1and1

Visit 1and1 Visit 1and1   Write your own 1and1 review. Write your own 1and1 review.
18 out of 182 (or 10% of) people recommend 1and1.
 › Rating Averages ››
Uptime & Reliability Server & Connection Speed Price Value for Money
4.64 / 10.0 4.98 / 10.0 2.95 / 10.0
Technical Support & Knowledge Customer Service & Billing
2.34 / 10.0 2.03 / 10.0
1and1
› Overall Rating ››    21.17% 
How are ratings calculated? 
  • Analyze this Page for Me
Showing 71 to 80 out of 182 reviews.   Filter Reviews
Page Relevancy
Review Quality 100%
What's
this?
1 2  ...  4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13  ...  18 19

1and1 reviews

uptime & reliability
3.50
server & connection speed
5.60
technical support & knowledge
0.00
customer service & billing
0.00
price value for money
8.70
* ratings are out of 10

BE WARED! DONT USE

'DON'T' If you don't want to have endless months of stress, writing letters and emails while they never answer your letters even if you recorded ones. Replies to your problems will be answered via noreply@1and1.co.uk these no reply usuall contain important information that if you try to send a reply they just bounce back to you. If you google complaint about there are hundreds of people complaining but they do not get anywhere, maybe it would help if they where all in the same place.
I notice a small number of people praise the company, you should try to email that person and more than likely you will find like I did that these also bounce back blocked by the person making the good comment.
This could be a confirmatiom that only 1and1 themselves are making the good comments on complaints pages, you test this out for yourselfs.

Don't let them get away with it.

1and1 is NOT recommended by Mary. This person does NOT recommend 1and1.
› Overall Rating ››    0.00% 
Reviewed on May 12th, 2011 at 13:29 EST by Mary
Customer for duration of 1 - 2 years
IP Address: 92.41.76.148
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: http://www.amazongaragedoors.com/   Email: muti2u@gmail.com
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
19 out of 19 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #71 out of 182 1and1 reviews
uptime & reliability
9.00
server & connection speed
8.00
technical support & knowledge
5.00
customer service & billing
0.00
price value for money
3.00
* ratings are out of 10

1&1: Untrustworthy Company

I have never in my entire life dealt with a more sneaky and untrustworthy company in my entire life. After 5 years of being their customer they decided to start charging my account for additional services I never requested or signed up for.

When I presented them with a BBB Complaint, their response was that they had phoned me and I had opted into a trial program that would continue if not canceled. No such call was ever made, I never opted into anything. They finally conceded and refunded my money. When I went to cancel my account (domain first so I could move it to a better registrar) this process blocked me from cancelling my package until the next billing cycle where they not only charged me for another 3 months of their service I never wanted, but also charged me again for the feature I never asked for and went through a painful ordeal to reverse (and cancel).

I have never seen a company so dedicated to disrespecting their customers & swindling their money. Also, I'm not just any old customer, I am a long time and (was a loyal) customer until all this madness. A company that outright disrespects their customers & abusing their customers to steal money from them.

An open letter to 1&1 I wrote when this all first went down:

http://www.reanmachine.com/2011/02/27/an-open-letter-to-11-hosting/

There will be a follow up after this is all sorted out. I strongly urge EVERYONE to avoid this company at all costs.

Biggest Pro: None
Biggest Con: Almost Criminal Billing Department

1and1 is NOT recommended by Aren. This person does NOT recommend 1and1.
› Overall Rating ››    0.00% 
Reviewed on April 9th, 2011 at 04:43 EST by Aren
Customer for duration of More than 5 years
IP Address: 70.72.152.110
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: http://www.reanmachine.com/   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
23 out of 23 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #72 out of 182 1and1 reviews
uptime & reliability
0.00
server & connection speed
0.00
technical support & knowledge
0.00
customer service & billing
0.00
price value for money
0.00
* ratings are out of 10

Do Not Host Your Website With This Company!

