1and1

Visit 1and1 Visit 1and1   Write your own 1and1 review. Write your own 1and1 review.
18 out of 182 (or 10% of) people recommend 1and1.
 › Rating Averages ››
Uptime & Reliability Server & Connection Speed Price Value for Money
4.64 / 10.0 4.98 / 10.0 2.95 / 10.0
Technical Support & Knowledge Customer Service & Billing
2.34 / 10.0 2.03 / 10.0
1and1
› Overall Rating ››    21.17% 
How are ratings calculated? 
  • Analyze this Page for Me
Showing 11 to 20 out of 182 reviews.   Filter Reviews
Page Relevancy
Review Quality 100%
What's
this?
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10  ...  18 19

1and1 reviews

uptime & reliability
9.00
server & connection speed
7.00
technical support & knowledge
0.00
customer service & billing
0.00
price value for money
6.00
* ratings are out of 10

The worst example of customer service

I have been with 1and1 for some years now, running MySQL/PHP configured websites.

Lets get to the good points: Uptime appears good, control panel is easy to use and the packages are priced in my opinion as average.

If you wish to host a small website for your local community with few feature 1and1 will suffice.

Outside of this I would not recommend at all.

Technical support is next to pointless Ė and the word technical I would use with some trepidation. Whilst the response times are quite good the content of reply on 90% of occasions is laughable. ALL TOO OFTEN THEY DO NOT ANSWER YOUR QUESTION. Too often I have had to reiterate quite bluntly the question. Frustration is an understatement. I still have unresolved issues..............

Billing.

1and1 allow direct debit and use of credit/debit cards. Having several accounts all with a single payment method and with exactly the same details 1and1 are unable to take payments regularly. I had contacted 1and1 on the phone. They accepted no responsibility, denied that their is any issues with their payment system. I offered bank statements as proof of existing funds. I offered card details there and then, yet they could not take payment. I suggested I sent a cheque. They donít take cheques.

I also offered to visit the H/O in Slough(UK) to talk to an individual and vent my issues. NO RESPONSE. ISSUES NOTESCELATED. NO APOLOGIES.

Forget escalation of an issue. YOU WILL GET NOWHERE AS 1AND1 ARE NOT INTERESTED.............THEY MAKE TOO MUCH MONEY TO BE CONCERNED ABOUT ADMITTING TO THEIR FAILURES.

WHEN I SUGGEST I WOULD BE MOVING HOST..........THEY SIMPLY DID NOT GIVE A SH*T.

UTTERLY ARRAGONT, and yes I am looking to move hence I found this review site!

Biggest Pro: Uptime appears good overall
Biggest Con: Inane of any customer service, poor billing, poor tech support, arragont and non cunsumer focussed

1and1 is NOT recommended by Adrian. This person does NOT recommend 1and1.
› Overall Rating ››    30.00% 
Reviewed on February 8th, 2013 at 06:22 EST by Adrian
Customer for duration of 3 - 5 years
IP Address: 213.129.73.165
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
22 out of 22 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #11 out of 182 1and1 reviews
uptime & reliability
9.00
server & connection speed
9.00
technical support & knowledge
0.00
customer service & billing
9.00
price value for money
1.00
* ratings are out of 10

Worst possible for business

Our Church has been hosted by 1and1 for almost 4 years. After we got the email accounts set up, we find that many (most?) email coming from 1and1 owned domains such as ours is blocked. After much investigation over more than two years, I finally got someone at 1and1 to admit that they are unable (or unwilling) to install industry standard/approved email anti-spammer software on their mail servers. This results in email coming from us being blacklisted by any number of spam blacklisting sites. Thus our email communications are totally unreliable. 1and1 claims that it is because their mail servers are in Germany and it is against German Federal Law to install these anti-spammer processes.
1and1 is probably OK (I have no problem with their web hosting) for an individual, but, with unreliable email, I would NOT recommend them for even the smallest business (we have their 'business' package and, for email, it is mostly useless).
I'm looking for a U.S. based web hosting service with reliable email as part of the package.

Biggest Pro: Relatively inexpensive for what you get
Biggest Con: E-mail services are ALWAYS being blocked from their servers due to no anti-spam measures.

1and1 is NOT recommended by John. This person does NOT recommend 1and1.
› Overall Rating ››    15.00% 
Reviewed on November 27th, 2012 at 23:14 EST by John
Customer for duration of 3 - 5 years
IP Address: 71.226.57.186
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
20 out of 20 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #12 out of 182 1and1 reviews
uptime & reliability
1.00
server & connection speed
2.70
technical support & knowledge
2.30
customer service & billing
0.00
price value for money
0.10
* ratings are out of 10

Scammed big times

Trust me, stay away from 1&1,

a couple months ago, I bought a domain, that's all I wanted at the time. Then, I was called and offered to try web hosting for free. I decided to try and keep it if I was satisfied. They also told me they'd contact me back to confirm my plan.

