1and1

Visit 1and1 Visit 1and1   Write your own 1and1 review. Write your own 1and1 review.
18 out of 182 (or 10% of) people recommend 1and1.
 › Rating Averages ››
Uptime & Reliability Server & Connection Speed Price Value for Money
4.64 / 10.0 4.98 / 10.0 2.95 / 10.0
Technical Support & Knowledge Customer Service & Billing
2.34 / 10.0 2.03 / 10.0
1and1
› Overall Rating ››    21.17% 
How are ratings calculated? 
  • Analyze this Page for Me
Showing 81 to 90 out of 182 reviews.   Filter Reviews
Page Relevancy
Review Quality 100%
What's
this?
1 2  ...  5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14  ...  18 19

1and1 reviews

uptime & reliability
10.0
server & connection speed
7.00
technical support & knowledge
0.00
customer service & billing
0.00
price value for money
0.00
* ratings are out of 10

Billing is Out of Control - Do Not Use

On three separate occasions, they added products to my account that I did not order and then they charged my credit card for them. About $200 in total. In the first case, they promptly refunded my account for the error. In the second case, they said they would refund me but didn't. In the third case, they just ignored me.

I went to remove my credit card from their billing feature while I work on transferring all my stuff to a different host, but they literally make it impossible to remove your credit card on file!!! When they would not credit my credit card even after they agreed in writing that they owed me the credit, I got a chargeback by complaining to my credit card company. After investigation, the credit card company agreed with me that the charges were fraudulent and gave me my money back. During the investigation, 1and1.com locked my account!!!! They held hostage the products I paid for and needed until I agreed to sign a form saying that the fraudulent charges were not fraudulent - even though they had already agreed in writing that I was supposed to get that money back. I called and emailed repeatedly, and everyone said they could not help me unless I signed the form agreeing to the fraudulent charges and a $20 penalty fee!!!!

When the credit card company gave me my money back, 1and1.com immediately started trying to charge the exact same charges back to the credit card. Luckily, the credit card company just blocked them.

I'm not sure how these people even sleep at night. Definitely don't use them.

Biggest Pro: Cheap
Biggest Con: Fraudulent billing and they will steal assets you already paid for.

1and1 is NOT recommended by Gary. This person does NOT recommend 1and1.
› Overall Rating ››    0.00% 
Reviewed on January 12th, 2011 at 11:49 EST by Gary
Customer for duration of 1 - 2 years
IP Address: 76.123.203.229
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Windows   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
23 out of 23 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #81 out of 182 1and1 reviews
uptime & reliability
9.00
server & connection speed
9.00
technical support & knowledge
9.00
customer service & billing
3.50
price value for money
8.70
* ratings are out of 10

Poor customer service

So I guess on the 1 of this year our site was hacked or ether on Dec 20th. Not sure I keep getting different stories. So they shut my site down, sent me a notice 10 minutes before they did it and now I can not get a straight answer on why my site really was shut down, my web files moved, and why I cannot get my site back up without 1) going to a dedicated server 2) changing hosting providers 3) waiting for someone at 1and1 to get off their butt and address my issue. It has supposedly been escalated twice now and I don't even get so much as an email giveing me a status update. The worst part of all of this is no prior notification of an issue, but they shut my site down and moved my web files!

Biggest Pro: cheap for shared server
Biggest Con: very poor customer service

1and1 is NOT recommended by Leo Jordan. This person does NOT recommend 1and1.
› Overall Rating ››    76.00% 
Reviewed on January 6th, 2011 at 18:44 EST by Leo Jordan
Customer for duration of 1 - 2 years
IP Address: 24.159.81.50
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
22 out of 22 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #82 out of 182 1and1 reviews
uptime & reliability
9.00
server & connection speed
9.00
technical support & knowledge
0.00
customer service & billing
0.00
price value for money
0.00
* ratings are out of 10

thieves and cheats - AVOID AVOID AVOID

I agree with all the negative reviews here.

We had no problems with connection and uptime, but when it came to leaving the company, it was impossible. Loads of different staff answered emails with links to cancel the account that did not work, and even when we did eventually get an email confirming cancellation, they continued to bill us, eventually sending to an out of date address without emailing once the mail was returned, so it ended up at their debt collectors "Avarto" - (number 08701258809)

When after receiving 16 emails from various 'departments' at 1&1 over and extended period and still nothing was apparently cancelled despite their confirmation of cancellation, I yesterday sent them each an abusive response. In reply I got another email that said my telling them to cancel the account was not good enough, I had to use their account cancellation process online and that they would not cancel the account on my sayso. However this has never worked This means I now have no choice but to let it proceed all the way to legal action and then take my defence to court in the form of all the documentation. If I were to just keep paying their bills that are being issued for hosting a site they're not even hosting, then that would be an admission that I owed them the money, and so would confirm the unpaid bill allegation.

When we tried calling their Billing Enquires number, which is also a ripoff premium 0870 number that charges while you sit on hold, there was a 30 minute wait time!!