1and1 sucks. I registered my domain 3 days ago, and the status still says 'the domain has been requested' They say to allow up to 24 hours for the domain to be registered, I have waited for 3 days. I use Weebly for the actual site editing and content, but 1and1 for the domain. But, I can't even go to my site because it says 'this domain has recently been registered by 1and1' but it still says requested. Wtf. If I make a subdomain of my requested domain, I can edit it and publish it, but not the originally requested domain. Wtf. Don't use them, I reccomend Weebly. Changing DNS settings is a hassle, and never takes effect for me. Even after 24 hours, bottom line, google Weebly or just use GoDaddy or something.

Biggest Pro: none
Biggest Con: everything

1and1 is NOT recommended by Andrew B. This person does NOT recommend 1and1.
› Overall Rating ››    0.00% 
Reviewed on March 26th, 2011 at 19:13 EST by Andrew B
Customer for duration of Less than 1 month
IP Address: 68.100.74.184
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: captainawesome7@awesomeville.com
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
23 out of 23 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #73 out of 182 1and1 reviews
uptime & reliability
0.00
server & connection speed
0.00
technical support & knowledge
0.00
customer service & billing
0.00
price value for money
0.00
* ratings are out of 10

1and1.com Worst Hosting Company EVER

I have had the unfortunate experience of dealing with 1and1 for several years. Before I knew better I utilized them for domain name purchases (they were the cheapest!).

I have lived to regret that decision almost daily. There support is non-existent. Several departments have only email access, and they do not reply to emails.

I would not recommend 1and1 to any one. Not even my enemies. I created this account on this site for the sole purpose of writing this post. Do not use 1and1 - for anything. I'm looking into options for a class action lawsuit (1and1 has experience with this as I've been involved with a similar class action suit against them last year or so.)

The fact that they hold your domain hostage is asinine. The fact that they require days to handle any updates to a domain name is asinine. The fact that they will call you to sell you a new service at the very same time that you cannot get someone on tech support to handle your current problem is asinine.

I have nothing positive to say about that company and plan to do everything within my power to make sure the world knows. I urge you to spread the word, use the power of social media to show companies like this that we, the customer, simply won't tolerate businesses that are run like this. Make an example of 1and1 - cause their business to wither and die as a testimony to others that this behavior is not tolerated anymore. In this age of technological advances we are smarter, stronger, and wiser - and we demand to be treated fairly, respectfully, and in a timely manner.

If anyone has questions regarding my post or my situation I am more than willing to share any insights I have that might help you make an informed decision for yourself.

Thanks,
David

1and1 is NOT recommended by David. This person does NOT recommend 1and1.
› Overall Rating ››    0.00% 
Reviewed on March 18th, 2011 at 12:02 EST by David
Customer for duration of 3 - 5 years
IP Address: 96.10.95.113
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
20 out of 20 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #74 out of 182 1and1 reviews
uptime & reliability
9.00
server & connection speed
7.00
technical support & knowledge
5.00
customer service & billing
7.00
price value for money
7.00
* ratings are out of 10

Polite but frustrating service

We hosted our websites with 1&1 for several years and although their customer service was always very polite, it often took FOREVER to reach someone and when we did, they didn't always understand the problem without much deliberation and explanation on our part. Since we've changed to InMotion Hosting their customer service has been a dream - very fast and helpful.

I recently registered a domain with 1&1 because they were charging only $4.99. What a mistake! They don't allow you to change the DNS until the domain has been registered, which adds an extra 24-48 hours of waiting, on top of the 72 hours I had to wait for the registration. If you have the time to wait and want to save money, great. I feel like I should have just done it right the first time and gone with Namecheap. If I had, I wouldn't be sitting on the line for 20 + minutes waiting for 1&1 customer service to pick up because there's an issue with the registration. On top of that, I couldn't get through for 1/2 an hour because "we're sorry, all circuits are busy". Not worth the $4 I saved....arrrrgh!