Before hanging up, the guy told me the plan I'd have on trial was the following:

20$ a month, billed every three months.

So far it's all good, right, not to expensive but, this week, I got my first invoice.

60$ which is 20$ a month and not 6.66$ just like they told me in the first place.
Now, when I tried to cancel, they informed me about the contract (I was never informed ever about it)
If I cancel, I'll still get billed.

Trying to file a complaint about it doesn't help either, you'll just get canned response, STAY AWAY FROM THEM"

Biggest Con: Scammed me for 160$

1and1 is NOT recommended by Jason. This person does NOT recommend 1and1.
› Overall Rating ››    8.00% 
Reviewed on November 14th, 2012 at 19:57 EST by Jason
Customer for duration of 3 - 5 months
IP Address: 160.109.104.44
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: http://www.reservoir-gods.net/   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
21 out of 21 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #13 out of 182 1and1 reviews
uptime & reliability
9.70
server & connection speed
2.00
technical support & knowledge
0.00
customer service & billing
0.00
price value for money
0.00
* ratings are out of 10

1and1 sucks ass

1and1's technical support is totally useless. I have several wordpress sites on their systems and 1 site will work properly while another doesn't. All I get from them is the same bullshit about "we don't support wordpress directly, please use google to answer your problems". Ok, so I google away and I suggest to technical support the solutions I have read and then they won't implement or even try it. We had a perfectly working website 2 days ago, and now we can't post new posts, add new users and no one can make purchases off the site. Why? because it seems the database for the site is locked, full or can't be written to. We didn't do anything on our end, no new plug-ins, no updates during that time which would cause the site to stop working.
Our site that is broken does about 10,000 dollars in sales some months, so now with this problem 1and1 is costing me money and pissing off my customers let alone me and the other operators of the site who make money off of it as well. What a load of shit company 1and1 is.

1and1 is NOT recommended by kat. This person does NOT recommend 1and1.
› Overall Rating ››    0.00% 
Reviewed on November 11th, 2012 at 14:53 EST by kat
Customer for duration of 1 - 2 years
IP Address: 24.85.92.124
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
19 out of 19 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #14 out of 182 1and1 reviews
uptime & reliability
0.00
server & connection speed
0.00
technical support & knowledge
0.00
customer service & billing
0.00
price value for money
0.00
* ratings are out of 10

avoid 1 and 1 , dodgy , scam , fraud , con

read the web , thousands of ripped off domain holders out there and im another one , same story , charged for a so called free trial of website builder plus even after cancelling within 30 days , then cancelled domain and hosting weeks ago and just got bill for another year , why are this company still trading ? hate the fact that this kind of legal theft is apparently ok , never read a good review about this lot that didnt seem to come from an employee , ive used them and will never again , just wonder how much i will be conned out of before i can sleep in peace , bit worried about being billed for the rest of my life after reading others comments , but will get legal advice and have contacted trading standards and trying to use the web to let people know not to use this company

Biggest Pro: nothing
Biggest Con: everything

1and1 is NOT recommended by simon scott. This person does NOT recommend 1and1.
› Overall Rating ››    0.00% 
Reviewed on October 15th, 2012 at 10:11 EST by simon scott
Customer for duration of 1 - 2 years
IP Address: 86.157.155.115
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
22 out of 22 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #15 out of 182 1and1 reviews
uptime & reliability
0.80
server & connection speed
1.30
technical support & knowledge
0.10
customer service & billing
0.00
price value for money
0.00
* ratings are out of 10

1 & 1 = less than ZERO

Instead of telling explaining how HORRENDOUS this service is, I'll just share the letter I sent them moments ago:

