1and1

Visit 1and1 Visit 1and1   Write your own 1and1 review. Write your own 1and1 review.
18 out of 182 (or 10% of) people recommend 1and1.
 › Rating Averages ››
Uptime & Reliability Server & Connection Speed Price Value for Money
4.64 / 10.0 4.98 / 10.0 2.95 / 10.0
Technical Support & Knowledge Customer Service & Billing
2.34 / 10.0 2.03 / 10.0
1and1
› Overall Rating ››    21.17% 
How are ratings calculated? 
  • Analyze this Page for Me
Showing 171 to 180 out of 182 reviews.   Filter Reviews
Page Relevancy
Review Quality 100%
What's
this?
1 2  ...  14 15 16 17 18 19

1and1 reviews

uptime & reliability
9.90
server & connection speed
9.90
technical support & knowledge
1.50
customer service & billing
6.50
price value for money
0.20
* ratings are out of 10

My Review for 1and1

1and1 is a good/bad host. Lets start with the bad such as there database size is around 100megabytes, which is almost impossible to host a well populated forum with that type of space, they limit the use of the database for example "The MySQL database may not be used for log evaluation operations, ad clicks, chat systems, banner rotations, or similar applications putting extreme loads on the database under any circumstances. ", There costumer service is bad in response time, It's No CPanel it 1and1 Panel. Now time for the Good such as its cheap, tutorial on how to work the server and other stuff, e mail accounts are protected from spam and virus, A lot of extras like "Click n Build, Website Builder, 1and1 Blog, Photo's, and other things", they have great web statistics, and make protected web directories. Let me go a little more into detail with there services.

There loading speed of my hosted website is extremely fast. Yet some times it does give me some down time I have to say for the price they offer there service I'm surprised its legal! They also offer CGI basic scripts which includes visitor counts, feedback forms, forum, guest book, and a Time/Date Display. Adding to that they also have a CGI output monitor which is for isolating a CGI 500 errors. There EasyRSS which is easily integrated into your website and providing a RSS feed too. You can also use there Graphic Archive that provides clipart and other stuff.With there Photo Gallery your can upload photos and add there code onto your site which will provide an instant gallery without all the hard and time consuming programming. Yet one of the best features I think they have is the Click n Build Utility because it installs the script for you. Well now after going into intense detail about the features they provide lets go to the bad stuff.

There tech support takes hours to respond a simple questions which can delay your website for day to weeks. They terminate your account if MySQL heavy even though your not violating there stated rule "The MySQL database may not be used for log evaluation operations, ad clicks, chat systems, banner rotations, or similar applications putting extreme loads on the database under any circumstances." terminating saying for violations of "System Abuse". There is no C-Panel just a 1and1 panel programmed by there team. MySQL database creations takes hour to create 1 database and take around an 1 hour to change a database description and even to Delete!

That is why I do not recommend usage of 1and1 to sum it up its cheap, good in some places, BAD in other. So just remember cheap isn't always good.

Biggest Pro: MySQL Databases guarded by Firewall & hosted on separate server
Biggest Con: Tech Support & Billing

1and1 is NOT recommended by Guillermo Rodriguez. This person does NOT recommend 1and1.
› Overall Rating ››    58.00% 
Reviewed on November 8th, 2007 at 20:49 EST by Guillermo Rodriguez
Customer for duration of 3 - 5 months
IP Address: 71.211.45.198
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Windows   Domain: http://www.wesbeit.com/   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
27 out of 27 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #171 out of 182 1and1 reviews
uptime & reliability
8.00
server & connection speed
6.90
technical support & knowledge
5.40
customer service & billing
1.00
price value for money
7.00
* ratings are out of 10

Not a good host

1&1 is terrible when it comes to hosting any site. Their support is horrible and when I bought a domain, it separated it from my other packages, and then all of a sudden, they charged me $15 JUST to TRANSFER it over to my hosting package.

I reccomend not using 1and1 at all.