Biggest Pro: Cost
Biggest Con: Customer service

1and1 is NOT recommended by Maria. This person does NOT recommend 1and1.
› Overall Rating ››    70.00% 
Reviewed on March 14th, 2011 at 11:22 EST by Maria
Customer for duration of 1 - 2 years
IP Address: 68.14.5.203
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
22 out of 22 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #75 out of 182 1and1 reviews
uptime & reliability
9.90
server & connection speed
9.90
technical support & knowledge
0.00
customer service & billing
0.00
price value for money
0.00
* ratings are out of 10

750 for traffic usage in a month site locked no customer service

nearly 8 years with this company site only used to host ebay pics no problems then 750 charge for 80mb traffic usage more than we could use in a lifetime
then site locked customer service zero, cant get anyone to explain or action the problem

Biggest Con: Daylight robbery

1and1 is NOT recommended by lorna. This person does NOT recommend 1and1.
› Overall Rating ››    0.00% 
Reviewed on March 3rd, 2011 at 07:17 EST by lorna
Customer for duration of More than 5 years
IP Address: 81.129.84.132
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
24 out of 24 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #76 out of 182 1and1 reviews
uptime & reliability
9.50
server & connection speed
9.70
technical support & knowledge
0.00
customer service & billing
1.10
price value for money
0.20
* ratings are out of 10

BAD, worse, the worst

HORRIBLE TECHNICAL SUPPORT!!

I've signed up for their My Business Site & have been having non-stop issues. Their promo says you don't need any tech knowledge to set it up, so I thought perfect. BUT just try actually doing it. Nothing works like it supposed to. And every time when calling technical support you get someone from India, Tailand, etc who are completely INCOMPETENT!!! I don't have anything against them but the level of incompetence after a while is just too much. Including one supervisor!! (first they don't even let you talk to a manager/supervisor... just put you on hold forever... one time I just refused to hang up & decided to stay on hold until actually able to talk to a supervisor. Well, after waiting for more than 1 HOUR she finally picked up & did not know anything!!! Seriously! Asking ME where is this... I don't know... this is not possible (when it is), etc, etc, etc. only got few knowledgeable people there, like 2-3. I've never seen this before. I thought this was a big international company so this is still like a dream/nightmare...

So either you fix it yourself or good luck........ Worst of all, even when they finally admit there is a tech problem & make a ticket, then escalate to admin support, high importance, you still get no response/feedback/update..... like they completely don't care. AND only one phone number to call, besides billing: tech support (see above), no customer service.

Luckily, I do have some tech base, not a lot, but enough to know when they are telling bullshit... Besides that, the package has serious technical limitations that are not mentioned anywhere in the promotion. Like dealbreakers. And you only find out after investing considerable amount of time, energy, resources, to build the site. Plus, of course, you're locked up in 1-year contract! So now you've found all those crazy problems that they don't care about, no response, no help.... and a contract.

AVOID< AVOID< AVOID AT ALL COSTS! And it's not even cheap, comparable to other providers.

1and1 is NOT recommended by Dissatisfied. This person does NOT recommend 1and1.
› Overall Rating ››    11.00% 
Reviewed on February 8th, 2011 at 09:40 EST by Dissatisfied
Customer for duration of Less than 1 month
IP Address: 70.139.211.40
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
28 out of 28 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #77 out of 182 1and1 reviews
uptime & reliability
9.50
server & connection speed
10.0
technical support & knowledge
3.00
customer service & billing
0.10
price value for money
5.00
* ratings are out of 10

Don't doooo it; Not even for a low price.

I think people are lured to this provider for the low prices. Well, laughs on you when they cork up your website, give you the run around for a month+, and you end up having to spend more money creating another website or trying to switch your domain name somewhere else.

Biggest Pro: cheap
Biggest Con: awful customer service

1and1 is NOT recommended by prism. This person does NOT recommend 1and1.
› Overall Rating ››    10.00% 
Reviewed on January 23rd, 2011 at 22:32 EST by prism
Customer for duration of 3 - 5 years
IP Address: 65.30.15.206
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Windows   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
26 out of 26 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #78 out of 182 1and1 reviews
uptime & reliability
6.60
server & connection speed
9.90
technical support & knowledge
6.70
customer service & billing
0.00
price value for money
7.20
* ratings are out of 10

HORRABLE

I Was Hosted With 1and1 for so long for only one reason I HAD A ONE YEAR CONTRACT, I had multipal occurences where they said my credit card was declined, and I get it could use it any where else perfectly fine, and my site went down more that three times because of this I had too call each time and have them manually charge my card....
STAY AWAY,
I am switching to mediatemple!!!!

