1and1

Visit 1and1 Visit 1and1   Write your own 1and1 review. Write your own 1and1 review.
18 out of 182 (or 10% of) people recommend 1and1.
 › Rating Averages ››
Uptime & Reliability Server & Connection Speed Price Value for Money
4.64 / 10.0 4.98 / 10.0 2.95 / 10.0
Technical Support & Knowledge Customer Service & Billing
2.34 / 10.0 2.03 / 10.0
1and1
› Overall Rating ››    21.17% 
How are ratings calculated? 
  • Analyze this Page for Me
Showing 51 to 60 out of 182 reviews.   Filter Reviews
Page Relevancy
Review Quality 100%
What's
this?
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11  ...  18 19

1and1 reviews

uptime & reliability
5.50
server & connection speed
5.90
technical support & knowledge
1.60
customer service & billing
0.00
price value for money
6.40
* ratings are out of 10

Beware of 1and 1... Reason why they have such bad reviews

I put of with 1 and 1 for years as I didnt want to redo my website by switching. I was lazy! I got the cheap $9.95 a month package that wasnt grandfathered in so was bumped up to $11.95... Which is billed every 3 months so unless you are good with keeping track of bills a $38 surprise will come your way every 3 months on different dates.
Tech support is hard to find and when you do they have no clue what they are talking about. they read off some trouble shoot sheet so it usually has nothing to do with your question.Even if you are luck to get someone who speaks English.. Its taken me weeks and longer to get one question answered from them. their email sucks too.. most days cant even log on at some point. site did stay up most of the time though. but that is the only good thing about 1and1.. Also watch out for hidden fees and accidentally clicking on something you might get billed for. So many times I got bills for some crazy stuff and was almost impossible to get these things off my bills. Sometimes take months for them to stop billing me for crap I didnt want.
Finally a few months ago I got tired of 1and 1.. and tried to cancel... OMG everyone is right. How do you cancel them. Ive already moved my site over to intuit but still keep getting billed. There is no way to log in 1and 1 now so how do I cancel them.. Cant get any people on the phone either. I think I have to close my bank account and cut up my card because I cant stop the 1and 1 bills from coming. They know I dont have a domain with them any more. SO how are they allowed to charge me?
So much for saving money with 1and1 thousands of dollars in false bills and now cant cancel and account I dont have any more. Isnt someone having a class action against 1and1.. there must be as I see nothing but complaints.

1and1 is NOT recommended by James Scott. This person does NOT recommend 1and1.
› Overall Rating ››    1.00% 
Reviewed on September 17th, 2011 at 13:09 EST by James Scott
Customer for duration of 1 - 2 years
IP Address: 71.217.18.184
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: http://www.paintbyjames.com/   Email: james@paintbyjames.com
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
20 out of 20 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #51 out of 182 1and1 reviews
uptime & reliability
7.20
server & connection speed
9.00
technical support & knowledge
2.50
customer service & billing
0.00
price value for money
5.00
* ratings are out of 10

Awful

Well my ISP is awful so why should my web hosting be any different? Cheap, but very difficult to use, and I swear, changes do not propagate automatically, if at all. I have spent a very frustrating morning with my site trying to update it. PLUS, I mistakenly thought my registration fee was overdue. Plus, I could not login even though my login data was correct.

Biggest Pro: Better than nothing

1and1 is NOT recommended by Richard Salvucci. This person does NOT recommend 1and1.
› Overall Rating ››    50.00% 
Reviewed on September 11th, 2011 at 12:51 EST by Richard Salvucci
Customer for duration of 1 - 2 years
IP Address: 75.1.166.172
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
19 out of 19 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #52 out of 182 1and1 reviews
uptime & reliability
1.00
server & connection speed
0.90
technical support & knowledge
0.80
customer service & billing
0.00
price value for money
0.00
* ratings are out of 10

Just Try and End Your Contract!

Cheap, NOT cheerful, rude unhelpful staff. Try and end your contract, no hope, so difficult to get in touch to do it. Premium phone line that costs YOU to end the contract. I was kept on hold several times until I hung up then cancelled my direct debit. They then handed me over to a debt collection agency, all for £4.99.

I had to pay £40 to get them off my back and save my good credit record. I have now issued a small claims court summons against them to get my money back.

Not a nice company. Keep Clear, pay a bit more and get a lot more.

1and1 is NOT recommended by sid. This person does NOT recommend 1and1.
› Overall Rating ››    1.00% 
Reviewed on September 9th, 2011 at 11:37 EST by sid
Customer for duration of 6 - 11 months
IP Address: 80.189.72.92
Type of Plan: Dedicated   Platform: Windows   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
19 out of 19 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #53 out of 182 1and1 reviews
uptime & reliability
0.00
server & connection speed
0.00
technical support & knowledge
0.00
customer service & billing
0.00
price value for money
0.00
* ratings are out of 10

DON'T USE 1AND1 FOR ANYTHING EVER!!!!!!!

