1and1

Visit 1and1 Visit 1and1   Write your own 1and1 review. Write your own 1and1 review.
18 out of 182 (or 10% of) people recommend 1and1.
 › Rating Averages ››
Uptime & Reliability Server & Connection Speed Price Value for Money
4.64 / 10.0 4.98 / 10.0 2.95 / 10.0
Technical Support & Knowledge Customer Service & Billing
2.34 / 10.0 2.03 / 10.0
1and1
› Overall Rating ››    21.17% 
How are ratings calculated? 
  • Analyze this Page for Me
Showing 21 to 30 out of 182 reviews.   Filter Reviews
Page Relevancy
Review Quality 100%
What's
this?
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10  ...  18 19

1and1 reviews

uptime & reliability
0.00
server & connection speed
0.00
technical support & knowledge
0.00
customer service & billing
0.00
price value for money
0.00
* ratings are out of 10

STAY AWAY - 1and1 (1&1) Internet Inc. You've been warned.

This has been a nightmare since signing up for a cloud server from 1&1 Internet Inc. on Dec. 30th 2011. I'll try and keep this short but I will post this on every web hosting forum website in hopes to recover my money AND save someone else from doing 'business' with these people.

12/30/2011 - Signed up for a cloud server, no contract, 90 days money back guarantee and 24 hour guaranteed setup.

1/3/2012 - Welcome email received from 1&1 Internet, this is 4 DAYS after a 24 hour guaranteed server setup. Naturally we had sought services elsewhere as we needed to setup and test within 24 hours, not 4 days later. I emailed on 1/3/2012, requested immediate cancellation of any account. Was given a very unprofessional run around from several people on the phone. Was told I had to log into the control panel for an account we do not have in order to 'cancel'. I've emailed, called, sent someone a fax and logged into a control panel with a temp password to cancel.

1/3/2012 - 5/15/2012 - No refunds ever given and they refused to cancel the account. In fact the ONLY way I was able to stop the $80 monthly fees after 4 months was to report my MasterCard as stolen so 1&1 Internet would be unable to drain unauthorized funds from our account.

6/6/2012 - I get a call from NCO Financial representing 1&1 Internet for a collecting a debt.

6/6/2012 - I call 1&1 Internet AGAIN and this time I am told the account has been given to collections because there is a one year contract. NEVER WAS THERE ANY MENTION NOR HAVE I SIGNED ANYTHING REGARDING A ONE YEAR CONTRACT. If there was ANYTHING about a one year contract during sign up I would have NEVER signed up for service from them.

Filed a BBB Complaint today, although it looks like they have 860+ complaints already with the BBB, and 4 new complaints from customers just today! Do a search at bbb.org for '1 and 1' to see for yourself.

At this point our credit card company is trying to handle the disputes but the problem is 1&1 Internet is responding to our credit card disputes saying we are currently using their services AND the services were available to us as of 12/30/2011, which are both FAT LIES. I have emails, screen shots and proof of all of this.

It is important for me to say, I've never used ANY of their services. Never logged into nor configured nor even looked at any cloud servers, or hosting account or email or anything else they sell. I logged in ONE time with some temporary password to click a 'cancel account' button as instructed. That's it.

I will retain an attorney that specializes in handling consumer credit disputes such as this. I will fight to recoup any and all charges from 1&1 Internet and I am sorry I ever gave them my name, credit card information or potential business. In your search for a web hosting or cloud provider, steer clear of this FRAUDULENT company posing as an internet service provider.

This post will be cut/pasted to any web hosting forum that I can find and all links to these posts on different forums, facebook, twitter etc, will be emailed to 'complaints@1and1.com'.

Stay away from 1&1 Internet Inc, (1and1.com). You've been warned.