Biggest Pro: NOTHIN
Biggest Con: Everything

1and1 is NOT recommended by Brandon . This person does NOT recommend 1and1.
› Overall Rating ››    64.00% 
Reviewed on January 23rd, 2011 at 02:43 EST by Brandon
Customer for duration of 1 - 2 years
IP Address: 208.54.90.68
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Windows   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
25 out of 25 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #79 out of 182 1and1 reviews
uptime & reliability
8.50
server & connection speed
10.0
technical support & knowledge
8.50
customer service & billing
0.00
price value for money
2.00
* ratings are out of 10

Customer Support at its finest.. Not!

For the year and a half I had my site hosted at 1and1 they only had 3 days worth of major down time. When I called their customer service department they blamed my own internet connection until they actually tried going to my site and saw it wasn't working. After that two days later my site was back up, I called customer service again and they had stated that it was an issue with their upstream provider and wouldn't give me any compensation for the 3 days I couldn't access my site.

Later on in the year, I attempted to add several domains to my hosting account. The current plan I had wouldn't allow for multiple domains so I attempted to upgrade my plan. They said that I couldn't as I was locked into a 1 year contract at the current rate and I would have to open a completely new account and add my domains to it paying for two accounts instead of one which would be more costly. Shortly after that I terminated my account with them via phone and went with another hosting provider. I was tired of getting the run around with their services and inadequate support.

Flash forward 2 years later, I get an e-mail from their support group stating that I owed them $200+ for back hosting services. I logged into my account and my username and password still worked! I checked my account and all my files were still there and I could access one of my old domains that I had canceled 2 years prior. I checked my previous payment history and saw they had attempted to bill me (my credit card on file with them had expired the year I canceled my account so it couldn't auto-renew). I called their customer service and explained to them that I had canceled by phone 2 years ago, they were very unhelpful and just told me that I needed to go to their cancellation site and "cancel" my service again. They wouldn't remove the previous $200 charge since they failed to cancel my service in the first place.

Needless to say they aren't getting a dime from me due to their fail customer service.

Biggest Pro: Server stability and speed were great
Biggest Con: Billing & Customer Services are horrible, not a US company accents are sometimes hard to understand.

1and1 is NOT recommended by Ralph Cross. This person does NOT recommend 1and1.
› Overall Rating ››    50.00% 
Reviewed on January 22nd, 2011 at 01:08 EST by Ralph Cross
Customer for duration of 1 - 2 years
IP Address: 206.53.11.78
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: http://www.kermitspad.com/   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
26 out of 26 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #80 out of 182 1and1 reviews
1 2  ...  4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13  ...  18 19
link to this page   |   tell a friend about this web host
Host Gator - Host Unlimited Web Sites
Reseller Hosting - 50% Off
Host Unlimited Sites
Free Dedicated IP & Backups
90 Day Money Back Guarantee
Try it out for just $13.99/mo.
InMotion Hosting

Read what users say about InMotion Hosting!


For Users
Web Hosting Reviews
Submit Review
Advanced Search
All Web Hosts
Top Rated

Our Difference
Contact


Free Newsletter
For Hosts
Host Log-in
Create Account
Generate Links
Get More Exposure


New Reviews
Go Daddy
000webhost
Just Host
WebHostingPad
EasyCGI
BlueFur
SkyNet Hosting
Arvixe
HostSo
VPSDepot
ADDR
Lunarpages
Quick2Host
WebIntellects
KVC Hosting
SiteGround
A Small Orange
ServerSea
StoresOnline
HostPapa


Other
Website Thumbnails
This site is powered by Host Gator.
Copyright © 1999-2016 WebHostingReviews.com. All Rights Reserved.
All reviews, content, graphics, logos, design, and scripts, are the sole property of WebHostingReviews.com, and
may not be used without prior written consent from us. All violations will be prosecuted to the maximum extent possible under the law.
Last Update: June 20th, 2016 at 15:01 EST / This site has a total of 3,441 web hosting reviews, based on 529 different web hosting companies.