1and1

Visit 1and1 Visit 1and1   Write your own 1and1 review. Write your own 1and1 review.
18 out of 182 (or 10% of) people recommend 1and1.
 › Rating Averages ››
Uptime & Reliability Server & Connection Speed Price Value for Money
4.64 / 10.0 4.98 / 10.0 2.95 / 10.0
Technical Support & Knowledge Customer Service & Billing
2.34 / 10.0 2.03 / 10.0
1and1
› Overall Rating ››    21.17% 
How are ratings calculated? 
  • Analyze this Page for Me
Showing 31 to 40 out of 182 reviews.   Filter Reviews
Page Relevancy
Review Quality 100%
What's
this?
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10  ...  18 19

1and1 reviews

uptime & reliability
7.00
server & connection speed
7.00
technical support & knowledge
1.00
customer service & billing
1.00
price value for money
4.00
* ratings are out of 10

Horrible Customer Service

I've been with this company a long time. Had trouble with customer service before--now my site is down --has been for 2 days. Can not get any answers from them or response. Tech support is outsourced and horrible

1and1 is NOT recommended by Anna Hopkins. This person does NOT recommend 1and1.
› Overall Rating ››    45.00% 
Reviewed on February 8th, 2012 at 10:32 EST by Anna Hopkins
Customer for duration of More than 5 years
IP Address: 50.78.219.155
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Windows   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
15 out of 15 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #31 out of 182 1and1 reviews
uptime & reliability
0.00
server & connection speed
0.00
technical support & knowledge
3.00
customer service & billing
2.00
price value for money
0.10
* ratings are out of 10

How do I get out of this?

The building templates are dull. There was no template for musicians. You need to know how to set up a player on another site and somehow connect the player to that. But you don't know this when you look at their samples. They seem to have "music" templates. As a novice, I ended up paying for three separate sites, when I should have just been able to pay for separate domains. I have been spending $100 every three months for three websites, only one of which I was ever able to build up somewhat, only after hours and hours of trying to get tech support. Than they can't help you and they need to "research it. You can never get through to the billing department. It seemed that no matter what I wanted to work on, there was something that didn't work, so that i had to spend hours and hours on tech support, often without solving anything, and having to call back.*

I went to this website because I work with a video and music company. When I asked the owner who he used, he told me 1 and 1. I figured that would be the ticket, since I wanted website for these businesses. I later learned he only used them for the domain name!

I'm so disgusted, but I don't want to lose everything that i built up. Help!

*ie; I tried to arrange information in a row and cell type of table. None of the adjustments worked, and after spending several hours, I just kind of fudge something that looked close to what I wanted. it took a while to get "published." It looked okay. The next weekend, I went back, and things were all over the place. Again, hours on tech support.

Biggest Con: Horrible support, obscure non-working settings, no way to get out of it.

1and1 is NOT recommended by Allyson Erick. This person does NOT recommend 1and1.
› Overall Rating ››    51.00% 
Reviewed on January 30th, 2012 at 23:58 EST by Allyson Erick
Customer for duration of 1 - 2 years
IP Address: 71.198.185.237
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
16 out of 16 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #32 out of 182 1and1 reviews
uptime & reliability
4.00
server & connection speed
0.00
technical support & knowledge
0.00
customer service & billing
0.00
price value for money
0.00
* ratings are out of 10

1 and 1 - worst ever

My true regret is that I can not give them a negative rating here.

They offer absolutly no tech support at all - just a call center in the Philippines that has no ability to actually offer any support. They will pass along your requests, but seem unable to actually do that.

There was a small folder on my server that was "stuck" it could not be deleted - after many hours on hold with tech support they sent the issue to an "admin" who the following day just wiped out all of my everything...I have to say I was stunned. I was in the middle of uploading and got an error I pulled up my ftp and the entire directory was gone - I must have hit refresh 50 times, then got the email - we deleted your directory if you have any further questions don't hesitate to contact us.