1and1 is NOT recommended by Mike S. This person does NOT recommend 1and1.
› Overall Rating ››    0.00% 
Reviewed on June 6th, 2012 at 16:05 EST by Mike S
Customer for duration of Less than 1 month
IP Address: 97.103.145.10
Type of Plan: Virtual Private Servers   Platform: Windows   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
21 out of 21 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #21 out of 182 1and1 reviews
uptime & reliability
2.00
server & connection speed
3.00
technical support & knowledge
0.00
customer service & billing
2.00
price value for money
1.00
* ratings are out of 10

1and1.com Opinion from 5 Years of Experience

I've been using 1and1.com to host a few websites for about 5 years now, and just a heads up for all of you who are looking for a good host, this has been a nightmare for me. Not only is website builder extremely quirky and inconsistent and full of program glitches, but even worse the tech support is the worst of any tech support I have worked with since my first website in 1995. 100% of the tech support folks speak English as a second language, and they typically don't understand what you are saying very well. Even simple discussions demonstrate that they do not understand. They repeat things many times, and you will spend 20 minutes and get absolutely nowhere. If this happened to me once or even half a dozen times in 5 years, I would just pass it off as life, but this has happened to me probably over 100 times in 5 years. Yes, I know, I am extremely patient and gentle in working with non-English speaking techs, but I've really had it with the nonsense, the glitchy programs, the horrendous customer support. I've tried to talk to supervisors, but after being on hold for an eternity, I'm always told that the supervisors are busy. This is 1and1.com folks. This is not an isolated experience. This has been my experience for 5 years with multiple websites. Unfortunately, my main website cannot be transferred to any other company, because no one will accept a website built with that glitchy website builder program. My strong recommendation is never use 1and1.com. You will be truly frustrated and sorry like I am, and then you won't be able to move your website like me

1and1 is NOT recommended by Chuck Marunde. This person does NOT recommend 1and1.
› Overall Rating ››    10.00% 
Reviewed on May 9th, 2012 at 12:12 EST by Chuck Marunde
Customer for duration of 3 - 5 years
IP Address: 204.195.2.202
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
18 out of 18 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #22 out of 182 1and1 reviews
uptime & reliability
3.00
server & connection speed
2.50
technical support & knowledge
0.00
customer service & billing
0.00
price value for money
0.10
* ratings are out of 10

There are not words to describe this company and it's arrogance.

This was by far the worst hosting experience on all levels I have ever had. I wouldn't recommend this service to my worst enemy. They make it nearly impossible to cancel, play games with you and then talk down to you. No empathy what so ever and seem to get pleasure out of billing you for the contract term even if you haven't logged on after the trial period. Worst Hosting service by far! I have a dozen emails showing that one hand doesn't know what the other is doing. They seem to really get a kick out of upsetting you and doing nothing at all to try and correct your bad experiences. Worst Company by far! I even filed a complaint with the FTC concerning their games and threats to hurt my credit. DO NOT EVEN THINK ABOUT SIGNING UP, you will not have an easy time cancelling and even then they try and milk you for every penny they can get without even giving any service. I would give NO stars if it was possible. I found the most disturbing thing about the whole experience is that I signed up on a 30 day trial... accessed the service maybe a total of a couple hours because it never worked like it should have and their Customer Service and Billing "Reps" have no Empathy or even seem to care about trying to understand .almost in a smart cocky way even their "Supervisor" lacked any real customer service skills in calming me down. They even played games and sent me to the UK site to reset my password. The fact that they seem to get so much pleasure from me being upset boggles my mind... who wants their customers to be upset more than they were when they called. I would stay far far away from 1 and 1 at any cost. They can't even bill me the whole contract amount to make it easier for me ...they like to drag things out as much as possible. They also seem to not care what customers think at all .. especially those tricked into thinking they needed to buy it by another company like "myonlinemoneysystem" type scams. They know what they are doing and they don't care... like I said, wouldn't recommend to my worst enemy! They wouldn't even just bill me for the whole amount for the year contract at my request so I could be completely done with them ..NOOOO they have to do it by the month to drag it out as long as possible. I really can't even believe they have any business at all ... I didn't have even an second to say was a good experience through this whole thing. I don't think I have ever hated a company worse than this. I don't have one good thing to say about the experience ..OH, wait ... I will admit it was REAL easy to sign up ...lol

Biggest Pro: Quick Signup ..lol
Biggest Con: More than hassle to cancel, rude arrogant cocky customer support.