This company needs to be exposed through the media, perhaps one of those TV programmes that deal with rogues like these people and it should be referred to Dept of Fair Trading and to the Internet Registry etc. I am thinking a class action would be in order if others are interested in participating in some way, even if only to provide written evidence.

There is also the question of suiing the 1&1 company for libel because of damage to my credit rating caused by their referring the charges that I did not authorise, and refuse to pay, to a debt collection agency. Maybe they own that company too. If others have had this experience, then we could perhaps link our issues in a separate class action.

1&1 should definitely be closed down - I am not in the least surprised to hear that others have also had issues with the technical side. Please feel free to contact me if you are interested in joining an action against 1&1, or providing documenation of your adverse experience.

Derek Williams
derek@derekwilliams.net
0785 760 2004 (in UK)

Biggest Pro: nothing good about this company
Biggest Con: impossible to leave the company, they keep billing for a service that is cancelled, and refer to debt collectors if unpaid

1and1 is NOT recommended by Derek Williams. This person does NOT recommend 1and1.
› Overall Rating ››    0.00% 
Reviewed on January 6th, 2011 at 15:40 EST by Derek Williams
Customer for duration of 1 - 2 years
IP Address: 120.16.209.162
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: derek@derekwilliams.net
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
24 out of 24 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #83 out of 182 1and1 reviews
uptime & reliability
7.50
server & connection speed
0.50
technical support & knowledge
0.00
customer service & billing
0.00
price value for money
1.00
* ratings are out of 10

1and1 sock- they are scammers

in the process of moving me from a high cost package to a low cost one, they have completed deleted my website- then said that it was my responsiblilty to back up the data when changing packages!.
in addition they were completely rude on the phone- they cs is useless, and they refused to escalate calls to their supervisor.

i have never a company this bad!

1and1 is NOT recommended by ainkorer. This person does NOT recommend 1and1.
› Overall Rating ››    0.00% 
Reviewed on December 16th, 2010 at 11:55 EST by ainkorer
Customer for duration of 1 - 2 years
IP Address: 93.96.237.190
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
22 out of 22 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #84 out of 182 1and1 reviews
uptime & reliability
5.00
server & connection speed
1.50
technical support & knowledge
0.10
customer service & billing
0.00
price value for money
0.00
* ratings are out of 10

Do you want a world of pain? Run from 1&1 as quickly as possible

Try leaving, you think you have and months , years later, debt collectors bills arrive saying you didnt complete the leaving process. Read the online blogs, that should be enough. This company treats its customers in an appalling way. Am I still a customer, as soon as I can extracate myself from their accounts dept. You have been warned.

Biggest Pro: you get your email
Biggest Con: where do I start, awful, rotten to its core, try leaving? try getting bills explained, try getting support,

1and1 is NOT recommended by adrian peacock. This person does NOT recommend 1and1.
› Overall Rating ››    0.00% 
Reviewed on December 16th, 2010 at 08:35 EST by adrian peacock
Customer for duration of 3 - 5 years
IP Address: 94.194.239.28
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: adrian@adrianpeacock.co.uk
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
22 out of 22 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #85 out of 182 1and1 reviews
uptime & reliability
8.00
server & connection speed
8.00
technical support & knowledge
3.00
customer service & billing
8.00
price value for money
4.00
* ratings are out of 10

Cloud Server Not Ready For Prime Time

I've encountered several problems with the Dynamic Cloud Server. Initially was taking forever to log into account administration screen. Called for help, was told this is a "known issue." Yesterday tried to change hardware settings, increase disk space, which shut down the server. After an hour, the server was not back on. Called for help, was told that it was a known problem, with no ETA for expected fix.

Biggest Pro: Flexibility
Biggest Con: Important Features Don't Work

1and1 is NOT recommended by William Rutledge. This person does NOT recommend 1and1.
› Overall Rating ››    40.00% 
Reviewed on December 15th, 2010 at 09:46 EST by William Rutledge
Customer for duration of 3 - 5 months
IP Address: 108.21.0.48
Type of Plan: Dedicated   Platform: Linux   Domain: http://www.pharmainfosite.com/   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
18 out of 18 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #86 out of 182 1and1 reviews
uptime & reliability
10.0
server & connection speed
10.0
technical support & knowledge
10.0
customer service & billing
10.0
price value for money
10.0
* ratings are out of 10

few years running

I read their ad in a computer mag back in 05 or so and have been with them since, the suport was only needed once, and it was becuase of my incompitence with websites, eerything was in order in under 24 hours(Email support)

upload to the servers FTP isnt the fastest but i suspect that could be my ISP (comcast BURST speeds are great but upload alwasy lacks for larger files)

only downside is they dont want consumers to suck up CPU cycles... they tend to be restrictive on DB sizes. and you cannot use DB for a few things... read the EULA for details.

never overcharged, very competitive rates. i'll be here a while

Biggest Pro: yet to see any down time, rates, just works as it should
Biggest Con: the only problem i've run into so far is they dont want people to use CPU power... max DB size on most packages is 100MB :/

1and1 is recommended by Vincent. This person recommends 1and1.
› Overall Rating ››    100.0% 
Reviewed on December 14th, 2010 at 02:57 EST by Vincent
Customer for duration of 3 - 5 years
IP Address: 32.174.216.169
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
16 out of 16 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #87 out of 182 1and1 reviews
uptime & reliability
10.0
server & connection speed
10.0
technical support & knowledge
0.00
customer service & billing
0.00
price value for money
8.60
* ratings are out of 10

Shocking Customer Service

I have been with 1and1 for some years now. Cant fault there service technically however there customer service leaves a lot to be desired.

