for me, but in my numerous attempts to follow up on that and get them to do so, they kept refusing. Unfortunately, given that this occurred so long ago, I can’t quite remember what the ultimate resolution of this issue was, although I suspect they finally did disable the security policies for me (which, according to Microsoft, was a very simple procedure they could do that would only impact my account and wouldn’t cause any security vulnerabilities to 1&1) since I remained a customer of theirs for a while longer.

Not soon after the above problem, further issues arose. Some of these included:
- Lack of response to further questions I had for them (which only reinforced what I had learned from the above issue – that they had very poor customer and technical support)
- Connectivity issues between my locally installed copy of Outlook and their Exchange servers
o Almost every morning when I woke up and went to look at my computer, pop-up balloons from the Outlook icon in the system tray indicated that the connection had failed several times throughout the night
o At random, sporadic times, my connection between Outlook and their Exchange servers would just fail for periods of time, thus causing me to have to work offline in Outlook and not have access to my most current information (or be able to receive or send email)
- Access issues with Outlook Web Access (OWA) and Outlook Mobile Access (OMA):
o At times I would be able to browse to the login screens, but would be unable to log in – the system would reject my credentials or provide me with error messages
o Other times, the login pages themselves would not load
o At one point, there was an outage that lasted for a significant period of time and which they finally informed me of, but during the other instances there was no real support response or resolution
o They also kept trying to redirect me to use other login pages, and not only was this annoying, but it didn’t usually help fix the problems.

What finally was the “straw that broke the camel’s back” was a synchronization issue that occurred in mid-2008. Somehow, my mobile device began to attempt to synchronize with 1&1’s Exchange servers every minute despite it being set to only attempt a sync when new mail items arrived (or I imagine when I made changes to items on my mobile device that then had to be sync’ed back to the Exchange server). Obviously, this was a real problem because it was rapidly draining my battery. Despite requesting assistance from 1&1 yet again, I got nowhere with them, and ultimately had to once more hard reset my phone and rebuild it from scratch. At that point, however, I decided that I’d had enough of 1&1 and begin looking elsewhere for a company to use as a hosted Exchange provider.

Even after I’d left their company and was in the process of cancelling my account, 1&1 couldn’t seem to resist one last parting shot at me. I wanted to make sure that after I cancelled my account, 1&1 would delete all of my data that they had previously stored and not retain it for any reason (obviously there was plenty of confidential information stored within my Exchange mailbox). Despite repeated and pointed emails to 1&1 customer support where I very specifically asked and insisted that they delete my data, they continually responded with vague information about my account being in the cancellation phase and never once gave me any sort of reassuring response that my data would be safely deleted and not retained.

Overall, while using this company wasn’t quite as bad as my previous experience with 4smartphone.net, it was still pretty horrible, causing me numerous times where I couldn’t access my data, as well as 2 separate instances where I had to waste time rebuilding my smart phone because of issues on their end.

P.S. In the interest of full disclosure (which I’m always in favor of), the above situations occurred while I was a customer of 1&1 from early 2007 to mid-2008. I know this is a long time ago, and it’s very possible that 1&1 now operates differently and/or has corrected the issues I experienced, but the fact remains that I did experience all of the above problems and I wanted to warn other potential customers out there to be wary when dealing with 1&1.

Biggest Pro: none
Biggest Con: lack of service and support

1and1 is NOT recommended by Marc. This person does NOT recommend 1and1.
› Overall Rating ››    0.00% 
Reviewed on March 16th, 2013 at 17:04 EST by Marc
Customer for duration of 1 - 2 years
IP Address: 69.115.102.42
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
31 out of 31 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #10 out of 182 1and1 reviews
« Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10  ...  18 19
link to this page   |   tell a friend about this web host
Host Gator - Host Unlimited Web Sites
Reseller Hosting - 50% Off
Host Unlimited Sites
Free Dedicated IP & Backups
90 Day Money Back Guarantee
Try it out for just $13.99/mo.
InMotion Hosting

Read what users say about InMotion Hosting!


For Users
Web Hosting Reviews
Submit Review
Advanced Search
All Web Hosts
Top Rated

Our Difference
Contact


Free Newsletter
For Hosts
Host Log-in
Create Account
Generate Links
Get More Exposure


New Reviews
Go Daddy
000webhost
Just Host
WebHostingPad
EasyCGI
BlueFur
SkyNet Hosting
Arvixe
HostSo
VPSDepot
ADDR
Lunarpages
Quick2Host
WebIntellects
KVC Hosting
SiteGround
A Small Orange
ServerSea
StoresOnline
HostPapa


Other
Website Thumbnails
This site is powered by Host Gator.
Copyright © 1999-2016 WebHostingReviews.com. All Rights Reserved.
All reviews, content, graphics, logos, design, and scripts, are the sole property of WebHostingReviews.com, and
may not be used without prior written consent from us. All violations will be prosecuted to the maximum extent possible under the law.
Last Update: June 20th, 2016 at 15:01 EST / This site has a total of 3,441 web hosting reviews, based on 529 different web hosting companies.