I have been a customer for a couple of years, and everything was fine until the last few weeks. For some reason that no one has taken the time to TRY to figure out, PayPal was not approving my payments to 1&1. I received a notice about it, called 1&1 billing, and had to speak with someone who had a pretty nasty attitude telling me I had to change my payment settings. Well, that would have been nice to do had I not been locked out of my account. I was given access, entered another account for you to make charges, and once again, I get the notices in the mail and email that the payment was denied by my bank, that this was a 2nd notice before I'm contacted by a collections agency. I called 1&1 again, and again was told this is something I need to solve with my bank. I called my bank (Wells Fargo) and explained the situation. They told me that they saw the charge against my account, which they were ready to approve but couldn't because YOUR system did not provide a dollar amount for the charge. I called 1&1 AGAIN and told you what the bank said, and again I was told I need to change my payment settings. At that point, all I wanted to do is get this over with, pay you the 40 dollars and put an end to it, but you would not accept a check in the mail, only paypal and credit cards. I changed my payment settings to another card AGAIN (and again had to have someone let me into the account I was locked out of), and one more time - received notice that my payment was denied. There are 3 things I know for a fact: 1) I have well over 40 dollars in my accounts, and my bank has attested to that 2) Up until this issue started, there has NEVER been any problem with me not paying my bill - I am a good customer, 3) I investigated every possible reason for this ON MY OWN - this is something that you, as a business, should be doing as well. At one point I was transferred to a very nice customer service person named Andrew. He traded a few emails with me, but even that relationship never continued through to a resolution. Finally yesterday, I called AGAIN (and by the way, your hold times on the phone are unacceptable), couldn't get Andrew on the phone, so the person who I did speak to in customer service told me I had to talk to a billing supervisor - so basically I was being sent back to the inept department that treated me so rudely from the beginning. I was transferred to billing, spoke to a woman there, told her I needed to talk to a supervisor. She put me on hold for a bit, then comes back and tells me the supervisor is too busy to talk to me, and that my only other option is to go to my bank and wire the funds to you.

This has been beyond irritating, and probably some of the worst customer service I've ever experienced. The fact that it was verified, by my bank, that your systems screwed up, and you couldn't be bothered to check into it is pathetic. You're a freaking technology company - check your damn payment system before making customers jump through hoops and sending threats of collection agencies coming after them. Then to make me have to go make a special trip to the bank to send you FORTY DOLLARS? And pay extra fees for processing? I have no words. I emailed Andrew yesterday and told him about all this, and he hasn't responded either. I'm not going to rush out the door to wire your money. I'll get to it in a few days. In the meantime, cancel my account, I want nothing more to do with 1&1, and you can be sure I'll be sharing this experience with many others who may be considering hosting their site with you.

Biggest Pro: Can't think of a single thing

1and1 is NOT recommended by SW. This person does NOT recommend 1and1.
› Overall Rating ››    16.00% 
Reviewed on October 12th, 2012 at 11:39 EST by SW
Customer for duration of 3 - 5 years
IP Address: 216.9.31.182
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Windows   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
22 out of 22 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #16 out of 182 1and1 reviews
uptime & reliability
10.0
server & connection speed
10.0
technical support & knowledge
1.00
customer service & billing
8.00
price value for money
2.00
* ratings are out of 10

1and1 made changes giving users no way to get to their site

1and1 made changesto remove Front Page extensions that they insisted were due to Microsoft's changes and they very well may be but it is now very difficult or impossible to get to my folders adn files.

I called them and they said to do it all by FTP but I cannot find the files or folders on my site.

Their technical people don't know anything.

Biggest Con: You cannot get ANY help from them

1and1 is NOT recommended by john mitchell. This person does NOT recommend 1and1.
› Overall Rating ››    20.00% 
Reviewed on August 24th, 2012 at 15:10 EST by john mitchell
Customer for duration of More than 5 years
IP Address: 50.4.4.112
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Windows   Domain: http://www.mitchellsell.com/   Email: john@mitchellsell.com
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
19 out of 19 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #17 out of 182 1and1 reviews
uptime & reliability
9.00
server & connection speed
5.90
technical support & knowledge
1.00
customer service & billing
7.00
price value for money
5.00
* ratings are out of 10

Definetly not worth the money when you have to spend hours....

I got 1and1 about 5-6 years ago.
I was happy generally, they had fairly good prices untill about two years ago.
Now their prices are average.
Customer service has always been bellow expectations, slow and unresponsive at times, but with the site being up most of the time, I didn't mind putting up with it.
At times I found myself helping them rather than vice versa.
I recently started a ecommerce(about a year ago) and found a different hosting service (Arvixe). I was very pleased with their knowledge, prices and services.
I have been down for the last few days with my 1and1 account and they just could not fix my website. The site went down after a "scheduled server upgrade". So we went down because of 1and1, and they could not fix it. We ended up moving to another host (Arvixe), and are up in a few hours, with email and everything.