1and1 is NOT recommended by Bill. This person does NOT recommend 1and1.
› Overall Rating ››    0.00% 
Reviewed on April 18th, 2012 at 15:16 EST by Bill
Customer for duration of 1 - 2 months
IP Address: 98.235.56.7
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Windows   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
22 out of 22 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #23 out of 182 1and1 reviews
uptime & reliability
0.00
server & connection speed
0.00
technical support & knowledge
0.00
customer service & billing
0.00
price value for money
7.50
* ratings are out of 10

STAY AWAY! Company plays games with setup and config

This company is about the worst company I have ever experienced.
After reading many reviews, all negative, I elected to give this company a chance because they have a clean webiste, simple checkout process and ease of transfer for domains. Granted, GoDaddy is not good by any means, this company makes GoDaddy look superior in service, support and sales. This is how bad 1and1 is - they make other companies that are annoying look good.

For example; last week I signed up with 1and1 for a business cloud service and the transfer for 16 domains. After researching the website details, going through the process of what exactly our needs will be and considering any long term configurations, we chose to setup a business cloud service with a new domain, SSL and arrange to transfer the 16 domains we have with another provider. Simple process, just initially setup the cloud service and do the configuration later...

Wrong! First, it is now 5 business days later, the account has not been setup by 1and1. Contacted their very incompetent support several times, with no information. The support is a very limited support. They claim I will need to contact them via phone on Tuesday because they take the weekend off for the holidays and the following monday as well. Not business material by any means, to take a support offline - this is the internet and these are websites/ecommerce sites they are hosting! (Glad I learned of this before hand).
Now with 5 days passing, 1and1 believes I may be a little forgiving and consider working with them. They continue to ask me to resolve this matter when their support returns from the holiday on Tuesday and hopefully things will work out. I basically have told them to _________ ______ and cancel my service.
The idea was to find a webhost, sign up for an account, setup the account, configure my service, email setup, domain setup, etc... within the same day like most other companies that offer the same service. I realize transfers take a few days and I was not even in this mode as of yet because the account was never even setup by 1and1. Bottom line, 1and1 is a complete waste of time. If I had my business with them, can you imaging, being down over the holidays, while their support staff (if there is any support) is on holiday!

I went to a more competing provider, same day service, 24/7 support and never thought I would deal with 1and1 again. Except, when you sign up with 1and1, even though they don't provide you the service, at all, they still expect you to fulfill the service. They believe you should try and resolve any misunderstandings with them... this is the problem now. Now only did 1and1 not complete the task of providing the service and follow through, they now won't cancel the very service I asked for, even though the service has not been received.
I had to contact my bank and file a fraudulent service against 1and1, ask for a new card, and perform a Better Business Bureau complaint against them in addition to all other hassles. By the way, 1and1 has a "F" rating with the Better Business Bureau and hundreds of complaints that are just flat our ignored.

Nice to know when considering a business partner, 1and1 lives up to the horrible reviews they have... Worst hosting company ever. Nice advertising - bate and switch - bad, very bad service!

1and1 is NOT recommended by DrN. This person does NOT recommend 1and1.
› Overall Rating ››    0.00% 
Reviewed on April 9th, 2012 at 09:51 EST by DrN
Customer for duration of Less than 1 month
IP Address: 50.9.109.15
Type of Plan: Virtual Private Servers   Platform: Windows   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
19 out of 19 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #24 out of 182 1and1 reviews
uptime & reliability
0.00
server & connection speed
0.00
technical support & knowledge
0.00
customer service & billing
0.00
price value for money
0.00
* ratings are out of 10

Very Poor Customer Service

To put it in a nutshell, 1and1 support team were slack, lazy, incompetent, impersonal and just continued to send the same robotic responses every time. I would have to ask them the same question 3 times before they actually answered it, if they answered it at all. I was very disappointed and would highly encourage you to stay away from this company. For those of you who haven't had any problems with them, it's just a matter of time. When you need help asap with a serious problem, watch out, you'll get caught! It took 3 years before I realized how much they 'suck'.

1and1 is NOT recommended by Loanne Arnell. This person does NOT recommend 1and1.
› Overall Rating ››    0.00% 
Reviewed on April 2nd, 2012 at 23:33 EST by Loanne Arnell
Customer for duration of 3 - 5 years
IP Address: 210.56.88.87
Type of Plan: Virtual Private Servers   Platform: Windows   Domain: http://www.myspecialvoice.com.au/   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
17 out of 17 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #25 out of 182 1and1 reviews
uptime & reliability
9.00
server & connection speed
9.00
technical support & knowledge
0.00
customer service & billing
0.00
price value for money
3.00
* ratings are out of 10

The WORST Customer Service EVER!