Biggest Pro: Cost
Biggest Con: bad support, confusing, long waits

1and1 is NOT recommended by Matthew Strohmeyer. This person does NOT recommend 1and1.
› Overall Rating ››    68.00% 
Reviewed on October 21st, 2007 at 19:05 EST by Matthew Strohmeyer
Customer for duration of 6 - 11 months
IP Address: 75.19.115.41
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: http://www.beatgamez.com/   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
30 out of 30 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #172 out of 182 1and1 reviews
uptime & reliability
8.00
server & connection speed
8.00
technical support & knowledge
6.40
customer service & billing
1.70
price value for money
4.90
* ratings are out of 10

I don't even give affiliate links for 1 and 1.

I hate them.

Well, "hate" is such a strong word; let's go with "despise."

Their biggest problem is their lag between when I want something and when they give it to me. I mean, if I suddenly decide to buy a domain for a hot topic, I don't want to spend six to twelve hours waiting for their DNS to work, and I don't want to spend an hour waiting for the database connection. I can't work without a database. So I decide on a domain name and order it, and ask for a database, and then it takes an hour for me to be able to upload stuff and configure it, and even then it takes another five to eleven hours for me to be able to send traffic that way.

When I complained the first time, they said it was "working as intended." A few hours later they said that the particular server I had been provisioned on had some disk problems that they were resolving and it's what resulted in my long setup time.

(note: the domain I listed isn't the first one I tried to host with 1and1. I'm just trying to use it while I still have the year contract. I don't expect to be renewing the contract at the end of the year.

Biggest Pro: price
Biggest Con: customer service.

1and1 is NOT recommended by Russ Gilman-Hunt. This person does NOT recommend 1and1.
› Overall Rating ››    30.00% 
Reviewed on October 20th, 2007 at 15:17 EST by Russ Gilman-Hunt
Customer for duration of Less than 1 month
IP Address: 24.21.206.99
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: http://www.justiceleagueamericamovie.com/   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
29 out of 29 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #173 out of 182 1and1 reviews
uptime & reliability
10.0
server & connection speed
10.0
technical support & knowledge
3.00
customer service & billing
0.00
price value for money
0.00
* ratings are out of 10

1and1 has the most horrible customer service you can imagine.

When you sign up, 1and1 are very friendly and eager to take your money. Now, try and move or cancel any part of your service. You can expect nothing but the runaround. I've been referred to their website at least a dozen times. Want to talk to somebody that can help? I quote "Those people that can help do not have phone numbers. You have to email them, and if you don't like that, please email Complaint@1and1.com... that is the only way to reach anybody in upper management." These people do not care about customer service at all, or else they might like to talk to a customer. Instead, they have people that sound like prisoners begrudgingly answering the phones and protecting them from the backlash of the horrible customer service they offer.

I have 1 domain name, that I had hosted for 1 year. In order for me to now move my Domain after that one year, I have to print out a form, fax it in, wait 5 days for a callback, while my website, which feeds my business remains offline. Nobody, in anyway cares to help you at 1and1, they just want your money.

I hope that this place will reap what they sow. They're horrible. Please do not do business with them.

Biggest Pro: Always up.
Biggest Con: Customer Service/Technical Support/Billing Problems.

1and1 is NOT recommended by Jesse Clemit. This person does NOT recommend 1and1.
› Overall Rating ››    0.00% 
Reviewed on October 18th, 2007 at 15:39 EST by Jesse Clemit
Customer for duration of 1 - 2 years
IP Address: 71.43.99.156
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
29 out of 29 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #174 out of 182 1and1 reviews
uptime & reliability
8.00
server & connection speed
9.00
technical support & knowledge
0.50
customer service & billing
0.00
price value for money
3.00
* ratings are out of 10

1and1 Support Stinks!

I used 1and1 for my host, and the first payment was on someone else's credit card, After 6 months was over, the credit card was renewed so it didn't get reimbursed. They said they'd lock my account until I could pay for it, so I got the money on my paypal, added a credit card to my paypal account, and for a week+ their paypal system was down. I kept calling support, and had to wait for an hour, and they kept telling me to wait. After a few days, I still could not pay with paypal, so I tried to pay with my credit card. THAT system was down. They kept telling me to wait. (note that in this period of time I could not access any part of my site.) Then after 2 days, I called up after paypal went through, but I never got charged. They said that they sent the site to a collections agency! I told the support people what happened, but they had NO POWER to do ANYTHING.