Well then the fun really began - there is no one to contact - they do not reply to emails - they do not call you back - they can not recover it....

Billing and such are also a nightmare - but I have typed enough - just stay far far far away from these guys.

1and1 is NOT recommended by Jennifer. This person does NOT recommend 1and1.
› Overall Rating ››    0.00% 
Reviewed on January 28th, 2012 at 13:57 EST by Jennifer
Customer for duration of 3 - 5 years
IP Address: 108.0.255.254
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
17 out of 17 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #33 out of 182 1and1 reviews
uptime & reliability
0.10
server & connection speed
1.00
technical support & knowledge
0.10
customer service & billing
0.00
price value for money
0.00
* ratings are out of 10

Rubbish Support that go on Holiday

They state 24x7 support this is a complete lie they are on holiday today Martin Luther King day means these morons shut are server down for upgrade and then went on holiday.

It has been down for 2 days they are complete idiots who say I cant do anything until the server support come back from holiday.

I will be leaving asap

Biggest Pro: None
Biggest Con: Support Suck

1and1 is NOT recommended by Matt Nagl. This person does NOT recommend 1and1.
› Overall Rating ››    0.00% 
Reviewed on January 16th, 2012 at 08:43 EST by Matt Nagl
Customer for duration of 3 - 5 years
IP Address: 95.149.5.2
Type of Plan: Dedicated   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
16 out of 16 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #34 out of 182 1and1 reviews
uptime & reliability
7.90
server & connection speed
6.90
technical support & knowledge
7.00
customer service & billing
0.00
price value for money
1.70
* ratings are out of 10

Stay Away!

This company used to be fantastic a short while ago yet has gotten much worse within the last year. They have increased selling prices and diminished services. Their billing department makes it a priority to mess up transactions with lots of red tape and false information. Other departments seem to make an effort to help, but it really doesn't matter because it does little to address the real issue of billing. The control panel is very basic. All round, a bad value for your money.I was sluggish to move on because I hosted with them for quite a while, but finally had move on.If I can make a recommendation, we went with setmysite.com to design, build, manage, and host our website and we couldn't be happier. Everything is taken care of with smiles, honesty, and laughter for under $30 a month - that includes the custom design they put together for me. This is the way business should be done today.

Biggest Pro: non
Biggest Con: billing is absolutely horrible.

1and1 is NOT recommended by Arial Anderson. This person does NOT recommend 1and1.
› Overall Rating ››    31.00% 
Reviewed on January 13th, 2012 at 17:32 EST by Arial Anderson
Customer for duration of 1 - 2 years
IP Address: 76.90.53.161
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Windows   Domain: http://www.lorettascookies.com/   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
16 out of 16 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #35 out of 182 1and1 reviews
uptime & reliability
0.00
server & connection speed
0.00
technical support & knowledge
0.00
customer service & billing
0.00
price value for money
0.00
* ratings are out of 10

Find another web host

As a small business, we hired a start-up web developer. He connected us with 1 and 1. As long as we didn't need anything, they billed us automatically and things went along fine. About a year ago, we found a new web designer. We could not log into 1 and 1 and could not contact customer service. After repeatedly trying, we waited for them to contact us by stopping the automatic payment. We still could not communicate with 1 and 1. Unfortunately, our domain name became due. Since we could not communicate with 1 and 1, we lost our domain name. Sedo and DomCollect are somehow connected to 1 & 1. Check the internet regarding 1 and 1. These p-eople have tried to sell us back our domain name at a greatly inflated price.
If I could give 1 & 1 a rating less than 0, I would.