1and1 hosting uses a "custom" cPanel. But I've been in computers since they were the size of a house, I had an original IBM PC, and I've been on the Internet since before Al Gore even invented it. So the standard cPanel that all of my websites uses (and always have) is a familiar, trusted friend that I know well and can make do whatever I need.

I had signed up for a universal account with 1and1 so I could have the many sites for my startup with the same host. You must have an "umbrella" account (not to be confused with WHM) and then all your domains are subordinate to that.

But their "custom" cPanel is ridiculous and I had a real problem with getting to the cPanel for each of the individual domains. So I submitted a couple of tickets, then sent a couple of emails, then tried to call but got disconnected. My question was always the same specific question about the individual cPanel access and the canned response was always a link to the umbrella, customized cPanel.

At that point, I just decided to cancel because I don't need the aggravation and there was a 90-day cancellation clause that would get me out of it. But I'm having as much trouble getting it cancelled as with my simple support question. I managed to transfer my primary domain back out to my previous host and I've terminated the billing agreement with PayPal... so they can't get another dime.

But what they're dragging their feet on is that my account came with three free domain names, of which I used two. And even though I'm willing to pay the registration fees, they are having no end of trouble getting it arranged. Ho-Hum.

That's my story to date. Hope this helps.

Tommy

1and1 is NOT recommended by Thomas Cunneen. This person does NOT recommend 1and1.
› Overall Rating ››    0.00% 
Reviewed on September 8th, 2011 at 07:50 EST by Thomas Cunneen
Customer for duration of Less than 1 month
IP Address: 72.184.208.186
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
17 out of 17 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #54 out of 182 1and1 reviews
uptime & reliability
0.00
server & connection speed
0.00
technical support & knowledge
0.00
customer service & billing
0.00
price value for money
0.00
* ratings are out of 10

NEver sign a contract with them!!!

It is a hassle cancelling an account. I tried cancel.1and1.com, was able to login and it tells me I can't cancel because I am not the owner!!!

And now, 1and1 is harassing me on bills!!!

Save yourself from any harassment!!!

Go somewhere else!!!

Biggest Con: Full of crap!

1and1 is NOT recommended by Jose Makalolot. This person does NOT recommend 1and1.
› Overall Rating ››    0.00% 
Reviewed on August 27th, 2011 at 17:37 EST by Jose Makalolot
Customer for duration of 6 - 11 months
IP Address: 76.108.13.209
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: http://www.belcris-usa.net/   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
17 out of 17 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #55 out of 182 1and1 reviews
uptime & reliability
2.00
server & connection speed
5.00
technical support & knowledge
0.10
customer service & billing
5.00
price value for money
5.00
* ratings are out of 10

Dedicated Server Nightmares

We have had 2 dedicated servers with 1and1 for over 3 years. For the past 18 months one of our dedicated servers crashes and reboots almost everyday. I have complained several times but they come to no conclusion and will not take action. But the BIGGER ISSUE is that we had one of our servers go down Thursday morning for reasons unknown and their tech team have not resolved the issue yet (its Saturday) and they said their team is in Germany so they only look at it on that time zone and they don't work on the weekends so my server is still down and will be continue to be down until Monday and they can look at it again. The customer support team does not communicate with me when they are working on it and what the status is. I have had to call in every 2 hours to get an update of whats going on and then they just say "I see the ticket is still open" and can't say anymore because they don't actually talk to their tech team in Germany. My customers are furious and 1and1 doesn't care, they are taking the weekend and evenings off... I would NOT recommend this hosting company to anyone else! Unfortunately this is not the first time an event like this has happened, at this point I'm retarded for staying with them, it's just a bear to move dedicated servers.

Biggest Con: Customer Support in Germany Timezone

1and1 is NOT recommended by Ryan. This person does NOT recommend 1and1.
› Overall Rating ››    20.00% 
Reviewed on August 20th, 2011 at 11:45 EST by Ryan
Customer for duration of 3 - 5 years
IP Address: 216.228.178.125
Type of Plan: Dedicated   Platform: Windows   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
19 out of 19 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #56 out of 182 1and1 reviews
uptime & reliability
0.00
server & connection speed
0.00
technical support & knowledge
0.00
customer service & billing
0.00
price value for money
0.00
* ratings are out of 10

1AND1 customer service/management is non existent.

No DNS service for over 3 weeks. 1and1 web hosting initially overcharged me when I moved my business to them, it took over two weeks to get a refund. I should not have done that, now they are making me pay. They refuse to put my domain name into my account where I can set the name servers, I have no web site for almost 4 weeks now. I tried to move it to godaddy but cannot because of the ICANN 60 day waiting period. Repeated phone calls, escalation procedures, reference numbers, emails with absolutely no action by 1and1. I am very sorry to have ever tried to do business with them, wish I would have seen the 25% rating they had.