I deal with several hosting companies, but this one is one to forever stay away from.

I am trying to get some things done for my client and 1and1 is doing everything they can to stop progress. To the point, my client moved his hosting to GoDaddy and so far on those domains, things are going well. (I don't use GoDaddy myself, so I have limited knowledge).

A simple thing like forwarding the account and they can only do a 302 instead of a 301. Continually telling me they will send me the instructions on how to do so. I kept telling them I already know how, but the way they have their servers configured, I can not. (several domain TLDs all pointing to the same directory. You update one domain, you update them all). Eventually I had to do the redirect in the page header instead of the HTACCESS fiel, which is more reliable, and best practice.

On my clients other domain, it is one of those template deals so I cannot change the page headers. They also said, I will send you directions on how to do so. I told them several times, that site does not have FTP access. They said correct, it cannot due to the type of account. I said change the type. They said it will delete all the data. I said HELLO! I am 301ing the site to another, I don't need the data!

GoDaddy had this done for my client (on his third domain) in 10 minutes. It has been two days and I am still fighting over email.

DO NOT USE THIS HOSTING COMPANY!

1and1 is NOT recommended by SEOsudo. This person does NOT recommend 1and1.
› Overall Rating ››    0.00% 
Reviewed on March 12th, 2012 at 07:58 EST by SEOsudo
Customer for duration of 1 - 2 months
IP Address: 68.7.143.207
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: http://www.texas-estate-attorney.com/   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
16 out of 16 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #26 out of 182 1and1 reviews
uptime & reliability
0.10
server & connection speed
0.10
technical support & knowledge
0.10
customer service & billing
0.00
price value for money
0.00
* ratings are out of 10

WORST CUSTOMER SERVICE EVER. DON'T EVEN GIVE IT A TRY.

This is the worst company i have ever had to deal with. This morning, i have been talking to three of their customer service members. they all hang up on me. I think that no matter how angry a customer can be, no customer service should hang up on them. It's about service. I have been wrongly charged and i when i called to complain, they fired back on me telling me i have no right to be angry. No one ever apologized but instead try to justify their wrong doing.
They have a trick which is when you try their service online and you happen to cancel it online, they will not cancel it. Instead they will send you an email confirmation which is not one. Because they want you to call them and they will make you wait on the line so long that you will give up and maybe try again.
But when you give a try first place, they don't ask you to call. So why then do you have to call when you want to cancel?
TO EVERYBODY DON'T USE 1AND1. THEY DON'T CARE ABOUT YOU. THEY ONLY CARE FOR YOUR MONEY. PLEASE SHARE. AND THE FIGHT JUST BEGIN RIGHT NOW.

Biggest Pro: f-

1and1 is NOT recommended by Omar. This person does NOT recommend 1and1.
› Overall Rating ››    0.00% 
Reviewed on March 2nd, 2012 at 14:39 EST by Omar
Customer for duration of Less than 1 month
IP Address: 208.54.5.145
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: http://www.mycitila.org/   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
16 out of 16 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #27 out of 182 1and1 reviews
uptime & reliability
9.90
server & connection speed
10.0
technical support & knowledge
10.0
customer service & billing
9.90
price value for money
9.70
* ratings are out of 10

1and1 have been excellent for me

No, I am not in their pay, and no I have no connection with 1and1 except for being a customer - I just want to add my anecdotal high praise to balance the other reviews on here.

I have been with 1and1 for 9 years, and in that time, and especially for the last 4 years or so I have found their servers reliable (I have both dedicated and hosted servers), their email system excellent (in that it just works and I don't have to think about it), and their customer service is terrific. The people I speak to - and I have no problem speaking to anyone - are knowledgable, helpful and patient.

Recently I upgraded the hosted servers, and it happened within moments, no fuss or bother. And there help with the dedicated servers has been great well beyond the call of duty.

I have tried other suppliers that on the surface look more attractive, but once in are pretty ordinary. 1and1 get the basics right. For example, the hosted servers are fully backed up to another site - another company I tried, one of the few that did a back up, only backed up if you used less than 2GB - and that was on an 'unlimited' account. Oh and only no Sundays.. And it's proving hard to get out of it.