Twice I have received letters from an external debt collection agency working on 1and1's behalf, for domains that I have previously candled.
For reasons only known to 1and1 they have voided all my cancellation requests with out my knowledge.

Customer support are very unhelpful and insist that despite cancelling I am still liable for the fees, and fees inured from the external debt collection agency.

I have now moved my 10+ domains to a more reliable and customer friendly web host.

If you are considering using 1and1 please do your research first and chose wisely

Biggest Pro: Low Cost
Biggest Con: Suspect Business Practices

1and1 is NOT recommended by matt Tyrrell. This person does NOT recommend 1and1.
› Overall Rating ››    0.00% 
Reviewed on November 21st, 2010 at 17:27 EST by matt Tyrrell
Customer for duration of 3 - 5 years
IP Address: 78.105.169.150
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Domain Name Only   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
18 out of 18 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #88 out of 182 1and1 reviews
uptime & reliability
9.00
server & connection speed
8.00
technical support & knowledge
1.00
customer service & billing
1.00
price value for money
1.00
* ratings are out of 10

worst customer service and admin

i been having an issue with them for last 4-5 days. I have been trying to make changes to my site and i am not able to FTP. The FTP option in my cpanel is gone. i have called them asking for help and their call center in india/philippines has no clue when the issue will be fixed

1and1 is NOT recommended by mike. This person does NOT recommend 1and1.
› Overall Rating ››    10.00% 
Reviewed on November 15th, 2010 at 20:13 EST by mike
Customer for duration of 6 - 11 months
IP Address: 68.225.230.194
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Unix   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
18 out of 18 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #89 out of 182 1and1 reviews
uptime & reliability
8.00
server & connection speed
8.60
technical support & knowledge
0.00
customer service & billing
0.00
price value for money
4.00
* ratings are out of 10

1and1 Tech Support is the worst I have ever dealt with

1and1 promises Adobe Dreamweaver CS4 software. Good luck trying to get it. My first attempt resulted in an invalid page. 30 minutes on hold to outsourced tech support informed mr they were having issues with Adobe. after 30 days the download link was reactivated, but I was sent to a site with instructions in German and whem I clicked on a download error message I was kicked off. After another round of emails the download link was reactivated and I was sent a very curt email from Tech Support telling me I should call their people on next try and they would lead me thru it and that would be the last attempt. I did and their outsourced Tech Support took me down Primrose Lane to the ineveitable failure again. Another round of emails and I was informed, Sorry that wass your last attempt.

I am not some amatuer with his first computer. I have been an IT manager for a large company for many years and have done literally thousands of successful downloads from hundreds of sites. I feel sorry for the poor person that just trys Web Hosting for the first time and gets this incompetent site.

No customer complaint or feedback contacts. (Gee, I wonder why)

Biggest Pro: Easy interface and ease of use

1and1 is NOT recommended by David Klemanm. This person does NOT recommend 1and1.
› Overall Rating ››    20.00% 
Reviewed on October 23rd, 2010 at 07:18 EST by David Klemanm
Customer for duration of 1 - 2 years
IP Address: 71.55.9.23
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Windows   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
17 out of 17 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #90 out of 182 1and1 reviews
1 2  ...  5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14  ...  18 19
link to this page   |   tell a friend about this web host
Host Gator - Host Unlimited Web Sites
Reseller Hosting - 50% Off
Host Unlimited Sites
Free Dedicated IP & Backups
90 Day Money Back Guarantee
Try it out for just $13.99/mo.
InMotion Hosting

Read what users say about InMotion Hosting!


For Users
Web Hosting Reviews
Submit Review
Advanced Search
All Web Hosts
Top Rated

Our Difference
Contact


Free Newsletter
For Hosts
Host Log-in
Create Account
Generate Links
Get More Exposure


New Reviews
Go Daddy
000webhost
Just Host
WebHostingPad
EasyCGI
BlueFur
SkyNet Hosting
Arvixe
HostSo
VPSDepot
ADDR
Lunarpages
Quick2Host
WebIntellects
KVC Hosting
SiteGround
A Small Orange
ServerSea
StoresOnline
HostPapa


Other
Website Thumbnails
This site is powered by Host Gator.
Copyright © 1999-2016 WebHostingReviews.com. All Rights Reserved.
All reviews, content, graphics, logos, design, and scripts, are the sole property of WebHostingReviews.com, and
may not be used without prior written consent from us. All violations will be prosecuted to the maximum extent possible under the law.
Last Update: June 20th, 2016 at 15:01 EST / This site has a total of 3,441 web hosting reviews, based on 529 different web hosting companies.