Biggest Con: Completely unresponsive

1and1 is NOT recommended by Bob. This person does NOT recommend 1and1.
› Overall Rating ››    0.00% 
Reviewed on January 11th, 2012 at 08:29 EST by Bob
Customer for duration of More than 5 years
IP Address: 12.195.99.99
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
16 out of 16 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #36 out of 182 1and1 reviews
uptime & reliability
0.10
server & connection speed
0.10
technical support & knowledge
0.10
customer service & billing
0.10
price value for money
0.10
* ratings are out of 10

Unethical at best, scammers at worst

1and1.com is not my primary registrar, but I was curious and purchased several domains from 1and1 a year ago to experiment. After a year, I concur with all the other low reviews - stay far away.

1. 1and1 sets newly registered domains to autorenew by default. Most registrars set to manually renew by default, and customer has to explicitly enable autorenew.

2. 1and1 does not email you advance notification that your domain is about to be autorenewed. They only send you payment notification the day you will be charged for renewal. Legit registrars send at least one notification of autorenewal several weeks in advance (even Godaddy does this).

3. If you log in and change your domain settings to autorenew on the renewal day (but still before you've been charged), they will charge your card anyway.

4. If the charge doesn't go through (for example, your card has expired), they will lock your administrative control panel and instead show only a credit card payment form. There's no way to log in and verify that autorenewal is still disabled and that they haven't re-enabled it on their side.

5. #4 is important because when you call customer 'support' they'll argue with you about whether or when you disabled autorenew, and you have no way to verify that you did.

6. If you don't pay within 7 days, they refer your bill to a collection agency, collect a percent from that, relist your domains at regular price, and hurt your credit rating.

These guys are total scum. Unethical at best, scammers at worst.
Stay far away.

1and1 is NOT recommended by Byron. This person does NOT recommend 1and1.
› Overall Rating ››    1.00% 
Reviewed on January 10th, 2012 at 00:26 EST by Byron
Customer for duration of 6 - 11 months
IP Address: 98.210.178.242
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
16 out of 16 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #37 out of 182 1and1 reviews
uptime & reliability
10.0
server & connection speed
9.00
technical support & knowledge
0.00
customer service & billing
0.00
price value for money
0.00
* ratings are out of 10

What happened to them?

I had real trouble escaping from them when I realised how expensive they had become.

I tried to leave them but I couldn't get replies to my emails. They have kept my domains refusing to reply to several mails and have not responded to any transfer requests

On renewal, they set debt collectors on me who were good enough to close my account with 1and1 but they still have my domains which is a real pain. I have moved to inmotion which Is faster than 1and1. Maybe 1and 1 are working everything from Germany now they are certainly a lot worse than they were when I started with them about 10 years ago

Tried using their website creator. It is really poor there is no way of customising the screens to stop them looking like something created from a standard template

The webmail service they have really stinks it is like waiting for paint to dry

Biggest Pro: short URL to type
Biggest Con: Lousy customer service and madly pricey

1and1 is NOT recommended by mark. This person does NOT recommend 1and1.
› Overall Rating ››    1.00% 
Reviewed on December 20th, 2011 at 17:48 EST by mark
Customer for duration of 3 - 5 years
IP Address: 78.105.0.165
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
16 out of 16 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #38 out of 182 1and1 reviews
uptime & reliability
2.00
server & connection speed
2.00
technical support & knowledge
0.10
customer service & billing
0.10
price value for money
0.10
* ratings are out of 10

1&1 - the one to avoid

I have been with 1and1 for over 5 years, I've mainly used my domain for fancy email addresses but every now and again I have a fleeting interest in learning http, php, java and the likes.

As my primary use was webmail, I had the beginner package which included 1 mysql database and php. About 9 months ago, I started playing with the mysql database as I wanted to incorporate some funky scorecards are work, and this was the ideal learning ground. A month ago I revisited my account to find some of my features had disappeared from my package, namely the mysql and php.

To cut a long story short, they claimed I never had it, but did have a mysql database which I couldn't access. I upgraded to the same package I was on before but it was called something else as mine had been discontinued in order to look at the database and prove it was created during my beginner package period. After which I launched a complaint with them as they had clearly given me false information and not to mention reduced the features on my package without my consent or knowledge.

