1and1

Visit 1and1 Visit 1and1   Write your own 1and1 review. Write your own 1and1 review.
18 out of 182 (or 10% of) people recommend 1and1.
 › Rating Averages ››
Uptime & Reliability Server & Connection Speed Price Value for Money
4.64 / 10.0 4.98 / 10.0 2.95 / 10.0
Technical Support & Knowledge Customer Service & Billing
2.34 / 10.0 2.03 / 10.0
1and1
› Overall Rating ››    21.17% 
How are ratings calculated? 
  • Analyze this Page for Me
Showing 61 to 70 out of 182 reviews.   Filter Reviews
Page Relevancy
Review Quality 100%
What's
this?
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12  ...  18 19

1and1 reviews

uptime & reliability
7.00
server & connection speed
9.00
technical support & knowledge
0.00
customer service & billing
0.00
price value for money
10.0
* ratings are out of 10

HORRIBLE CUSTOMER SERVICE

They have absolutely appalling customer service.
After being a customer for over a year, I decided to purchase some additional domain names but there was an error message during the checkout and now the domains have been added to my account but they haven't been registered and I cant access/edit their settings on my control panel..

I attempted to email them but their customer service DONT DO ANYTHING!
THEY JUST EMAIL YOU LINKS TO THE 1&1 FAQ PAGES on how to order domains but they dont even bother reading what my problem is!

Biggest Pro: cheap.
Biggest Con: customer service

1and1 is NOT recommended by Alborz. This person does NOT recommend 1and1.
› Overall Rating ››    35.00% 
Reviewed on July 29th, 2011 at 18:21 EST by Alborz
Customer for duration of 1 - 2 years
IP Address: 82.28.53.198
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: http://www.peakborough.com/   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
17 out of 17 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #61 out of 182 1and1 reviews
uptime & reliability
8.50
server & connection speed
8.50
technical support & knowledge
1.00
customer service & billing
0.10
price value for money
0.00
* ratings are out of 10

Poor service, high charges, excessive fees and limited features

I have been with 1and1 for over 10 years. I have watched the prices of their standard shared hosting packages rise after the initial 6 months "free" period to an excessive level. Elsewhere, hosting prices have fallen and included features have increased for the end customer. Not so with 1 and 1. I was paying in excess of 12.99 per month for a hosting package that had only two mysql databases, for instance.
When I had enough and decided to move my account to a cheaper, better host, they cancelled my contract immediately (even though I had paid up for another 6 months) and held on to my domain name for as long as they could. This meant that I had no domain for as much as 5 days, even though they had been paid for the next 6 months.
Luckily, I now can host all my accounts together and have cheap hosting with unlimited (yes, really unlimited) features and fast, responsive customer service - send an email and get a response within 5 minutes... never happened with 1and1.
Hopefully, dinosaurs will become extinct and people will look around at the alternatives.

Biggest Pro: fairly reliable, fast servers
Biggest Con: Appalling customer service, extortionate pricing after initial "free" period

1and1 is NOT recommended by Glenn Reffin. This person does NOT recommend 1and1.
› Overall Rating ››    5.00% 
Reviewed on July 21st, 2011 at 11:35 EST by Glenn Reffin
Customer for duration of More than 5 years
IP Address: 87.114.98.180
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Windows   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
20 out of 20 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #62 out of 182 1and1 reviews
uptime & reliability
5.00
server & connection speed
7.00
technical support & knowledge
5.00
customer service & billing
5.00
price value for money
7.00
* ratings are out of 10

Don't do it

The rating of 5.0 doesn't capture how bad of an experience is having 1&1 as your hosting company. It's more of a general sense of helplessness. Ironically, I'm having problems leaving them -- they're messing up the DNS transfer -- and when I talked to their advanced tech support team, the answer was friendly enough, but was basically, "It's a known issue, it's being worked on; when it's resolved it will work." No timeline, no apology, no alternate solution. We're now in our fifth day of what should have been a one-day process. The often-mentioned bad tech support wouldn't be that big a deal if the reliability was solid, but on our dedicated platform that hasn't been the case at all. Even on price, after being a price leader for several years, their hosting and registrar prices have crept up gradually and are no longer as attractive.