I lost an estimated $700 forum/site because of them.

I put a 3 for the price, because if you use over 10% of the resources they give you, they'll find an excuse to terminate you account for system abuse.

Uptime was good, and the server speed was good.

1and1 is NOT recommended by GMROCKS.com. This person does NOT recommend 1and1.
› Overall Rating ››    30.00% 
Reviewed on October 6th, 2007 at 19:18 EST by GMROCKS.com
Customer for duration of 6 - 11 months
IP Address: 76.192.0.193
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: http://www.flegh.com/   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
27 out of 27 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #175 out of 182 1and1 reviews
uptime & reliability
9.50
server & connection speed
9.20
technical support & knowledge
9.50
customer service & billing
10.0
price value for money
10.0
* ratings are out of 10

Great Low Cost Services

I've really never had any problems with 1&1. Since I signed up with them back in June they've been exceedingly good at keeping servers up and speeds (usually) high.

There are several times where my site was down, but it was only for maybe 10 minutes at the most. Customer service can be hard to come by since it is such a large host.

For those starting out with their first site, or looking for low cost options, I'd highly recommend the 1&1 beginner package.

1and1 is recommended by Indian_Webmaster. This person recommends 1and1.
› Overall Rating ››    98.00% 
Reviewed on September 29th, 2007 at 12:03 EST by Indian_Webmaster
Customer for duration of 1 - 2 months
IP Address: 122.169.0.87
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
24 out of 24 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #176 out of 182 1and1 reviews
uptime & reliability
9.00
server & connection speed
9.00
technical support & knowledge
7.00
customer service & billing
8.00
price value for money
9.50
* ratings are out of 10

1&1 Internet low cost services

For someone who had no knowledge at all of web hosting, web design, or domain name registration, I found the starter package at 1&1 an excellent service for a complete beginner.

Beginner packages start at $3.99 per month (1.99 in the UK), including a really easy website builder application, email accounts, FTP access and full support.

The 1&1 server has been very reliable - in the few years I've used this web hosting service I can only remember having problems with the server once or twice and connection speeds are fine.

When I first signed up with 1&1, I had a few problems getting started and the technical support was quick and very helpful. More recently when I requested support it was a bit slower, taking up to 24 hours for a reply and I did have to clarify my questions after the initial response wasn't clear.

Since I first signed up with 1&1, I've learned a little more on the web hosting side of things and have managed to add sub domains, and have even designed an additional site and uploaded using FTP. After a little research and technical help I found this fairly easy.

For those starting out with their first site, or looking for low cost options, I'd highly recommend the 1&1 beginner package.

Biggest Pro: Cheap, easy to set up
Biggest Con: Technical help on the site is limited

1and1 is recommended by Kate Mutter. This person recommends 1and1.
› Overall Rating ››    90.00% 
Reviewed on August 15th, 2007 at 06:27 EST by Kate Mutter
Customer for duration of 3 - 5 years
IP Address: 82.40.207.94
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
26 out of 26 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #177 out of 182 1and1 reviews
uptime & reliability
9.10
server & connection speed
8.90
technical support & knowledge
7.50
customer service & billing
9.50
price value for money
9.90
* ratings are out of 10

Mostly right on, but right now not so much...

I've really never had any problems with 1&1. Since I signed up with them back in December of last year they've been exceedingly good at keeping servers up and speeds (usually) high.

However, this review seems to come at a bad time. For the past 4 days I have lost access to my site (both ftp & simple viewing) to an unknown reason. I've called tech support and received no definitive answer except an "Our apologies, the server is down, it should be back up soon." I would've imagined they might have some kind of server backup system but I guess not.

Overall, I actually really enjoy 1&1, the pricing is amazing and that's all I was looking for 8 months ago. But you might want to ask me that question again in a few days if the server still isn't up.