I switch 1and1 services all the time for different project, and cancelling servers is simple, no hassle.

On my experience, I cannot recommend 1and1 more highly. Really!

Biggest Pro: technical support, reliability
Biggest Con: the control panel is 'different' but all the functionality is there.

1and1 is recommended by Noel Chidwick. This person recommends 1and1.
› Overall Rating ››    99.00% 
Reviewed on March 2nd, 2012 at 07:30 EST by Noel Chidwick
Customer for duration of More than 5 years
IP Address: 31.53.170.242
Type of Plan: Dedicated   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #28 out of 182 1and1 reviews
uptime & reliability
0.00
server & connection speed
0.00
technical support & knowledge
0.00
customer service & billing
0.00
price value for money
0.00
* ratings are out of 10

Horrible, sneaky billing pracitces - make it stop

I made the mistake of registering a domain name with 1&1, though I never put up a site. I've been attempting to cancel my account FOR TWO YEARS. It appears to be canceled, then it mysteriously continues to be billed. Dozens of emails and calls have not helped. They continue to bill me for something I don't use and don't want. This is the worst case of unethical billing I've seen in quite a while. Buyer beware.

Biggest Con: Horrible, unethical billing practices

1and1 is NOT recommended by LV Black. This person does NOT recommend 1and1.
› Overall Rating ››    0.00% 
Reviewed on February 24th, 2012 at 02:31 EST by LV Black
Customer for duration of 1 - 2 years
IP Address: 24.21.246.79
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: n/a   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
15 out of 15 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #29 out of 182 1and1 reviews
uptime & reliability
0.00
server & connection speed
0.00
technical support & knowledge
0.00
customer service & billing
0.00
price value for money
0.00
* ratings are out of 10

Despicable.

I hosted 2 sites with them YEARS ago. I was charged last year when I didn't want to be. I remember contacting customer service and having a horrible experience with them. I *thought* I had the issue resolved. Now just recently they charged me again and it looks as if I'm gonna have to raise hell with them once again. Do not mess with this company. If you are charged which you will be even if you cancel billing, NO refunds in any way, and they keep your money even if the sites you had hosted with them aren't up. Just look on their BBB page. 794 complaints closed within the last 3 years. Absolutely atrocious. We need to band together and file a mass class action on these people and get them closed down. We may only be charged $10 or so but with the amount of people getting ripped by this "company" adds up to large money.

1and1 is NOT recommended by Mike. This person does NOT recommend 1and1.
› Overall Rating ››    0.00% 
Reviewed on February 21st, 2012 at 06:26 EST by Mike
Customer for duration of 1 - 2 years
IP Address: 69.31.51.98
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
17 out of 17 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #30 out of 182 1and1 reviews
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10  ...  18 19
link to this page   |   tell a friend about this web host
Host Gator - Host Unlimited Web Sites
Reseller Hosting - 50% Off
Host Unlimited Sites
Free Dedicated IP & Backups
90 Day Money Back Guarantee
Try it out for just $13.99/mo.
InMotion Hosting

Read what users say about InMotion Hosting!


For Users
Web Hosting Reviews
Submit Review
Advanced Search
All Web Hosts
Top Rated

Our Difference
Contact


Free Newsletter
For Hosts
Host Log-in
Create Account
Generate Links
Get More Exposure


New Reviews
Go Daddy
000webhost
Just Host
WebHostingPad
EasyCGI
BlueFur
SkyNet Hosting
Arvixe
HostSo
VPSDepot
ADDR
Lunarpages
Quick2Host
WebIntellects
KVC Hosting
SiteGround
A Small Orange
ServerSea
StoresOnline
HostPapa


Other
Website Thumbnails
This site is powered by Host Gator.
Copyright © 1999-2016 WebHostingReviews.com. All Rights Reserved.
All reviews, content, graphics, logos, design, and scripts, are the sole property of WebHostingReviews.com, and
may not be used without prior written consent from us. All violations will be prosecuted to the maximum extent possible under the law.
Last Update: June 20th, 2016 at 15:01 EST / This site has a total of 3,441 web hosting reviews, based on 529 different web hosting companies.