Biggest Pro: Name recongnition, price in the begining.
Biggest Con: Lack of good technical support

1and1 is NOT recommended by Eminent. This person does NOT recommend 1and1.
› Overall Rating ››    30.00% 
Reviewed on August 14th, 2012 at 03:17 EST by Eminent
Customer for duration of More than 5 years
IP Address: 75.82.223.215
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Windows   Domain: http://www.myeminent.com/   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
18 out of 18 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #18 out of 182 1and1 reviews
uptime & reliability
8.00
server & connection speed
7.00
technical support & knowledge
8.00
customer service & billing
7.00
price value for money
7.00
* ratings are out of 10

OK for basic mail service and domain registration

I use 1 and 1 as registrar for my two domains (because they are significantly lower in price than the outfit that is hosting the sites) and as an email provider for one of the two. I do not have any experience hosting sites on their servers, since they do not have and will not provide ColdFusion hosting.

Uptime & Reliability: Irrelevant for the registration service. The email service is a mixed bag. I have never had a problem accessing their webmail interface, and the timetstamps on the messages indicate that their server is receiving mail pretty consistently. However, I have a mail forward set up on one of my accounts, and that is decidedly less reliable. Most of the time, messages come through exactly when they are supposed to, but 2-3 times a week, I will check my mail client to find that mail has not been delivered for several hours. When I check the online webmail, there are new messages there that have not been delivered to my client's in-box.

Server and Connection Speed: Pretty much irrelevant. WebMail is a little slow, but not horribly so, and since I only use it while I'm on the road anyway, it's not a big deal.

Technical support & Knowledge: Given my limited usage of their services, I've never had opportunity to deal with their tech support.

Customer Support & Billing: my experience with them has always been smooth. They send me the invoice, I pay it, I dont hear from them until the period's over.

Price Value for Money: For what is essentially an email hosting service with a VERY crude webmail interface, they are not the cheapest in town. There are others quite a bit cheaper who provider equivalent or better service for less. However, their domain registration fees are cheap, and I haven't had any major blowups with them, so I'm still a customer.

1and1 is recommended by Kevin Barth. This person recommends 1and1.
› Overall Rating ››    70.00% 
Reviewed on June 29th, 2012 at 21:06 EST by Kevin Barth
Customer for duration of 1 - 2 years
IP Address: 96.26.89.144
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #19 out of 182 1and1 reviews
uptime & reliability
3.50
server & connection speed
7.00
technical support & knowledge
7.00
customer service & billing
8.20
price value for money
7.00
* ratings are out of 10

Acceptable but not perfect

I use my 1and1 site to park files that I'm showing or transferring to clients. It's been pretty stable lately, but over the 3 or so years that I've had the service, the site has randomly gone down on many occasions. Usually I call the customer service line, they say the site looks fine to them, and I tell them I can see on my computer that it's down. Then a few minutes later the site miraculously comes back up, and the customer-service person continues to insist that nothing went wrong with it in the first place. This same scenario has played out about 4 or 5 times.

So I don't think I'll ever move my main business site to them, but just for parking files, it's mostly been okay, and I haven't had any trouble with the setup. The interface is easy, they give me a lot of space, and the billing is simple.

Biggest Pro: easy interface
Biggest Con: random brief downtimes

1and1 is recommended by LifeboatB. This person recommends 1and1.
› Overall Rating ››    60.00% 
Reviewed on June 19th, 2012 at 13:38 EST by LifeboatB
Customer for duration of 3 - 5 years
IP Address: 70.36.134.31
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #20 out of 182 1and1 reviews
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10  ...  18 19
link to this page   |   tell a friend about this web host
Host Gator - Host Unlimited Web Sites
Reseller Hosting - 50% Off
Host Unlimited Sites
Free Dedicated IP & Backups
90 Day Money Back Guarantee
Try it out for just $13.99/mo.
InMotion Hosting

Read what users say about InMotion Hosting!


For Users
Web Hosting Reviews
Submit Review
Advanced Search
All Web Hosts
Top Rated

Our Difference
Contact


Free Newsletter
For Hosts
Host Log-in
Create Account
Generate Links
Get More Exposure


New Reviews
Go Daddy
000webhost
Just Host
WebHostingPad
EasyCGI
BlueFur
SkyNet Hosting
Arvixe
HostSo
VPSDepot
ADDR
Lunarpages
Quick2Host
WebIntellects
KVC Hosting
SiteGround
A Small Orange
ServerSea
StoresOnline
HostPapa


Other
Website Thumbnails
This site is powered by Host Gator.
Copyright © 1999-2016 WebHostingReviews.com. All Rights Reserved.
All reviews, content, graphics, logos, design, and scripts, are the sole property of WebHostingReviews.com, and
may not be used without prior written consent from us. All violations will be prosecuted to the maximum extent possible under the law.
Last Update: June 20th, 2016 at 15:01 EST / This site has a total of 3,441 web hosting reviews, based on 529 different web hosting companies.