Biggest Pro: Huge company, probably not going anywhere
Biggest Con: Huge company, could care less about you

1and1 is NOT recommended by Phil Fox Rose. This person does NOT recommend 1and1.
› Overall Rating ››    50.00% 
Reviewed on July 19th, 2011 at 08:36 EST by Phil Fox Rose
Customer for duration of 3 - 5 years
IP Address: 66.108.116.248
Type of Plan: Dedicated   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
18 out of 18 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #63 out of 182 1and1 reviews
uptime & reliability
5.00
server & connection speed
10.0
technical support & knowledge
9.40
customer service & billing
9.50
price value for money
0.10
* ratings are out of 10

Server is down since 7 hrs

I have 4 websites in this server
recently I struggles a lot and they are getting better like 200 hits a day.

all of sudden windows server is un reachable from remote desktop
CS are not able to tell and they made a ticket to windows admins
since its saturday and sunday i dont know when this is going to be up.

next year I wont renew this. rather I will have my own server in home with a static IP

Biggest Con: when Remote desktop is unreachable CS cannot do any thing

1and1 is NOT recommended by venugopal. This person does NOT recommend 1and1.
› Overall Rating ››    47.00% 
Reviewed on July 17th, 2011 at 09:18 EST by venugopal
Customer for duration of 6 - 11 months
IP Address: 69.47.180.156
Type of Plan: Virtual Private Servers   Platform: Windows   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
18 out of 18 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #64 out of 182 1and1 reviews
uptime & reliability
5.00
server & connection speed
4.00
technical support & knowledge
0.00
customer service & billing
0.00
price value for money
0.00
* ratings are out of 10

1and1

I've been with 1and1 having been badly advised to use them 3 years ago. After just 4 months I realised I needed another host and have since used Hostgator ever since, with no problems.

I don't even know where to begin as the amount of comlaints I have about them is endless.

I have never had a simple conversation with their staff, they have been rude and they have zero knowledge of there own products. There billing system is awful not to mention massively overpriced. As a customer that's been there for three years the prices they advertise now are no where near the huge amount I pay. I've tried to transfer the few domains I have with them and it was nearly impossible to get the information I need.

I've just finished a conversation with their customer service where they just hung up the phone on me. I have 8 domains left and I've now given up trying to transfer them, as have the company I instructed to transfer the domains to them. Even they said getting this done was impossible due to 1and1's inability to do as they say.

I can't stress enough how no one should even consider using them, the stress and headache involved is simply not worth it. I am cancelling one of my domains and the hosting it's on despite the site making me a steayy 100 a day. I'm prepared to sacrifice that income for the joy of having them out of my life. I simply can't go through the hassle of trying to do business with them anymore. I dread calling them and know my day will be ruined as I'm normally so angry afterwards, the level of stress simply isn't worth it. I'd do the same if that site made me 1000 a day.

For anyone considering it please for the sake of your sanity, dont even think about it.

This company doesn't just rate as the worst customer service but the worst company I've ever come across in my entire business life.

Don't even think about it. You will thank me for this.

Unquestinably the worst hosting company and company in general the world has seen. I'm simply amazed they have a single customer and amazed their business is actually here today. It certainly shouldn't be.

Biggest Pro: Nothing, literally, nothing. I have nothing good to say.
Biggest Con: Every aspect of there service

1and1 is NOT recommended by Richard Van. This person does NOT recommend 1and1.
› Overall Rating ››    0.00% 
Reviewed on June 30th, 2011 at 04:43 EST by Richard Van
Customer for duration of 3 - 5 years
IP Address: 81.136.190.150
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: http://www.dogyeast.com/   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
19 out of 19 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #65 out of 182 1and1 reviews
uptime & reliability
1.00
server & connection speed
0.00
technical support & knowledge
1.00
customer service & billing
0.00
price value for money
0.00
* ratings are out of 10

Worst ever experience

Wish I had done my homework before singing up with them. They sell you 4GB RAM , 2000GB bandwidth servers but limit the number of processes to 128 and 10 MB send buffers. So allt he RAM and bandwidth is really useless. Their service cancellation is horrible. They were asking for my password to cancel the service. What planet are they from? Real f..ing morons. Never ever will do business with them.

Instead I went with GoDaddy and I like them much better.

Biggest Pro: None
Biggest Con: Everything is a con. Wish they weren't part of my life. They are not worth to deal with.

1and1 is NOT recommended by Soundy. This person does NOT recommend 1and1.
› Overall Rating ››    0.00% 
Reviewed on June 21st, 2011 at 15:22 EST by Soundy
Customer for duration of 1 - 2 months
IP Address: 208.240.243.170
Type of Plan: Virtual Private Servers   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
19 out of 19 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #66 out of 182 1and1 reviews
uptime & reliability
8.00
server & connection speed
8.00
technical support & knowledge
0.10
customer service & billing
2.50
price value for money
3.00
* ratings are out of 10

Worst tech support, functions not working and can't solved!

The worst tech support and unresponsible company I have ever experienced. After four tech support calls, the issue (file download) is still not working in the basic business package! One support guy couldn't even get the point, kept thinking his own way and was rude! I am looking for a new hosting. I am under one year contract but one tech support told me that if they couldn't fix the problem, they will let me go. Hope they keep their words.

Biggest Pro: cheap
Biggest Con: function not working and worst tech support!