Biggest Con: non responsive customer service, no management.

1and1 is NOT recommended by Jim. This person does NOT recommend 1and1.
› Overall Rating ››    0.00% 
Reviewed on August 10th, 2011 at 05:33 EST by Jim
Customer for duration of 1 - 2 months
IP Address: 174.48.160.250
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Windows   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
20 out of 20 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #57 out of 182 1and1 reviews
uptime & reliability
9.80
server & connection speed
9.70
technical support & knowledge
7.10
customer service & billing
8.00
price value for money
6.00
* ratings are out of 10

Know what you are getting into.

I got a dedicated server, and day by day I moved all 30 of my sites to the new server. THEN found out the Parallels® Small Business Panel was being discontinued - I could not update Word Press or my database. I had to erase everything and start from scratch.

They tell me the plan was discontinued a few weeks ago, but it is still offered on their site as of right now. It is really fun staying up all night, my slowest time, to rush and get all of my sites going again. FWIW - one of the three customer service people I spoke to was actually helpful and seemed to care about my situation.

My hosted websites are still not up - amyth.com is one.

1and1 is NOT recommended by Joe Hummel. This person does NOT recommend 1and1.
› Overall Rating ››    40.00% 
Reviewed on August 5th, 2011 at 20:59 EST by Joe Hummel
Customer for duration of 1 - 2 months
IP Address: 69.242.92.218
Type of Plan: Dedicated   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
20 out of 20 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #58 out of 182 1and1 reviews
uptime & reliability
8.80
server & connection speed
8.80
technical support & knowledge
0.00
customer service & billing
2.90
price value for money
5.80
* ratings are out of 10

1and1 webhosting SUCKS

1and1.com sucks bigtime
Don't ever host with these pieces of Poopoo

They have my domain name held hostage and won't fix it.

I can't transfer my domain name

They can't tell me when they will fix it.

All they tell me is that its in the hands of their Administrators and that tech support can't contact the Administrators for an update!!

Thats the dumbest thing I've ever heard. My question to 1and1 tech support is --- How the hell did they report the problem to the Administrators in the first place if tech support doesn't have the ability to contact the Administrators

Biggest Con: Customer Support BLOWS

1and1 is NOT recommended by Daniel. This person does NOT recommend 1and1.
› Overall Rating ››    45.00% 
Reviewed on August 2nd, 2011 at 18:11 EST by Daniel
Customer for duration of 1 - 2 years
IP Address: 209.136.17.210
Type of Plan: Semi Dedicated   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
18 out of 18 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #59 out of 182 1and1 reviews
uptime & reliability
0.00
server & connection speed
5.00
technical support & knowledge
6.00
customer service & billing
0.00
price value for money
0.00
* ratings are out of 10

1and1 is the worst company in the world

1and1 simply provides the worst service that you can get. On every domain purchase I am getting overly charged. I have to contact them ask for a bill adjustment after buying a new domain. What a waste of time. Horrible company!!!

1and1 is NOT recommended by anural. This person does NOT recommend 1and1.
› Overall Rating ››    0.00% 
Reviewed on August 1st, 2011 at 09:40 EST by anural
Customer for duration of 3 - 5 years
IP Address: 173.2.209.2
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
15 out of 15 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #60 out of 182 1and1 reviews
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11  ...  18 19
link to this page   |   tell a friend about this web host
Host Gator - Host Unlimited Web Sites
Reseller Hosting - 50% Off
Host Unlimited Sites
Free Dedicated IP & Backups
90 Day Money Back Guarantee
Try it out for just $13.99/mo.
InMotion Hosting

Read what users say about InMotion Hosting!


For Users
Web Hosting Reviews
Submit Review
Advanced Search
All Web Hosts
Top Rated

Our Difference
Contact


Free Newsletter
For Hosts
Host Log-in
Create Account
Generate Links
Get More Exposure


New Reviews
Go Daddy
000webhost
Just Host
WebHostingPad
EasyCGI
BlueFur
SkyNet Hosting
Arvixe
HostSo
VPSDepot
ADDR
Lunarpages
Quick2Host
WebIntellects
KVC Hosting
SiteGround
A Small Orange
ServerSea
StoresOnline
HostPapa


Other
Website Thumbnails
This site is powered by Host Gator.
Copyright © 1999-2016 WebHostingReviews.com. All Rights Reserved.
All reviews, content, graphics, logos, design, and scripts, are the sole property of WebHostingReviews.com, and
may not be used without prior written consent from us. All violations will be prosecuted to the maximum extent possible under the law.
Last Update: June 20th, 2016 at 15:01 EST / This site has a total of 3,441 web hosting reviews, based on 529 different web hosting companies.