I asked them to rename the IPSTAGs to a different host as I wanted to migrate, this is usually free, however they instead detagged all my domains and returned them to nominet, which has cost me to retrieve.

For such a loyal and easy customer they made my life overly complicated and very expensive. I moved to unlimited web hosting and now have ALL the features I think you can get from a web host for the same cost as 1and1's most basic package.

I'm still trying to wind my 1and1 account down, but its taking some time as they seem to put road blocks up everywhere. That all said, I'm very happy with new unlimited web hosting and will actively warn people against 1and1.

Hope this helps.

Biggest Pro: None
Biggest Con: Entire Service, high cost, terrible support, poor staff.

1and1 is NOT recommended by David Andrews. This person does NOT recommend 1and1.
› Overall Rating ››    2.00% 
Reviewed on December 16th, 2011 at 15:14 EST by David Andrews
Customer for duration of More than 5 years
IP Address: 78.105.191.249
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: http://www.geordieland.net/   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
13 out of 13 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #39 out of 182 1and1 reviews
uptime & reliability
0.00
server & connection speed
0.00
technical support & knowledge
0.00
customer service & billing
0.00
price value for money
0.00
* ratings are out of 10

Worst Customer Service Ever.

I have been with 1&1 for over 5 years. In the beginning they were very good but service has deteriorated to the point that it is futile to deal with them. They charged an old credit card of mine and when I learned of it I tried to update my information. That's when the nightmare started. My password would not work so I requested it to be emailed to me (4 separate occasions) so I could get in to update my information. They would not send the info I requested. Customer Service would not take the information over the phone - I had to log in to update it. I explained that I could not log in and so on and so on and so on. Locked into a vicious cycle. Now my account is still locked and I still cannot update the information. Customer Service is no help. All they want is their money and a "declined credit card fee."

Stay away from 1&1. Save yourself the grief. There are too many hosting companies that want your business and will treat you like an intelligent human being. Their only fault, and its the deal breaker with me, is their arrogant attitude and lack of any real customer service. I have no gripe with the technical side of their service. Uptime and reliability has been good. But, as I said earlier, their lack of customer service is the deal breaker. For that reason alone, I rate them at 0 across the board.

Biggest Con: Customer Service

1and1 is NOT recommended by Robert. This person does NOT recommend 1and1.
› Overall Rating ››    0.00% 
Reviewed on December 13th, 2011 at 13:51 EST by Robert
Customer for duration of More than 5 years
IP Address: 108.13.196.246
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
15 out of 15 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #40 out of 182 1and1 reviews
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10  ...  18 19
link to this page   |   tell a friend about this web host
Host Gator - Host Unlimited Web Sites
Reseller Hosting - 50% Off
Host Unlimited Sites
Free Dedicated IP & Backups
90 Day Money Back Guarantee
Try it out for just $13.99/mo.
InMotion Hosting

Read what users say about InMotion Hosting!


For Users
Web Hosting Reviews
Submit Review
Advanced Search
All Web Hosts
Top Rated

Our Difference
Contact


Free Newsletter
For Hosts
Host Log-in
Create Account
Generate Links
Get More Exposure


New Reviews
Go Daddy
000webhost
Just Host
WebHostingPad
EasyCGI
BlueFur
SkyNet Hosting
Arvixe
HostSo
VPSDepot
ADDR
Lunarpages
Quick2Host
WebIntellects
KVC Hosting
SiteGround
A Small Orange
ServerSea
StoresOnline
HostPapa


Other
Website Thumbnails
This site is powered by Host Gator.
Copyright © 1999-2016 WebHostingReviews.com. All Rights Reserved.
All reviews, content, graphics, logos, design, and scripts, are the sole property of WebHostingReviews.com, and
may not be used without prior written consent from us. All violations will be prosecuted to the maximum extent possible under the law.
Last Update: June 20th, 2016 at 15:01 EST / This site has a total of 3,441 web hosting reviews, based on 529 different web hosting companies.