1and1 is NOT recommended by Paul X. This person does NOT recommend 1and1.
› Overall Rating ››    30.00% 
Reviewed on June 15th, 2011 at 23:30 EST by Paul X
Customer for duration of 6 - 11 months
IP Address: 98.148.29.190
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: http://www.hocsc.org/   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
19 out of 19 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #67 out of 182 1and1 reviews
uptime & reliability
7.20
server & connection speed
5.30
technical support & knowledge
0.00
customer service & billing
5.00
price value for money
5.00
* ratings are out of 10

1&1 Hosting is the WORST

Cstomer support is non existant. Every time you call, sombody from Philipine answers but they don't know anything about hosting. They dodn't even know their own control panel. Their control panel doesn't work, for example I am waiting for over a week for my database to be imported. All I hear from them is: "Your ticket has been escalated but we can't give you a timeframe. You have to wait." I am tired and fed up with 1&1. I would not recommend them to anybody.

Biggest Pro: None
Biggest Con: Control Panel not working, Customer Support VERY BAD

1and1 is NOT recommended by J.D. Friday. This person does NOT recommend 1and1.
› Overall Rating ››    0.00% 
Reviewed on June 8th, 2011 at 23:11 EST by J.D. Friday
Customer for duration of Less than 1 month
IP Address: 66.134.124.138
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Windows   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
19 out of 19 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #68 out of 182 1and1 reviews
uptime & reliability
4.60
server & connection speed
7.80
technical support & knowledge
3.00
customer service & billing
3.00
price value for money
5.00
* ratings are out of 10

Very bad website builder, bad compatibility

I am working on website development and online marketing for an employer. Part of my job is to overhaul his existing website, which is hosted on 1and1. It is awful. Their "website builder" application is so bad that I do my coding in Adobe Dreamweaver then copy and paste my code into the application. They actually make you pay extra to input your own code into the application without copy and pasting, too! Their customer service is also terrible - I originally had trouble logging into the domain, and I could not understand the person on the phone. I had to spell out the domain name about 10 times. It's also impossible to log in with certain browsers. The built-in website templates are also awful - most of them don't even let you use the entire screen.

1and1 is NOT recommended by Andrew. This person does NOT recommend 1and1.
› Overall Rating ››    50.00% 
Reviewed on June 8th, 2011 at 16:31 EST by Andrew
Customer for duration of 1 - 2 years
IP Address: 108.85.184.124
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Windows   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
19 out of 19 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #69 out of 182 1and1 reviews
uptime & reliability
1.90
server & connection speed
0.00
technical support & knowledge
1.50
customer service & billing
3.10
price value for money
3.50
* ratings are out of 10

1and1 Web Hosting Will Kill Your Site - Worst Web Host Ever

Horrid, horrid tech support. Barely speak English, and lie about status of account. Tried to transfer INTERNALLY to a new, upgraded hosting package (same account). 5 days later...nothing. Did I mention their phone lines (to the Philippines) go down constantly?

Run away from 1&1.com. www.1and1.com is by far the worst cheap (or expensive) web hosting plan we've ever had.

Biggest Pro: Cheap - great if you do nothing more than park the domain
Biggest Con: Don't try to switch packages or upgrade-your site will never be up again.

1and1 is NOT recommended by AdvPro. This person does NOT recommend 1and1.
› Overall Rating ››    11.00% 
Reviewed on June 7th, 2011 at 12:42 EST by AdvPro
Customer for duration of 1 - 2 years
IP Address: 97.102.28.237
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
19 out of 19 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #70 out of 182 1and1 reviews
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12  ...  18 19
link to this page   |   tell a friend about this web host
Host Gator - Host Unlimited Web Sites
Reseller Hosting - 50% Off
Host Unlimited Sites
Free Dedicated IP & Backups
90 Day Money Back Guarantee
Try it out for just $13.99/mo.
InMotion Hosting

Read what users say about InMotion Hosting!


For Users
Web Hosting Reviews
Submit Review
Advanced Search
All Web Hosts
Top Rated

Our Difference
Contact


Free Newsletter
For Hosts
Host Log-in
Create Account
Generate Links
Get More Exposure


New Reviews
Go Daddy
000webhost
Just Host
WebHostingPad
EasyCGI
BlueFur
SkyNet Hosting
Arvixe
HostSo
VPSDepot
ADDR
Lunarpages
Quick2Host
WebIntellects
KVC Hosting
SiteGround
A Small Orange
ServerSea
StoresOnline
HostPapa


Other
Website Thumbnails
This site is powered by Host Gator.
Copyright © 1999-2016 WebHostingReviews.com. All Rights Reserved.
All reviews, content, graphics, logos, design, and scripts, are the sole property of WebHostingReviews.com, and
may not be used without prior written consent from us. All violations will be prosecuted to the maximum extent possible under the law.
Last Update: June 20th, 2016 at 15:01 EST / This site has a total of 3,441 web hosting reviews, based on 529 different web hosting companies.