Biggest Pro: Pricing & features; you really wont find a better deal
Biggest Con: Recent undisclosed server downtime

1and1 is recommended by Tim Forden. This person recommends 1and1.
› Overall Rating ››    92.00% 
Reviewed on July 25th, 2007 at 20:49 EST by Tim Forden
Customer for duration of 6 - 11 months
IP Address: 71.220.220.6
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: http://www.cram-mag.com/   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
28 out of 28 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #178 out of 182 1and1 reviews
uptime & reliability
1.00
server & connection speed
7.70
technical support & knowledge
7.20
customer service & billing
6.40
price value for money
1.80
* ratings are out of 10

1and1 not that happy with

The parts that I am unsatisfied with are, the downtime they have with their shared hosting. The support is horrible unless your in their time zone. The myql database is ONLY 100 MB long, you can't run a forum with that small of a database. Unless you upgrade to there dedicated server which is HUNDREDS of dollars per month, Its horrible. The domains are the worst. If youve heard about 1and1 its most likely their terrible domains. They are hard to get out of, if you ever moved hosts and you purchased a domain from 1and1. Its a nightmare

The only thing I do like with 1and1 is, there speed for how cheap they are, the protected services, transfer volume/speed is always handy. They have many nice features with there control panel even though they don't even offer cPanel which is terrible. Im planning to move to a different server sometime soon.

1and1 is NOT recommended by Shawn. This person does NOT recommend 1and1.
› Overall Rating ››    38.00% 
Reviewed on July 22nd, 2007 at 16:35 EST by Shawn
Customer for duration of 1 - 2 years
IP Address: 67.161.222.219
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
33 out of 33 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #179 out of 182 1and1 reviews
uptime & reliability
9.90
server & connection speed
10.0
technical support & knowledge
8.90
customer service & billing
8.00
price value for money
10.0
* ratings are out of 10

1and1.com Hosting

Never had any problems with them, very fast connection and close to 100% uptime. There are several times where my site was down, but it was only for maybe 10 minutes at the most. Customer service can be hard to come by since it is such a large host. Their prices are great - especially since with almost every package you get $100+ in free advertising. Their user panel is very easy to use and it has all the features and more than what anyone would need.

1and1 is recommended by Daniel Traudt. This person recommends 1and1.
› Overall Rating ››    90.00% 
Reviewed on July 3rd, 2007 at 23:10 EST by Daniel Traudt
Customer for duration of 6 - 11 months
IP Address: 68.40.249.14
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: http://www.socialsomething.com/   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
30 out of 30 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #180 out of 182 1and1 reviews
1 2  ...  14 15 16 17 18 19
link to this page   |   tell a friend about this web host
Host Gator - Host Unlimited Web Sites
Reseller Hosting - 50% Off
Host Unlimited Sites
Free Dedicated IP & Backups
90 Day Money Back Guarantee
Try it out for just $13.99/mo.
InMotion Hosting

Read what users say about InMotion Hosting!


For Users
Web Hosting Reviews
Submit Review
Advanced Search
All Web Hosts
Top Rated

Our Difference
Contact


Free Newsletter
For Hosts
Host Log-in
Create Account
Generate Links
Get More Exposure


New Reviews
Go Daddy
000webhost
Just Host
WebHostingPad
EasyCGI
BlueFur
SkyNet Hosting
Arvixe
HostSo
VPSDepot
ADDR
Lunarpages
Quick2Host
WebIntellects
KVC Hosting
SiteGround
A Small Orange
ServerSea
StoresOnline
HostPapa


Other
Website Thumbnails
This site is powered by Host Gator.
Copyright © 1999-2016 WebHostingReviews.com. All Rights Reserved.
All reviews, content, graphics, logos, design, and scripts, are the sole property of WebHostingReviews.com, and
may not be used without prior written consent from us. All violations will be prosecuted to the maximum extent possible under the law.
Last Update: June 20th, 2016 at 15:01 EST / This site has a total of 3,441 web hosting reviews, based on 529 different web hosting companies.